btw how reliable is honda city fourth gen (GD8/GD9) idsi version? is the cvt problematic?
~LY.Net Honda City Enthusiast Club~ V5
Aug 30 2011, 02:38 PM
2,702 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: P8X-86A |
btw how reliable is honda city fourth gen (GD8/GD9) idsi version? is the cvt problematic?
Sep 19 2011, 12:04 PM
2,511 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Earth |
Hi Guys,
I recently got a new city recently with cobra connex. Afterwards i installed an aftermarket car alarm. I noticed below difference: - no autolock after 2 minutes - My question is will this void any kind of warranty? also i noticed that when the alarm is triggered no notification from cobra is sent to my mobile. Can i get this fixed by the installer? what is your recommendation? thanks. |
Nov 26 2011, 10:48 PM
1,664 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh |
QUOTE(vNistelrooy @ Sep 19 2011, 12:04 PM) Hi Guys, I believe if you installed an aftermarket car alarm that 'failed' to work properly, you should go back to the shop which you bought and get them to check. I recently got a new city recently with cobra connex. Afterwards i installed an aftermarket car alarm. I noticed below difference: - no autolock after 2 minutes - My question is will this void any kind of warranty? also i noticed that when the alarm is triggered no notification from cobra is sent to my mobile. Can i get this fixed by the installer? what is your recommendation? thanks. Afterall, these devices have warranty. So maybe it's spoiled or not properly configured. Added on November 26, 2011, 10:53 pm QUOTE(malaysia3g @ Jul 10 2011, 10:03 AM) Need all help to confirm the gear oil prices for honda city, IDSI version with 7 speed version, how much you pay for it when change it? You mean the CVTF gear oil?I had checked with services shop and they told me only 1 gear oil available for this version. It cost me RM285, is it worth? Or any good shop to recommend to do car services ? I am from setapak KL. Thanks you. RM285 including labour?? TOTAL RIP OFF.. Shop near my place (PJ) selling for RM160 - RM190 including labour (can't remember the exact price.. ) heck, even that I feel expensive .. bcoz I've bought one before and I remember it being cheaper.. but can't remember from where bought already.. Unless.. you know.. they wanted to 'flush' it out with 2 bottles of CVTF, then you're actually paying for 2 bottles not 1 This post has been edited by neato4u: Nov 26 2011, 10:53 PM |
Nov 27 2011, 12:15 AM
385 posts Joined: Sep 2010 From: Muor/Melaka |
QUOTE(neato4u @ Nov 26 2011, 10:48 PM) I believe if you installed an aftermarket car alarm that 'failed' to work properly, you should go back to the shop which you bought and get them to check. I just did my 100k service last week. Let me check in the receipt for the cvtf oil tomorrow,now need some sleep. Im doing the service outside btw.the tauke was x-employee of honda service.all parts original he got from stockies.7 Afterall, these devices have warranty. So maybe it's spoiled or not properly configured. Added on November 26, 2011, 10:53 pm You mean the CVTF gear oil? RM285 including labour?? TOTAL RIP OFF.. Shop near my place (PJ) selling for RM160 - RM190 including labour (can't remember the exact price.. ) heck, even that I feel expensive .. bcoz I've bought one before and I remember it being cheaper.. but can't remember from where bought already.. Unless.. you know.. they wanted to 'flush' it out with 2 bottles of CVTF, then you're actually paying for 2 bottles not 1 UPDATE: I paid RM107 for the CVTF gear oil, RM105 for semi synthetic engine oil. This post has been edited by shamsulaswad: Nov 27 2011, 09:44 PM |
Nov 28 2011, 07:51 PM
4 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Hi all.
Got some doubts here lerr. I'm looking the 4th Gen City. Doubt #1 I heard their gearbox spoils easily, until the 05 batch onwards. Anyone can clarify this? As i know there's batch 03-05 and batch 06-08, City'05 still in the older batch thou. Currently struggling between City'05 or City'07/08 lerr. Price differs about Rm10k lei. But of course they have lesser mileage la. Doubt #2 iDSI and VTEC? For me first thing is Fuel Consumption. But bro neato4u told me his iDSI best record was 600km for full tank. but as time goes by roughly 2 years ago full tank can only last for 450 - 500km, now drops more to 350 - 400km per full tank. Anyone else encounter this problem too? Then those car dealers also promoting VTEC, they told iDSI underpower this and that. VTEC same same efficient with iDSI only. That's according to them la. Btw, my current driving: Speed in Town: 60-80km/h Speed in Highway: 100-110km/h. *Sometimes sped a lil bit more to cut those tortise Roads: 75% town (go work morning jam, back work evening jam), 20% Highway, 5% Offroad Currently owning: Nissan Sunny 130Y, Rm50 can drive around 275-330km. Any advices? |
Nov 28 2011, 09:39 PM
[L][
CVT issues most impacts on model year 2003 (which is the model I'm currently using unfortunately...) - some said the early batches were filled with normal AT gearoil instead of the CVTF so that causes the issue - however some who did not, still have issues with their gearbox.. so I guess Honda made a not-so-good quality back then... (it was the first City with 7 speed CVT) Fortunately gear box issues doesn't occur that much in the next City generation, up until today (correct me if I'm wrong City-zen). However, major issue only occur to very small handful of unlucky owners, common issue is jerking, delay in gear change -especially in R gear- and not so smooth transmission. Overall, the car is very well built and for years using it doesn't nag very much and easy to take care off (just the usual maintenance). Maintenance is rather cheap as well (for me that is). For batch 06-08 I am not sure (I'm more familiar with the old models) but my sister did bought the new Honda City (depan macam transformer tu.. hehe), been using it for several months now and no issues so far - just that the air conditioner is not that powerful as proton, but that is normal (only a handful can challenge proton aircon Engine and performance wise, it's the same with my 2003 model. The new model does have better pick up, but maybe I felt that because my engine is old My advice, if you are looking for fuel efficiency, in the same sedan class type car, same CC, I can only think of Toyota Vios (unbiased review). In term of performance, the Vios win for top speed (City can go only to a max of 180km/h - unsure if there's a speed limiter, but the Vios usually overtook me at that speed, slowly but surely). Hope that helps. |
Nov 29 2011, 07:58 AM
4 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(neato4u @ Nov 28 2011, 09:39 PM) Fortunately gear box issues doesn't occur that much in the next City generation, up until today (correct me if I'm wrong City-zen). next City generation refering to which one ar?'06-'08 facelifted model? or Transformer model? QUOTE(neato4u @ Nov 28 2011, 09:39 PM) Overall, the car is very well built and for years using it doesn't nag very much and easy to take care off (just the usual maintenance). Maintenance is rather cheap as well (for me that is). Mind share the price? Say like how much to change the black oil for every 5000km. how much to change the CTVF. how much for servicing (IINM i saw from honda website, every time servicing price also different, depends on which model u're in)?QUOTE(neato4u @ Nov 28 2011, 09:39 PM) For batch 06-08 I am not sure (I'm more familiar with the old models) but my sister did bought the new Honda City (depan macam transformer tu.. hehe), been using it for several months now and no issues so far - just that the air conditioner is not that powerful as proton, but that is normal (only a handful can challenge proton aircon Agreed. My friend's Transformer City aircond kinda lousy. When we enter the car under the hot sun, the heat inside the car is scary and yet the aircon takes so long to be cold. This post has been edited by [L][B][B][K]: Nov 29 2011, 07:58 AM |
Nov 29 2011, 10:05 AM
362 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Penang |
My City Vtec both rear bearing are kong. Then I go spare part shop buy the bearing but they gave me IDSI, and they said is same jz less 2 screw hole and can fix into Vtec. Then I ask my mechanic also, he also state that able to fix as well. is it real? less 2 screw hole will it damage my car? thanks This post has been edited by cchin8888: Nov 29 2011, 10:06 AM |
Dec 4 2011, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(LBBK @ Nov 29 2011, 07:58 AM) next City generation refering to which one ar? Any model after 2003 I think (correct me if I'm wrong guys), the most problematic was the 2003 test-rat version.. which is why the newer model doesn't have 7 speed transmission anymore?'06-'08 facelifted model? or Transformer model? Eh betul ke ni? hehe QUOTE(LBBK @ Nov 29 2011, 07:58 AM) Mind share the price? Say like how much to change the black oil for every 5000km. how much to change the CTVF. how much for servicing (IINM i saw from honda website, every time servicing price also different, depends on which model u're in)? If you buy new City then no need to worry about servicing, it should be included in the package. After that, normal service will be like rm200 - rm300 (cheaper if you do it outside of honda SC). Major service is expensive, get ready rm800 for that I think because there are lots of parts to be changed (sorry can't remember which parts, been so long already).QUOTE(LBBK @ Nov 29 2011, 07:58 AM) Agreed. My friend's Transformer City aircond kinda lousy. When we enter the car under the hot sun, the heat inside the car is scary and yet the aircon takes so long to be cold. Yes very true.. my City have leather seats.. so more hotter sometimes can't touch oso fuuuu |
Dec 4 2011, 10:22 PM
344 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
I changed to new city from 4th gen city...
i've notice the new city aircond really takes long times to cool down the temperature. The blower seems slower alr |
Dec 10 2011, 08:19 PM
QUOTE(hong1380 @ Dec 4 2011, 10:22 PM) I changed to new city from 4th gen city... Well that's the thing.. my 3rd gen City feel more pleasure when driving compared to the new gen City.. (yang depan macam transformer tu, mine was the duck tail hehe). i've notice the new city aircond really takes long times to cool down the temperature. The blower seems slower alr I feel the 3rd gen City is much more lowered and comfortable when driving. The new gen feels higher a bit, macam melayang sikit.. Honestly I drove my bro's BMW M3 and I still think the City 3rd gen more 'easy' and comfortable to drive.. can't compare with power and performance of the beamer though... |
Dec 20 2011, 08:17 AM
41 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Sifu-Sifu,
Seeking advise : ) My present setup WR shortram + Mugen 4-1 + S-Flow exhaut. I want to try drop-in for my intake, any suggestion in regards to this. Thank you. IDSI 2005 |
Dec 22 2011, 11:50 AM
379 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Did you decat / bullet your xos setup between 4-1 and s-flow?.
not sure what are you aiming for...top speed or pick up. you did an open pod, 4-1 ....which brings the idea that it's for top speed....and ended with an s-flow to reduce lost in pick up. I would not think drop in would make any difference there....I assume you need to rev your car up to move. Also assuming your FC is now not very good...ahhahaha... IF you wish to get pick up, you might consider taking back your stock 4-2-1, retain the CAT previously or "swirl" bullet it. You can retain the rest. that's what I might do if I wanted my pick up back. |
Dec 26 2011, 02:15 AM
1,927 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
Can somebody recommend me a shop in KL/PJ for selling absorber at a good price ?
How much is the price roughly ? Model: Honda city 1.5 idsi year 2003. This post has been edited by jalsrix: Dec 26 2011, 02:16 AM |
Jan 8 2012, 08:29 PM
1,661 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
Any idea when the newly design Honda City will be out in the market? Any rumors?
Jan 9 2012, 01:39 AM
324 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Mar 13 2011, 07:56 PM) 2nd hand city not recommended....since the city auto gear box is really like tofu...if the previous owner did not maintain properly....then you prepare big big ang pow to service the car lor... Well... I have a stock i-DSI 2003 and the car is serviced rigorously every 4000 - 5000kms, not failing everytime. 3 months back, after I service the car at one of the SC in Damansara, the mechanic told me that my car is having the early symptoms of gear box problems. There was a small jerking whenever I decelerate or at low speed.unless the previous owner got good record of always service the car on time and use honda original part...then only worth considering... The SC advise me to change the whole fu**ing gear box for the price of RM25K exclusive of labour charges. I just went numb for a while.. The car is the primary transportation mode for my family except for another Kancil sitting duck at my house as "emergency" car. RM25K for the gear box? I can do a lot of things with that, even DP for a new car!! I just do not want to purchase a new car and start the monthly commitment anymore as I just started my own business and money is d*mn hard to keep staying in the bank account for some time. I am looking for alternatives that can work. Neato4u did mentioned that he has the solution somewhere. Mind sharing? Thanks guys... -RJ from Shah Alam- |
Jan 9 2012, 09:12 AM
644 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(neato4u @ Dec 10 2011, 08:19 PM) Well that's the thing.. my 3rd gen City feel more pleasure when driving compared to the new gen City.. (yang depan macam transformer tu, mine was the duck tail hehe). Am driving 2005/06 VTEC,I feel the 3rd gen City is much more lowered and comfortable when driving. The new gen feels higher a bit, macam melayang sikit.. Honestly I drove my bro's BMW M3 and I still think the City 3rd gen more 'easy' and comfortable to drive.. can't compare with power and performance of the beamer though... Seriously, how easy and comfortable you mean? Beemer VS City... 4th gen CITY no longer have CVT, got feel jerk during gear shifting? |
Jan 10 2012, 12:00 AM
QUOTE(rjflyguy @ Jan 9 2012, 01:39 AM) Well... I have a stock i-DSI 2003 and the car is serviced rigorously every 4000 - 5000kms, not failing everytime. 3 months back, after I service the car at one of the SC in Damansara, the mechanic told me that my car is having the early symptoms of gear box problems. There was a small jerking whenever I decelerate or at low speed. Hi Riflyguy,The SC advise me to change the whole fu**ing gear box for the price of RM25K exclusive of labour charges............ I am looking for alternatives that can work. Neato4u did mentioned that he has the solution somewhere. Mind sharing? Thanks guys... -RJ from Shah Alam- It's common for Honda mechanics to ask you to replace the entire thing (or is it 'conman' for Honda machanics to say that..? Hmmm Anyway, the jerking could be caused by the transmission 'clutch' - yes we do have a clutch that is vulnerable to wear and tear after years of use. Anyway, I've not been so active in 'teamcity' forum anymore so I guess I'm just probably shooting 'half' blindly here.. The 'start clutch' symptom is also when your rpm goes up and down eg while climbing hill.. I'm not too sure about jerking.. usually an ECU reset helps (costs around rm50-rm100? I did it once, they charged me for it but the issue remains.. what a waste.. but doesn't mean that you can't try..) You may call this number (I lost the name, just got the number - some chinese fellow who I discussed the issue with that own a workshop) 0122508545 and maybe you can discuss it further. He sells recon gearbox for City around RM2.5-3k (this was price for 2 years ago, not sure of it now). Another alternative is that you can do a CVT flush.. 2 box of CVTF would do the trick (costs around rm90 or 120 per box i think?) QUOTE(air @ Jan 9 2012, 09:12 AM) Am driving 2005/06 VTEC, Hehe well I believe it's my own personal experience ... easy as to navigate and in control of the car. Both the City and Beamer is easy to control - not like some other cars which u feel that you have to 'tame' the car in order to control it. The city can be both gentle and aggresive but still you feel that it obey to your command (except the slight lag in acceleration... guess that comes with the CVT).Seriously, how easy and comfortable you mean? Beemer VS City... 4th gen CITY no longer have CVT, got feel jerk during gear shifting? 3rd gen gear change is smooth as it use CVT. No jerk at all and not even passengers, but yourself will wonder what 'gear' is the car really on.. As for me, I don't care nor wonder anymore after a few years using it.. Hope this helps guys. |
Jan 17 2012, 11:03 AM
96 posts Joined: Dec 2010 From: The Grid |
Any sifu here please help, my Honda City I-DSI Y2003 gave me the 1st hiccup after all these years The reverse sensor's buzzer stop making beep suddenly, totally dead & not intermittent, my questions are: 1. Is it sensor or buzzer kaput? 2. Where is the buzzer located? inside the dashboard? how to disassemble it for replacement? 3. If sensor kaput, how to remove it for replacement. Thanks. |
Jan 17 2012, 11:37 AM
3 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
I hv compressor problem, went to air cond shop and suggested me to change...now the problem the shop is offering original compressor without warranty or recon compressor with 3 month warranty..
What is the pros and cons? |
| Change to: | 0.0212sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:55 PM |