Clinic embarrasment, read on...

nokia2003
post Oct 1 2008, 09:46 PM

5,786 posts

@ nexous

be my guest and try it out because i would like to see you proving that fact wrong.
nexous
post Oct 1 2008, 10:47 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Oct 1 2008, 09:46 PM)
@ nexous
be my guest and try it out because i would like to see you proving that fact wrong.
not trying to be arrogant, im a biology student am at least better informed than the average lay person who never read further than spm

sperms have tails and they wag them around in a tadpole-like fashion, correct. the uninformed person assumes that spermatozoa indeed swims comparably to a tadpole and knows where it is headed. sperms dont even "swim to their destinations". they flow where semen flows.

u probably think that once outside the male body, they swim straight to the female eggs. there's no reason and evidence to assume that they are sentient and capable of that intelligence. they really just randomly move where semen flows.

knowing the length of the vagina, and the location of the cervical opening, if semen and spermatozoa are not inside the uterus or not in nearby position that enables it entry into the uterus by the time it exits the male system, it's the end of the road.

it doesnt even matter if they are good swimmers.
nokia2003
post Oct 1 2008, 11:15 PM

5,786 posts

@ nexous

we are talking about probabilities here (despite how it low it can get). in a case like this, one is always interested to know whether fertilisation can take place or not. in medicine, things are always measured in rate/percentage of success; miracles or fortunate incidents are not taken into account.

Added on October 1, 2008, 11:48 pmoh man, i do apologise for the late reply to come with a proof. but i did make a research about this when i was in year 3 medicine for an assignment. if only i can still find those articles. sigh...

well, i managed to find some websites, but they are no good as we all know that they are not reliable. hence i'm looking for well documented medical journals.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Oct 2 2008, 12:31 AM
nexous
post Oct 2 2008, 09:27 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Oct 1 2008, 11:15 PM)
@ nexous
we are talking about probabilities here (despite how it low it can get). in a case like this, one is always interested to know whether fertilisation can take place or not. in medicine, things are always measured in rate/percentage of success; miracles or fortunate incidents are not taken into account.

Added on October 1, 2008, 11:48 pmoh man, i do apologise for the late reply to come with a proof. but i did make a research about this when i was in year 3 medicine for an assignment. if only i can still find those articles. sigh...

well, i managed to find some websites, but they are no good as we all know that they are not reliable. hence i'm looking for well documented medical journals.
The nature of it in itself is non-probabilistic and highly deterministic. Defective rubber may get more easily torn and we statistically quantify it from their non-defective counterparts. What about objects falling to gravity? We don't even need to bother with statistics. Given preset conditions, there is no 'other' result. That's the flow of semen and Newtonian mechanics for you.

If you ask me, is it at all possible that semen flows upward and into the uterus? Definitely, given favorable preset conditions (including very unusual body movement and positioning, unusually high sperm vitality outside the uterus, and lack of backflow from the vagina). Will it happen under typical circumstances? Definitely not. The contraceptive pill has a higher likelihood - to fail. AFAIK, the vagina wasn't even designed to retain sperm, secretions will wash them all outside.
nokia2003
post Oct 2 2008, 09:39 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(nexous @ Oct 2 2008, 09:27 AM)
The nature of it in itself is non-probabilistic and highly deterministic. Defective rubber may get more easily torn and we statistically quantify it from their non-defective counterparts. What about objects falling to gravity? We don't even need to bother with statistics. Given preset conditions, there is no 'other' result. That's the flow of semen and Newtonian mechanics for you.

If you ask me, is it at all possible that semen flows upward and into the uterus? Definitely, given favorable preset conditions (including very unusual body movement and positioning, unusually high sperm vitality outside the uterus, and lack of backflow from the vagina). Will it happen under typical circumstances? Definitely not. The contraceptive pill has a higher likelihood - to fail. AFAIK, the vagina wasn't even designed to retain sperm, secretions will wash them all outside.
again, we are not arguing exactly how impossible are the chances of fertilisation taking place because at the end of the day, patients are only interested if it is feasible for one to get pregnant (coitus interruptus is usually how this accident might happen). anyhow, i think that we have found our answer for today (as underlined by you above), the pill has a higher likelihood to fail than fertilisation prevention via ejaculation outside or near the vagina (or external genitalia as pointed out by TS).

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Oct 2 2008, 09:43 AM
TSore0
post Oct 2 2008, 10:56 AM

Validating

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Oct 2 2008, 09:39 AM)
again, we are not arguing exactly how impossible are the chances of fertilisation taking place because at the end of the day, patients are only interested if it is feasible for one to get pregnant (coitus interruptus is usually how this accident might happen). anyhow, i think that we have found our answer for today (as underlined by you above), the pill has a higher likelihood to fail than fertilisation prevention via ejaculation outside or near the vagina (or external genitalia as pointed out by TS).
OMG Nokia2003, i'm so sorry u have to deal with this "smart" fella who studied for then spm level for human body, leave him / her to what he/she wants to think cos either way, many websites have said that even the pre-cum or semen is on the women's overall vagina, doesn't matter if its not near the hole, the sperm still can swim up into it and thus, makes a girl pregnant.

Nexous, thanks for those medical education but, to further this prove, pls check out "http://teenwire.com" . They did explain that the girl CAN get pregnant even if the guy did not ejaculate in her but outside of her part.

Added on October 2, 2008, 11:00 am
QUOTE(evilkiey @ Oct 1 2008, 03:30 PM)
I heared frm a friend that there are now pill for guys.Eat the pill and it will kill sperm in ur body or somthing like that..Well it is still in a testing phase..Almost the same kinda pill like women take..
lol....wait the guy become girl how? tongue.gif or become more girlish (touchwood). joking tongue.gif

Added on October 2, 2008, 11:02 am
QUOTE(-Evo_8787- @ Oct 1 2008, 05:10 AM)
y most of the reply is guys?? -.- flaming somemore... didnt knoe they 'understand' gals so much..

of course as a gal we care a lot for our air muka... if im 18 n i go for pregancy test, wat would other tink of me.. n usually clinic should call patient by their name...

lazy to talk so much.. only gals will understand gals
Thank u for understanding! cry.gif Gosh .... finally a person who understands how i feel, thank u so much! rclxms.gif

Added on October 2, 2008, 11:10 amto wisd:

Another BIG thank u for understanding! i don't know what is their problem lol.....

To nexous:

Anyway, no matter how much you say that the possibility is low, there is still certain small % the sperm can swim up and meet the egg. Its not impossible.

This post has been edited by ore0: Oct 2 2008, 11:10 AM
Deslack
post Oct 2 2008, 05:14 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(ore0 @ Oct 2 2008, 10:56 AM)
Nexous, thanks for those medical education but, to further this prove, pls check out "http://teenwire.com" . They did explain that the girl CAN get pregnant even if the guy did not ejaculate in her but outside of her part.

Anyway, no matter how much you say that the possibility is low, there is still certain small % the sperm can swim up and meet the egg. Its not impossible.
Say, a typical lifetime of humans are 65 years old.
And there are 365 and a quarter days in a solar year
And there are 24 hours in a day
And 60 minutes to an hour
And typically, a healthy adult breathes 18 times in a minute (Source: Wikipedia) I picked 18 out of typical randomness.

65 * 365.25 * 24 * 60 * 60 * 18 = 36,922,392,000.

So with your theory, breathing has a 1 in 36 billion chance of dying.

The sperm can't "swim up" and "meet" the egg. And considering the location of the egg is quite hard to reach, it usually takes quite a sizeable amount of semen and vaginal liquid to facilitate the environment required to reach there.

While it does take a mere sperm to fertilize an egg, a drop of semen outside your vagina isn't sufficient for this. The ovum is located way back inside the fallopian tube.

If you're not in the ovulation period, the cervix would be plugged anyway.

But then, as with most sex-education articles, they're biased towards prevention rather than true, verifiable scientific possibility. Prevention is better than cure as accidental pregnancy is quite a disaster.

By the way, what is preventing the nurse to call you just by name like most other clinics do?
TSore0
post Oct 2 2008, 06:23 PM

Validating

Hi Deslack.

yes the chances are low, but lets not take the risk am i right? this topic suddenly becomes about the egg and the sperm war debate? lol.

the doctor knows that i only want to be called by my name once its my turn, i did told her and the lady who made that mistake was also standing there with us in the room.

but once i waited again for my turn outside, she called my first name and immediately say my purpose of visit. patience before me....she didn't do like this....

I'm not lying la, it really did happened.
nexous
post Oct 3 2008, 01:15 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Oct 2 2008, 09:39 AM)
Precum (semen) from intercourse aka coitus can result in fertilization since penetration dispenses sperms closer to the cervix.
That's a very different scenario from minute amounts of semen in the external genitalia.

You seem to be talking about "pulling out" while TS said she did not have intercourse. This means, unlike coitus, semen is not delivered near the cervix.

Unless she got fingered (I'm sorry to be so crude), in which case then it is miscommunication as I assume that no intercourse = the vagina has not been breached. But then again I don't believe that fingers are efficient enough to cause pregnancy.

QUOTE("ore0")
This is the same thing as the above. The site is talking about coitus interruptus aka pulling out in which precum is usually secreted by the penis INSIDE the vagina. In your situation, there was no intercourse, it is not comparable to what was discussed in your link.

This post has been edited by nexous: Oct 3 2008, 01:16 AM
nokia2003
post Oct 3 2008, 09:26 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(nexous @ Oct 3 2008, 01:15 AM)
Precum (semen) from intercourse aka coitus can result in fertilization since penetration dispenses sperms closer to the cervix.
That's a very different scenario from minute amounts of semen in the external genitalia.

You seem to be talking about "pulling out" while TS said she did not have intercourse. This means, unlike coitus, semen is not delivered near the cervix.

Unless she got fingered (I'm sorry to be so crude), in which case then it is miscommunication as I assume that no intercourse = the vagina has not been breached. But then again I don't believe that fingers are efficient enough to cause pregnancy.

QUOTE("ore0")
This is the same thing as the above. The site is talking about coitus interruptus aka pulling out in which precum is usually secreted by the penis INSIDE the vagina. In your situation, there was no intercourse, it is not comparable to what was discussed in your link.
i was using coitus interruptus because incidents like these do happen when the male counterpart is trying to withdrawal moments before ejaculation, but not swift enough to prevent the semen from coming in contact with a general area of the vagina i.e. labia as a result of the "explosive" nature.

anyway, no point debating as we are not on the same ground basis of discussion to begin with. i'm moving back to my usual spot in the iphone forum and will be leaving this post. hence, i guess you best head back to the kopitiam forum to discuss your typical matters.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Oct 3 2008, 09:30 AM
temptation1314
post Oct 3 2008, 10:36 AM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

Ok,

I smell a bit racist on TS doh.gif (Don't get offended, I did smell something about it)

Back to the point.

Well, I sort of agree with TS 50/50
Our medical report is P&C to public la.. doh.gif doh.gif (Yes, including pregnancy, fever, bla bla bla) You wouldn't want someone to do like this :

XXXX, Cancer test, this way please. doh.gif
Ah wait, there's nothing wrong with cancer test at all. But human's mentality is there. Let's put a scenario here.

There's a man, inside the LRT's tren with you standing side by side. You know that he did take cancer test. Will you go and touch him or stand nearer to him? wink.gif (Don't give me bullshit, I know some would not care but majority do CARE)

This is what TS trying to explain.

Ok, another half?
Well, since it's just PREGNANCY TEST, there's no need to be shy about it. After all, giving birth is a bless, not a curse what.
Nobody will curse you for taking pregnancy test.
francischuahcw
post Oct 3 2008, 11:50 AM

Retired. Do Not Disturb
2,152 posts

That is most probably the culture within our country itself or maybe the Eastern culture whereby we tend to "kepo" about people and love to comment about people bad thing rather than talking good thing/optimistic on other people if compare to Western.

Simple to say, you do right, people wont cherish as they say it is a "must" to do things right. But when you do wrong, everyone start pointing to you. Human is like that, never reflect on how good they are, but only knows how to comment how bad other people is.

So, live with it.
bobby85
post Oct 3 2008, 02:18 PM

258 posts

hi ts...still remember for how long ur period didn't come when u decided to go to take a pregnancy test??
TSore0
post Oct 3 2008, 02:22 PM

Validating

QUOTE(bobby85 @ Oct 3 2008, 02:18 PM)
hi ts...still remember for how long ur period didn't come when u decided to go to take a pregnancy test??
hi bobby smile.gif

more than a month and 2 weeks...

hi temptation,

its ok, i don't mind what you said. Its an open opinion, nonetheless, there is no need to be racist lol.
Thank you, it is like what you said, human mentality and its reactions. smile.gif
bobby85
post Oct 3 2008, 02:38 PM

258 posts

wow...y did u waited so long before u go for the test? is it 1 month after ur last period or 1 month after ur expected period date?
temptation1314
post Oct 3 2008, 02:49 PM

2,287 posts

well.. I think still ok...

smile.gif My gf sometimes 2 months never come... try to eat something will make it come lor.. wink.gif

bobby85
post Oct 3 2008, 02:55 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Oct 3 2008, 02:49 PM)
well.. I think still ok...

smile.gif My gf sometimes 2 months never come...  try to eat something will make it come lor.. wink.gif

example??

never heard of things tat can stimulate period.... blink.gif
temptation1314
post Oct 3 2008, 02:59 PM

2,287 posts

dunno la.. laugh.gif Me not girl ma...

Try ask doctor's advice lor..
neroslash
post Oct 4 2008, 03:19 PM

162 posts

have good diet will not mess up with the period. emotional control is important too..
PerfectStop
post Oct 4 2008, 11:37 PM

QUOTE(nexous @ Oct 1 2008, 09:31 PM)
omg  doh.gif

Do you know your own body? Can you differentiate the external from the internal genitalia?

You said you had no intercourse, I assume your bf only performed oral and or probably touched around your clit. Suppose that is true (that is no intercourse), his semen at most only ends up at your external genitalia. That is on the outside end of your long long birth canal!

To make a baby, sperms need to swim up all the way through the birth canal, AND then up again to the upper portion of the uterus, bordering the Fallopian tube.

Can sperms swim THAT far?

And let's not forget that the uterus is hollow. It is not filled with water or any liquid. Is it a conducive environment for semen to propagate and for sperms to swim?

No and no.

There's a reason the part that delivers spermatozoa in the male reproductive system is long.
wow..are u a doc? thumbup.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0297sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:36 PM