Vios Coolant Change, ... DIY ...

zees
post Sep 30 2008, 08:33 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(atah @ Sep 30 2008, 08:20 AM)
thanks. any idea how to fully empty the tank as it has no drain point? do i need to remove the tank and pour the old coolant away?
i own vios too, if you don't wish to remove the reservoir then u can try this:

when u flush the radiator, flush the reservoir as well, the excess water will overflow from the top since there is no drain point... then close the radiator drain plug and fill with water..... starts the engine and run it for few minutes until the engine is really hot..... then remove the radiator drain plug and water will flow out and you can see the water in the reservoir will be sucked out as well smile.gif

zees
post Sep 30 2008, 10:36 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(atah)
many thanks. by flushing the reservoir, do u mean by putting the water hose into the reservoir and let the water flush out the coolant?
Yes, until you see the water inside is clear smile.gif

QUOTE(atah)
also after running the engine hot, do i need to stop the engine before draining the radiator?
Yes, off the engine... becareful when remove the drain plug, will kena your hand a bit...

QUOTE(atah)
how much coolant do u use for vios? 50/50 or only 1 liter?
I use only 1 litre + distilled water. But I think most people use 2 litre coolant.

QUOTE(atah)
btw, where's the location of the radiator drain?
Very hard to explain smile.gif. you need to remove the stock air ram to reach the drain plug. Or you can jack up your front right tire, stretch your hand through the fender gap, bypass a pipe (I think is aircon pipe) then can reach the drain plug.... but if you got big hand and arm then susah abit biggrin.gif

zees
post Sep 30 2008, 11:55 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(atah)
thx, but where is the air ram located??
Air ram is the air intake pipe connected from the airbox and ends at somewhere near the fog lamp, black color one.

QUOTE(Esky)
Don't do the draining or flushing while the engine is still hot! Do it while it's just warm or after cooling off for a while. You don't want the hot coolant to spill onto any part of your body!
Esky is right, when engine is hot and u open the radiator cap then it will be like fountain tongue.gif

But what I meant is the process after that, meaning you have drain the radiator coolant and have refilled with water. Then you can warm up the engine again to become hot then remove the drain plug only. Of coz there are some chances of getting your hand kena hot water when removing the drain plug. smile.gif Best still remove the reservoir which I never done before.
zees
post Oct 6 2008, 11:56 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(atah @ Oct 6 2008, 11:12 AM)
tried to loosen the drain nut but it was very tight. just to confirm, is it counter-clockwise to loosen it? also is the nut made of plastic? am afraid of breaking it if turn it in wrong direction. thanks
Yes, vios one made of plastic. biggrin.gif

Yes, clockwise to tighten and anti clockwise to loosen. smile.gif

0.0161sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:48 PM