Nokia ★★★[Nokia E66 Discussion Thread]★★★, >>> Designed for the way we work <<<

TSck_spaceboy
post Nov 12 2008, 03:15 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(cabruary @ Nov 12 2008, 03:11 PM)
Hi, i am new here.

New firmware for E66 is out butn with added anti-hacking feature. Not a good news for existing hacked phone.

http://www.symbian-freak.com/news/008/11/e...y_available.htm
yup, the links has been posted quite some time ago but thanks for posting again. We've been talking bout the new firmware for quite some time d..feedbacks of the new firmware has been kinda discouraging though. sad.gif
TSck_spaceboy
post Nov 12 2008, 03:25 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(cabruary @ Nov 12 2008, 03:19 PM)
Better dont upgrade as the new added features not really useful for me. Still want to install unsigned apps.  biggrin.gif
it says that the new firmware added security against "hacked phone", not hacked programs or software, so I guess its not related. I think it should be a security feature against unauthorized use of phones such as EMEA phones used in APAC regions and vice versa..

This post has been edited by ck_spaceboy: Nov 12 2008, 03:25 PM
TSck_spaceboy
post Nov 12 2008, 03:46 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

no regulation saying cant chat while working ler..kaka. of coz can join, but priority for E66 users onli ... brows.gif
TSck_spaceboy
post Nov 12 2008, 04:15 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(mickeysew814 @ Nov 12 2008, 04:08 PM)
thumbup.gif we sama sama nokia family ma, somemore slide phone too, also 3.2mp camera...
Got what priority? monthly lucky draw?

So, E66 have build in GPS and now you know how to come ss2 d... cool!!!  tongue.gif
different class la...time for you to change too lor.. laugh.gif

Added on November 12, 2008, 4:16 pm
QUOTE(cabruary @ Nov 12 2008, 03:11 PM)
Hi, i am new here.

New firmware for E66 is out butn with added anti-hacking feature. Not a good news for existing hacked phone.

http://www.symbian-freak.com/news/008/11/e...y_available.htm
cabruary,

new user? Mind giving me ur details so I can add you to the user lists on main page? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ck_spaceboy: Nov 12 2008, 04:16 PM
TSck_spaceboy
post Nov 13 2008, 10:20 AM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(adrian_huen @ Nov 13 2008, 09:59 AM)
finally my garmin is up....
but when i set a location to go, it only draw a line, it not calc the road...
can you describe wad you mean by "draw a line, not calc the road"?? Normally when you set the destination, Garmin will calculate the route, load the map (only after position is locked), and then the route in pink. Is this what you have??

This post has been edited by ck_spaceboy: Nov 13 2008, 10:23 AM
TSck_spaceboy
post Nov 13 2008, 01:30 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(adrian_huen @ Nov 13 2008, 12:43 PM)
[attachmentid=669829]

like this lo...

Added on November 13, 2008, 1:21 pmsomemore no sound...
whr can get ver 5 audio support file?...
I think I know ur problem. You have to set your routing priority setup to either shorter distance or faster time. For a new complete installation, you need to install the Garmin XT + support files. You can get these from Garmin's website.

Added on November 13, 2008, 1:33 pmbtw, ur map looks weird..different than usual. Mind to tell wad map you're using?

This post has been edited by ck_spaceboy: Nov 13 2008, 01:33 PM
TSck_spaceboy
post Nov 13 2008, 06:21 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

ok..great to hear that. If not mistaken I think malsingmap just released v3.01 Gold...hem..
TSck_spaceboy
post Nov 14 2008, 05:14 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(adrian_huen @ Nov 14 2008, 03:40 PM)
how can i disable a-gps...
FYI, I've posted the answer previously in this thread..but anyway, I'll repeat:

Menu>Tools>Settings>General>Positioning>Positioning Methods, then uncheck A-GPS.
TSck_spaceboy
post Nov 15 2008, 11:20 AM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

maybe he wanna save on the data charges? blush.gif A-GPS wont really eat up battery..
better not turn off A-GPS, its really useful...
TSck_spaceboy
post Nov 16 2008, 06:09 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(bluurpie @ Nov 16 2008, 12:05 PM)
Yeap...the data charges is quite minimal. And with A-GPS, the locking of ur position is a lot faster.
In fact its very minimal, each A-GPS locking only 0.5 ~ 1kB..
TSck_spaceboy
post Nov 17 2008, 12:43 AM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Nov 16 2008, 07:45 PM)
this phone served me good for the pass 1month, but i cant live without PDAPhone.
so im selling this E66 at RM1.5k.  rolleyes.gif

check this >>
reali sad to hear that..but i understand though, have played with WinMo a while and reali got hooked up by it.. biggrin.gif

all the best in ur sales, but FYI new AP now is oni 1.3K ++ ..ori onli ~1.5K.. cry.gif
TSck_spaceboy
post Nov 17 2008, 09:24 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(bluurpie @ Nov 17 2008, 08:59 PM)
The ONLY dis for Nokia in Malaysia are Zitron and Avaxx. Anything besides those two is considered AP. Yes, the phone and accessories that accompanied might be genuine as in they came in the box packed by Nokia and gone through SIRIM approval. But they are brought in by 3rd party companies and not distributed by Zitron and Avaxx locally, thus making them NOT original as the warranty will not be given by Nokia. Hope that helps..
bluurpie is absolutely right..i actually noticed in ur sales thread but didnt wanna voice out, takut u can sell ur phone sweat.gif
TSck_spaceboy
post Nov 18 2008, 08:29 AM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Nov 17 2008, 10:17 PM)
@bluurpie & ck

thanks you for your input. after all i bought this phone from my relatives, which pretty hard for me to argue with him as he is only partime earning some income to cover his studies. well.. i might have to keep this phone for my wife or let it go at 1k.
if ur phone has no problem..then IMHO better not sell ... not worth it. Sell too low, u rugi. Sell too high, hard 2 sell.. this is a great phone dude.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ck_spaceboy: Nov 18 2008, 08:29 AM
TSck_spaceboy
post Nov 19 2008, 11:52 AM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(fong82 @ Nov 19 2008, 11:36 AM)
I want to configure my MMS to my E66.  I am using digi line so far.  Can somebody teach me how?  Thanks very much!
By default you should already have the MMS configuration on ur E66..are you having problem sending out MMS? If tats the case, drop Digi a call (0162211800) and request for the MMS configuration. They'll send you a sms that will save the configuration into your phone.

Added on November 19, 2008, 11:57 amThe 2nd way is to key in *128#, go to Mobile Service> MMS> Activate.

The 3rd way is to activate your mms by logging into Digi's OCS.

Hope the above helps.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by ck_spaceboy: Nov 19 2008, 11:57 AM
TSck_spaceboy
post Nov 19 2008, 01:26 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(fong82 @ Nov 19 2008, 12:09 PM)
I have tried the third method and download the MMS setting from Digi's OCS website.  Anyway, after I installed, my MMS still cannot function.  Can manually set it by myself or have to drop by digi center?
I dun think you can do the settings manually. I believe you will need to activate all GPRS, WAP and MMS at the same time. Dun think you need to drop by Digi Center, just call their helpline and they should be able to assist you.
TSck_spaceboy
post Nov 19 2008, 05:43 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(vtec-ing @ Nov 19 2008, 04:44 PM)
anyone here got a squeaky E66?

Especially when the phone is in 'slide-out' stage. Try pressing shortcut keys like home,calendar, etc then u will notice the whole LCD piece is kind of like loosen. When it is fully slide-back, it is quite firm.

Mine and a friend of mine, both also facing the same problem.  wink.gif
Not mine..my E66 is super rock-solid..no wobble at all...didnt you try the phone before buying??
TSck_spaceboy
post Nov 19 2008, 10:09 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(vtec-ing @ Nov 19 2008, 09:54 PM)
you're the third owner facing this  ohmy.gif
i was too excited tht time  drool.gif
haha...we're all like that.. laugh.gif giv me ur details so i can add you to da user list ya..

QUOTE(fong82 @ Nov 19 2008, 12:09 PM)
I have tried the third method and download the MMS setting from Digi's OCS website.  Anyway, after I installed, my MMS still cannot function.  Can manually set it by myself or have to drop by digi center?
bro give me ur details 2 add u to the user list too...welcome all!! nod.gif

This post has been edited by ck_spaceboy: Nov 19 2008, 10:11 PM
TSck_spaceboy
post Nov 20 2008, 12:09 AM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(bimmer @ Nov 19 2008, 10:55 PM)
Maybe you dont use it enough? haha.
i've used it too much till it masuk "clinic" now d... cry.gif

QUOTE(bluurpie @ Nov 19 2008, 11:02 PM)
For those of you interested in having your e66 battery life prolonged, I found this setting workaround somewhere in a forum of which I can't remember.

Apparently, the wifi device in e66 is still powered even though the scanning of wifi signals has been turned off. By decreasing the power distributed to the wifi device had helped in making the battery last longer.

Here's how you can access the settings:

Main menu>Settings>Connection>Wiresless LAN>Option>Advanced Settings

Then disable Automatic Configuration. Next, go down to "TX power level" and change the default value of 100mW to either 10mW or 4mW.

Tried that myself and had my battery lasted a day extra  biggrin.gif . However, the drawback might be that your wifi signal might not be so strong...haven't really compared that myself. For my case, I seldom use the wifi on my phone and when I do, I just revert it back to the default settings if I find the signals a bit weak or want to optimise it.
Wow..seems interesting..another extra 1 day? Gotta try that out then..thx for sharing dudez.
TSck_spaceboy
post Nov 20 2008, 09:06 AM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(vtec-ing @ Nov 20 2008, 08:33 AM)
my details are at number 9 in the list liao  rclxms.gif
aiks..forgetful me... sweat.gif
TSck_spaceboy
post Nov 20 2008, 03:16 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

QUOTE(bluurpie @ Nov 20 2008, 01:03 PM)