Chery MPV, Any thoughts on this car/MPV?

TStanos
post Sep 28 2008, 10:25 PM, updated 18y ago

410 posts

Chery MPV

Saw it during my visit to Carre4 Batu Pahat. Exterior looks okay but a bit outdated lar... like Mitsubishi Charriot....

Any thought?
TStanos
post Sep 28 2008, 11:40 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(779364 @ Sep 28 2008, 11:27 PM)
its using a sourced Mitsubishi 2.4 litre 4GXX engine
Fuel consumption at 11.4 km/liter (at 90 km/h), which is not bad for a 2.4 CC engine. Any online reviews?
TStanos
post Oct 2 2008, 10:18 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Sep 29 2008, 07:43 PM)
What can you expect from Chinese cars?
Reputable brand? Nope
Trusted? hmm.gif
Powerful? doh.gif
Reliable? I wonder...
Safe? * You gotta be kidding me*
QUOTE(Latino Heat @ Sep 30 2008, 11:05 PM)
For 86k, might as well settle down with a more reliable Nissan Livina or add a few thousand for a Toyota Innova ??
QUOTE(zacevox @ Oct 1 2008, 03:22 AM)
alado give 3 years warranty, after 3 year then you might have problem to get part at a fair price. somemore resale value would be very very low.
unless you stay langkawi lah, only 40k. pakai buang
80k better you get a japanese mpv
or wait for the clone of this mpv make by proton brows.gif
Yeah. Livina should be better.... Innova no lah, design like an old man lah.....
TStanos
post Oct 16 2008, 12:28 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(PerfumeTrader @ Oct 15 2008, 11:37 PM)
you guys talk like you guys knows every thing .....so far my chery MPV already 'makan' wish 2.0 , G livina 1.8 , innova 2.0 , naza 2.5 dont play 2 ...wait until my mech put a 4G63 T inside.......Malaysian = Branded Consciuos = Listen To Rumours = Status Conscious bla bla bla......give cherry a few more years ....those overpriced japs and korean cars or conti ....will feel the pain ...... whistling.gif
Could you give us a review on items below:

1. Driving performance
2. Car features - interior and exterior
3. Fuel consumption (please indicate the driving speed)
4. Space
5. Service and service center location
TStanos
post Oct 16 2008, 07:18 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(surehit @ Oct 16 2008, 03:27 AM)
Saw the real thing today. Looked like a cross between Mitsubishi Grandis and Toyota Wish, but much cheaper.  rclxms.gif  At first I was hesistant because of the brand but after careful inspection and test drive, I'm convinced.  thumbup.gif  Most likely I'll will book it tomorrow.

Read the detail review here:
http://paultan.org/archives/2008/09/03/che...r-7-seater-mpv/

Very elegant design:
http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_...p?CarCode=10442

Any other comments? Experience?
Hrmmm... no review from Paul. The rating is from a Singapore site, would prefer if the rating is from a Malaysian guy. Maybe after u bought it, give us a review.

PerfumeTrader

Could you give us a review on items below:

1. Driving performance
2. Car features - interior and exterior
3. Fuel consumption (please indicate the driving speed)
4. Space
5. Service and service center location

This post has been edited by tanos: Oct 16 2008, 07:19 AM
TStanos
post Oct 16 2008, 01:04 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(surehit @ Oct 16 2008, 11:19 AM)
Sure, will do. This MPV is being assembled in Johor by Oriental (Honda factory). So it's meant for local market first. But I think Chery has been exporting cars to many countries now. I was shown a list of service centers nationwide, hope they are good coz they give 3 years warranty and 1 year free service. Comes with Dual Airbags, ABS and EBD.
My opinion of Chevy Eastar MPV after viewing and test drive:  sweat.gif

1. Driving performance: stable, smooth and relatively quiet on the busy Ampang Road. Good acceleration. felt like a strong horse ready to burst compare to my aging Waja.

2. Car features - the interior is nice to look at except the seats have so-so fabric. Changing to leather will improve the overall look and feel. Laquered steering and  dashboard surprisingly give a more elegant feel than Proton Perdana or Naza Ria. The aircon is the best, very cool and strong. Automatically adjust according to the interior temp. Last row kinda seats kinda small but still bigger than Grand Livina.

The exterior boast twin lamps similar to Satria Neo while the rear lights is a combination of halogen and LED similar to Grandis/Wish/Stream. Since it's place at the top, minor accident won't damage it. Shape similar to Grandis/Stream. Less sleek than Wish.

3. Fuel consumption (please indicate the driving speed): no idea but I was told full tank is around RM160 to RM300 (by different salesguys) using a 62 litres tank.

4. Space: more roomier than Avanza & Grand Livina but less than Innova, Serena. Should be like Wish 1.8 except middle of 2nd row seats can be folded down to form a very comfortable armrest. Last rows kinda tight but still better than Grand Livina.

5. Service and service center location: I was shown a list of many outlets thoroughout Malaysia.

As for being on the road, this car was only launched on Sep 3, 2008. It's not a popular model so there should not be many OTR. I happened to see one yesterday, what a coincidence. But it was launched by our DPM.

Why I'm looking to buy it?

1. Nice elegant look, esp the rear.
2. Good features you can only find in higher price MPV: airbags, ABS, EBD, Steptronic (auto & manual transmission), Mitsubishi engine, 16" allow wheel.  thumbup.gif
3. Sleeker than Serena/Avanza/Innova but roomier than Grand Livina/Rush.

On my, I sold myself writing this. Hope I'm making the right choice. Wish me luck people.  tongue.gif
Dude a nice review. Actually was also considering to buy it, but am afraid of the "Made in China" thing. Just look at Naza's car the one that was brought in from China (dont remember the name). SO many issues.
TStanos
post Oct 16 2008, 10:56 PM

410 posts

Surehit: Another good review. Makes me drool faster. What is the quoted price OTR?
TStanos
post Oct 17 2008, 09:40 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(ssyy @ Oct 17 2008, 09:14 AM)
any actual pics of your car perfume trader? i would like to view some real photos of malaysian market chery mpv..
Yeah, was asking him to do a review also....
TStanos
post Oct 20 2008, 08:32 PM

410 posts

Is there any professional review out there (from a malaysian magazine) etc....?

0.0208sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:34 PM