Annoying Front Panel Headers, Simple Mod To Make Life A Lil Easier

TSmADmAN
post Sep 26 2008, 01:59 PM, updated 18y ago

10,530 posts

GREETINGS!!!

just thought id share something...a simple mod... doesnt take long to do...but gets rid of the annoyance for as long as ur using the same mobo...

im sure everyone hates having to unplug the front panel headers... because when u wanna plug them back in, u have to refer to the damn manual as to which plug goes where doh.gif imho this is the most annoying part when installing a mobo.

those who remove the mobo alot from the case to change hsf, to change watever else would surely know what kind of pain it is... heck, for me...i get so lazy to remove the mobo coz of the front panel headers...make my casing's removable mobo tray pretty useless....

now.. my favourite mobo brand, Asus wub.gif, has managed to "solve" this problem with their boards. they are thoughtful enough to provide terminal blocks that they named "Q-Connector". and believe me, these things are a life saver! im sooooooooo thankful to Asus for providing it. they saved my life during a period where i was having problems with my gaming rig and had to constantly remove the mobo from the case (my A10 case has a removable mobo tray)

wub.gif

u can actually DIY these Q-Connectors. all you need is to get a terminal block and the necessary pins for it. parts should be available in jalan pasar... i plan on doing these terminal blocks thing...coz at least with more "universal" block u can probably use it for any mobo u might have in the future. only thing is...i dont have the time to go hunt them down as yet.

and if ur wondering why i didnt get an asus board for the Q-Connector...well i did..my main rig is on an Asus board. but this is for my HTPC which is using a gigabyte board. why gigabyte? coz the the whole of friggin LYP didnt have the Asus board i wanted for my HTPC!!! vmad.gif cry.gif

WHY ARENT OTHER MANUFATURERS PROVIDING THE SAME THING??? THEY SHOULD! FRIGGIN ANNOYING MAN!!! SHEESH! vmad.gif

anyway, i wanted to add a PCI card to the mobo, so i had to remove the mobo from the case since its an SFF... figured i might as well do the mod. ive had it in my head for a long time just didnt get around to doing it. so now i have a chance i did.

this mod may or may not work for u.....depending on ur mobo's pin layout. my gigabyte mobo has the layout where all the pins are in 1 place so it becomes like a whole block. makes life easier for the mod. for those whose pins are scattered....u can DIY the Q-Connector with a terminal block.. or u can do this for each block u might have.

i DONT recommend gluing them together, in case u change mobo. at least this one u can undo it and redo again for the next mobo.

enough of the long story... now the mod...

stuffs needed
1/ Small cable ties
2/ Heatshrink of the appropriate size
3/ Heat Source to heat the heatshrink
4/ Cutting materials to cut the heatshrink to size, trim cable tie, etc etc

so now lets get on with the mod...step by step.... (ooh babyyyyyyyyyy tongue.gif)

STEP 1

while the connectors are still in the mobo, use a cable tie and tie them TIGHT. this is to make sure when u remove them from the mobo for the next step of the mod the cables and the plugs dont go all over the place.

u can end the mod here if ur truly truly truly TRULY lazy... but since its so simple... might as well finish it laaaa

STEP 2

CAREFULLY slide the cable tie back towards the cable, making sure u hold the connectors properly so it doesnt get mixed up. while doing it, also at the same time carefully slide in a small cut out of heatshrink to replace the cable tie..DO NOT tighten or cut out the cable tie just yet! leave it as it is at the cables..then heat the heatshrink. (careful not to burn ur hand/ fingers while heating it up coz ur still holding the connectors tight remember?)

STEP 3

now bring back the initial cable tie to the front..as close to the plugs as possible and tighten it kow kow.
cut out some heatshrink of the appropriate length..making sure it covers the plugs AND the cable tie. the cable tie will act as an achor (not the beer tongue.gif) so that the heatshrink wont be sliding all over the place.

STEP 4

slide in the second piece of heatshrink over the 1st layer of heatshrink all the way in until it covers the cable tie and shrink the bugger. the picture above is the end result. they are my front panel switches etc and also my USB headers (which are seperate)

now everytime i have to remove my mobo & mobo tray out of my microfly i dont have to think about the front panel headers anymore, meaning i wont be lazy to remove them la thumbup.gif

do take note...i did not cover the whole of the plugs for 2 reasons
1/ to be able to see some form of marking on the plugs so that i know which side goes where
2/ if u look at the earlier pix... my mobo connectors has some form of "border" around the pins. if i were to put heatshrink to cover the entire plug, i might not be able to fit it back in due to the borders...those whose mobo do not have these borders, can cover the entire plug if u wish

u can still make it look better with sleeving etc...but i was in a rush and i couldnt be bothered to make it so cun until like that...

anyway...sorry theres no pix of the thing in the case and plugged in...forgot to take pix of it was so excited to get my new PCI card (which is wifi card btw) up and running that i totally forgot laugh.gif mebbe ill go home and snap some and post it up here la.

simple right??? now i just wish other mobo manufacturers would provide the Q-connectors as well....something so simple and yet they still dont wanna provide it with their mobos... friggin morons...sheesh doh.gif

E-J@1
post Sep 26 2008, 02:40 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

i did mine with sellotape, easier & did the job well

& don't worry, its not gonna be ugly as i use clear transparent sellotape

did it on the front audio connector during those AMD64 days

damn annoyed with those AC '97 connectors

hmm.gif even ASUS didnt invent those QConct yet laugh.gif
TSmADmAN
post Sep 26 2008, 03:06 PM

10,530 posts

laugh.gif agree..... but then again i dont use front panel audio connectors so that part doesnt bother me at all... wat bothers me the most is the power switch led etc etc....

im not really keen on using tape coz dust might get stuck to it. and with the heat in the case it might peel after awhile...hence the reason i used heatshrinks...

and i actually kinda like how it looks honestly laugh.gif
DaRkSyThE
post Sep 26 2008, 07:41 PM

4,809 posts

haha yes you gotta love those Q-connectors.
life savers really
mfcm
post Sep 26 2008, 09:42 PM

2,765 posts

hehhe for the USB connector must nice working..but if for i/o front panel pnya connector once changin mobo need to redo it sweat.gif coz sum mobo not same location connector sad.gif
chyu89
post Sep 26 2008, 10:00 PM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

Lol nice madman, btw i memorize them and i do practices, i remove and plug it everyday. so now i can memorize it lol...
xk2
post Sep 26 2008, 10:51 PM

Temporary OFF
2,910 posts

i use technology --camera to help me remember by look at the color of cable laugh.gif
SoulReaver
post Sep 26 2008, 11:30 PM

TerribleLover
513 posts

I write it down on a book.. LOL...
TSmADmAN
post Sep 26 2008, 11:43 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(mfcm @ Sep 26 2008, 09:42 PM)
hehhe for the USB connector must nice working..but if for i/o front panel pnya connector once changin mobo need to redo it sweat.gif coz sum mobo not same location connector sad.gif
yeah thats the thing.....if change mobo have to redo....but its easy to redo so no big deal la....but then again..how often do people change mobo? i mean normal people la...

QUOTE(chyu89 @ Sep 26 2008, 10:00 PM)
Lol nice madman, btw i memorize them and i do practices, i remove and plug it everyday. so now i can memorize it lol...
everday??? got so rajin meh??? i know im not tongue.gif

QUOTE(xk2 @ Sep 26 2008, 10:51 PM)
i use technology --camera to help me remember by look at the color of cable laugh.gif
QUOTE(SoulReaver @ Sep 26 2008, 11:30 PM)
I write it down on a book.. LOL...
main purpose of this is so that u can just plug and unplug without having to refer to anything.

reaver...if u write down in a book....might as well just refer to the manual tongue.gif
sepulgilo
post Sep 27 2008, 12:07 AM

dead for good
1,626 posts

thanks for the creativity bro
Gamer
post Sep 27 2008, 02:51 AM

Be Original
3,366 posts

i use my brain to remember it, so just recall them when i need it.
rainingzero
post Sep 27 2008, 03:27 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

lol....i always forgot this freaking thingy, luckily my mobo does have sign on each connector...
Aquariusdenz
post Sep 27 2008, 09:36 PM

1,533 posts

lolz i refer to the sign written on the board.. but then it didnt write + or - , so i cant determine its positive or negative.. this idea does help me alot.. nice one.. smile.gif
TSmADmAN
post Sep 27 2008, 11:16 PM

10,530 posts

aside from the fact that u dont need to remember what goes where...

and one of the other main reasons i did it oso is so that u dont have to plug the damn thing in 1 by 1 by 1 by 1 by 1 by 1 by 1...

straight away plug in the entire thing tongue.gif

after raya gonna hunt down for the terminal blocks and make a few.... i think i need a 20pin terminal block... i checked 3 diff mobos... all 3 oso 20 pin... so i guess 20 pin is the standard for the front panel connectors...

angelic88
post Sep 29 2008, 01:51 AM

325 posts

hmmm , i just brought MSI neo2(hopefully it will last long >.<)

well it did provide such thing XD .... indeed did make life easier , rather than arranging it and plug in 1 by 1 in that crampy space
lotiman2003
post Sep 29 2008, 06:47 PM

1,367 posts

Nice accessory
rainingzero
post Sep 29 2008, 09:28 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 27 2008, 11:16 PM)
aside from the fact that u dont need to remember what goes where...

and one of the other main reasons i did it oso is so that u dont have to plug the damn thing in 1 by 1 by 1 by 1 by 1 by 1 by 1...

straight away plug in the entire thing tongue.gif
after raya gonna hunt down for the terminal blocks and make a few.... i think i need a 20pin terminal block... i checked 3 diff mobos... all 3 oso 20 pin... so i guess 20 pin is the standard for the front panel connectors...
yup, agree. plug in all at one time...easier and faster.... smile.gif
Pon&Zi
post Sep 29 2008, 11:38 PM

92 posts

thks for ur idea
em0ti0n
post Sep 30 2008, 12:46 AM

438 posts

nice tips madman
syahirax
post Sep 30 2008, 05:18 AM

anomie!
562 posts

thanks a lot madman.never thought of this before,i always having much hassle when installing the front panel especially usb or audio
apa2jela
post Oct 29 2008, 06:45 PM

34 posts

funny..when i bought my asus mobo they was no Q-connector..salesman said asus dun provide.... anyway now got idea on how to diy... thx madman
sakurakinomoto
post Nov 3 2008, 05:14 PM

This was a triumph.
1,164 posts

MSI also provide.

My MSI P7N SLI did provide me

0.0195sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:17 AM