Android Phone (G1)
naTTan
Feb 28 2009, 01:19 AM
Ok boys and girls i was searching high and low yesterday as to how to retreive my emails from yahoo and hotmail into my phone.
Well hold and behold since i come to deliver.
Hotmail :
1. Login to Hotmail. 2. Mouse over Options, and then click on More Options. 3. Click on View and edit your personal information link under “Manger your account” section. 4. Click on Registered Information link. 5. For both Home Location and Work Location, change the following details to specified values:
Postal Code: WC1B 3DG Constituent Country: England Time zone: London, United Kingdom - GMT
6. Click on Save when done. 7. Go back to Hotmail, and ensure that the display language of Hotmail is set to English by mouse over the Options. 8. Configure your email client or other webmail service (Gmail configuration to access Hotmail via POP3) to access and download Hotmail Inbox via POP3 protocol, using the Hotmail POP3 and SMTP configuration settings. 9. The email client or another mail service provider should be able to access, login and download or send through Hotmail server without error. 10. Once Hotmail POP3 and SMTP support is enable on the account, it’s possible to change and revert back to your original web interface language, home and work location.
Once you have done that insert the following :
To setup mail client to access Windows Live Hotmail account, use the following Hotmail POP3 and SMTP configuration settings:
Incoming Server (POP3 Server): pop3.live.com Incoming Server POP Port: 995 Incoming Server POP SSL Encryption: Yes (On or Required)
Outgoing Server (SMTP Server): smtp.live.com Outgoing Server SMTP Port: 25 Outgoing Server Authentication: Yes (On - Use POP username and password or Hotmail credentials) Outgoing Server TLS or SSL Secure Encrypted Connection: Yes (On or Required)
User Name: Windows Live ID (e.g. yourname@hotmail.com) Password: password used to sign in to Hotmail or Windows Live service
Note: “Log on using Secure Password Authentication (SPA)” check box in Outlook, Outlook Express or Windows Live Mail should not be selected.
Yahoo :
This one need a little finding, but to sum it up first you have to change your location.
Very few local country servers provide free pop access, i think Singapore, Canada and India are the few that provide.
So first this first :
1)Login to yahoo. 2)Go to my account. 3)Under member information go to edit. 4)Change your yahoo english to yahoo!india (For those in Singapore, i am not sure about the settings you require later, but safe to say if you have @yahoo.sg you can easily access your pop forwarding menu. 5)By choosing India, you can't access the pop menu still, however if you still place the appropiate values in your android email application it will still access it.
The values are :
Incoming Mail (POP3) Server: in.pop.mail.yahoo.com (Use SSL, port: 995 ) Outgoing Mail (SMTP) Server: in.smtp.mail.yahoo.com (Use SSL, port: 465, use authentication) Account Name/Login Name: Your Yahoo! Mail ID (your email address without the "@yahoo.com") Email Address: Your Yahoo! Mail address (e.g., user@yahoo.com) Password: Your Yahoo! Mail password
Have fun guys.
naTTan
Feb 28 2009, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(St@nZ @ Feb 28 2009, 12:59 PM) naTTan, thanks for ur info. But i hv problem to set up my yahoo mail. wen i click next after editing the incoming mail server, it says username or password incorrect but im sure i hv entered the correct username n password. anyone encountered this prob. thks for the help That's weird, are you sure you have changed your yahoo locality to yahoo india? Try logging in normaly and change the password and try again. Btw I am using k9 mail not sure if there is any different from the default one.
naTTan
Feb 28 2009, 05:59 PM
QUOTE(alpha_company @ Feb 28 2009, 05:12 PM) i donno how this phone works really...need to login email to start it up? Yeah, preferbaly you need a google email to start it up. you can avaoid all those things but you can't access the market later on,
naTTan
Mar 1 2009, 06:22 AM
QUOTE(alpha_company @ Mar 1 2009, 01:26 AM) yeah i have a gmail acc but what is MARKET? The market is how you get all your software from, it comprises of free and paid.
naTTan
Mar 21 2009, 03:12 AM
Guys thinking of rooting how do i go about it?
How about my current contacts and sms? and apps?
Do i have to do a wipe?
naTTan
Mar 24 2009, 06:55 AM
Ok have rooted my phone  But now not sure if i need to update the radio band? I when from RC 33 to RC 29 to JF 1.42 RC 33 was considering JF 1.43 ADP 1.1 but don't know if i can or not? So do i have to update the radio band? My one is currently : 62.33.20.08H_1.22.12.29 What you guys are having? Added on March 24, 2009, 7:07 amBTW what should i do first with a rooted phone? Can i add you zerokid? My gtalk is so empty This post has been edited by naTTan: Mar 24 2009, 07:07 AM
naTTan
Mar 25 2009, 04:45 AM
Oh yeah guys if you don't like using multiple email apps, you can just go to your gmail interface with a PC go to settings and add pop email with the settings i gave earlier, it will automatically d/l all your email from hotmail and yahoo.
naTTan
Mar 25 2009, 08:50 AM
QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 25 2009, 07:54 AM) Ya-reh...ya-reh! liquid_ooze's offer is too tempting!! If this is a real Dev (AKA ADP) phone with the unique back cover:  I'm willing to trade my G1 for rm570 and top you up RM1k for the Dev phone. Hunting for it for some time edy!! ^^ I have tried the method, but the India yahoo pop3 still not working for my gmail. It doesn't pull the yahoo mail.  Can i change the servers to other country like Singapore and Canada? Weird i got it instantly, you can change it. but the pop settings will be different.
naTTan
Apr 30 2009, 06:19 AM
grazy you still got the big capacity battery?
Had transfered apps to sd and battery drain quite fast now =(
naTTan
May 4 2009, 11:47 PM
Hmm so we would have to have a google checkout account i guess?
naTTan
Jun 13 2009, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Jun 13 2009, 10:53 AM) anyone here thinking to switch to magic?? I just notice that celcom is bringing in the HTC magic not sure which model though since there is The 192 mb ram and 266 mb ram right? But the phone looks sleek and the price is 1999 for the phone with 2 packages offered rm 50 comitment and 98 unlimited. 300 deposit. Since they already able to root it, i wonder if people are going to buy it? Rm 1999 for the phone with a contract seems pricey though. But way cheaper then iphone though.
naTTan
Jun 15 2009, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Jun 15 2009, 09:16 AM) i thought it was sold at RM2699?? summore got 2 spec to choose ah?? if the G2 got qwerty, then it will be more merrier.. agreed with u on the lack of keyboard... how abt memphis?? this 1 with keyboard wor.. I double check the price it's rm 1999, and they offered to packages to me, my current maxis package, which is rm 50 for calls and 98 for unlimited data. or you can take the 250 one. RM 1999 for a smartphone like this seems ok to me.
naTTan
Jun 15 2009, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Jun 15 2009, 02:47 PM) ya lor... dunno why the heck they downsize the screen size  celcome package is definately better than maxis.... so r u going for MAGICal moment??  hmm it's tempting but i really love the hardware keyboard i rather wait and take a look at samsung bigfoot.
naTTan
Jun 23 2009, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(dartl @ Jun 23 2009, 11:14 AM) I just got asked by a fellow Android user how to update their Singtel with Cupcake. Wah! This is my first time helping others. Feels damn good. Feels like a god. Added on June 23, 2009, 11:17 amDo you mean, we will void the warranty of the phone or brick it? As far as I know, our HTC Dreams bought in M'sia has no warranty except from the shop right? And if we do brick the phone, isn't there a way to flash hard-reset it?  Very rare i heard of people bricking their fone the only case was the SPL issue, but that one was isolated.
naTTan
Jun 23 2009, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(lost123 @ Jun 23 2009, 03:48 PM) hey, my youtube player is kinda choppy, as in the sound is choppy.. does everyone have this problem??? and is there a way to fix it? What do you mean choppy? Did you have meatus volume mod in it?
naTTan
Jun 23 2009, 04:27 PM
Hmm actually the sound of the G1 phone by default is quite clear and low. It's no possible to enjoy the youtube video with the default sound mod, unless your surrounding is quite or you use a headphone.
I suggest you consider wiping the phone, and install a fresh rom. I am currently using cyanogen rom which is fast and always updated.
naTTan
Jul 1 2009, 01:55 AM
QUOTE(phonefreako @ Jun 30 2009, 07:24 PM) use a software called PARAGON PARTITION MANAGER. google for it. gtalk with me at harrizs87@gmail.com if u need more help. added you but can't get you. wanted to know where you get your *ahem stuff* add me moosaicq@gmail.com
naTTan
Aug 17 2009, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(fedds @ Aug 17 2009, 01:46 PM) Hello everyone. This is my first post and its great to know that there are many G1 users in M'sia i can learn from. Anyway, i just got mine frm SG few weeks ago and i have yet to receive the 1.5 update. FYI, my friend and i bought our phones at the same time, he's on Celcom and i'm on Maxis. He got the update, i did not. Is the OTA updates limited to a certain network provider only? Not it's based on google and phone ID, are you on the data package? Is pushed thru 3G/
naTTan
Sep 12 2009, 03:19 AM
QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Sep 11 2009, 09:02 AM) Big Apple is nice. I herd Krispy Kreme is here in Malaysia. Time Square iinm. Haven't try myself. This update should be able to hold me with Android for the time being. Edit: I just read about CyanogenMod. Is the mod applicable to HTC Hero? Will Sense run on top of CyanogenMod? Cyanogen is applicable for G1 and Magic only as of yet. It's a different rom all together and you can't string it along in Hero. There is other Hero mods in Xda and you should check it out. Guys, ah, how to say ah, can someone pm me about what happen to droidappz if anyone has been there?
naTTan
Sep 14 2009, 05:41 PM
QUOTE(Chris25 @ Sep 13 2009, 02:05 PM) im really tempted to root my droid now. whats the difference after rooting it? Well when i got it i root it in 1 month time. It's pretty easy, and with root i can do the following : I prefer my back up root program to save everything on my phone, i also usually have a nandroid save, which is a mirror image of your phone. I prefer to thether my 3g connection with WIFI since i am using the unlimited package. I get to taste donut so much earlier, and as of now, the OS by cyanogen is pretty much fast.