Android Phone (G1)

lek_e30
post Mar 10 2009, 12:23 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 10 2009, 08:11 AM)
Yosh...it's about time to install JF Updater for those who has rooted Android as there is a new ADP1.1 Dev firmware just been pushed out yesterday ^^;

Hopefully JF will get a hand on it and publish it on this updater soon. brows.gif

-------------------

Hmmm, seems like JF1.43h (android 1.1 holiday) is similar to this ADP 1.1 Dev factory image, only the later claims it can see paid apps! Will wait and see.
dun know wat r u talking abt BUT looks interesting when rooted whistling.gif
lek_e30
post Mar 10 2009, 02:49 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 10 2009, 12:32 PM)
he..he...when u have rooted your little monster, then you will know ^^;

heh! So howz ur G1 after locked to GSM only? The issue still persist?
so far no prob.... must cant sms... re-enter sms ctr, ok oledi...

i think some problem with my 3G la
lek_e30
post Mar 13 2009, 11:32 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

i think maxis unlimited data was no so good in terms of coverage... at least at my place even in klang valley... might consider digi if they have their 3G
lek_e30
post Mar 14 2009, 09:35 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

dizzing seing those rooted user discussion doh.gif doh.gif
lek_e30
post Mar 16 2009, 09:31 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 15 2009, 10:56 PM)
Well, I have problems with Google Maps sometimes cannot resolve my location when I only enable GSM Triangulation. GPS is spot on so far. Ooh, I do have a feeling that if you enable both together will cause the Google Map to take location from 'Wireless Network' instead from GPS. Thats because when GPS is activated, it requires some time before it can detect the satelites. As a result during this time, the GPS location will not be available causing Google Maps to detect location from 'Wireless Network'.
is it mean that when gps on, my location will be accurate??

mine was never accurate.... sweat.gif sweat.gif
lek_e30
post Mar 16 2009, 09:44 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 16 2009, 09:41 AM)
Well depending on the GPS receiver reception quality/strength, the accuracy can be few meters to a few hundred meters. Try disabling 'Wireless Network' locator and only enable GPS. It'll take awhile before it lock onto some satellites. I understand that the Qualcomm processor with integrated GPS receiver (same as most HTC devices) isn't the best available but it shouldn't be too bad.

If things are still inaccurate, try moving in a car once you get GPS connected. If still inaccurate there are only 2 explanations:

1. The integrated GPS is really lousy.
2. Future Radio ROM plus ROM updates could improve its performance (meaning to say current revision isn't mature).
3. Google Map's coverage of Malaysia isn't accurate.

You can verify by putting the G1 next to a standalone GPS receiver. Get the coordinates of present location from both units and compare them. If both are almost the same but the standalone GPS's accuracy is spot on and the G1 isn't, then we know the map is at fault. If G1's coordinate is far from the standalone GPS's coordinates, we know something is wrong.  tongue.gif
ok, i will try to disabling wireless network first...

how abt urs?? is it accurate??

i remember u use X1 b4 rite?
lek_e30
post Mar 16 2009, 11:43 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 16 2009, 10:05 AM)
Nope, I didn't use X1 before but I do own a Touch Diamond for some time. But both devices uses the same chipset from Qualcomm 7xxx 528MHz (X1 has 288MB while Touch Diamond only had 192MB of RAM).

Speaking of RAM, is there any indication of how much Android uses from time to time? I only see indications of how much ROM storage is available. But I do know that you can have 10+ apps running in the background without any problem which is comforting to know.
ops maybe i mistakenly abt someone... but ur name rings a bell....just cant recall from which thread..

QUOTE(liquid_ooze @ Mar 16 2009, 11:29 AM)
Thanks for the info grazy. Seems that my build is the "Holiday" version.

By the way, I can't seem to download anything from the Market. It just says "Starting Download" and it seems like forever sweat.gif

Also, Youtube isn't working for me also. It just says no network connection or something like that. Sheesh, there must be something that I have to do to get past all this. Really a noob when it comes to Android OS.

Appreciate all the guidance from you guys in this notworthy.gif
yo bro!! using G1 also now huh brows.gif welcome to da family..

have u done the initial settings i.e apn...internet settings?
lek_e30
post Mar 16 2009, 02:47 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(liquid_ooze @ Mar 16 2009, 02:27 PM)
Nice. Now I should follow grazy's step and upgrade to JF v1.43 ADP1.1h multitouch laugh.gif
sleep.gif sleep.gif lucky u
lek_e30
post Mar 17 2009, 09:40 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 16 2009, 04:50 PM)
Remember C905 thread where I was given a HOLIDAY? Kekeke! (No pun intended)
I'm actually looking for the memory (RAM) available after all the programs have been started. This isn't the same as how much each application takes from the ROM. In Windows Mobile term, I want to know the Program Memory as opposed to Program Storage. We already know that the HTC Dream has 192MB of RAM. I would like to know how much is available after a fresh boot and after all the applications have been started.

I'll PM you.  tongue.gif
oic.... no wonder la sweat.gif
lek_e30
post Mar 17 2009, 01:53 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

i'm encounter problem with my internet...anyone here faces same??

Added on March 17, 2009, 1:58 pmok oledi after reboot doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by lek_e30: Mar 17 2009, 01:58 PM
lek_e30
post Mar 17 2009, 02:10 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 17 2009, 01:59 PM)
You are not alone leh!
Since last nite, the 3G on and off and experiencing (now also) snail speed 3G ^^(

If tonite, still like dat, will give Maxis a big "harlo"!!
maxis really make wanna say.... JIBET!!!!!!!! mad.gif vmad.gif
lek_e30
post Mar 17 2009, 05:23 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 17 2009, 02:14 PM)
Just switched to EDGE network and forget about 3G hehehehe... very strong signal here. Even with 3G speeds ain't that much of a difference anyway.  nod.gif

I do experienced a time where network data access cannot connect at all until I reboot. WIFI has been spot on so far. Really love it! I downloaded a 40MB file and its really quick when compared to my previous Touch Diamond.
i also have that experience when like data access comes to a dead end doh.gif doh.gif

mind to share wat file do u d/led?? and recommendation to d/l movie or series??
lek_e30
post Mar 17 2009, 11:25 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 17 2009, 10:49 PM)
Guys!

I discover something new. Well not entirely new. But who has customize Caller Picture on their contacts? I realize I can't be taking everyone's photo and include it here. So I thought about using Xbox Live Avatar pictures. Turns out it matches Android so much! Hehehehe!
WOW saved hell lotsa time man... anyway i havent really utilise this section yet doh.gif doh.gif maybe too much other thing for me to explore whistling.gif
lek_e30
post Mar 18 2009, 05:18 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(liquid_ooze @ Mar 18 2009, 09:48 AM)
Bro davidmak, just wondering are you on celcom? If you are, mind to share the settings for APN? I'm still unable to browse youtube, for some reason after opening youtube for 30-40 seconds, an error came out saying there's no network connection (even though my network and 3G connection is full bar)

This only happens in youtube though..
if u able to surf net, i dun think there is problem with ur apn lor sweat.gif

Added on March 18, 2009, 5:24 pmjust read that cupcake is a lie doh.gif doh.gif

http://i.gizmodo.com/5147541/rumor-smash-c...coming-firmware

This post has been edited by lek_e30: Mar 18 2009, 05:24 PM
lek_e30
post Mar 19 2009, 01:45 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 19 2009, 09:40 AM)
Ya-reh...ya-reh! Welcome to the Darkside ^^;

Yep, RC33 is for the public and ADP1.1 is more to the developer liking ^^
One of the distinctive feature in ADP is it able to restart the apps automatically after crashes.

Are you on JF1.42 or JF1.43?
------------------------

Oh! I don't know that our G1 are so popular - Robbers pistol-whip employee, ordered workers to fill duffel bags with Google G1 smart phones. cool2.gif 
They made the rite choice ^^; Darkside.....
hahah!!!! too tempting for one, i assume thumbup.gif
lek_e30
post Mar 19 2009, 05:20 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 19 2009, 03:17 PM)
Ngeh! There are not true "open source" OS, all about commercialization.  If not google will not patch the root access for all the G1 and later market the paid version of ADP with root access ^^;

Tried the Hello Yahoo before, but still loving Meebo more  tongue.gif It's getting more and more stable nowadays.
yup meebo so far so good lor...btw u know how to add ppl using meebo?
lek_e30
post Mar 19 2009, 06:22 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

the usb docking still in my car, forget to bring out doh.gif doh.gif
lek_e30
post Mar 20 2009, 09:26 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 19 2009, 07:59 PM)
Aiyoh! u want it bake it first izzit? tongue.gif
Interested to get one?! Ask me...ask me...!! ^@^
hehe... make it more aromas

Added on March 20, 2009, 9:56 am
QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 20 2009, 09:05 AM)
Ha..Ha...it sounds like that plastic stud need to be "re-oil" ^^;

Think currently the best way to get rid of the creaks is to apply a silicone skin on it.

-------------------------

Damn, even China is going to get the Magic in May!!
dopod G1?? doh.gif doh.gif no wifi, no 3G?? doh.gif doh.gif wat for

This post has been edited by lek_e30: Mar 20 2009, 09:56 AM
lek_e30
post Mar 20 2009, 05:10 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 20 2009, 02:39 PM)
Not a problem at all ^^;

By the way, your Youtube loading issue settled?

--------------------------------

Ok, this is a good news to all non-rooted G1, now you may have USB tethering also. - just follow the instruction here PDAnet ^^;

Enjoy!!
wow!!! that a good stuff to share!!!

QUOTE(liquid_ooze @ Mar 20 2009, 03:25 PM)
@grazy,

Nope it's still not settled yet. I can browse and play youtube videos for about a minute (usually less) then all of a sudden the dreaded message comes out sad.gif

What about you, can you stream youtube using 3G?
i have no problem with it.... but with my gps.. cry.gif cry.gif

Added on March 20, 2009, 5:25 pm
QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 20 2009, 02:39 PM)
Not a problem at all ^^;

By the way, your Youtube loading issue settled?

--------------------------------

Ok, this is a good news to all non-rooted G1, now you may have USB tethering also. - just follow the instruction here PDAnet ^^;

Enjoy!!
why cant connect one??

already install wor...

anyway to check the installation is done??

Added on March 20, 2009, 5:44 pmok kao tim oledi!!!

but dunno works or not, nid to check with my pc back at home...

This post has been edited by lek_e30: Mar 20 2009, 05:44 PM
lek_e30
post Mar 21 2009, 10:46 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(liquid_ooze @ Mar 20 2009, 10:02 PM)
@lek_e30,

Your GPS jumps around from one place to another randomly i suppose?

If it is, then yes I'm facing the same issue as well..

Any Celcom users here that wanna share their APN settings? I mean the complete list notworthy.gif
not only that!!! my maps cant work (to determine my location) if the cell location is disabled doh.gif doh.gif

QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 21 2009, 08:10 AM)
Oh!! Want to join the Darkside eh?! ^^;

It depends on what version you are going to root.
But let say if you are starting from Ori RC33 --> downgrade back to Ori RC29 --> root to JF1.41 RC33/ADP1.1/RC9, it will be advisable to do a complete wipe.
If from JF1.41 RC33 --> update to JF1.42 RC33, then a wipe is not necessary.
If from JF1.42 RC33 --> cross to JF1.43h ADP1.1 , wipe is a must (vise versa).

And you and get Astro to backup ur apps, and mybackup to backup ur SMS/MMS/contacts.

If want to find out more which version is suitable for u, check out JF site.

Hope it helps  wink.gif

Added on March 21, 2009, 8:15 am

@Lek, have you try to reboot and test it under a bright sunny sky?? ^^ Today is a good day to test your GPS.
I can see u on Latitude, but couldn't know its from your cell tower or from your GPS.

Added on March 21, 2009, 9:36 amOk, this is another GOOD NEWS to non-rooted G1, there is a new app to help you gain root access in just 4 steps (eliminated those tedious command typing on terminal emulator) -  Check this out ^^; Happy rooting.

PS* Be advised that there are risks to the rooting process. Making a mistake could cause the G1 to “brick” and become useless because of damaged firmware. The app’s creators state they accept no responsibility for damages caused by using this app. So make sure you drink Brands pati ayam before rooting your G1, k  brows.gif

-------------------------

hmmm.... although the steps quite simple to follow, but it seems like the internet connection is needed in between the rooting process (to download the flash rom). This is risky as our G1 doesn't have default APN setting for local telco once wiped and also 3G downloading is prone to have bad flash due to inconsistent signal. ^^(

Guys, think twice before go on ah! Don't think Brands can help here.
i reboot quite often recently bcause my dxtop nid to force close a few time!!! at that time all my calls was mess up!!

13 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0368sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:59 PM