LYN DJing Thread V2, Mix Scratch BeatJuggling Under One Roof

chanfreak
post Sep 29 2008, 08:31 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(finecut @ Sep 28 2008, 04:16 PM)
so most of the pepz here are DJing as a hobby or career?
hobby, but like most bedroom djs, i hope i'm good enuf to play in clubs/bar someday..

in malaysia most clubs only play those top40/hiphop/rnb stuffs, abit hard to play live la, since i specialize in psy blink.gif

i learnt the basics of djing on my own with just TTs/mixer/software 4 yrs back, then moved on learning CDJs...its been a solitary journey really so far, learning everything on my own, largely due to the fact that i dont even know anyone who has the same interest as i do..yea, i mean u really have to be interested to invest a huge chunk in DJing, and due to studies etc etc, i just lost interest and took a 2 yr hiatus off DJing and just recently started again..so yea wink.gif

also i curious bout those ppl learning under tutor la, is it easier to land gigs cuz of contacts/events by your tutors? cuz usually those tutors are established DJs...and what about organizing your own gigs? anyone here have experience can share?

finecut
post Sep 29 2008, 11:57 PM

497 posts

i tot a lot of clubs play house and trance? oh chicks dig this song = i like the way you move~~~~ everyone would go crazy o.O
Choongster
post Sep 30 2008, 10:25 AM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

carsonoel , where are you from ?

so this weekend ...... gathering will be on? again i'm sure xtothed would like it to be in the night ... i think it will have more feel .....

TSXtOtH3D
post Sep 30 2008, 10:47 AM

I Cue I Pitch I Scratch
683 posts

QUOTE(finecut @ Sep 29 2008, 11:57 PM)
i tot a lot of clubs play house and trance? oh chicks dig this song = i like the way you move~~~~ everyone would go crazy o.O
nope.... only pasarmalam * bar celona * this kinda lala class club will play atm , MOS all playing electro genre
speedfamgirl
post Sep 30 2008, 10:48 AM

Not afraid of #138
1,900 posts

QUOTE(finecut @ Sep 29 2008, 11:57 PM)
huh where got? hmm.gif

bertuah ler if at least i listen to a complete house at least straight 30 minutes without switching to crappy top 40.....

trance/house is dead...older venues that play those music changed either to restaurant or karaoke (Iban Pub/Dangdut)

*speaking about my local so called club industry*

Added on September 30, 2008, 10:52 am
QUOTE(chanfreak @ Sep 29 2008, 08:31 PM)
hobby, but like most bedroom djs, i hope i'm good enuf to play in clubs/bar someday..

in malaysia most clubs only play those top40/hiphop/rnb stuffs, abit hard to play live la, since i specialize in psy  blink.gif

we are almost on the same boat, though i mostly played straight uplifting/harder trance d(-.-)b

This post has been edited by speedfamgirl: Sep 30 2008, 10:52 AM
carsonoel
post Sep 30 2008, 02:01 PM

Sol.
703 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ Sep 30 2008, 10:25 AM)
carsonoel , where are you from ?

so this weekend ...... gathering will be on? again i'm sure xtothed would like it to be in the night ... i think it will have more feel .....
I'm from East MY, but family moved here cos my bro and me both study here anyhow ; and truth be told, back in hometown trying to even learn DJing is near impossible... all we do there is guitar this guitar that, drum this drum that, bass this bass that... so I end up in a band playing alternative in high school... but true passion is Djing ; glad I came here thumbup.gif

my car is damn old school, so driving down to KL is a bit of a concern... break down quite frequently le... bring tables somemore I worry, unless someone can arrange transport I don't mind pay a bit also blush.gif

QUOTE(XtOtH3D @ Sep 30 2008, 10:47 AM)
nope.... only pasarmalam * bar celona * this kinda lala class club will play atm , MOS all playing electro genre
owhhh, I havent bodek my ex tutor to let me in to bar celona for free yet, clk!
nightzstar
post Sep 30 2008, 02:36 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

Kind of interested in dj'ing though in hip hop genre. I read previous post that for starter is better to get Numark Battle Pak v4 isn't? So far how is the price going? Still maintain at 1.5k?
carsonoel
post Sep 30 2008, 03:00 PM

Sol.
703 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Sep 30 2008, 02:36 PM)
Kind of interested in dj'ing though in hip hop genre. I read previous post that for starter is better to get Numark Battle Pak v4 isn't? So far how is the price going? Still maintain at 1.5k?
the last I checked was 1.8-1.9k what type of hip hop? just pure mixing or with the old school scratching fundamentals?

you can check out DJ Vajra in youtube then his myspace for his hip hop mixtape ; I recommend his Hydef mixtape, he blends scratching, beat juggling into his hip hop mixtape... if your hip hop is what I think it is, then you'll definitely love the mixtape. biggrin.gif
Choongster
post Sep 30 2008, 03:12 PM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Sep 30 2008, 02:36 PM)
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=750802&hl=numark

not sure if king is still selling it
carsonoel
post Sep 30 2008, 03:35 PM

Sol.
703 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ Sep 30 2008, 03:12 PM)
hey choong, u mind adding me in MSN ? I needa hola up Ideaz for real already this time. Confirmed.
Choongster
post Sep 30 2008, 04:14 PM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

QUOTE(carsonoel @ Sep 30 2008, 03:35 PM)
hey choong, u mind adding me in MSN ? I needa hola up Ideaz for real already this time. Confirmed.
how to add if u dun give me your msn details? anyway i don't have direct contact with ideaz .. lost his number... u contact him directly and tell him Choong sent you ...

carsonoel
post Sep 30 2008, 04:38 PM

Sol.
703 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ Sep 30 2008, 04:14 PM)
how to add if u dun give me your msn details? anyway i don't have direct contact with ideaz .. lost his number... u contact him directly and tell him Choong sent you ...
make sure you ok with it then only give ma, I understand some people like to keep their msn list clean smile.gif I'm still waiting for a reply from him, hopefully soon. At first was thinking whether mixer or SSL... SSL made more sense... at least I can start building mixtapes....

finecut
post Sep 30 2008, 11:05 PM

497 posts

woot nice stuff!!! drooling but too bad still need to learn fundamental before getting the real toys
TSXtOtH3D
post Sep 30 2008, 11:53 PM

I Cue I Pitch I Scratch
683 posts

QUOTE(carsonoel @ Sep 30 2008, 02:01 PM)
I'm from East MY, but family moved here cos my bro and me both study here anyhow ; and truth be told, back in hometown trying to even learn DJing is near impossible... all we do there is guitar this guitar that, drum this drum that, bass this bass that... so I end up in a band playing alternative in high school... but true passion is Djing ; glad I came here  thumbup.gif

my car is damn old school, so driving down to KL is a bit of a concern... break down quite frequently le... bring tables somemore I worry, unless someone can arrange transport I don't mind pay a bit also  blush.gif
owhhh, I havent bodek my ex tutor to let me in to bar celona for free yet, clk!
get know the bouncers then u can get in easily
speedfamgirl
post Oct 2 2008, 03:30 AM

Not afraid of #138
1,900 posts

QUOTE(carsonoel @ Sep 30 2008, 02:01 PM)
I'm from East MY, but family moved here cos my bro and me both study here anyhow ; and truth be told, back in hometown trying to even learn DJing is near impossible... all we do there is guitar this guitar that, drum this drum that, bass this bass that... so I end up in a band playing alternative in high school... but true passion is Djing ; glad I came here  thumbup.gif
where from east MY are you originally from?
carsonoel
post Oct 2 2008, 11:18 AM

Sol.
703 posts

QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Oct 2 2008, 03:30 AM)
where from east MY are you originally from?
Sabah KK smile.gif The last time I went to a club was The Beach ; I heard it's renamed already... And clubbers there, some of them think it's a mosh pit doh.gif
TSXtOtH3D
post Oct 2 2008, 03:07 PM

I Cue I Pitch I Scratch
683 posts

biggrin.gif ..........
speedfamgirl
post Oct 2 2008, 07:50 PM

Not afraid of #138
1,900 posts

QUOTE(carsonoel @ Oct 2 2008, 11:18 AM)
Sabah KK smile.gif The last time I went to a club was The Beach ; I heard it's renamed already... And clubbers there, some of them think it's a mosh pit  doh.gif
aiya still jauh laa although we are from same borneo islands biggrin.gif
i'm from kuching, sarawak...and here dj/club scenes are no better at all.

i've visited KK earlier this year for away day...dont see any club named The Beach.
besides Bed was pretty famous...
i dont go there anyway, not like in 2006 where i still have interest in seeing pubs with live bands. now not anymore....
dj.sars
post Oct 3 2008, 12:19 AM

255 posts

ahhh cant wait to get my hands on connectiv hopefully its as good as serato
tongue.gif
Choongster
post Oct 3 2008, 09:37 AM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

Saturday night scratch turntablist techno fengtau shuffling Gathering.... looking quite clear for me ....

Added on October 3, 2008, 9:50 am
QUOTE(Choongster @ Oct 3 2008, 09:37 AM)
Saturday night scratch turntablist techno fengtau shuffling Gathering.... looking quite clear for me ....
carsonoel want to join us for sure but he has transport problem .... but i hope procontavia can arrange something with him as i think they both live near by ...

This post has been edited by Choongster: Oct 3 2008, 09:50 AM

61 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0249sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:21 PM