17 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 >Bottom

RM2822.16 gone via unauthorized transaction in PBe, Please be extra careful!!!

TSfelicious
post Nov 19 2008, 11:36 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(Vv.SoViEt.vV @ Nov 19 2008, 09:45 AM)
You went there alone? sure no power to talk to inspector, especially you are a girl. They tell u go drive your car and pusing one round and come back, sure you follow.

Apply TAC when you want to log in to Pbe? why? we dont need TAC to login to Pbe website. TAC is requested because you want to transfer large amount of money or paying bills for the first time or reload prepaid. Correct me if I m wrong. I have been using Pbe for a long time, I never encountered a single login problem in pbe.
QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 19 2008, 09:52 AM)
This could be a phising website that obtain your information!

It is no need to get TAC just purely for log in purpose.

TAC is only required when want to make transfer of fund time or changing crucial information of your account.

Always make sure the internet address is exactly the same (100%, not even a single word and make sure it is https. As most people don't bother to look at the address bar, as far as the page is similar, people presume it is the correct website
Any way to trace back what website I logged on to on August?

That day my housemates are having problem in logging in to PBe too. All of us were trying to log in to PBe to check whether PTPTN bank in money to us already or not. But, I logged on at night and the case happen on noon. And if I went to their phishing website, how he can get my TAC number?
Vv.SoViEt.vV
post Nov 20 2008, 12:13 AM

ToRMeNted-sOUL
1,359 posts

QUOTE(felicious @ Nov 19 2008, 11:36 PM)

That day my housemates are having problem in logging in to PBe too. All of us were trying to log in to PBe to check whether PTPTN bank in money to us already or not. But, I logged on at night and the case happen on noon. And if I went to their phishing website, how he can get my TAC number?
No, IE only keep history after 3 weeks, Firefox only keep history for more than 6 days. If u want to check Firefox, just press CTRL+H. For IE, CTRL+SHIFT+H.

You may VERIFY the validity of the Login page by clicking on the Trust Gate Secure Site Verisign  or by checking the Bank's name in its digital certificate .

Ensure the following is on the Certificate.
(a) The Certificate is issued to https://www2.pbebank.com
(b) The Certificate is issued by Verisign
© The Certificate has a valid date

Please do not hesitate to contact our customer support officer at 603-21795000 if any suspicious e-mails/letters or telephone calls received.

To know more, please click here on Security Tips

www2 is a secure server which mean all the login will be directed to secure server via http"s" = secure socket layer (SSL) for 128bit strength encrypted connection. If you dont see the "s" on the http, dont login to pbe or the pbe site has no valid digital certificate.
wodenus
post Nov 20 2008, 12:29 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(felicious @ Nov 19 2008, 11:36 PM)

S/he could have used your phone? after all, they know your money will be in. They have access to the PC. Someone installs a redirect (via HOSTS or whatever) and then gets your name and password. Then they use your phone (or a cloned SIM maybe) to get the TAC. I don't suppose anyone called you and asked for your TAC right? Did anyone call and say, "we're testing the line, can you please read the SMS we sent to you?"

TSfelicious
post Nov 20 2008, 12:58 AM

1,438 posts

I think I had went to phishing website carelessly sad.gif

My friend and I was logging on to PBe. He clicked it from the yahoomail he received. Just checked the yahoomail and the date the mail is sent is same with the date my money was transferred out. His money was not transferred out, perhaps it is because his bank don't have much money. As for me, I am unlucky. I just log in after he logged out. And so coincidence, PTPTN just banked in RM3.5k to me few days ago. Thus, my money was transferred out.

My friend and I done the same procedure. We log in as usual. However, there is an extra step where I need to apply TAC number to my phone, key in the TAC number and then key in my username and password again. However, I can't log into my PBe and my friend can. Now I understand this is how they get my TAC number. Since TAC can last for 1 day, it still can be used in the afternoon although I received the TAC at night.

I didn't suspect that this is phishing website earlier on, because 2 of my other housemates are having problem in logging in PBe too. Thus, I thought that was just an updates / system down.

This post has been edited by felicious: Nov 20 2008, 01:00 AM
wodenus
post Nov 20 2008, 01:20 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(felicious @ Nov 20 2008, 12:58 AM)

My friend and I was logging on to PBe. He clicked it from the yahoomail he received. Just checked the yahoomail and the date the mail is sent is same with the date my money was transferred out. His money was not transferred out, perhaps it is because his bank don't have much money. As for me, I am unlucky. I just log in after he logged out.  And so coincidence, PTPTN just banked in RM3.5k to me few days ago. Thus, my money was transferred out.

My friend and I done the same procedure. We log in as usual. However, there is an extra step where I need to apply TAC number to my phone, key in the TAC number and then key in my username and password again. However, I can't log into my PBe and my friend can. Now I understand this is how they get my TAC number. Since TAC can last for 1 day, it still can be used in the afternoon although I received the TAC at night.

I didn't suspect that this is phishing website earlier on, because 2 of my other housemates are having problem in logging in PBe too. Thus, I thought that was just an updates / system down.
You and your housemates were using the same PC?

simplesmile
post Nov 20 2008, 01:39 AM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(felicious @ Nov 20 2008, 12:58 AM)

My friend and I was logging on to PBe. He clicked it from the yahoomail he received. .....
Old tricks. Been published in the news many times. Even bank websites prominently advise customers never to click on links in the emails.
Ken
post Nov 20 2008, 08:47 AM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

so is TS own mistake lar ...

ken_jr
post Nov 20 2008, 09:15 AM

519 posts

after this i dun even wanna login e-banking fr my office pc. even it's my own personal. just in case. we maybe very careful, but we r just humans and tend to overlook these simple things.. sorry to hear wat happened, TS.
Ken
post Nov 20 2008, 09:21 AM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

QUOTE(ken_jr @ Nov 20 2008, 09:15 AM)
after this i dun even wanna login e-banking fr my office pc. even it's my own personal. just in case. we maybe very careful, but we r just humans and tend to overlook these simple things.. sorry to hear wat happened, TS.
and also cybercafe ...
jack2
post Nov 20 2008, 09:33 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

After 2 months and 15 pages of discussions, TS now baru realised because of phishing website in which many of the forumers had highlighted in the replies.

But TS never recalled it until made a lot of things to prove otherwise.

You are really careless from the beginning until you realised. cool2.gif

摸摸糊糊的过了冤枉路。。。 We also helped TS to think of what would cause that situation.... rclxub.gif
cherroy
post Nov 20 2008, 09:33 AM

25,802 posts

Rule of thumb, never ever click the link in the email.

Be sure and cautious when dealing with money online., from https to exact website address on IE or Firefox.

Whenever something abnormal than usual, like TS case need to get TAC before log in, then hold back, don't do anything.

I think the case summary would be:

TS log in phishing website, the phising website told TS to get TAC before log in, so TS applied the TAC and log into the phising website, then they have the TAC already, afterwards, TS log in with usual log in name and log in passwords.

So, they have all the details they need to do the con job, log in name, password and TAC already, which enable for them to make the fund transfer, as TAC won't be expired in 1 days or several hours time which lead to the fund transfer.

So in this case, TS won't be able to claim back money from the bank. But need to report as third party account could be useful for police to investigate this matter. But third party account generally won't be the person doing this, they (doing con-job one) probably borrow others person name to create the account only as they are not stupid to leave the trace.
Vv.SoViEt.vV
post Nov 20 2008, 09:43 AM

ToRMeNted-sOUL
1,359 posts

oh and btw, your money is transferred to another guy account? that azshole probably is the one sending the email so, maybe you want to take action against him and check his account, investigate whether they are other complainees? Chances are high IF there are other complainees. If you are alone then, 99.9999999% you wont get back your money.
cherroy
post Nov 20 2008, 09:49 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Vv.SoViEt.vV @ Nov 20 2008, 09:43 AM)
oh and btw, your money is transferred to another guy account? that azshole probably is the one sending the email so, maybe you want to take action against him and check his account, investigate whether they are other complainees? Chances are high IF there are other complainees. If you are alone then, 99.9999999% you wont get back your money.
That third party receiving the fund transfer probably somebody in the street that don't know about the transaction either, it can be somebody give him merely of a few ten ringgit, then use his name/IC to create the account, while the actual behind person or syndicate then can just use ATM card to withdraw the money, which leave no trace of the actual culprit.

No, it is remote chance of getting money even though police can catch the third party person, as those money surely already gone, while bank won't hold responsibility on it.
eviljonz
post Nov 20 2008, 09:53 AM

770 posts

QUOTE(typicalsite @ Sep 22 2008, 02:53 PM)
u seriuz?? no TAC to u b4? omg, maybe tat hacker hack ur acc and change the TAC to his number. i think all e-banking uses TAC as final confirmation for any e-transactions. and yeah, nowadays so many fraud websites tat has almost the same URL send to u via emails. neva click any link from the email, they will redirect u to their fraud websites.
RHB got a set of number call dot com card. they have to use together with the so call TAC sent to your registered handphone.
NelsonBoy
post Nov 20 2008, 12:40 PM

l Audio Paradise l
1,120 posts

TAC for maybank will expired within 2hours...only for one transaction.
off topic.

This post has been edited by NelsonBoy: Nov 20 2008, 12:41 PM
four_toes
post Nov 20 2008, 01:48 PM

correct me if i'm wrong but aint pbe TAC requested online can only last for 30minutes?and she said transaction is done at noon the next day. This online transaction for such amount,is it like cheque deposit that needs like half a day period to complete and then transaction time recorded? just want to clear things out
cherroy
post Nov 20 2008, 02:04 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(four_toes @ Nov 20 2008, 01:48 PM)
correct me if i'm wrong but aint pbe TAC requested online can only last for 30minutes?and she said transaction is done at noon the next day. This online transaction for such amount,is it like cheque deposit that needs like half a day period to complete and then transaction time recorded? just want to clear things out
It depends on bank policy which can be vary, some last 2 hours, some longer.
wodenus
post Nov 20 2008, 06:13 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

I think the thing is, she didn't click on it, her friend did. She said

My friend and I was logging on to PBe. He clicked it from the yahoomail he received

So basically, her friend clicked on a phishing link, and then she used the same site without checking. What's more interesting is her friend was not affected but she was.

If I was a cop I'd be asking her friend a few questions. The moral of the story I think is, don't trust anyone, and if you're going to college, get your own laptop.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Nov 20 2008, 06:14 PM
Vv.SoViEt.vV
post Nov 20 2008, 06:27 PM

ToRMeNted-sOUL
1,359 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 20 2008, 09:49 AM)
That third party receiving the fund transfer probably somebody in the street that don't know about the transaction either, it can be somebody give him merely of a few ten ringgit, then use his name/IC to create the account, while the actual behind person or syndicate then can just use ATM card to withdraw the money, which leave no trace of the actual culprit.

No, it is remote chance of getting money even though police can catch the third party person, as those money surely already gone, while bank won't hold responsibility on it.
that is just one possibility.

we are not chasing the bank now. The day you agreed to use online banking, the bank will not held responsible for any lost transaction of any kind. If felicious wants to pursue further, investigate the third party bank account is only way. I'd appreciate if anyone would offer a practical suggestion other than general explanation towards what is happening now.
Ken
post Nov 20 2008, 08:36 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

can't trace already lar ...

treat it as lesson

17 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 >Top

0.0242sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:18 PM