Chubby Hamster V11, Furball Friends

crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 24 2008, 01:24 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Back2Nature is not cat litter...... it is for small animals.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 24 2008, 08:52 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(erikachen @ Sep 24 2008, 03:07 AM)
hey there..

i tried to introduce my two WW just now by letting them play in an enclosed open space.. when they met they just all over each other, not sure whether its serious fight or friendly fight..

i've already exchange their cage for a few days to get them used to each other smell.. seems like it doesnt work?

is there any chance of letting them live togehter?
WW are territorial dwarfs. They hate new comers. All dwarf hamsters hate having new comers into their homes. Switching cages and tanks, and letting them smell each other is pointless. The correct way of introducing is putting them in a neutral environment, like a freshly cleaned cage or new one. Put nothing but just wood shavings inside and let them get to know each other. If 1 attacks, that one is the bully so you must watch out. Fighting always have squeaks, they chase each other to get a bite. If it is a squabble, it would just be a bit of rolling around. When fighting the attacker would target the neck, face and bum.

If I were you, I would just let the WW have their own individual homes. Why? They are happier. By introducing and letting them fight, they would just be stressed up. WW can only live peacefully if the cage they are living in is more than 1.5ft, with lots of hiding places and space. Siblings or WW that are introduced when very young only can live with each other. If introducing a younger one to an older one, it is gonna be super duper tough. As we do not speak nor understand hamsters, we can only assume alot of things. The best thing to do is just let them live alone.

QUOTE(vivian_w @ Sep 24 2008, 07:14 PM)
Syrian is the cheapest but must have bigger tank/cage, bigger wheel etc.... So, in the end... is it more expensive to start rearing a syrian? I don't have a hamster yet, but just curious...  smile.gif

I was reading "Breeding Ethics, Why you breed your pets?s". Are there hamsters in KL rescue shelters? I remember seeing rabbits in SPCA...
SPCA won't accept hamsters. PAWS and SPCA put down rabbits if they do not get adopted. So how about hamsters? Some people would either resell or donate back to the pet shop they bought from or they just set them free into the wild, as if a hamster could survive in our jungles.

QUOTE(ballista10 @ Sep 24 2008, 07:45 PM)
nezu, can explain? i mean, both brand are from chipsi.. what makes the scented chipsi is not good compared to the original one?
got forumer here said that the scented one is not good because it is made out of pine.. is it true? sweat.gif  why would chipsi use another type of wood which is pine to make scented wood shavings and use normal wood for original chipsi wood shaving? shakehead.gif  is the problem with the scented one is because of the chemical used to make the wood aroma or is it the type of wood used to make the wood shaving?

wanted to gain a little bit of knowledge here.. nod.gif
Chipsi Classic, apple and lemon.... they are all softwood... fir,spruce and pine. The ones with the apple scent and lemon scent is not treated properly to get rid of the phenols, they use the perfume to cover up the phenols smell. Chipsi classic has no perfume, so the treatment for the wood is slightly better, coz they have to try and dry out the harmful oils. The perfume is also harmful. People may think it is nothing, but you imagine yourself living in a room with air freshener being sprayed every minute in your face for 24 hours a day? About your question.... why use another type of wood? Pine, fir and spruce is cheap and easy to get. That is why there are so many pine wood shavings in the market. Try looking for Aspen, damn hard to get here and is more expensive.

Chipsi Super is also made of softwood. Chipsi Extra is made of beech wood, which is healthier.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 24 2008, 09:13 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(ballista10 @ Sep 24 2008, 09:07 PM)
wow.. i admire your knowledge.. meaning, chipsi classic also contains pine.. however the phenols has been treated until it is safe for hamster.. however the scented one is the product which is 'cincai'-ly made by the company, but added with perfume to cover the phenol smells.. and the quantity of the phenols in the shaving is still not safe for the hamster.. is my understanding correct bro?
Yups.... chipsi mainly uses fir and spruce, but sometimes pine also termasuk coz these woods are all soft woods. On their pack, they just print soft wood. I have been smelling alot of wood shavings for the past years... and I can only trust Chipsi and Delikate coz so far the phenol smell is not as bad as other brands. All of the cheap woodshavings are not so safe for our animals. That's why some people go for corncob or the recycled newspaper bedding. My hamsters are using Healthy Pet and Breeder Celect now.... I can see their health is much better, fur grow longer, then they are easier to potty train.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 24 2008, 10:11 PM

12,047 posts

Hamsters have padded paws, dwarfs being more furry padded than syrians..... corn cob is ok to use. You made a good choice coz it is much better than wood shavings.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 27 2008, 01:17 AM

12,047 posts

Mecool, petshops would just ask from you Rm6 per hamster.... and they would just simply dump them in a tank, never bother and just let any tom, dick and harry buy be it in 2s or 3s... how?

Even if it is an accident, you gotta be responsible. If no homes, find homes.... Breeding is never cheap anyway. If I were you, I would rather put for adoption than just sell to a petshop. You can always ask for an exchange in adoption, like each hamster adopted, the adopter must give you a packet of wood shavings or hay or whatever you request.

QUOTE(athirah88 @ Sep 27 2008, 01:11 AM)
Can we feed baby corns to hamsters?
Yes, you can. Not to much tongue.gif

Today I feed Aloe's siblings with plum, red bell pepper and a bit of cauliflower.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 27 2008, 01:40 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(mecool @ Sep 27 2008, 01:25 AM)
thanks for the advice crazymouse,ryo n aeon--i'm not thinking of the profit--selling them not gaining any profit--but at least want to feel worth..huhu.

if put in adoption can ask for trade with food/bedding???
i thought cannot...if can trade with food,i will put it on adoption--at least i have something in return rather jz give it free kao2..
As long the adoption is not dealt with money, is ok. I also ask for trade when I put my pets for adoption, like a packet of Habitrail food or wood shavings. You just put your condition, some people are ok with exchanging goods than trading with money.

QUOTE(jovyn @ Sep 27 2008, 01:31 AM)
hi all, question here....wat it means by "inbreeding"?

i adopted a couple of brother n sisiter of robo...mean they shoudn't breed as they from the same mother?
Brother and sister, if they breed, that is called inbreeding loh. You should not keep brother and sister animals together as animals do not know the meaning of family, they do not know what is brother or sister or mother or father, as long male see female, they would breed.... and that is inbreeding.... and it would lead to alot of health complications when the young are born.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 27 2008, 01:49 AM

12,047 posts

Is best you exchange loh. Get same sex. Coz related.... and different sex, not good.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 27 2008, 02:43 PM

12,047 posts

You can try a trick. Get the food flavouring for vanilla or pandan. Take a cotton bud and wet it with the food flavouring. Put a dab on the back of the neck of each hamster. The smell may help them like each other since both have the same smell. You can give this a try. This tip is from my old hamster care book.... of course they said use perfume, but I think food flavouring is safer.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 28 2008, 09:52 PM

12,047 posts

Alot of petshops are like that, space.... so they just dump every syrian into 1 tank, they do still fight, as sometimes there are dead bodies in the tank.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 28 2008, 10:30 PM

12,047 posts

Coz the suppliers sell them young. The suppliers do not care how old or how healthy they are, as long they can sell to petshop is fine.

I actually saw a supplier dump a shipment of Syrians at a petshop... the worst thing! 10 babies that haven't open eyes! I managed to take 2 and nurse them on milk. Now they are ok. I wonder what happen to the rest. Poor things. Even the petshop owner cannot do anything coz supplier don't want to take back.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 28 2008, 10:48 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Sep 28 2008, 10:37 PM)
Will the Ovo Suite spacious enough for the syrians ?

Crazymouse : Mind tell me what else should I get ? Like good food and etc ? I have read out the first page. wink.gif
Ovo suite comes with the water tank and wheel , what else I need ?

Thanks in advanced.
Well, the best brands of food for hamsters would be Prestige and Harry Hamster. The OVO comes with a bottle and wheel. So far the OVO loft is good, as it is 2ft in length, suitable for a Syrian. The normal OVO suite is small, a bit too cramp for a syrian and ventilation is bad. The OVO loft has better ventilation.

QUOTE(quireyuyue @ Sep 28 2008, 10:40 PM)
shocking.gif how can the supplier treat them like tat!!!

but then those 2 little fellow is very fortunate to met u rclxms.gif
Money loh.... all is about business.

It was not easy to feed those 2, had to use syringe and pets own lactose milk. But then they grew up super tame coz 1st thing they see when open eyes is me and they know my voice and smell.
crazymouse_yyh
post Dec 8 2008, 09:06 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(babypao @ Dec 7 2008, 12:59 AM)
hmm.. Campbell hamster is small than winter white, so it also called as Mini Hamster.

There are variety of product sell in Pet Safari, price is still acceptable for who stay near it. But the pet.. haizz~ very disappointed.
Actually, WW is smaller a bit than Campbell. The campbell can be as large as 4 inches, WW can be between 3.5 to 4 inch but RC are rounder. Pet shops call them mini hamsters because they are dwarf. They do not know that it is called Campbell.

Added on December 8, 2008, 9:15 pm
QUOTE(kwaiisushi @ Dec 8 2008, 07:30 PM)
hie hie~my hamster girl is really pregnant i tink~lol
how long between pregnancy and give birth de ar?wait so long she nvr gv birth~lol~owaz sked to clean de cage~

btw,can any1 share how to use a hamster toilet?or isit jus a bathroom?im confused~how to train?
any1 have hamster that is trained to use toilet?if yes den dey reli will onli pee n poo in dere?thx
The pregnancy is usually around 18 to 21 days. What hamster species is it? If she has not given birth, you can clean the cage but make sure you give nesting material like hay or tissue paper. Once she gives birth, you cannot change the cage and need to wait till the babies are 2 weeks old, only then can you change the bedding safely.

Hamster toilet.... actually, not every hamster uses it. I see syrians use it more often than robos or dwarf. Some hamsters may even use the toilet as a sleeping place or food storage. Training is simple, which is to take all the poo and some bedding with pee and place in the toilet with the toilet sand. Make sure it is not bathing sand coz bathing sand got different use like for fur of robos and campbells.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Dec 8 2008, 09:15 PM
crazymouse_yyh
post Dec 9 2008, 09:10 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Dec 8 2008, 11:41 PM)
Hun, the toilet sand i bought back the day will clump together when kena water
Does tat mean it cant be use???
It clumps to make things easier to clean, but it should clump into a hard ball like how clumping cat litter does.

QUOTE(kwaiisushi @ Dec 9 2008, 07:15 PM)
rclxms.gif tq very much for de info~she's a WW btw~
will try to potty train dem^^
hmm,i oni read 2day dat WW will fight wen dey grow up!reli?but my fren have 5 that live 2geder peacefully in a large aquarium~
sigh~i tot of moving dem bek 2geder after she gv birth tim~
i jus shifted my male temporary into dis container that doesnt even have a wheel~i read also if long term dun exercise will result in paralysis!!!
sad.gif ne1 letting go their cages here?tried garage sale but de sellers seems to be mia~ sad.gif
Ah, WW.... well, it depends on your luck. Like some people say they keep 5 syrians in a cage and no fighting, but by nature they are solitary. Well, we shouldn't follow what people say coz facts is already written to say Syrians should be kept alone.

Now about WW, it really depends. Sometimes they can live together if the cage or tank is large enough. Try putting 2 WW in a small cage, then fighting sure occur.

You are better off separating the male away from the female so she doesn't tire herself from over breeding. Hamsters are happier when they do not breed often. Breeding is tiring, it causes the hamster to become too focus on caring for it's young that it may not eat or sleep properly. You can get storage boxes as tanks to keep hamsters, and just buy a wheel for it. I use that and it works fine, better than cages. My friend used to keep her Syrian in a Habitrail OVO but after listening to me, she realize her hamster is better in a storage box. Now can see the hamster is much more active and happier.
crazymouse_yyh
post Dec 9 2008, 09:20 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Dec 9 2008, 09:14 PM)
So does tat mean i can use mine even if it clump to a hard ball?
I wonder if button eat it, when she drink water wat will happen... Blockage?
It clumps into a hard ball?

If it clumps and you use your finger to press on it and it break's up, then that is normal with some toilet sand. The clumping cat litter ones really clump into hard clumps, and those become sticky when wet, so that is dangerous as it can get stuck in a hamster's cheeks.
crazymouse_yyh
post Dec 10 2008, 05:11 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Dec 9 2008, 10:10 PM)
Mine will become sticky like clay when it touched water
I guess i cant use lolz................
Dunno if u see the brand b4 o nt, its a japanese brand with a hamster sitting on the toilet bowl
Coz if the brand is for hamsters, then it is fine and should be safe. Very hard to explain how sticky it should not be.... next time I bring my sand and show you lah.

QUOTE(kwaiisushi @ Dec 9 2008, 10:56 PM)
oh!den i shud bcz my cage is not big enuf~i guessed so,its reli sad seeing den fighting over who gets de wheel~1 will run dis side n d other dat side =.="
oh,okok,i know,i actually nvr plan to breed dem~still waiting for my ham girl~how can i be sure weder she's pregnant or not har? rclxub.gif 

oh,storage box as in dose plastic containers isit?den how u setup their water and stuff?my friend put a shallow plate lidat but his hamsters always run over it,like not so clean la~u used dose with lids or how?dey wun escape hor?hehe,if u free den can share picture~ sweat.gif

so sorry ya,i ask a lot~ sad.gif
Pregnant, it can be seen when the female looks fatter, like pear shape, meaning the belly area is bloated. Then the female would make nest to sleep in more often. How did you come up with the conclusion that your female is pregnant?

Storage boxes, the ones that can get from Carrefour and Jusco. A dish of water is not good as it creates a breeding ground for bacteria, and contaminated water that has touched food, paws and pee or poo is unhealthy. Use a bottle. I use wire to make my own hanger, or you can go buy water bottles that can hang from the top. I can share pictures later. If the storage box is stall enough, they won't escape. I don't use any lid coz I want the tank to have good ventilation.

QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Dec 9 2008, 10:59 PM)
hun do u mean should or shouldnt? sorry a bit confused
What most of us do here is drill a hole on the side of the tank and attach the bottle water to a suction cup and stick it outside.

like this

Yah, it should be shouldn't... typo error. Not used to using my dad's laptop now. tongue.gif

QUOTE(n_n @ Dec 10 2008, 10:28 AM)
umm...may i know how to toilet train a syrian? they are easy to toilet train right? and my syrian bites me when i wana handle it. I bought it less than a month ago...do i still need time to bond with it?

Meet MOchie!
Syrians are easy to toilet train if you give them different bedding to use. I find wood shavings a little hard to toilet train. Breeder Celect or Back to Nature bedding is the best to use for toilet training. My Syrians are toilet trained this way. The whole tank I use BC or B2N bedding, then in a bowl, I use non-clumping litter. In the bowl of litter, I place all the dried poo and also some wood shavings with pee in it. Place this bowl at a place your hamster tends to pee. This works.

Syrians bite when scared. Also, Syrians kept in cages tend to be more timid and easily frightened.

QUOTE(DoremiMimi @ Dec 10 2008, 01:50 PM)
Hello all again...

I have 2 WW male around 2months old. They fight with each other so I have already separate them for sometime. Nowadays, when i try to put the 2 cage closely...they both will stay near the fence and stare at each others for like 1 hour or more. Do hamster talk to each other?

Last time when at first I see them stare at each other for such a long time, I thought they wanted to play together. So, I try to re-intro them and end up both fighting again. Stick together roll here and there. When I try to stop them...one of them bite me sad.gif
Oh, your hamsters are not communicating coz they wanna be with each other. Why they stare is coz they wanna fight. Once hamsters start to fight, they must never be reintroduced back coz it is risky. People don't realise WW can be territorial towards each other. So if 2 WW have been together since birth and one day they fight, it is considered normal as they are fighting for space and rivalry.
crazymouse_yyh
post Dec 10 2008, 08:37 PM

12,047 posts

Coz in a cage, it would hear the scary ticktack of cage opening, and also to see your hand inching to grab it is scary. A tank you can get, like a storage box or a 1.5ft to 2ft plastic fish tank is good too. The best is the plastic tank as hamster is able to see properly when you approach the tank and your hands can cup it up instead of grabbing.
crazymouse_yyh
post Dec 11 2008, 03:23 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(kwaiisushi @ Dec 11 2008, 12:35 PM)
erm,cz she's started fighting with de male~she very fierce suddenly wen last time i got her she's so tame n wud always lick lick me^^ she also used to b de 1 bullied by de male~
so my fren tol me that she pregnant~her tummy got a bit bigger,lol,ct b sure weder its fat o got baby but de thing is that she seemed to be really 'busy'.she wud run here run dere,do de wheel very fast den climb around de cage like spiderman lidat!climb climb den fall!!!scary to watch,i sked she too tired or got baby fall lidat den will die onot sad.gif
im already workin on finding a tank/storage box 4 her^^ got an idea fr icednyior,but do share ur pictures wen free~thx 4 ur help^^
oh yes, that is one of the signs too. Aggression.... is more like being protective already coz got mother instinct kicking in.

Normally I would take away the wheel after she give birth coz it is dangerous as sometimes the baby get stuck below the wheel or the mother put the baby on the wheel and run on it.

Now just give her some quiet time. Put in a quiet area of your home and feed plenty of food and give lots of hay. Thats the best you can do for now.
crazymouse_yyh
post Dec 11 2008, 09:16 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(hitz @ Dec 11 2008, 06:36 PM)
Anyone here encounter some weird stuff that your hamster do? Mine sometime like stone like that wan... Move her also she no notice or ignore me or she mind gone blank d.. Or suddenly not moving for few second... out of the blue... Pretending died...lol...
It's normal. Stoning smile.gif It's an instinct for them to stay still at certain moments when they think they feel the need to do it.

QUOTE(odd_mochi @ Dec 11 2008, 09:09 PM)
hi all..! hmm...wanna ask something...is it ok if dun provide hammy with a house in the tank?

house...i mean anything that can provide shed for them...like the house with roof....

or is it ok if just give bowl and put some beddings in it?

another thing....can tissue be harmful if the hamster swallows it...[accident or purposely]?
Yes, you can but you must provide lots of hay for it to hide. Hamsters actually burrow and sleep in dark corners, I provide lots of hay for my hamsters to burrow and hide. Another is putting large cardboard rolls for them to sleep in.

0.0462sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:15 AM