can i feed my hamster red bean and barley??
Chubby Hamster V11, Furball Friends
Sep 29 2008, 05:22 PM
137 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL |
can i feed my hamster red bean and barley??
Sep 29 2008, 05:24 PM
829 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Cheras, KL |
QUOTE(Sophiera @ Sep 29 2008, 05:21 PM) Well...I'm not so sure about that. We still get people asking about diet...and not fast moving? I think the hamster thread one of the faster moving ones if you check the versions The hamster thread is definitely fast moving cos of all the one liner replies and non hamster related posts, just like chatting session. Diet for hamsters already stated there in the first page, just lots of people keep asking without reading first and ask one by one of this and that. Too many food on earth, if keep asking without doing research, I think we need a lot of versions also for the hamster's diet thread.Either way i just give suggestions nia, depends wether or not people agree it's needed. This post has been edited by sangels: Sep 29 2008, 05:26 PM |
Sep 29 2008, 05:30 PM
706 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(quireyuyue @ Sep 29 2008, 05:22 PM) Read lah, please...and yes they can but limit on red bean as beans can cause bloat. hamsters cannot kentut or burp. So nothing to seriously discuss about hamsters ka? Like how much vitamin they need, what is the preferred mix...veges and all the more interlectual stuff |
Sep 29 2008, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(Sophiera @ Sep 29 2008, 05:30 PM) Read lah, please...and yes they can but limit on red bean as beans can cause bloat. hamsters cannot kentut or burp. So nothing to seriously discuss about hamsters ka? Like how much vitamin they need, what is the preferred mix...veges and all the more interlectual stuff i didnt know about all those "complicated" things as far as i know orange got vitamin C but it seems like hamster knot eat orange for the time being i onli give dried food and also broccoli. so right now i'm trying to check wat else i can give them....and everything have to c wat i got in the fridge |
Sep 29 2008, 05:45 PM
Not only oranges have vitamin C you know
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vitamin_C Oh, one more thing... NO GARLIC NO GINGER. What is your dried food brand? Usually they're complete on its own unless cheapo brand. Fresh food is great for boosting and some variety in your ham's life. |
Sep 29 2008, 05:46 PM
3,910 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Andy @ London.com Status: N/A |
QUOTE(blurjoey @ Sep 29 2008, 11:27 AM) Ovo Loft is about RM200+. You sure you want to get that? You can get a zoozone2 (3 feet) for RM140 if you can still find it as it is no longer in production. Waiting for new zoozone models now. Get a 2 feet guppy tank for RM30-50. Easier to take care of. Thank you for your prompt and informative reply.You can get Harry Hamster or Prestige Hamster for their food. Bedding you can try corncob, breeder celect, back 2 nature, or chipsi (can't remember which suitable for small animals). All on the 1st page. Sand bath is for hamster to bathe in to get rid of the extra oil and smell. Depends on which breed of hamsters will need sand bath. You don't feed can dog food to hamster. It's the kibbles. Search for those without garlic in the ingredients. Pedigree are low quality brands. I think crazymouse got mentions some brands to get in the last reply. Please read. The price of syrians? It depends on pet shops. From RM10-30. Yes only these few breeds in petshops. Syrians, WW, robos and RC. It's seer-ee-uhn from dictionary.com. Can listen there on how to pronounce. http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/syrian Added on September 29, 2008, 11:30 am Some hamsters will eat the sand to replenish minerals in their body. So it is safe. But remember not get those clumping kind as it the chemicals for clumping is bad for them in the long run. Added on September 29, 2008, 11:32 am Syrians don't roll in the sand bath. That is why we pour some sand bath on their backs and they will shake it off. I think those that roll in the sand bath is robos. Not sure about RC and WW though. I always heard people say that Pedigree are no good and low quality brand but If it's really that bad , then consumers will report them and why will pedigree still on it's foot for so long already ? In my Opinion , it should be their profit margin is low compare to others brand. Not sure though. So that's what I need to get right ? Gotta check my buy-list : 1) Ovo loft 2) Harry Hamster 3) Breeder celect 4) Syrians. And most important , love right ? Is the Sand bath thing a must to buy ? I saw that there's one house to put the hamster and sand bath them , what's that for ? |
Sep 29 2008, 05:50 PM
82 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(sangels @ Sep 29 2008, 05:21 PM) If you meant the vet said your hammy is blind and sat on it's own urine and that lead to it's death, then it is nonsense. Hammy have poor eye sight is true but it doesn't mean it is blind. If it is blind, it do not know where to get food and will died of hunger before you can get it home. FYI, hamster do not pee everywhere but 1 or 2 specific spots. Even they sat on their own urine also it have less possibility to wet them like that if you have bedding for it, unless your cage have no bedding or the bedding is not good in absorption at all. They will only get smelly and stink if their body wet with urine, it won't cause death. I do not thing the vet who saw your hammy is well know of hammies, that's why he or she made a statement like this. Hammy with wet tail disease look like sweating, tail wet like soaked in water, fur like after sprayed with water. they will died within 24-48 hours. sorry guys..it was my lil bro just now that posted here..erm about our dead hammy.. 1st the vet said she has eye infection n that leads to more limited eyesight for her.. that's why she sat on her urine n got smelly.. n she cant find her way to get food,so my bro always handfeed her.. the next time we took her to the vet coz she has difficulty in breathing.. the vet said there's not much he can do for her coz mayb her lungs are already infected.. judging by her difficulty in breathing..so he just give her antibiotics n vitamin supplements.. after 2 days,she died.. about housing them together,we'll get bigger cages when we move to our new house after raya.. we didnt know that syrians cant be housed together.. previously we thought that they get along just fine..sorry.. This post has been edited by MiJaH: Sep 29 2008, 07:33 PM |
Sep 29 2008, 05:50 PM
1,768 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
its great how u make your research before getting a hamster.
syrians dont need sand bath. Ovo might be a bit hard to clean and can be a bit hot for your hamster |
Sep 29 2008, 05:51 PM
136 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Sep 29 2008, 05:46 PM) Thank you for your prompt and informative reply. Syrians doesn't need bath sand as they can clean themselves. But they are extremely clean as they only pee at certain spot. Like my Aloe only pee in his toilet, you can toilet train your syrian so you don't need to clean very often. You'll need toilet sand for that.I always heard people say that Pedigree are no good and low quality brand but If it's really that bad , then consumers will report them and why will pedigree still on it's foot for so long already ? In my Opinion , it should be their profit margin is low compare to others brand. Not sure though. So that's what I need to get right ? Gotta check my buy-list : 1) Ovo loft 2) Harry Hamster 3) Breeder celect 4) Syrians. And most important , love right ? Is the Sand bath thing a must to buy ? I saw that there's one house to put the hamster and sand bath them , what's that for ? |
Sep 29 2008, 05:51 PM
As for the dog food, Ignorance my friend. People believe in advertising.
Or they don't read up much, not willing to spend, or simply cannot afford to feed their dog the good stuff. Many people don't know, they think it's the thing to feed because it is so popular. @ Mijah Bahaya tu bagi orang lain post as you. Soil your name only. If he wants to discuss, he should have his own account. This post has been edited by Sophiera: Sep 29 2008, 05:52 PM |
Sep 29 2008, 06:00 PM
QUOTE(Sophiera @ Sep 29 2008, 05:45 PM) Not only oranges have vitamin C you know i bought some cheap cheap food onli last time before i know anything about all this http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vitamin_C Oh, one more thing... NO GARLIC NO GINGER. What is your dried food brand? Usually they're complete on its own unless cheapo brand. Fresh food is great for boosting and some variety in your ham's life. so now trying to give them more nutritions |
Sep 29 2008, 07:24 PM
4,261 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
how long can a hamster last without food? Just wondering...
Sep 29 2008, 07:35 PM
360 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: Island of Oriental Pearl |
Sep 29 2008, 09:39 PM
3,910 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Andy @ London.com Status: N/A |
QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Sep 29 2008, 05:50 PM) its great how u make your research before getting a hamster. I dont want sacrifice those tiny little soul , I must get everything right. syrians dont need sand bath. Ovo might be a bit hard to clean and can be a bit hot for your hamster I thought all hamster need sand bath , thanks for enlighten me. About the Ovo , I read up that the Ovo loft doesn't have the ventilation problem anymore as to compare with others Ovo line . I guess Ovo loft will be good then ? Zoozone2 doesn't look that fancy/gorgeous though. QUOTE(athirah88 @ Sep 29 2008, 05:51 PM) Syrians doesn't need bath sand as they can clean themselves. But they are extremely clean as they only pee at certain spot. Like my Aloe only pee in his toilet, you can toilet train your syrian so you don't need to clean very often. You'll need toilet sand for that. Thanks for telling again. Do you mind teach me how to toilet train them ? Besides that , do I need to get extenstion of those ovo plastic to make the toilet place ? On the other hand , what is toilet sand ? QUOTE(Sophiera @ Sep 29 2008, 05:51 PM) As for the dog food, Ignorance my friend. People believe in advertising. So what's the best stuff available in the market ? How much it is ? You're feeding your dog with the best stuff you mentioned ? Or they don't read up much, not willing to spend, or simply cannot afford to feed their dog the good stuff. Many people don't know, they think it's the thing to feed because it is so popular. @ Mijah Bahaya tu bagi orang lain post as you. Soil your name only. If he wants to discuss, he should have his own account. |
Sep 29 2008, 09:45 PM
10,975 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: disini disana |
jz fill up the food bowl full lor... they will eat what the like first... remaining ones they will be forced to eat when they are hungry... haha... last time i left my hamster for a week alone also no problem... after dat week they seem abit thin adi... haha... jz make sure water supply is available and the cage is clean before leaving... fill up the food bowl and throw some around the cage....
Sep 29 2008, 09:46 PM
I don't have a dog, but there was a topic about the brand of kibbles.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=517901&hl=kibble this is a bit off topic. I am not keen on getting dog kibbles for my hamster though, prefer tofu. It's great to see someone reading up first...it's better than hearing somebody out there dunking their hamster into the water, die and then kena makan by a stray cat |
Sep 29 2008, 10:12 PM
136 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Sep 29 2008, 09:39 PM) I dont want sacrifice those tiny little soul , I must get everything right. To toilet train, you have to collect their poo, and the bedding which they pee on and put into the place you designated as the toilet, the hamster will then think that is his spot to do business and just continue doing his business there, some might not get it the first time, you just have to keep doing it. You don't really have to get the extension just for the toilet an simple clay bowl would suffice. Toilet sand is any non-clumping sand, you can even use cat litter as long as it is non-clumping.I thought all hamster need sand bath , thanks for enlighten me. About the Ovo , I read up that the Ovo loft doesn't have the ventilation problem anymore as to compare with others Ovo line . I guess Ovo loft will be good then ? Zoozone2 doesn't look that fancy/gorgeous though. Thanks for telling again. Do you mind teach me how to toilet train them ? Besides that , do I need to get extenstion of those ovo plastic to make the toilet place ? On the other hand , what is toilet sand ? So what's the best stuff available in the market ? How much it is ? You're feeding your dog with the best stuff you mentioned ? Note that only one Syrian is to be put in the same place as they are very territorial and will fight to their death. OOT |
Sep 29 2008, 10:13 PM
309 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Penang |
i jus sand bath with my hamster... erm, i think they dunno how to roll them self...
btw, do u guys put the toilet sand and bathing sand inside the cage or seperately? |
Sep 29 2008, 10:15 PM
Inside the cage, so the ham can bathe anytime.
As for bathing sand, sometimes have to pick out the poo or replace the sand if you don't use much. Mine not toilet trained so what to do |
Sep 29 2008, 10:45 PM
360 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: Island of Oriental Pearl |
Very hard to bath them (Robo) as they keep climbing up from the container while bath sand inside.
We put them until they |
| Change to: | 0.0254sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:49 PM |