Chubby Hamster V11, Furball Friends

Aeon_Clock
post Nov 24 2008, 03:30 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Nov 24 2008, 01:32 PM)
Can't remember the list of veges that Nezu gave out for the fresh veges. You look for it and follow the list if can.
there's a list on the 1st page...is that the one?
TSnezumitaro
post Nov 24 2008, 03:58 PM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Nov 22 2008, 08:14 PM)
anyone here tried growing their own fresh grass for hamsters? tongue.gif
just saw this product at Pet Safari...they give you seed and some cotton (I presume as a replacement for baja). Then after the grass grows, you can cut it off and feed your hamster.
those are wheat grass, if u like u can get some seed n nuts to make ur own sprout for them very good in nutritions.

QUOTE(odd_mochi @ Nov 22 2008, 09:30 PM)
hmm...i read somewhere...that...giving too much fresh vege/fruits can cause illness like diarrhea and wet tail disease...
what im not sure is...how much is too much?
below will cos diarrhea while feeding fresh:
1) the hamster never have 1 fresh in his life, intro small potion n monitor their poo. increase the potion until they hv left over, reduce abit will do. make sure dry food is always available.
2) feeding unbalance fresh. feeding with too much watery or only 1 type fresh can cos healthy problem, which consider unbalance diet.

QUOTE(veenna @ Nov 22 2008, 11:08 PM)
oh ok... will tell her do that den... thank you... is vita craft good a? she also bought vita craft 4 Milo... coz said Prestige too big... i feel my Milo still too thin... trying to fatten him up now...
next time try prestige smile.gif

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Nov 22 2008, 11:15 PM)
I wonder if the mongolian gerbil introduction trick works with robos or not hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
yum mostly can use the same trick smile.gif

QUOTE(odd_mochi @ Nov 22 2008, 11:51 PM)
how long can the organic vege formula supplement can last for syrian aa..?
its mention in sale thread. also depance on how much u feed them.

QUOTE(veenna @ Nov 24 2008, 12:42 PM)
thank u.... he is 6 weeks old. i am feeding him vitacraft mixed with some other not famous mix (in kuching dey don't sell any of the recommended brands sad.gif ) i also give him the frozen vege mix everyday... is that ok? he does get dog biscuits as treats too... but i read in the older posts of this thread that should not give too much of the dog biscuits rite? so i give him few a week
kibble is just a protein supplement for them. if its small bite, 1 or 2 per day is fine.
don't feed frozen vege mix. its almost 0 nutritions left.

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Nov 24 2008, 03:30 PM)
there's a list on the 1st page...is that the one?
dont think so. the front page i mainly quote from crazymouse. too lazy to rewrite lol.
NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 24 2008, 04:07 PM

We call her 'fei yau' meaning fats/lard.

Basically we adopted her thru my sis's colleague. And this colleague got it from a friend and this friend got it from another friend.

We dont even know who's the previous owner and wat kind of life she's been living hmm.gif . All we know is that, this poor little female hamster gave birth to several babies and the owner decided to keep the babies instead of the mother.

So we got her in. When we first got her, she has strange diet. She dont eat sunflower seeds at all. She dont even know how to open the seed. Its very sad to see her tat way cry.gif . Only eats fruits and veggie. But we're afraid that too much fruits and veggie is bad for her... So we gave her lots of half opened sunflower seed, fruits and veggie. Slowly she switch her diet back to normal hamsters. Now she loves mixed nuts.

Jamien
post Nov 24 2008, 05:33 PM

2,647 posts

Hi Nikki, nice ham you have. For starters, you have a really god ham with a good habit there. you see, kuaci is like junk food. Most hams like kuaci. smile.gif What they should be taking more of is fresh vegetables and fruits. And your ham naturally prefers that. So it's not a bad thing and does not need changing. Just make sure the poo is firm and cut back on vege if there are signs of diarrhea.

wink.gif Just between you and me, experience mum hams are easier to care for if the previous owner did not let her get into bad habits. Young hams are hyper and you have to teach them. Plus since you're keeping her on her own, there is no chance for unwanted pregnancies. smile.gif She's going to live a long and healthy life with you since she will not be giving birth anymore. hmm.gif and hopefully she isn't too old.
the_catacombs
post Nov 24 2008, 07:53 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Nov 24 2008, 04:07 PM)

Basically we adopted her thru my sis's colleague. And this colleague got it from a friend and this friend got it from another friend.

We dont even know who's the previous owner and wat kind of life she's been living hmm.gif . All we know is that, this poor little female hamster gave birth to several babies and the owner decided to keep the babies instead of the mother.

So we got her in. When we first got her, she has strange diet. She dont eat sunflower seeds at all. She dont even know how to open the seed. Its very sad to see her tat way cry.gif . Only eats fruits and veggie. But we're afraid that too much fruits and veggie is bad for her... So we gave her lots of half opened sunflower seed, fruits and veggie. Slowly she switch her diet back to normal hamsters. Now she loves mixed nuts.
her teeth not strong enough to bite open the seeds??... last time my hammy same case... dont know how to open the seeds... each time i need to open for him... after a few weeks, he learnt how to open it himself... :lol;
unknownhammie
post Nov 24 2008, 08:18 PM

399 posts

Anybody wan to adopt WW breed?
My mummy WW gave birth again to 4 WW babies, got 2 toddle now.
Giving 1 away for adoption.
mecool
post Nov 24 2008, 08:27 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Nov 24 2008, 04:07 PM)

or maybe the sunflower seed skin is too thick/hard for ur ham...try to find other type of sunflower seed..n not to feed too much.
odd_mochi
post Nov 24 2008, 09:04 PM

23 posts

whoahh...im back in serian and am relieved that Toph is fine biggrin.gif
but i think he has forgotten me la... somehow he seems scared and panics more easily sad.gif it's like after all my 'hard'work trying to tame him...now goes back to 0..

but...nvm hihi... i still love him... wub.gif

yes...i know his balls are big sweat.gif

This post has been edited by odd_mochi: Nov 24 2008, 09:40 PM

NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 24 2008, 09:31 PM

QUOTE(mecool @ Nov 24 2008, 08:27 PM)
or maybe the sunflower seed skin is too thick/hard for ur ham...try to find other type of sunflower seed..n not to feed too much.
biggrin.gif It's not that the sunflower seed too hard or her teeth not strong. Just that she's not used to eating sunflower seed in the beginning. I think the previous owner must have feed her fruits and veggie only.

When we got her, the things that came with her are tissue papers, some shaved wood, and two big chunk of potatoes.
So guess that's what she's been eating lo. Maybe she dun even know what is kuaci also. shocking.gif

This post has been edited by NikkiDaTeddy: Nov 24 2008, 09:32 PM
Aeon_Clock
post Nov 25 2008, 11:52 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

its actually good that way...kuaci is not as healthy as fruits and veggies...

Added on November 25, 2008, 11:55 am
QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Nov 24 2008, 03:58 PM)
those are wheat grass, if u like u can get some seed n nuts to make ur own sprout for them very good in nutritions.
seed and nuts? Not buy seeds from shops?

This post has been edited by Aeon_Clock: Nov 25 2008, 11:55 AM
NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 25 2008, 12:14 PM

QUOTE(Jamien @ Nov 24 2008, 05:33 PM)
Hi Nikki, nice ham you have. For starters, you have a really god ham with a good habit there. you see, kuaci is like junk food. Most hams like kuaci. smile.gif What they should be taking more of is fresh vegetables and fruits. And your ham naturally prefers that. So it's not a bad thing and does not need changing. Just make sure the poo is firm and cut back on vege if there are signs of diarrhea.

wink.gif Just between you and me, experience mum hams are easier to care for if the previous owner did not let her get into bad habits. Young hams are hyper and you have to teach them. Plus since you're keeping her on her own, there is no chance for unwanted pregnancies. smile.gif She's going to live a long and healthy life with you since she will not be giving birth anymore. hmm.gif and hopefully she isn't too old.
Hey, Sorry didnt see your msg.

Anyway, she is not our first hamster. My family has had many many b4. I guess more than 30. We had different breeds and different species. Just that b4 we got Fei Yau in, we've sort of 'in a break' of having hamsters.

I didnt know that kuaci are snack to them. I tot its their main diet. Grains ma... rolleyes.gif anyway, why i tod too much fruits and veggie is bad is because, my previous hamsters will have diarrhea if we give too much of it.

What i mean is that, for my hamsters, their main diet will be kuaci. Then will give them mix nuts (bought from stores) to mix with her kuaci. Besides kuaci and mix grains, we will still give veggies, fruits or bread to them when we human are eating. So i guess they still gets balance diet kua.

Months later, i adopted another male dwarf. This male dwarf were previously owned by my bf's bro. But no one takes care of him. He was lonely, no one play with him, no one care and he got skin infection. Thats why i decided to bring him back.

Both hammies are in separate cages. I do not intend to put them both together bcos the female is not tame at all even we play with her everyday for months. She still bits. However, the male is extremely tame. So i'm afraid she will kill him.
odd_mochi
post Nov 25 2008, 01:24 PM

23 posts

hi peeps...
does hamster snore?? is dat normal or issit pathological??

oh, and curious about this bedding. my fren surfed in some hamster pages, and most of the owners from UK using this type...

carefresh hamster bedding... is this good? got sale in malaysia a?

This post has been edited by odd_mochi: Nov 25 2008, 04:56 PM
NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 25 2008, 01:26 PM

Hamster snore? hmmm...i havent experience b4 tho i had so many hamsters...

But my dog snores! hahaha
zulkis
post Nov 25 2008, 03:16 PM

75 posts

My 7 syrian pups...just 11 days old (DOB 24/11/08). Haven't check the gender yet..

There's one solid black colour, i think male..

Each of them is in different colors and patterns.

Their mother...

Think want to sell a few of them after 1 month old...

blurjoey
post Nov 25 2008, 03:36 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

That's look more like solid sable than solid black. Got eye ring means is sable as black got no eye ring.

Here what I think the colors are but require better pic to confirm:
1 solid sable
1 sable banded
2 solid umbrous
1 mink or dove banded?
2 solid mink or dove?

What about the dad? Any pics? Mom is solid umbrous.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Nov 25 2008, 03:36 PM
zulkis
post Nov 25 2008, 03:56 PM

75 posts

Thanks a lot blurjoey for giving me the details...the father is sable banded but unfortunately i've adopted to my friend. I got 10 syrians already...too many hehe

I taught it is black colour....

This post has been edited by zulkis: Nov 25 2008, 03:58 PM
Sophiera
post Nov 26 2008, 12:25 AM

Sophtopus
706 posts

they're very adorable smile.gif
Can't wait to see how they look like when they mature.

Bean's been peeing in the bath sand, byt the way. *sigh*
NikkiDaTeddy
post Nov 26 2008, 12:53 PM

Just want to share something...

I went to Pet Safari at Ikano 2 months ago. U know that corner that sell hamsters in Pet Safari? That Corner does not owned by Pet Safari..
Anyway, when i was there, i was to buy beddings and check out the cute hamsters. Then i saw ONE particular hammie isn't moving. So i stood there and observe.
After few minutes, I realized that hammie is actually dead. And no one knows cos too many hamsters in a tank.

So i walked to the shopkeeper (assuming is the son in his college age), i told him one of the hamsters is dead. So he took newspaper and picked it up.
I continue looking at them. Cos they're not given enough food. After a few seconds, i found something. I hesitated and doubt. Could it be? Could it be not? I saw something flat like a hard paper. I look closer.

OMG!! OMG!!! ohmy.gif Another dead hamster! But this one, died longer cos it's FLAT already. I ran to that guy and told him another dead one. Flat and left back the kulit. U know what? The idiot and his mother laughed, "More dead hamsters? What? Left back skin? Hahaha..." I got so angry vmad.gif mad.gif vmad.gif . How can you laughed like that. I feel like slapping him.

So he picked it up. Meanwhile, i check other tanks to see if there are more dead hamsters. True enough, we found another TWO. So in total, there are FOUR dead hamsters in the tanks and no one notice. How cruel!!! I love hamsters and i had many hamsters before. Looking at how they treat the hamsters, i feel like buying all of them and bring them home. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

Then, we walked into the corner. Mom was checking out the iguanas. Then she told me she saw one interesting iguana that look like got lipstick on. Red lips. I was curious and looked at it. OMG!!! OMG!!! shocking.gif All iguanas in the shop are injured. They are not wearing lipsticks. Their lips were injured. No more lips. Can see teeth. And bleeding. Can see blood on the tank's wall. I felt so disappointed and disgusted by the shop owner and i walk off.

After that incident, I sort of like banned going to that corner. I still visit Pet safari to buy dog food. But i avoid walk pass there and look at the hamsters. I dunno how i can help those animals. Sigh.... cry.gif
sangels
post Nov 26 2008, 06:35 PM

Too cute not to fall in love with
829 posts

Gathering for ALL hamsters and their owner: rclxm9.gif

For all other hamster owners and 3rd batch Fatsoso waiting list candidates are welcomed to the gathering with your hamster (if you want). Come join us for the fun!

SUGGESTION: icon_idea.gif

Date: 27 December 2008
Time: 1pm - 5pm
Venue: Pet Shack - Sunway Mentari

ACTIVITIES:
- Door gifts (Things that are very very useful for you and your hammies and you can't get it outside with money brows.gif )
- Demonstration of syringe feed by Nezu
- Food testing (for hammies) [Thanks to Nezu for sponsoring smoothies in different flavors] thumbup.gif
- Small makan time for HUMANS drool.gif
- Get to see and play with chubby and big size healthy hammies wub.gif

- please edit this post with your name, you can also put up your suggestions for the activity if you have any idea-

1)Nezumitaro
2)Vegas
3)Mikelim
4)Blurjoey
5)Sangels
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

THANK YOU notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
mikelim2020
post Nov 26 2008, 09:05 PM

497 posts

sangels.. i cant make it wor.. i m in my hometown.. friday morning only i go bec.. so sorry sad.gif

120 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Top

0.0315sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:14 AM