The "Phenomthlon" 6500 Black Edition., If you OC, the new AMD chip to get.

TSX.E.D
post Sep 21 2008, 08:39 AM, updated 18y ago

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

Exp Chinese Review
http://www.expreview.com/review/2008-09-19...7775d10042.html

1. It runs much better in games. At this stage it's expected to beat a 3Ghz Athlon 6000+, might even win the 6400+.
2. It uses 20W more compared to K8. Mostly because AMD's 65nm Phenoms had some problems scaling down. Undervolt for less power use though.
3. It OCs to 3.3Ghz with SB750. On air.
4. ~RM350 I think.

Clock for clock compared to the old Athlons:
Normal Apps: 5-10%
Special cases (Excel, TMPEnc): ~50%
Games: 20+%

Comments? This is one of the more decent CPUs AMD has made this year (compared to a ****ton of undervalued crap). It's still meant for OCers who are gamers, who use AM2+ and are looking for a cheap upgrade. I'll wait for Deneb (need quad core) but for the RM300-400 range, this is the new AMD CPU to get. Not for sissies though.

So much for the people who said that Phenoms are bad for gaming, get a dual core instead, ey?

Remember this is 2.3Ghz

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Sep 21 2008, 08:44 AM
DunkyKung
post Sep 21 2008, 08:45 AM

~im dead sexxay~
826 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 21 2008, 08:39 AM)
Exp Chinese Review
http://www.expreview.com/review/2008-09-19...7775d10042.html

1. It runs much better in games. At this stage it's expected to beat a 3Ghz Athlon 6000+, might even win the 6400+.
2. It uses 20W more compared to K8. Mostly because AMD's 65nm Phenoms had some problems scaling down. Undervolt for less power use though.
3. It OCs to 3.3Ghz with SB750. On air.
4. ~RM350 I think.

Clock for clock compared to the old Athlons:
Normal Apps: 5-10%
Special cases (Excel, TMPEnc): ~50%
Games: 20+%

Comments? This is one of the more decent CPUs AMD has made this year (compared to a ****ton of undervalued crap). It's still meant for OCers who are gamers, who use AM2+ and are looking for a cheap upgrade. I'll wait for Deneb (need quad core) but for the RM300-400 range, this is the new AMD CPU to get. Not for sissies though.

my impression at first is why amd made a proc which is a lot more lower ghz,izzit becoz pressure from intel tat make them go crazy,but naw,the answer is in front me!shocked when c da result! blink.gif and da price is alot more lower then 6400+,but can surpass it at same clock speed!wowow!!
Skylinestar
post Sep 21 2008, 08:48 AM

Mega Duck
10,475 posts

athlon 6000 has 3ghz
athlon 6500 has 2.3ghz
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
xixo_12
post Sep 21 2008, 08:48 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

juz the name whistling.gif
TSX.E.D
post Sep 21 2008, 08:50 AM

1,955 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Sep 21 2008, 08:48 AM)
athlon 6000 has 3ghz
athlon 6500 has 2.3ghz
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
New naming scheme.

6000+ vs 6500. No "+"s.
post Sep 21 2008, 08:55 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

Phenomthlon , finally a decent one among X2.
AMD made this to replace all the X2 processors ? hmm.gif
good one for the price.

viperiii
post Sep 21 2008, 09:09 AM

498 posts

..still cant beat and touch the CORE2 QUAD Q6600.

DunkyKung
post Sep 21 2008, 09:12 AM

~im dead sexxay~
826 posts

QUOTE(viperiii @ Sep 21 2008, 09:09 AM)
maybe,but look at the price,and it is dual core,cant compare to quad core,it isnt fair
awh85
post Sep 21 2008, 09:15 AM

2,156 posts

QUOTE(viperiii @ Sep 21 2008, 09:09 AM)
lol u sesat ah?
viperiii
post Sep 21 2008, 09:27 AM

498 posts

QUOTE(awh85 @ Sep 21 2008, 09:15 AM)
lol u sesat ah?
the fact and fate r like that!!
sesak nafas..

This post has been edited by viperiii: Sep 21 2008, 09:27 AM
xixo_12
post Sep 21 2008, 09:29 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(viperiii @ Sep 21 2008, 09:27 AM)
sesak nafas..
hardcore fan detected whistling.gif .. i think we here to discus improvement, not be the hardcore fan like u working at intel rclxub.gif
dual vs quad?? doh.gif

This post has been edited by xixo_12: Sep 21 2008, 09:29 AM
TSX.E.D
post Sep 21 2008, 09:29 AM

1,955 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Sep 21 2008, 09:29 AM)
hardcore fan detected whistling.gif .. i think we here to discus improvement, not be the hardcore fan like u working at intel rclxub.gif
Yep, the exact fact that you're a joke.

Daren't compare the Q6600 to the 9950 now, eh?
DunkyKung
post Sep 21 2008, 09:30 AM

~im dead sexxay~
826 posts

QUOTE(viperiii @ Sep 21 2008, 09:27 AM)
sesak nafas..
yes it is a fact,i dun deny it..but u cant compare that proc with Q6600..same like compare p4 with c2q...
viperiii
post Sep 21 2008, 09:32 AM

498 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Sep 21 2008, 09:29 AM)
dual vs quad?? doh.gif
well.. Im an AMD fan.. but we need to admit that x2 chip is deferior than Intel Quad Core Q6600, lost in every benchmark!!

-Peter-
DunkyKung
post Sep 21 2008, 09:33 AM

~im dead sexxay~
826 posts

bout the improvement, i really want to noe tis proc use what watt?oledi available?maybe ill give it a try..for my bro rig,as i myself waiting for deneb.. smile.gif
TSX.E.D
post Sep 21 2008, 09:35 AM

1,955 posts

TDP's 95W, actual power usage is ~70W or so.

(5000+ @ 2.3Ghz uses 55W maybe, K10 2.3Ghz 6500 uses 20W extra, so 75W)
DunkyKung
post Sep 21 2008, 09:37 AM

~im dead sexxay~
826 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 21 2008, 09:35 AM)
TDP's 95W, actual power usage is ~70W or so.

(5000+ @ 2.3Ghz uses 55W maybe, K10 2.3Ghz 6500 uses 20W extra, so 75W)
its ok as long not 140w TDP...thx bro smile.gif
viperiii
post Sep 21 2008, 09:40 AM

498 posts

QUOTE(DunkyKung @ Sep 21 2008, 09:33 AM)
bout the improvement, i really want to noe tis proc use what watt?oledi available?maybe ill give it a try..for my bro rig,as i myself waiting for deneb.. smile.gif
PHENOM x3 is a good bargain for now...
get the PHENOM x3 8450e which using only 65 Watts power, saving a bit of your electrical bills..

-Peter-
tech_frix
post Sep 21 2008, 10:04 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

want to see real life test...
viperiii
post Sep 21 2008, 10:08 AM

498 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Sep 21 2008, 10:04 AM)
want to see real life test...
I just install a older PHENOM x3 8450 system for one of my best friends.
I would says that.. the PHENOM x3 processor got a superb internet connection speed over the previous generation, ATHLON 64 x2...
If you dont believe it, U can built up U own system and try it..
AMD PHENOM processor, good internet connection speed!!
However, I want more and more people to install it and prove it to me..

-Peter-

xixo_12
post Sep 21 2008, 10:26 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(viperiii @ Sep 21 2008, 10:08 AM)
I would says that.. the PHENOM x3 processor got a superb internet connection speed over the previous generation, ATHLON 64 x2...

-Peter-
good internet connection? rclxub.gif
post Sep 21 2008, 10:26 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(viperiii @ Sep 21 2008, 11:08 AM)

-Peter-

dont make silly statement w/o any prove ( at least a screen shot )
xixo_12
post Sep 21 2008, 10:28 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

walawehh ini orang..what a statement.. where he learn? whistling.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by xixo_12: Sep 21 2008, 10:28 AM
PhantomThief
post Sep 21 2008, 11:20 AM

I'm folding. Are you?
696 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Sep 21 2008, 10:26 AM)

Think we could start a club, there. Or perhaps there's a mythical link between processor and internet speed that has not been discovered before our resident "expert" here discovered it?

Back on topic though, since the 2.3GHz already beats the 3.0, what happens when it's OC-ed to 3.0 itself? Any results on that?
TSX.E.D
post Sep 21 2008, 11:26 AM

1,955 posts

I think Intel actually advertised that on 1 Pentium series before this.

yawn.gif

I forgot which one it was, though.
viperiii
post Sep 21 2008, 11:32 AM

498 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Sep 21 2008, 10:26 AM)

http://www.hothardware.com/Articles/AMD-Ph...ocessor/?page=4
http://www.techspot.com/review/95-amd-phen...nce/page12.html

and including your real world tests too...

-Peter-
post Sep 21 2008, 12:15 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(viperiii @ Sep 21 2008, 12:32 PM)
well , Im pointing the statement which you typed.

AMD X3 8450 makes your internet speed faster ? laugh.gif

stick with topic.

AMDAthlon
post Sep 21 2008, 12:19 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Actually guys,if there was no TLB Bug for Current Phenom(Agena),this year AMD will eventually build the 45nm already..If you see the last year roadmap it is.Since it has TLB bug,it has been delayed.So AMD made conclusion that Phenom X2 will be made using 45nm transition.
I still wonders hows on gaming compare to >Intel
I hate when they compare not equivalent on what the processor needs to compare doh.gif
xixo_12
post Sep 21 2008, 12:37 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(viperiii @ Sep 21 2008, 11:32 AM)
QUOTE(168257061 @ Sep 21 2008, 12:15 PM)
well , Im pointing the statement which you typed.

AMD X3 8450 makes your internet speed faster ?  laugh.gif

stick with topic.
erk..giving another link.. that the benchmark in some application.. not internet connection sweat.gif
TSX.E.D
post Sep 21 2008, 12:43 PM

1,955 posts

In games vs the E5200, which is 2.5Ghz.

Overall, if at 2.5Ghz vs 2.5Ghz (200Mhz is literally free OC on the 6500 also) the 6500 wins out slightly, or is even with the E5200.

If you turn up the Northbridge speed to 2Ghz instead of 1.8 you might see some increases too. 2.4 and 2.6Ghz are even more aggressive settings.

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Sep 21 2008, 12:43 PM
post Sep 21 2008, 12:47 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

nice info there , X.E.D .

seems like 6500 is interesting , I wonder how they compare with 6000+ on game.

pikacu
post Sep 21 2008, 12:47 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

seems that Phenomthlon performance very close to Core 2 performance? (same clock speed)

kernah
post Sep 21 2008, 12:50 PM

474 posts

compatible wif any am2 board? or oni for am2+ board?
User_Xp
post Sep 21 2008, 12:52 PM

973 posts

a good upgrade while waiting for deneb... icon_rolleyes.gif

when this gem arrive in Msia?
pikacu
post Sep 21 2008, 01:01 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(kernah @ Sep 21 2008, 12:50 PM)
compatible wif any am2 board? or oni for am2+ board?

i bliv am2+ mobo only..

TSX.E.D
post Sep 21 2008, 01:02 PM

1,955 posts

It MIGHT work with AM2 boards if there are BIOS updates.

Most likely not.
smokey
post Sep 21 2008, 02:16 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

-Peter-
this the joke of the year... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
tellmewhy
post Sep 21 2008, 02:54 PM

893 posts

-Peter-
lol doh.gif
onimusha333
post Sep 21 2008, 03:15 PM

169 posts

-Peter-
can i quote this as my siggy thumbup.gif doh.gif
lex
post Sep 21 2008, 03:27 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(onimusha333 @ Sep 21 2008, 03:15 PM)
can i quote this as my siggy  thumbup.gif  doh.gif
Why not? Comedic quote of the day... biggrin.gif

Anyway, the 6500+ looks interesting... Hope to see a full review soon (versus 6000+/6400+ and other Core 2 Duos). nod.gif

rndm
post Sep 21 2008, 03:58 PM

53 posts

Here's a short benchmark that includes 6000+;

http://xtreview.com/addcomment-id-6272-vie...on-X2-6000.html

Go, go 6500! >>
post Sep 21 2008, 06:40 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

K10 architecture

anyone know what makes 6500 run faster even the core clock is lower ? its still running at 2Ghz HT right ?

Added on September 21, 2008, 6:43 pm2MB of L3 Cache... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by 168257061: Sep 21 2008, 06:43 PM
pikacu
post Sep 21 2008, 06:51 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Sep 21 2008, 06:40 PM)
K10 architecture

anyone know what makes 6500 run faster even the core clock is lower ? its still running at 2Ghz HT right ?

Added on September 21, 2008, 6:43 pm2MB of L3 Cache... hmm.gif
K10 architecture, HT3.0 i believe
TSX.E.D
post Sep 21 2008, 06:51 PM

1,955 posts

Oh I dunno, maybe in the 2 years between K8X2 and K10 they did *something*?

Funny these scores make all the Digit-Life numbers look pathetically sad... as if someone gave them a lump sum of cash. Plus, it's Russian. Xbit has done the same thing for so many years for ATI vs nVidia.
cloudwan
post Sep 21 2008, 08:05 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

Hmmmm when are we going to see this on the retail channel eh?
Hope to see it soon..
I'm lookin forward to it to replace my 5000+ BE... smile.gif
SeaMonster
post Sep 21 2008, 08:12 PM

2,056 posts

Prcoessor Can Make Internet Connection Speed Faster?

Any Theory To Support This Statement?
post Sep 21 2008, 08:45 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(SeaMonster @ Sep 21 2008, 09:12 PM)
Prcoessor Can Make Internet Connection Speed Faster?

Any Theory To Support This Statement?
just ignore it and rofl with buddies laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
z3phyr
post Sep 21 2008, 10:10 PM

71 posts

-Peter-

bata
post Sep 21 2008, 10:12 PM

3,726 posts

internet speed?
how is that again??? rclxub.gif
maybe im too long already abandon comp hardwares stuff

Chow
viperiii
post Sep 21 2008, 10:14 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Sep 21 2008, 08:45 PM)
just ignore it and rofl  with buddies laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
I mean maintain a good internet connection speed over time... prevent internet connection down for a long time..

-Peter-
rndm
post Sep 21 2008, 10:20 PM

53 posts

Maybe it's just that the mobo have a better Ethernet connection... Or a better LAN card, WiFi card... uh, something to that effect. After all, it is an entirely new computer, right? If not, bleh.

I don't really think the processor can really make internet connection faster.
onimusha333
post Sep 21 2008, 10:21 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(rndm @ Sep 21 2008, 03:58 PM)
Here's a short benchmark that includes 6000+;

http://xtreview.com/addcomment-id-6272-vie...on-X2-6000.html

Go, go 6500! >>
you breaking my heart cry.gif
6000+ x2 user here
PS: a processor is NOTHING TO DO WITH THE INTERNET CONNECTION SPEED
am i rite?

This post has been edited by onimusha333: Sep 21 2008, 10:22 PM
jinaun
post Sep 21 2008, 10:29 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(onimusha333 @ Sep 21 2008, 10:21 PM)
you breaking my heart  cry.gif
6000+ x2 user here
PS: a processor is NOTHING TO DO WITH THE INTERNET CONNECTION SPEED
am i rite?
you are damn right...

internet connection speed are determined by your subscription to the ISP

viperiii
post Sep 21 2008, 10:29 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(rndm @ Sep 21 2008, 10:20 PM)
Maybe it's just that the mobo have a better Ethernet connection... Or a better LAN card, WiFi card... uh, something to that effect. After all, it is an entirely new computer, right? If not, bleh.

I don't really think the processor can really make internet connection faster.
ok, thanks for the info..
post Sep 21 2008, 10:55 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

given you superconductor cable link to the streamyx , it will still return you a crappy speed shakehead.gif
PhantomThief
post Sep 21 2008, 11:08 PM

I'm folding. Are you?
696 posts

QUOTE(viperiii @ Sep 21 2008, 10:14 PM)
I mean maintain a good internet connection speed over time... prevent internet connection down for a long time..

-Peter-

Is there anything left to say? Seriously?
lex
post Sep 21 2008, 11:54 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(viperiii @ Sep 21 2008, 10:14 PM)

-Peter-

dfcloud
post Sep 22 2008, 12:16 AM

(屮ʘДʘ)屮
719 posts

shud i change mah cpu so that my internets speed would be 2mb from 512? lawl

zonan4
post Sep 25 2008, 05:04 PM

561 posts

hahahahaha funny la dat guy.... all head in da office suddenly turn to me when i laugh...hahahahahhaa

btw my motherboards bios already update to the latest that support 6500 but i cant find da proc here... when arrrr?

This post has been edited by zonan4: Sep 25 2008, 05:06 PM
archonixm
post Sep 25 2008, 06:37 PM

774 posts

Use this processor can make my torrent from 10kb to 1000000kb/s, woohooo who cares bout HSBB rite guys? u rock viperii... thx to amd..
soulfly
post Sep 25 2008, 09:03 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(dfcloud @ Sep 22 2008, 12:16 AM)
shud i change mah cpu so that my internets speed would be 2mb from 512? lawl

internet speed depends on cpu L2 cache

my cpu L2 cache is 1MB, hence my internet speed is 1MB

post Sep 25 2008, 09:17 PM