backup programs to be used in 64bit vista, previously using 32bit xp
TSmetsatsu
Sep 20 2008, 03:11 PM, updated 18y ago
Chocolate Starfish
I'm thinking of upgrading to 64bit vista premium. currently i'm using xp 32bit with all the backup files being stored seperately in difference physical HDD. I have a folders full of INSTALLED program folders (in seperate HDD) which I would normally re-use everytime i format my HDD and reinstalled my windows xp 32bit. I also have another nother HDD with all the installation files which I will use for installing my previously installed programs after reinstalling my windows xp too. So now I have thought of getting a vista preimum 64bit, and there's a few questions before i go ahead.... 1. Can I still use all my INSTALLATION FILES (previously used for 32bit xp) for vista 64bit?? 2. Will all my INSTALLED programs still be usable in vista 64bit? Hope my questions don't confuse u all too much  all your help will be very much appreciated, cheers!!
kwtungmy
Sep 20 2008, 03:17 PM

not all 32-bit apps can be use on 64-bit. QUOTE(metsatsu @ Sep 20 2008, 03:11 PM) I'm thinking of upgrading to 64bit vista premium. currently i'm using xp 32bit with all the backup files being stored seperately in difference physical HDD. I have a folders full of INSTALLED program folders (in seperate HDD) which I would normally re-use everytime i format my HDD and reinstalled my windows xp 32bit. I also have another nother HDD with all the installation files which I will use for installing my previously installed programs after reinstalling my windows xp too. So now I have thought of getting a vista preimum 64bit, and there's a few questions before i go ahead.... 1. Can I still use all my INSTALLATION FILES (previously used for 32bit xp) for vista 64bit?? 2. Will all my INSTALLED programs still be usable in vista 64bit? Hope my questions don't confuse u all too much  all your help will be very much appreciated, cheers!! 
TSmetsatsu
Sep 20 2008, 03:28 PM
Chocolate Starfish
QUOTE(kwtungmy @ Sep 20 2008, 03:17 PM) not all 32-bit apps can be use on 64-bit. so any suggestions for solutions?
asmly14
Sep 23 2008, 02:57 PM
Most of the time, a 32bit software should be able to work under vista 64bit environment with it's back-compatible ability, there are some cases that it won't work.
Perhaps you can perform file & settings migration under "System Tools". It will migrate your profile and selected files and setting to your new environment. I'm not that sure if you can perform from xp to vista.
However, when you do Vista Installation from XP, you should have an option to upgrade (which will also migrate your files/program) to Vista. Just insert Vista Disk after Windows XP is loaded and select Upgrade.
TSmetsatsu
Oct 14 2008, 11:20 AM
Chocolate Starfish
Sorry that i bad been MIA for so long  i have been selling, buying and upgrading my rig  . So what u r implying is that i can actually upgrade my existing 32bit xp to 64bit vista without having to unistall my existing xp?
yrh0413
Oct 14 2008, 01:43 PM
not all 32 bit software will work on x64; particularly those antivirus and disk maintenance applications. for backup, i use norton ghost
WaCKy-Angel
Oct 14 2008, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(metsatsu @ Oct 14 2008, 11:20 AM) Sorry that i bad been MIA for so long  i have been selling, buying and upgrading my rig  . So what u r implying is that i can actually upgrade my existing 32bit xp to 64bit vista without having to unistall my existing xp? he says upgrade from XP to vista, in your case 32bit to 64bit must do clean format.. But one thing i dun understand, u install "program files" in D but u format C: and still can use those programs in D without need to reinstall? What kind of software is it?
TSmetsatsu
Oct 14 2008, 02:03 PM
Chocolate Starfish
oh. games la  just copy the .exe file and create a shortcut in desktop. can use already so i guess there's no other way but to reformat everything and install a fresh new clean copy of 64bit vist eh?