GPS FAQ -All about GPS and Softwares~, Updated - Garmin & Malsing General Guide

idoblu
post Nov 22 2008, 05:12 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

guys, sorry not exactly a GPS hardware or software question -

what kind of phone holder do you use or recommend? You know those that sticks to your windscreen? which is the best you have seen so far?

idoblu
post Nov 23 2008, 03:22 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

i just installed garminxt on my N79. now i feel that my phone like slow down a bit and having some weird problems like soft resetting by itself. but i thought garminxt is installed in the memory card so shouldnt be garminxt right? or could it be?
idoblu
post Nov 23 2008, 06:25 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

yes its installed in the memory card. i think maybe not garminxt causing the problem. i got fring installed too.

idoblu
post Nov 23 2008, 07:05 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

nope all apps, i make sure are closed.
anyway sorry since this is not really garmin or GPS related anymore. I just thought it was due to it,

btw anyone have problems getting signal because got v-kool?

This post has been edited by idoblu: Nov 23 2008, 07:06 PM
idoblu
post Nov 24 2008, 09:18 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

how do you make the screen not to go into screensaver or power save mode on your Nseries phones? Mine can set to max at 90 seconds only making it impossible to have the garmin screen on for the entire journey

This post has been edited by idoblu: Nov 24 2008, 09:19 AM
idoblu
post Nov 24 2008, 10:50 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

mine doesnt have "always on"
max is 60 to 90 seconds
idoblu
post Nov 24 2008, 11:56 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Nov 24 2008, 11:41 AM)
It is in Garmin, Tools > Settings > display

not in the phone > tools > settings > display

lol~
ah! no wonder....hehehe.. ok ok thanks!
btw is there any step by step instructions somewhere? like how to go from one place to another? how to locate your destination, etc?
thanks again !! rclxms.gif
idoblu
post Nov 24 2008, 12:10 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

why i spell the state - selangor also not found? etc sad.gif
very confusing still....
idoblu
post Nov 25 2008, 11:52 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

is it true that malfreemaps are better in KL city and Klang valley? My malsingmaps like not so good la. Maybe i need the highest version. I only installed the free version.

sometimes very accurate but sometimes if i follow its direction sure get lost wan....hahaha
idoblu
post Nov 28 2008, 11:12 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

is it possible to have both malsingmaps and malfreemaps?
if yes, how? thanks
idoblu
post Dec 26 2008, 02:30 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

hi sifus all

i have a N79 with gmxt installed. i also have agps turn on. previously when i turn on nokia maps, the E signal sign would come on (edge), on my phone but recently i upgraded to 3G. now the E signal sign no longer come on but always 3G instead. And when I turn on Nokia Maps, the E sign doesnt come on either and gmxt also seem like taking a long time to lock on. previously very fast if i turn on AGPS.

confused now....whats happening
idoblu
post Dec 26 2008, 04:15 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Dec 25 2008, 10:42 AM)
Set those files below to hidden

MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\S60\Animation.MBM
MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\S60\Splash.MBM
MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\S60_TTF\Animation.MBM
MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\S60_TTF\Splash.MBM
MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\UIQ\Animation.MBM
MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\UIQ\Splash.MBM
MemoryCard:\Garmin\Help\EN\ *set all image in the folder to hidden*
MemoryCard:\Garmin\JPEG\ *set all files hidden*

delete all _PAibTN folder in garmin, open 1 by 1 to delete them in each folder~
i cant find Garmin/apps/Symbian/Bin
mine reaches to Garmin/apps/Symbian only
how to set to hidden?
idoblu
post Dec 26 2008, 05:12 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

*deleted* found it

This post has been edited by idoblu: Dec 26 2008, 07:01 PM
idoblu
post Jan 1 2009, 08:49 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

where to get cantonese voice prompts? mine are all european and american voices

*edited* nevermind got it

This post has been edited by idoblu: Jan 1 2009, 10:09 AM
idoblu
post Jan 3 2009, 10:46 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

try putting a space between SS and the number - eg. SS 6/1
no need jalan
idoblu
post Jan 3 2009, 11:02 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

im new at using this too and find it confusing. sometimes jalan must be put in, sometimes its not needed. sometimes must put in a space, sometimes it doesnt care. house number doesnt seem to work for me.

if looking for a particular place with a name - like a condo or a housing community, instead of using Addresses, use Points of Interest > Spell Name.
idoblu
post Jan 3 2009, 11:12 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

ya i guess depends on what the mappers put in. house numbers i dun think they use that, not here in malaysia.

idoblu
post Jan 9 2009, 08:39 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

which SE phone got?
idoblu
post Feb 17 2009, 09:23 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

sifus, i like to ask which location format i should use? in garmin there are selections for -

1. hddd.ddddd°
2. hddd°mm.mmm'
3. hddd°mm'ss.s"
4. british grid

I like to know the most common method used. for example i want to tell someone my coordinates, if i tell them using method 1. but they set using method 2. then ma very susah?

One more thing. I find that when I set it to method no.2 but when I send sms location, the method is using no.1 Why like that?

Thanks in advance
idoblu
post Feb 18 2009, 12:24 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 17 2009, 10:34 PM)
Which ever format use, the garmin unit, mapsource & even google earth will auto detect & convert it..
stimix sifu, i know garmin can decipher it but im asking which method is most commonly use. ok tell me which method you are using
thanks in advance

This post has been edited by idoblu: Feb 18 2009, 12:33 PM

0.0435sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:56 AM