GPS FAQ -All about GPS and Softwares~, Updated - Garmin & Malsing General Guide

hypermount
post Nov 24 2008, 10:30 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

I'm new in this thing. The Garmin Mobile XT in my mobile is accurate At least for now and for simple routes..lol loving it. It's pretty fast and accurate from a moving car (speedometer also is near accurate from the calculation)..cos seems we can't disable the A-GPS function...signal s strong - 4 healty bar all the time...for those who want to test the GPS locking capability - keep it away from laptop and any electronical devices..
hypermount
post Nov 24 2008, 10:31 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

Can we rely on Malfreemap alone? or should I try Malsingmap - read it needs key to unlock.
hypermount
post Nov 24 2008, 10:46 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

Yes you can override the backlight off function..go to tools ->settings->display , set backlight override to always on....to make all totally handsfree.
hypermount
post Nov 24 2008, 01:28 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

Use nokia map to geotag point of interests if want to contribute.

Use garmin to navigate. Satellites link and AGPS on N78 works great - fast and accurate.
hypermount
post Nov 26 2008, 09:58 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

My N78 locks very fast from startup even from inside house/room or a moving car - 3 to 5 bars....I don't think a dedicated GPSr can do any better than this.

How many secs tracklog in Garmin Mobile XT? it never stats in sec.
hypermount
post Nov 26 2008, 12:37 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

That's weird..my phone take only 5-10 seconds! tongue.gif Later at home take video. 4-5 green healthy bar.

At details - at least about 4 blue bar - satellites link.

if 3-10 minutes -wow if it's like that really I wouldn't get really excited about the GPS feature in my phone.

This post has been edited by hypermount: Nov 26 2008, 12:39 PM
hypermount
post Nov 28 2008, 03:26 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Nov 26 2008, 12:47 PM)
u are really really lucky man to get that phone >.<
QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 26 2008, 12:48 PM)
Yeap..u are one of luckiest one around  biggrin.gif ..BTW, how fast the acquisition of signal doesn't mean the chipset is good. I still remember having a GloballocateAGPS  chipset in my old HP6515 & the acquisition of satelite is much faster than my current Asus P535 PDA (SirfIII chipset). and I can tell u the quality of tracklogs using sirfIII is much better than globallocate AGPS chipset!!

On my current N78 I was actually dissapointed wth the tracklogs quality via Garmin MXT as it's dun hv 1 second recording & thus, tracklogs not so perfect wth big gaps in between..in order to get perfect tracklogs, u really hv to walk & jog rather than drive!! However since I found another tacking software (Racechrono) ...getting the perfect 1 second tracklogs, & this very slow chipset actually performed equally good compare wth SIrfIII rclxms.gif  shocking.gif
Am I that lucky? cos of freak change I got a better handset? So gotta take care of it really well.

5-6 seconds to lock under overcast/raining sky.

14 seconds from room - the the only windows facing the kitchen not outside tongue.gif

hypermount
post Nov 28 2008, 01:37 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

Yes you can choose to use either map..

go to tools -> manage my data -> map set and click mapset - tick the one you want to use.
hypermount
post Dec 9 2008, 11:45 AM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

Tried my N78 on a real field t4esting at penang using malfreemaps on Garmin MXT..

The scariest part was when entering someone's house number and street name, it managed to lead me virtually to her doorstep thru nook and cranny of penang street.- 15km away from penang to butterworth

Only few houses off accuracy.

And yeah my N78 needs only few seconds to lock with satellites from a moving car.

0.0386sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:49 AM