GPS FAQ -All about GPS and Softwares~, Updated - Garmin & Malsing General Guide

dswwong
post Feb 6 2009, 05:50 PM

60 posts

I just managed to load the Garmin XT ver. 5.00.20 into my Tube but I could not get it started....

I am stuck at teh part where it is "searching for a GPS device".....under the GPS information page.

Is there some settings in my phone not done or have I missed out anything ? Please help any sifu out there

This post has been edited by dswwong: Feb 6 2009, 05:51 PM
dswwong
post Feb 6 2009, 06:05 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Feb 6 2009, 05:59 PM)
You need to go to Tools, Settings, System, Remote GPS and select Use Attached/Built-in GPS.
Thanks...

But when I followed that instruction....after I pressed remote GPS.....my screen went back to the GPS information page (blue in color).

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
dswwong
post Feb 6 2009, 06:14 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Feb 6 2009, 06:10 PM)
If you have done it the right way, there is an option for you to choose an External GPS device or Built-in GPS device.
The default is External GPS device.
How do I get it right......

Please... icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

This is very frustrating...would restore default help ?

This post has been edited by dswwong: Feb 6 2009, 06:16 PM
dswwong
post Feb 6 2009, 06:19 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Feb 6 2009, 06:16 PM)
What I mean is the authorised way to install Garmin onto your phone.
should I re install the software ?

This post has been edited by dswwong: Feb 6 2009, 06:20 PM
dswwong
post Mar 16 2009, 12:37 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(tehdynasty @ Mar 15 2009, 09:30 AM)
5800 doesn't comes with a-gps meh? normally phones nowadays come with a-gps in order to shorten the signal locking time... However.. you will being charged for that as it uses GPRS, EDGE or 3G shakehead.gif ... so... part of the users will disable it... and wait longer for the GPS to function  hmm.gif
How to disable this for a FREE GPS usage for the tube ? Pls advise.
dswwong
post Mar 18 2009, 11:45 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(kae7 @ Mar 16 2009, 12:48 PM)

always read the first post..it stated there...[open the spoiler]
Thanks for directing me to the appropriate place for info.

I have this to ask for advice....

After disabling the AGPS, when I am at a new location, the GPS will not work and always show the last map...........and not the current location.

So it appears there is no way to use the GPS FREE as the info must be obtained using GPRS to get the location that one is currently in in order to get the route to go home from point A (current location) to A ( say home).

Am I correct to say this or otherwise ?

0.0404sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:36 AM