GPS FAQ -All about GPS and Softwares~, Updated - Garmin & Malsing General Guide

Deani_77
post Apr 27 2009, 08:35 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 27 2009, 03:13 PM)
Latest Malsingmaps is 3.01 (Beta)..released 23/4/09 (Not sure need any key din use it yet)

Latest Malfreemaps is 1.55 released 4am this Morning  biggrin.gif
It still need the key as before (you can use previous unlock code if you have one). As for NT version for Garmin device and Mobile XT, you can get the unlock code from Garmin Unlock Page.

Deani_77
post Apr 28 2009, 10:17 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(qwe65 @ Apr 27 2009, 11:32 PM)
stimix aka Gila GPS can tell me more bout Mapsource??
You can read more about Mapsource here at MSM Wikipedia

Added on April 28, 2009, 10:21 pm
QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Apr 28 2009, 05:07 PM)
tested the msm v3. like the same nia with v2.3.. wat the difference?
In term of map update, I think not much different between both map. May be guy at MSM still busy with standardize work for MSM NT map using Garmin compiler.

This post has been edited by Deani_77: Apr 28 2009, 10:21 PM
Deani_77
post Apr 30 2009, 02:24 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(fender @ Apr 29 2009, 02:46 PM)
hye everyone..i just want to know your opinions about GPS phone.

the issue is :
phone with built-in GPS device VS GPS-enabled phone but using external GPS device.
can u pls tell me the pros & cons in every aspects?

thanx in advance!
IMHO not much different between both, you drain out your battery faster (using GPS or using BT for GPS) but using BT GPS give you advantage for not frying your phone in order to get better GPS accuracy (you just put your BT GPS under hot sun not your phone) tongue.gif

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Apr 29 2009, 09:36 PM)
Hey, i wanna know why my garmin got no voice guidance de?? and how can i search a place like in the nokia map? cuz everytime i click address search then it wants me to enter the state address..however, it end up with no matchfound!! how?? pls help me

Which Garmin software you are using now? Mobile XT? If yes you need to install additional file in order to make it talk. Please refer here.

Deani_77
post Apr 30 2009, 10:35 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Apr 29 2009, 12:05 PM)
go to the malsingmap forum download nia.. not much diff also.. but still lacking detail i guess.. wat i notice is tat the previous hav traffic light in the route i use but the v3 dont hav the traffic light le.. more like downgrade.. haha.. have try whether the duke highway is available or not though..
Those traffic light actually made using custom POI (using another POI code for traffic light icon), since MSM already standardize all it polyline code and POI code to original Garmin format, they need to take out all the map customization from the previous version. hmm.gif
Deani_77
post Apr 30 2009, 08:07 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(buntutman @ Apr 30 2009, 06:34 PM)
i did not understand a single thing u have typed.
u mean to tell me, MFM is using a non-garmin compliant POI to be captured ???? go learn GPS pls !
If you know about how to customize the map using software like genTYP, by using this software you can produce different POI image or polygon image. Look at the map I attach this map been produce with the custom file (*.typ) inserted while compiling it, same area but have different look. You can ask bro stimix if you want to know further about it.

I'm not saying MFM using non-garmin compliant but as for MSM after they joined adventure with Garmin for drawing map on behalf Garmin, they been asked to removed all the customization they did on the map.

Deani_77
post May 2 2009, 12:11 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ May 2 2009, 11:03 AM)
So u mean i need to download a specific poi to view those traffic light and further add on? Any link to those POIs? Can a garmin xt hav multiple POIs?
Actually all that custom POI, polyline and polygon had been compiled by the mapper through a certain process, if you have Maposource application in your pc, you can look for that TYP file in that Garmin/Malfreemaps folder. If you want to make your own customize map you can try download software made by cypherman here. It will take sometime to understand how that thing need to be done.

Deani_77
post May 3 2009, 01:54 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ May 2 2009, 05:48 PM)
erm.. is there any other ways tat is simpler? like download and install? are there any1 offering the specific POI for traffic light .. can can the garmin xt support multiple POI?
AFAIK that thing need to be done in order to make your own map customization custom (at least that what I do tongue.gif ).
But if you are using map from MFM, the customization file already been attached together while you install their weekly map update to your Mapsource. There is no need for you to install it.

Cheerz....
Deani_77
post May 4 2009, 06:23 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ May 4 2009, 05:34 PM)
soli bro.. as was using msm v2.3 last time.. then switch to the current v3 .. i noticed some changes in the map such as the traffic light is not shown ma.. thx for the info anyway.. so is it better to use mfm then? anyway another question is that can mfm and msm map coexist in garmin xt?
Which one the best was depends on the user... tongue.gif

Co-exist in what manner, in one GMAPSUPP.img file ?

Deani_77
post May 6 2009, 09:02 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(buntutman @ May 5 2009, 07:06 PM)
both maps can co-exist and also be COMBINED.
I think they can co-exist (as per what you already mentioned above) but cannot into one GMAPSUPP file (between peninsular tiles) due to new boundaries tiles use by MFM.
Deani_77
post May 9 2009, 06:29 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ May 6 2009, 11:15 PM)
Besides the advantage of using Malsing maps in Garmin, what other differences or advantages does it have over Nokia Maps (assuming I have navigation license)?

I'm just curious because I only have Nokia Maps and I might need to use Maps in Malaysia soon.
I think it also depends on you current location, if you are in big town I think it not much different since Nokia map also quite details in big town area but for routing across Malaysia (including Sabah and Sarawak). Using Garmin with MSM or MFM will give you more advantage in-term of map details.

Deani_77
post May 11 2009, 05:25 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ May 10 2009, 10:05 PM)
Which topic that discuss about GPS products... im not interested in phone or pda GPS.
You by which thread discussing about GPS hardware and software? If thread discussing about GPSr I havenot found it here at lowyat. Why not you go to MSM and MFM forum. They already have very details discussion on that.
Deani_77
post Aug 14 2009, 10:58 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Aug 13 2009, 06:11 PM)
Thanks a lot.  Okay, I can give the small lanes a miss - so when I set it to Pedestrian, it would ignore those one-way street directions and stuff?  Really for walking?
If you intends to walk using GPS, why not using off road mode. It just show direction straight to your location. Then you choose yourself which alley and road you are going to use.

Go to Tools>Settings>Routing>Route Preferences, select off road...
Deani_77
post Aug 15 2009, 09:04 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(xjukie @ Aug 15 2009, 11:26 AM)
How do i check my malsingmaps Version? and how do i download the latest map and update in on my HP?
tq

I download from the link given at first post by chicaman, rename the .IMG file into gmauspp.img ... then paste it in ROOT Garmin directory in my HP.
When i open the Garmin XT apps, it sayd can't unlock maps with unit id XXXX.
Damn? how to solve this?
To check the map version you can always go to Tools>Manage My Data>Map Sets

You can use that map because it was lock to specific Garmin device, you need to get the unlock code. You can checkout here for more details on unlocking that map.

As what bro buntutman says, MFM was easier since no need for you to apply the unlock code. As contributor to both community, learn on getting the unlock code will be a good knowledge to me... tongue.gif

Deani_77
post Sep 23 2009, 05:21 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(NoobPro70 @ Sep 23 2009, 04:34 PM)
errr , my garmin lag ? because when my car reach that corner , my garmin after 6 sec  baru reach ?
Sometime that happened due to lack of GPS accuracy not because of lag. You can check your satellite page to view your current accuracy...

Deani_77
post Sep 26 2009, 10:28 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(ruffaz @ Sep 24 2009, 12:16 AM)
ok, im still new in this garmin n mfm. im setting up garmin for my gps device (nokia n82)

I'm using the latest garminXT for s60v3, i've set it to use built-in gps
i've activated my garmin, i've downloaded malfreemaps from here : http://www.malfreemaps.com/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=893

so, this is the screenshot of my garmin's folder in n82 memory card.

but the garmin doesnt work, it start up, but when navigating, no map shown, the arrow is there... but the background is empty (no map). any1 can help me here? anything i miss? what is the map id?
Did you get satellite fix? Check the satellite page of your Mobile XT? If your are using map from mFm no need to worries about map ID...

This post has been edited by Deani_77: Sep 26 2009, 10:34 PM
Deani_77
post Sep 29 2009, 01:18 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(eanson @ Sep 29 2009, 10:52 AM)
i mean delete other languages except for english...cos there are many other languages of voice files..
I think the only benefit you can get by that action was saving some of your memory card space. Since you already select which language you want to use, that program will not use other language when you use the application.

Deani_77
post Oct 19 2009, 01:39 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 18 2009, 01:44 PM)
as long as u have green bar even 1 it will still calculate route. So dont give ppl wrong information mate

Added on October 18, 2009, 1:46 pm

Its very hard to get 5bars in the city. if u standing on top of a very high mountain maybe.
GPS unit need at least lock to a 3 satellite before it can give you 3D location fix. I think that what our ppl means by 3 bar (in colour). After that the unit will only calculate the route for you.
Deani_77
post Oct 19 2009, 01:47 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 19 2009, 01:42 PM)
Cold Start
The first time you turn you unit on each day it must perform a cold start. To perform a successful cold start it must have a current almanac, a reasonable expectation of its current location, and a reasonable idea of the current time. Given this data the only thing it needs in order to calculate a fix is the precise location of 3 (for a 2D fix) or 4 satellites (for a 3D fix). The data it needs is called ephemeris data and it is transmitted every 30 seconds by each satellite in the constellation. It takes 18 seconds to download this information because it is only being sent at 50 bps. Since your Garmin was turned on at a random time with respect to the satellite transmission it can take up to 36 seconds to download this information assuming no interruption. It would take longer if it had to be received in order but your Garmin is capable of reassembling the information even if it is received out of order. Once the data has been acquired a position can be computed and a lock obtained. Generally this can be accomplished in an amazing 45 seconds from the time you first turned on the unit. The 45 seconds includes the time to gather ephemeris data and the time to compute the fix. After a lock the data will be updated once a second.

Source http://www.gpsinformation.org/dale/gpsfix.htm
OK you need at least 4 satellite fix (4 colour bar) for 3D satellite fix but not 1 satellite fix (1 colour bar) as you mentioned earlier...

Deani_77
post Oct 19 2009, 01:55 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 19 2009, 01:48 PM)
Anyway even i close my eyes i know garmin very well. My point is as long as there is green bars u can navigate even the 1 bar is GREEN.

I am not talking about the info section.
I see, you only refer to satellite bar on top of the Mobile XT start page not the satellite info page... If that so you are correct...
Deani_77
post Oct 21 2009, 01:01 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 19 2009, 05:31 PM)
aspire u are talking to gps guru liao..haha
QUOTE(kae7 @ Oct 19 2009, 06:41 PM)
maybe Deani just want to learn something new..?? hmm.gif

i thought Deani is famliar with GPS' thing..
QUOTE(buntutman @ Oct 20 2009, 04:30 AM)
he more familiar than u lor
Not guru ler Sifu Stimix... Still learning... I'm also not very familiar with Mobile XT since all the while I'm using stand alone GPS. Just started using it quite often after moving to Peninsular since most of the area in Peninsular already mapped... tongue.gif

0.0485sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:46 PM