GPS FAQ -All about GPS and Softwares~, Updated - Garmin & Malsing General Guide
Dannyl
Aug 11 2009, 10:15 PM
Is it possible to setup Garmin XT for pedestrian routing? I change the settings to Pedestrian, but the maps still seems to route me on car roads and directions, no paths or small lanes.
Dannyl
Aug 13 2009, 06:11 PM
QUOTE(buntutman @ Aug 12 2009, 12:02 AM) nope. coz we didnt track that many pedestrian roads or lorong belakang or side alleys. it wud be almost impossible as gps's accuracy isnt that great. it wont help even if u show on location instead of on the roads as well. stimix has managed to get accuracy of 3m. i have never touched anywhere close to that. and i think he got that like .....once in a lifetime . at most give him oso < 5 times. Thanks a lot. Okay, I can give the small lanes a miss - so when I set it to Pedestrian, it would ignore those one-way street directions and stuff? Really for walking?
Dannyl
Aug 14 2009, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Aug 14 2009, 10:58 AM) If you intends to walk using GPS, why not using off road mode. It just show direction straight to your location. Then you choose yourself which alley and road you are going to use. Go to Tools>Settings>Routing>Route Preferences, select off road... Ah yes... this would do the trick. Thanks everyone
Dannyl
Aug 24 2009, 05:34 PM
Wanna ask u guys something. I'm using MFM MY maps. I'll be travelling to another country later (let's say AB), and I want to use GPS there. Would this work:
1) put AB's map as another name in Garmin folder, eg. GMAPSUPP_ab.IMG 2) fly to AB 3) rename GMAPSUPP.IMG (MY map) to GMAPSUPP_my.IMG 4) rename GMAPSUPP_ab.IMG to GMAPSUPP.IMG
Also, how do I verify that the AB map is working properly before going there? If I replace MY map with AB map here, would the map show in Garmin? I tried "browse map" but it's blank.
Dannyl
Sep 17 2009, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Sep 16 2009, 11:02 AM) It is the same if I buy products/services/hire you. Then I pay you in fake/pirated money. How would you feel ?  No no, wrong example. It's like buy products/services 1 time from the person. Then sell the products/services to 1000 other people for much cheaper and money go into own pocket. I have a question. When I am not moving, my GarminXT display turns left and right, showing me the roads around me. How do I stop this? I just want it to show the road in front of me. Thanks.
Dannyl
Jan 25 2010, 03:04 PM
I'm interested in one of the POI files and I want to extract the data inside. How can I do so? It's not very readable if I open it with Notepad.