GPS FAQ -All about GPS and Softwares~, Updated - Garmin & Malsing General Guide

AhNong
post Feb 20 2009, 03:33 PM

47 posts

how come your mfm can reach 67mb ? u got wat special inside ?

stimix - check pm box.
AhNong
post Feb 20 2009, 05:41 PM

47 posts

even for mapsos also nowhere near that size
AhNong
post Feb 21 2009, 01:00 AM

47 posts

MFM 40+mb is already with singapore map and poi. indon map free punya is more than 40mb. u combine both shudnt it be 80+mb instead of 67mb ?

anyway 67mb mah 67mb lor. microsd card now cheap cheap nia.
AhNong
post Feb 22 2009, 04:05 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 22 2009, 09:09 AM)
V2.30b was updated sometime in Dec'08..Almost all mapsets remained unchanged/ not updated except Melaka, & Hohor & Singapore  hmm.gif

However Mysgfreemaps (Malfreemaps.com) have been continously updated weekly since V1.0 in Sept..08..now at V1.42 (I.e 42 updates since Sept 08 although certain updates not fully released)  rclxms.gif
wah, i see u're weighted more on mfm eh.
AhNong
post Feb 26 2009, 03:33 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(bibbyGirl @ Feb 26 2009, 03:18 AM)
i can see my map already after change to MSM.

my fren gave me MSM gold v2.30

what is the diffrent between gold and non gold?
color different.
AhNong
post Feb 28 2009, 06:12 PM

47 posts

wat so special about gold ?
AhNong
post Mar 2 2009, 02:47 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(CalvinTeh99 @ Mar 1 2009, 05:02 PM)
any tutorial i can find to learn abt how to make voice for .vpm?
refer to sonic999's guide.

http://www.malfreemaps.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=547&start=70

How to edit .vpm files (plain old .vpm files, that is – no Text to Speech )

Plug in your Garmin GPS to a PC (or PDA with Garmin Mobile XT), browse its folders and get to the folder ‘Voice’. In there you’ll find many language files. You’re going to copy the .vpm file of your choice, and paste it in a new folder in your PC’s hard drive. Make another copy, and save it in another folder. That’s just to make sure you have a backup in case there should be a problem.

Now, open Voice_Editor_v0.8.exe , and select File—Open. Browse the folder where you placed your copy of the original .vpm file. Click once on the file to highlight it, and press the “open” button. By doing so, you’ll find each particular sound in the voice file will be displayed as a button in Voice Editor’s window. But also, the program has automatically created a new folder, in which it extracted each of the sounds into .wav files. The first file is a .bin, which you can’t edit. But the rest of the files can be edited. So just grab a voice recording program such as Audacity , DbPowerAmp , or Sox , and start recording sounds that match what is said in each original wav. Then replace each wav by its correspondent (wav you created with another voice), and place the whole bunch in a new folder (of course they all need to have the name “sample_***.wav” as the original files).

Then all you have to do is make a copy of that .bin file, and place it in the folder where you put your edited wav files. Now click File—Open, and choose the .bin file with Voice Editor. It will load all the .wavs into the program’s buttons. Then select File—Save as… choose the .vpm format (if it’s not already chosen), and give the file a name. Click Open. You’re done, a new .vpm file has been created, which you can now upload to your device, Voice folder (and of course, share with the rest of the community wink.gif ). If you find that what’s explained in the Second Note below is hard to understand or you can’t quite get it working, just remove your original .vpm file (e.g. if your base file for editing was English_American_.vpm), and rename your edited .vpm to English_American_.vpm. Don’t forget the “_”. Now place it in your Voice folder.

Important note: you may run into problems when choosing the recording settings. For instance, it is recommended that you choose this format: WAV (Microsoft 4 bit IMA ADPCM, quality: 89 kbps, 22050 Hz, mono, 16 bit), but in my experience, also PCM quality worked, with 352kbps, 22050hz, mono, 16bit). I couldn’t get my file to work with that ADPCM setting, but the PCM setting worked just fine (you end up with a bigger .vpm file, though). E.g., in Audacity, go to Edit—Preferences, ‘Audio I/O’ tab, and choose this Recording setting “Channels: Mono”. Then go to ‘File Formats’ tab. Now from the drop down menu choose ‘WAV (Microsoft 4 bit IMA ADPCM)’. After that, go to ‘Quality’ tab, and choose Default Sample Rate: 22050 Hz; Default Sample Format: 16 bit. Leave the rest of the options untouched. By selecting these settings, you’ll end up with small .wav files, and the resulting .vpm file will too be small (around 700KB-1.4MB) and won’t give any problems. The same goes for the PCM setting. And in case you get into trouble with different file formats and qualities, you can convert all the files into a common format with dbpoweramp’s batch converter.

Second note: the Edit—Change language ID menu is used to change a .vpm’s language ID. For example, if you purchased the Arnold, Borat, Homer voice, etc. from Pigtones.com, they will all appear in your Nuvi unit as "American_English". If you want to have all of them in your Nuvi, having them internally marked as "American_English" will cause conflicts (i.e. you'll have four languages of the same name appearing yet only one of them will work).
To circumvent this, you use the Voice Editor to change the internal language name to something else, e.g. "Cantonese" so that “Borat” voice could be selected in your unit.

Instructions:
1. Unpack voice_editor.exe to your computer. This is a stand-alone executable file and doesn't need installation. You can even place it on your desktop if you want to.
2. Click on Edit-->Change Language ID. A pop-up dialog will appear on your screen asking you to choose the voice file you want to hack. Select a voice. Before you proceed to #3, make a back-up copy of your voice file in case you mess it up. You can highlight the voice you want to change, right-click and select "Copy", followed by "Paste". A copy of that file will be made in the same folder as your voice file.
3. Next, a language ID window will appear. Choose an alternative voice. This is where the magic starts!
4. Exit the program to save your changes. The new language ID will not be written until you exit, so remember this.
5. Install your updated voice file into your Garmin unit and select the voice file based on the new language ID.
6. Perform a simulation route to a destination that takes you through a roundabout.
7. Monitor the simulation and note the voice prompts carefully. If it gives you the wrong prompts (especially roundabout exits), it means that the language ID is not suitable for that voice file. Change the language to something else until you get 100% or at least 95% correct results. (thanks Stratman2 for these instructions  )

Third note: this latest version of Voice Editor (v0.8) has added a new tab, the “edit” tab, which allows you to modify the way the .vpm file handles phrases (phrases are made out of concatenations of singular .wav files: e.g. ‘turn left’ is made out of ‘turn.wav’ and ‘left.wav’). Play with it for a while and you’ll find out what it does.

Enjoy!
all credits go to sonic999 from mfm.

another note if u wanna edit vpm u may also refer to ASH10. just google for it.
AhNong
post Mar 2 2009, 07:16 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(apetah90 @ Mar 2 2009, 05:25 PM)
WUT DIFFER BTW MFM N MSM?
NAME DIFFER
AhNong
post Mar 10 2009, 01:45 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(ShaunG @ Mar 8 2009, 08:40 AM)
Anyone knows if there are any free maps for the US or just one of its states(california)? thanks.

garmin mobile xt user here.
request for it in mfm or msm.

QUOTE(jenova @ Mar 8 2009, 05:34 PM)
hi everyone, my brother brought me back a Blacberry Peal 8110. I found out it has a GPS function, but dono why doesn't have any software or map comes with the phone.

Can anyone teach me how to install software or if take to sg wang to install map n GPS software, how much does it cost ??

thx pal ~ wink.gif
http://www8.garmin.com/mobile/blackberry/trial.jsp

you're one lucky dude.
installing the software is easy. ori is USD99. non-ori is *ahemm* kenot discuss here.
*whoops, didnt see antyong replied to you already.

QUOTE(pruzjr1026 @ Mar 9 2009, 11:51 AM)
can i used gps appliction on se k850...
can anyone can give me option whre to get the software....
the only one that runs on SE non UIQ edition is trekbuddy. java run program. good luck with it.

This post has been edited by AhNong: Mar 10 2009, 01:46 AM
AhNong
post Mar 10 2009, 03:55 PM

47 posts

yea antyong and unker sunn lurks in ere. and they dunno who ahnong is ........ i wait for u to expose them since u got blue tag.
AhNong
post Mar 20 2009, 06:38 PM

47 posts

@aspire - UNL files are NOT part of gmxt. kindly remove from yur 5800 thread. if one needs to use gmxt, one should just purchase the original, whereby the 1gb microsd card will be given together in a box with instructions. the microsd card itself hold the "key" to ONLY the version purchased.
any upgrades for versions require a re-purchase.

Original GMXT is sold via garmin's website @ USD 99.99

http://www8.garmin.com/mobile/mobilext/index.jsp

AhNong
post Mar 20 2009, 08:07 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(qwe65 @ Mar 20 2009, 07:32 PM)
sw.unl file is for cracked version la i think.... hmm.gif
lets not make a federal case of this. he is a reliable source of information so just wait for him to do some minor editing and it will all be ok.

AhNong
post Mar 21 2009, 12:03 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Mar 20 2009, 10:43 PM)
so lets my gps crash or memory card spoil i need  repurchase garmin? Be logical la uncle. Even u upgrade you can use the same key back because U BOUGHT IT.  So one person cant backup the key incase the memory card malfunction? Talk logic thank you.
understand this, i am not in here to create an argument with you. i am nobody to tell anybody in here what they can or cannot do.

but if something like this exist :

Action: Discussion, distribution or posting links to pirated software, pornography or any kind of copyrighted materials.
Result: Offending post will be deleted and user will be warned. Repeat offenders will get a temporary suspension to their account.

and i see my friends committing it, i'd like them to know about it.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=boardrules

so i'm not gonna say this again. we can chat about all this in some other forum or through whatever channels there are. just not in here. bottomline, it is disallowed PERIOD !

AhNong
post Mar 21 2009, 12:19 AM

47 posts

ok you win. you are the man. yes u can blame it on me and its my fault and i'm the one talking about warez although i have no idea where i discussed that. please hit the report button on me. no need give face yah.

btw 5.00.40 is out for symbian60. available at garmin's website.

0.0340sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:07 AM