c702 and c905 users may want to look into trekbuddy.
GPS FAQ -All about GPS and Softwares~, Updated - Garmin & Malsing General Guide
Dec 23 2008, 02:43 PM
3 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
c702 and c905 users may want to look into trekbuddy.
Dec 24 2008, 12:43 PM
92 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
after reading all of this stuff, i still totally lost on how to install garmin & mallfreemap on my N82..
I've download all file state above : 1. GarminMobileXTforSymbianS603rdEdition_50020.exe 2. GarminMobileXTFreeBasemap_4xxxx.exe 3. GarminMobileXTSupportFiles_4xxxx.exe 4. MapSource_6137.exe 5. MFMv130.exe Then what should I install 1st? Do i need other file(s) What file to install on memory card phone? |
Dec 24 2008, 12:46 PM
1,122 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur |
you could install it 1 by 1 as above. but there's a step after the step 3 which makes this garmin work for free.
Dec 24 2008, 02:54 PM
3 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
QUOTE(mat_chop @ Dec 24 2008, 12:43 PM) after reading all of this stuff, i still totally lost on how to install garmin & mallfreemap on my N82.. install 1 I've download all file state above : 1. GarminMobileXTforSymbianS603rdEdition_50020.exe 2. GarminMobileXTFreeBasemap_4xxxx.exe 3. GarminMobileXTSupportFiles_4xxxx.exe 4. MapSource_6137.exe 5. MFMv130.exe Then what should I install 1st? Do i need other file(s) What file to install on memory card phone? install 2&3 doesnt matter which is first mapsource is for your PC to read not for your mobile phone. MFM will be installed onto your C:\garmin. copy gmapsupp.img to your fon's garmin folder. talks about cracks not allowed in LYN. |
Dec 25 2008, 12:28 AM
9,706 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Why U wana know? Status: Meditating™ |
if u don plan to use malsing map in PC for tracking, map error reporting, trip planing etc, then u can ignore the Mapsource.
Dec 25 2008, 09:18 AM
3,076 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
After finished installing all those files, I noticed there are some icons created in the Gallery togoehter with the photos. Can I delete all those icons? Will it affect during navigation?
Dec 25 2008, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(cucubud @ Dec 25 2008, 09:18 AM) After finished installing all those files, I noticed there are some icons created in the Gallery togoehter with the photos. Can I delete all those icons? Will it affect during navigation? Set those files below to hiddenMemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\S60\Animation.MBM MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\S60\Splash.MBM MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\S60_TTF\Animation.MBM MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\S60_TTF\Splash.MBM MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\UIQ\Animation.MBM MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\UIQ\Splash.MBM MemoryCard:\Garmin\Help\EN\ *set all image in the folder to hidden* MemoryCard:\Garmin\JPEG\ *set all files hidden* delete all _PAibTN folder in garmin, open 1 by 1 to delete them in each folder~ This post has been edited by chicaman: Dec 25 2008, 08:57 PM |
Dec 25 2008, 02:55 PM
3,076 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(chicaman @ Dec 25 2008, 10:42 AM) Delete all the May I know Delete all the ?what? files?Set those files below to hidden MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\S60\Animation.MBM MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\S60\Splash.MBM MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\S60_TTF\Animation.MBM MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\S60_TTF\Splash.MBM MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\UIQ\Animation.MBM MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\UIQ\Splash.MBM MemoryCard:\Garmin\Help\EN\ *set all image in the folder to hidden* MemoryCard:\Garmin\JPEG\ *set all files hidden* delete all _PAibTN folder in garmin, open 1 by 1 to delete them in each folder~ If I don't set all those files as hidden files, what will happen? Is it to prevent us to accidently delete them? |
Dec 25 2008, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(cucubud @ Dec 25 2008, 02:55 PM) May I know Delete all the ?what? files? Sry, FIXED already, I typed wronglyIf I don't set all those files as hidden files, what will happen? Is it to prevent us to accidently delete them? I meant Set to hidden so that your gallery will not generate THUMBNAIL for HIDDEN FILES. Nothing wrong, garmin will still work without any problem. Delete all the _PAibTN folder in garmin, open each folder in garmin folder to see if there is _PAibTN folder then delete them~ |
Dec 26 2008, 04:43 AM
229 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
hi sifus,
i have a situation here, for example, now i am in malaysia, then I use Malsingmaps. If I travel to other region, for example middle east, and I have the map for middle east as well, can I load the map for both Malaysia and Middleeast at the same time to my phone, or I can only load once at 1 time? I malas to upload everytime if i travel la :-( |
Dec 26 2008, 10:43 AM
2,911 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: KL |
hey for u guys , did u set your navigation to shorted distance or faster time ?
Dec 26 2008, 10:54 AM
98 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
do i ned 2 pay gprs money 2 conect gps? i mean izit i can use gprs totaly free n i dun hv 2 pay even a cent? even if i set off9 mode in my hp, i can use gps as well?
Dec 26 2008, 02:30 PM
11,308 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
hi sifus all
i have a N79 with gmxt installed. i also have agps turn on. previously when i turn on nokia maps, the E signal sign would come on (edge), on my phone but recently i upgraded to 3G. now the E signal sign no longer come on but always 3G instead. And when I turn on Nokia Maps, the E sign doesnt come on either and gmxt also seem like taking a long time to lock on. previously very fast if i turn on AGPS. confused now....whats happening |
Dec 26 2008, 03:21 PM
379 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
why my cousin's n95 garmin mobile xt always took so long when i click on "go"
it said "AWAITING BETTER GPS ACCURANCY .. then after waited for 30 mins, comes out "calculating route" gps receiver not strong??? or weather problem? |
Dec 26 2008, 04:15 PM
QUOTE(chicaman @ Dec 25 2008, 10:42 AM) Set those files below to hidden i cant find Garmin/apps/Symbian/BinMemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\S60\Animation.MBM MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\S60\Splash.MBM MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\S60_TTF\Animation.MBM MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\S60_TTF\Splash.MBM MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\UIQ\Animation.MBM MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\UIQ\Splash.MBM MemoryCard:\Garmin\Help\EN\ *set all image in the folder to hidden* MemoryCard:\Garmin\JPEG\ *set all files hidden* delete all _PAibTN folder in garmin, open 1 by 1 to delete them in each folder~ mine reaches to Garmin/apps/Symbian only how to set to hidden? |
Dec 26 2008, 04:15 PM
1,122 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(love_hina @ Dec 26 2008, 03:21 PM) why my cousin's n95 garmin mobile xt always took so long when i click on "go" stand still on 1 spot w/o any blockage from the sky to receive signal. might up to minutes but not more than 10 mins for N95. then only click "go".it said "AWAITING BETTER GPS ACCURANCY .. then after waited for 30 mins, comes out "calculating route" gps receiver not strong??? or weather problem? |
Dec 26 2008, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(wama1go @ Dec 26 2008, 04:43 AM) hi sifus, If not mistaken different region of map has different file name, GMAPSUPP.IMG is for asian region if not mistaken. i have a situation here, for example, now i am in malaysia, then I use Malsingmaps. If I travel to other region, for example middle east, and I have the map for middle east as well, can I load the map for both Malaysia and Middleeast at the same time to my phone, or I can only load once at 1 time? I malas to upload everytime if i travel la :-( QUOTE(minde @ Dec 26 2008, 10:43 AM) For me, I use shorter distance. But if I dont know how to go a place, whichever way can bring me there is still ok with me since I am using NGV, driving further with NGV is cheap QUOTE(wwc88 @ Dec 26 2008, 10:54 AM) do i ned 2 pay gprs money 2 conect gps? i mean izit i can use gprs totaly free n i dun hv 2 pay even a cent? even if i set off9 mode in my hp, i can use gps as well? Read the FAQ in first page.QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 26 2008, 02:30 PM) hi sifus all Turn on ur AGPS if u want to use it, but for me, I prefer to use without AGPS.i have a N79 with gmxt installed. i also have agps turn on. previously when i turn on nokia maps, the E signal sign would come on (edge), on my phone but recently i upgraded to 3G. now the E signal sign no longer come on but always 3G instead. And when I turn on Nokia Maps, the E sign doesnt come on either and gmxt also seem like taking a long time to lock on. previously very fast if i turn on AGPS. confused now....whats happening First page got the steps to turn on/off AGPS QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 26 2008, 04:15 PM) If u don see them, then ignore them |
Dec 26 2008, 05:12 PM
*deleted* found it
This post has been edited by idoblu: Dec 26 2008, 07:01 PM |
Dec 26 2008, 06:27 PM
205 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: the realm of darkside |
er, nokia 6260 can ka?
Dec 26 2008, 07:32 PM
165 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Melaka |
hi there guys
wanna ask how does Nokia Maps compare to Garmin Mobile XT? So far i'm using Nokia Maps and it works well in KL and Melaka, although some more "ulu" roads in Melaka not really updated. and also is it possible to install any GPS software into LG KC910 Renoir? Or am I stuck with the preloaded one? This post has been edited by fruitaleman: Dec 26 2008, 07:33 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0204sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:40 AM |