4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

GPS FAQ -All about GPS and Softwares~, Updated - Garmin & Malsing General Guide

kae7
post Jul 15 2009, 02:34 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(tarumi @ Jul 15 2009, 09:16 AM)
As ur explain all this...i can understand it clearly and merely already done what have u told...my signal is red only after disable a-gps/bluetooth and put a tick on integrated gps n network based..dunno why this happen..is nokia 6210 got a bad gps receiver ?  cry.gif ..after 1minute..the signal still red...or should i say..after 5 minutes oso nothing happen to da signal...lol..did i miss something ??
did you test this in building..??

as i said before..gps cannot receive strong signal.. in building..

so you need to use this in open place.. outdoor...

other tips is ..

open your slide when want to search for signal..

becoz.. the gps receiver plate.. is located back of your phone[not at keypad]
thumbup.gif

kae7
post Jul 19 2009, 06:11 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

HOW MANY TIMES I MUST SAID sweat.gif , PLS READ PAGE 1... chicaman.. has provide us many info in page 1...
i'm sure you will understand...
hmm... if there are something that you dont understand AFTER read at page 1.. then you can ask here... rclxms.gif

QUOTE(chicaman @ Sep 19 2008, 05:31 PM)
Since this is a Handphone and Telecommunication section, I will be providing details related to handphone only, no detailed GPS explanation will be included. This FAQ is not fully written by me and I copy, edit and compile them for easy reference by LYN member. Tutorials are written by me. Anyone can feel free to post question and find any error made by me and I will get the FAQ updated.

GPS FAQ

What is GPS?

What do I need to use GPS?

How much do I have to pay to use GPS service?

What is A-GPS?

Will I be charged when using A-GPS?

I would like to use GPS completely FREE, can I turn off A-GPS?

If I did not follow the route during navigation by the software, what will happen?

More coming soon~
QUOTE(csk.ken @ Jul 16 2009, 12:27 PM)
thank you very much

Added on July 16, 2009, 3:31 pm
i try my nokia N97 and my nokia E66, my E66 already have signal but N97 still the red signal. why?
izzit missing something?
E66 GPS receiver is better than N97...
if both you on at same time and same place...

and without a-gps, gps only connected to the sattelite by its receiver... so.. thats why you need to wait some time

QUOTE(tarumi @ Jul 17 2009, 10:27 AM)
Bro..i think N97 got no build in gps receiver...it only got a-gps..compare to E66 which got build in gps receiver..im sure if u try N97 with a-gps u can go navigate...
LOL. HOW COME without gps can have a-gps...
a-gps is assisted gps.. which mean assist gps...

QUOTE(tarumi @ Jul 17 2009, 01:03 PM)
oh..i only chek da spec on mobile88 biggrin.gif.. it does not say n97 have intergrated gps..
http://mobile88.com/cellphone/Nokia/Nokia-...ecification.asp

ur one is even correct than mine.. smile.gif
dont trust mobile88..
just go to Nokia.com[for nokia specs] .. or go to gsmarena[sometime not accurate too]

Nokia.com is recommended..for nokia phone's specs

FYI... N97 have integrated gps.. and it also has a-gps..

QUOTE(buntutman @ Jul 19 2009, 12:58 AM)
must be got ghost. 7th month coming jor. go bath flower water and carry amulets
QUOTE(buntutman @ Jul 16 2009, 06:28 PM)
must be got ghost. time to sell off and get 60 series.
hey buntutman,..??
what crap that you talking..??
what ghosts..?? wink.gif
kae7
post Jul 20 2009, 02:33 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(JJcr7 @ Jul 19 2009, 10:34 PM)
what about a new unit?  biggrin.gif
do you mean garminXT..??
garminXT is only about RM 280 - RM 400 only..

if you mean the garmin devices..

you can search for >>
nüvi® 1200

you can get it for RM 700++

go to >>
1. Lowyat Plaza - Digi Specialized Store - Ground Floor
2. USJ 19 Digital Mall - Ground Floor

This post has been edited by kae7: Jul 20 2009, 02:34 PM
kae7
post Jul 24 2009, 08:00 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

now malfreemaps called myaseanfreemaps

but it still not so perfect..especially at vietnam,myanmar[lol]
kae7
post Jul 28 2009, 10:28 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(dong89 @ Jul 28 2009, 10:04 PM)
I got a big problem here, I using E66 Here. The Garmin is working but cant not calculate Route. Who know wat the problem here?
Some time can but always unable to calculate Route to destination...

Some 1 Help me!!
what version and what type of maps do you use..??

do you have all needed things in your phone..??

This post has been edited by kae7: Jul 28 2009, 10:29 PM
kae7
post Aug 5 2009, 03:42 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(CrocHunter @ Aug 5 2009, 09:44 AM)
I faced this "lost satelite reception" error very frequently. Is it normal for users who running GMXT on nokia n95?
depend on where you faced that problem..
if you lost satellite reception when you indoor , inside car that been tinted[especially with V-Kool] ,
that isnt problem... tongue.gif
kae7
post Aug 9 2009, 09:33 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(mghong @ Aug 9 2009, 01:27 AM)
hi

i'm using n86 stk gps s/w...i alway loss my  signal at NKVe any idea ??? especially even when i walk in KL..most of the time i cant get signal...

My wife ask me to use garwin on my n86..i wonder will it help ?
sorry.. i dont know any garwin for N86 shakehead.gif

its better for you to on A-GPS at KL..

at NKVE.. i have tried yesterday.. and no lost signal as you said..
maybe N86's gps receiver isnt as good as N85's thumbup.gif
kae7
post Aug 17 2009, 06:41 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(NoobPro70 @ Aug 14 2009, 07:36 PM)
Man , i got a question ! how can i use GPS as FREE ? My phone is N78
1] Just Go To Menu -> Settings -> General -> Positioning -> Positioning Methods -> Assisted GPS (unselect it!) ???
But i can't find the setting for >>>In Nokia MAP version 2,

2]Press Options > Tools > Settings > Internet > Go Online at start-up > No.
yeah for number 1 ... just leave Integrated GPS ticked..
while the other option is untick

for number 2,,
i'm sure you can see the option
while in Nokia maps..
press option[left soft key] >> tools >> setting >> internet >> Go online at start-up >> Choose No wink.gif
kae7
post Aug 23 2009, 04:34 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Aug 23 2009, 12:21 PM)
Hi, i know nothing of gps, onli that garmin is very popular cos it uses malsingmaps.

Is it other brands of gps cannot use malsingmaps ?
malsingmaps produce for Garmin and mapking
kae7
post Aug 24 2009, 01:33 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

recently i found garminXT 5.00.60

v5.00.60:
- To improve the horizontal to vertical NOKIA 5800 screen problem
- NOKIA 5800 to improve the horizontal screen open "turn preview" issue
- To improve the NOKIA 5800 in the evening when the text mode

but still not official.. since in the garmin.com still show that v5.00.50 is the latest version
kae7
post Aug 25 2009, 08:01 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(nghj @ Aug 24 2009, 03:42 PM)
those who wanna try it can download from garmin site

http://download.garmin.com/tw/download/TW_...0_60_S60_TW.exe

it's taiwan version (TWN) got chinese language.
phew thats why..
the officialwebsite didnt release yet..>>> http://www8.garmin.com/support/collection....ct=010-11034-00
only at taiwan site..
icon_rolleyes.gif

kae7
post Sep 5 2009, 10:20 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(nghj @ Sep 4 2009, 09:32 PM)
nokia phones must have symbian v3 or v5 with built-in gps to use.
lol.. garmin support
- Palm
- Symbian S60 2nd Edition/3rd Edition/'5th edition'
- Symbian UIQ
- Windows Mobile
nod.gif

kae7
post Sep 5 2009, 01:45 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Sep 5 2009, 12:40 PM)
is it normal that operator will charge money when i enable the A-gps?
of course its normal, a-gps will make your phone make connection(gprs,edge,etc)
just make off, to make the navigation free
kae7
post Sep 5 2009, 06:39 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(buntutman @ Sep 5 2009, 05:54 PM)
exactly what data is being transferred and do u know what the data is for ?
icon_question.gif
IMHO , asI know.. if we use A-GPS ...the connection wil be use..

i dont know what data is transferred.. and how much the data ...

but.. it will enable the phone to lock to the satellite using phone connection sweat.gif

so every time the phone lock to the satellite, the connection will be use.. and there will be charges..
sad.gif

kae7
post Sep 6 2009, 11:28 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(NoobPro70 @ Sep 5 2009, 07:07 PM)
how to check the GPRS charge ? my line is maxis
QUOTE(NoobPro70 @ Sep 6 2009, 12:39 AM)
so where to check how much kb i used ?
what phones are u use..??

in my nokia N85..
i'm just go to menu -> tools - > log - > press right >> and you will see the data...

press each data to see the detail
kae7
post Sep 13 2009, 12:47 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Sep 12 2009, 06:25 PM)
bros...can someone recommend me the free version of garmin or gps which I can use in my E66?
or even an ahem version which I can use?
help plsss
garmin is free...

but you need to buy for the license... to use it with your internal GPS[your phone]
the license is about RM 300++

or use it with external GPS receiver[bluetooth]..which is about RM 200++

you can download garminXT at http://www8.garmin.com/support/collection....ct=010-11034-00

choose GarminXt for Symbian S60 3rd edition for your phone

and make sure you have installed
Additional Software : -
- Garmin Mobile XT Free Basemap,
- Garmin Mobile XT Support Files

AND ANY MFM or MSM map..
-it is free

http://malsingmaps.com
http://malfreemaps.com
kae7
post Sep 14 2009, 04:41 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Sep 13 2009, 11:46 PM)
Btw, i tried to disable the assistat gps and use the intergrated GPS ( I only have 2 options. One bluetooth and another one intergrated)

and when i select intergrated, it goes back to assisted GPS.

wierd.
what phone do you use ..??

in Nokia Nseries... go to Menu -> Tools >> Settings >> General >> positioning >> positioning methods >> only tick integrated GPS...

thefryingfox , i suggest you to read all info in page 1 thumbup.gif
kae7
post Sep 14 2009, 05:05 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(gecodine @ Sep 14 2009, 04:44 PM)
helo guys,,
i'm using nokia 6710 navigator, free for life license

i want to know, if i use garmin maps, can i get a free for life license of navigator??
What exactly the different between nokia ovi maps 3 and garmin?
pls explain to me again, coz i'm still blur after reading so many comments just now..

TQ
waaa. you got the free licence.. yeah for navigator phone...

you need to buy garmin lifetime license too !!
about RM 300++

the exactly difference between garmin and Ovi maps is
- the brand [ OVI and Garmin]

Garmin is well known brand for GPS...

in Malaysia there are two mapstht we can use.. it is MalfreeMaps and Malsing Maps..

i always use malfreempas.. and you can download the updates weekly from malfreempas.com

the map in garminXt also better than Ovi Maps..[except for 3D view that is in Ovi Maps]

i suggest you to go to page 1 in this thread..
read'em all

kae7
post Sep 15 2009, 09:39 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(~funeralofheart~ @ Sep 15 2009, 08:48 PM)
300 for ori license??
damn xpensive...last time install mine at phone shop(mines),he charge me rm120 for full vers garmin(he ask me its ori garmin)....huh!!!
dont be conned... they conned you..

the price is USD 99... .about RM 350++ https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=114...true#versionTab

you can get original garmin from -

AECO TECHNOLOGIES (M) SDN BHD
43A, JALAN JEJAKA 2,
TAMAN MALURI, CHERAS
KUALA LUMPUR 55100
Phone: 603 9285 8062
Fax: 603 9285 0162

branches

1) Seksyen 14 Digital Mall - Ground Floor

2) USJ 19 Digital Mall - Ground Floor

3) Lowyat Plaza - Digi Specialized Store - Ground Floor

This post has been edited by kae7: Sep 15 2009, 09:40 PM
kae7
post Sep 17 2009, 04:05 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(fookie @ Sep 17 2009, 03:32 PM)
hey guys got a question here. i have garminXT on my nokia5800. the problem is i'm going back to my hometown tomorrow using coastal road. any ways i can make the gps guide me without going into the highway??
anyway.. where is your hometown..?

can.... in your garminxt go to tools>> setting >> routing >> avoidance setup >> tick the toll roads[usually.. it is highway roads] , and tick the major roads[ not so sure about this.. but you can have a try]

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0571sec    0.64    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:15 PM