GPS FAQ -All about GPS and Softwares~, Updated - Garmin & Malsing General Guide

SUSOptiplex330
post Apr 10 2010, 05:33 PM

12,696 posts

Got a few questions.

1. How do you back up and save your Landmark or POI onto your PC for save keeping?
2. Can you transfer Landmark or POI saved in Nokia Maps to Garmin and vice versa?
3. Let's say I have China and Japan and Malaysia maps in Nokia Maps. Can I delete off just the China maps and leaving the other two intact?

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Apr 10 2010, 05:38 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Apr 22 2010, 03:44 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(laowai @ Apr 22 2010, 02:49 PM)
Thanks for feedback.
Just heard from friend that AGPS involves no charges. He proved it by taking out sim card and using phone agps. Same satellite detection time as with sim card in phone. Strange.
I think your friend is mistaken but taking the same time to detect satellite is possible for this reason. If you are standing at the same location and your phone had already detected satellite position, then proceed to take out the SIM card and look for satellite, you phone still have memory of where the satellite is. Hence immediate location of satellite again.

To prove cost involved in AGPS, do this. Check the Packet Data usage. I did and it's about 5KB per Assistance request.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 22 2010, 05:47 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(JehutyX @ Jun 20 2010, 11:46 PM)
hey guys, need a little advice here. I am planning to get a GPS, some Garmin Nuvi (dunno wat model yet), but a friend of mine suggested that I get a handphone with GPS capabilities. Cant make up my mind, would a phone with GPS function as well as a Garmin Nuvi? For phone, Im considering Nokia e73.

any charges for using a phone GPS? (sorry if im asking nooby questions)

thank you all.
Depends on what you wanted.

If you do not need phone function, then surely a dedicated Garmin Nuvi would be better.

If you do not need to carry a GPS in your pocket like only use in car, then surely Garmin would be better

Common sense.

SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 29 2010, 07:33 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(DinoRawr @ Aug 17 2010, 09:48 PM)
i feel that nokia map more user friendly. but prepare to be charge 10sen for every time you use although a-gps is unactivated
Using AGPS on ALL GPS phone will be charged, not just Nokia Maps.

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 5 2010, 09:57 AM

12,696 posts

[quote=litnit,Sep 2 2010, 05:18 PM]
maybe u can try this.

Unselect AGPS mean you are not using AGPS so no charge.

But if you use AGPS, all phone will get charges from telco. No exception. Similar to if you call somebody on your phone, of course got charges.

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 7 2010, 01:06 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(khopl @ Sep 7 2010, 01:29 AM)
Hi all....I've just got my E72-1 about a month ago and I'm really loving it after switching from HTC Touch which I found to be a nuisance especially when I'm trying to text or even make a call while driving as I keep pressing the wrong keys! So, I'm really loving my new E72...except I can't seem to get the GPS to work!  hmm.gif

I tested it today on my way home from work which is about 14-15km away. I went to GPS>Maps>Drive and selected "Drive home" which I've already predefined the location in the map.I took a slow drive all the way while constantly checking the phone. Well, the damn thing only displayed "Waiting for GPS" even after I've reached home about 40 mins later!  rclxub.gif

Can someone tell me how to get the damn thing working? BTW its running on V051.018 firmware and I'm using Ovi Map V3.04...which I believe should be the latest versions available at the moment. I'm from Penang btw...anyone from Penang or anywhere else having the same problem?

Any help would be much appreciated.
Cheers!
This is what i would do.

I will switch on Maps and WAIT until it has located the satellite before selecting "Drive".

To get a lock on satellite, I would:
1. Use AGPS which will cost about 10 sen each time.
2. Be stationary because if you are moving especially in a moving car, it will make it much harder to locate satellite.
SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 16 2010, 07:11 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Sep 13 2010, 01:24 AM)
talking about GPS..can someone help me with the following question tat i had with GPS pls..

Q1: if i use A-gps, telco charge me rite?...how baru can avoid being charged using gps?..

Q2: can i have the option of downloading the maps into my phone/memory card,and then whenever i wanna serach for direction, i serach it in the phone memory without connecting to any internet/data connection?..

q3: for those dedicated gps, do they get charged too when they use it to navigate?..
A1: ALL phones using AGPS got approximately 10 sen per use charge by telco. Integrated GPS got no charge for all phones. Meaning, it is the method you use (AGPS or iGPS) and not the phone that incur charges.

A2: Some can & some can't. Nokia Maps allows you to download before you go traveling.

SUSOptiplex330
post Apr 13 2011, 11:14 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(buntutwoman @ Apr 11 2011, 09:24 PM)
symbian is dead. time to move on.
Phone last about 3 years. If Symbian can last 3 years, that's good enough.

SUSOptiplex330
post May 14 2011, 01:14 PM

12,696 posts

Maps 3.03

In search, I can seem to find places using GPS coordinates. I have tried:

1.234 n 100.123 e
1234n, 100.123e

Entry in Landmark works fine.

Added on May 30, 2011, 9:02 amHow do you communicate GPS coordinate from your Nokia to other phones?

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: May 30 2011, 09:02 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 11 2011, 05:34 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 11 2011, 12:15 PM)
I dun think any option in Ovimaps allowing you to do that. In Garmin, yes. There isan option sending your current location to youir friend and if your freind also having garmin, he can click the msg and automatically open up the location. Very useful if want to ask your friend to your current location.
How about cross platform? Say....Garmin to Ovi Maps. Blackberry to Garmin etc

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 9 2011, 05:37 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Sep 20 2008, 04:40 PM)
Garmin XT is the best compare to nokia maps and mapking. Remember no illegal installation tutorial here kekee.
How to see 'satellite' view on Garmin?

Added on July 9, 2011, 5:49 pm
QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Jun 13 2011, 06:32 PM)
So far only Mobile XT have that function. I'm using Papago X5 and there is no option to sent our location dunno in other Papago version.
AFAIK, both Garmin and Blackberry has the ability to send your coordinate to others. Garmin is more straightforward because you can clearly see the coordinate in the SMS.

But with BB, you will receive a website link. If you look carefully, the coordinate itself is part of that link.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jul 10 2011, 06:20 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 19 2011, 12:51 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Aug 19 2011, 10:07 AM)
Pardon this post as the answer may be somewhere in between the 95 pages of this thread. My question is quite specific and I can't find the answer in the first few pages.

I have both OVI maps and Garmin installed on my N8. My phone line is Prepaid Maxis. I tried connecting to the satellite and the phone automatically uses A-GPS. I checked the phone and the charge is RM0.50 as opposed to RM0.10 suggested by some folks. I fiddled around with the GPS and internet and I'm not sure what I did wrong, and suddenly I got charged for RM1.00+. I think I got into the internet or something.
For Nokia N8, may I ask where is the setting to enable or disable A-GPS? It appears that everytime I want to use GPS especially OVI, the phone will automatically connect to the phone line using A-GPS. Also, how long is this A-GPS valid after it has been activated? Let say after using the GPS for 2-3 hours we want to use the A-GPS again to get to another destination. Will there be an additional charge?

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Setting/Application Settings/Positioning/Positioning Methods/.......
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 19 2011, 03:20 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Aug 19 2011, 02:24 PM)
Thanks for all responses. Appreciated it.
This is the current setting in "Positioning Methods":-

Assisted GPS - Disabled
Integrated GPS - Enabled
Bluetooth GPS - Disabled
Wi-FI Network - Enabled If it's WiFi, then no charge but not sure about the 'Network' part. Does it mean free WiFi or Maxis Network?
Network based - Enabled You should disable this
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 19 2011, 07:22 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Aug 19 2011, 05:25 PM)
Yeakyau, thanks for the information. Actually my N8 is already preloaded with Garmin software(Mobile XT) and unlike OVI the Garmin does not connect to the internet line. Hence, every satellite lock using A-GPS it will only use RM0.10, I believe.

OVI connects to the internet whenever in use, I believe(please correct me if I'm wrong), so internet charges will apply. I've got charged RM11.70 for about 1 minute usage as the rate is 10 sen per 10kB data.

I'm sticking to Garmin for GPS navigation purposes and have taken out OVI from the main window page.
Beside OVI, I have had Garmin in my device. May be it's the problem with Malfreemaps (small town) or what I don't know but I find OVI better.
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 19 2011, 07:48 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Aug 19 2011, 07:32 PM)
I am actually not commenting on which maps are better, the OVI or the Garmin in my previous posts. I am suggesting that OVI maps require telephone charges since it connects to the internet whereas Garmin does not. If one has subscribed to mobile internet packages with low rates(or unlimited access to the internet), then using OVI will not be an issue. I do not subscribe to any internet packages and high telephone charges will be imposed if I use OVI maps as a form of navigation.
I have successfully used OVI outside of Malaysia and did not incur any charges. It's definitely something wrong with the setting.

Beside the Positioning Method, I just remember there is another setting you need to tackle.

Maps/Option/Settings/Internet
Change connection to offline.

See how it goes.
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 19 2011, 08:03 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Aug 19 2011, 07:57 PM)
Aspire2006 just sent me a link via PM and yes, it has got something to do with the settings. I have adjusted the settings and OVI now does not automatically connect to the internet line now. Yes, I can use OVI maps now~!

Optiplex330, yes, it is the settings. Just wasted about RM20 meddling around with the applications and got charged for nothing when the apps hook up to the internet.

Now I will have the chance to compare between the Garmin and OVI and see which one is more user friendly. I guess both will work as fine, just a personal preference on which is better.

Cheers.
With these smartphone, we all paid our tuition fees the hard way. Mine was RM70 for 7MB of data before I wised up mad.gif

Do report your comparison of both. For me:

Garmin Pros
1. Can read free Malfreemaps that has tons and tons of POI.

Garmin Cons
1. Terrible navigation instruction but then like I said earlier, it might be the fault of the maps. I don't know.
2. Outside of Malaysia/Singapore. I am sure there are free maps like Malfreemaps but couldn't be bothered to do the searching.
3. Due to the tons of POI, the map redrawing is slow but that's the Nokia phone's CPU fault, not Garmin.

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 1 2011, 03:00 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(buntutwoman @ Sep 1 2011, 02:54 PM)
stop providing people with wrong information.
polygons are the one that slows down the machinery, not poi's.
*to everyone else, please do not take this person seriously. he knows absolutely nothing but pretends to. this guy is one of those who is all talk but no show. btw i'm still waiting for you to make "your" own version of malfreemaps. is it ready yet ? lol
how is it progressing ah ? lol
Ha ha. This is one butt headed mad mad woman. So what are you going to do next?

POI, Polygons or whatever. It sure take processing power to draw whatever 'gons' and Nokia isn't exactly a fast machine. Compared to the relatively simple maps of OVI, Malfreemaps sure is slow in redrawing. No?

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 8 2011, 05:47 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(cyberheross @ Oct 8 2011, 12:13 AM)
1 question,

I'm using garmin gps, the problem is about the a-gps positioning server i should choose.
I'm a digi user,so there are quite a number of server,which i dunno which to choose.
Got,
Digi gprs (wap 2.0)
Digi mms
Digi wap
Digi internet
Digi streaming
Diginet

Currently i'm using diginet to online,so should i choose diginet?
Or others?
I could be completely wrong here but i don't think it makes any difference because the data being transmitted is on average, a peanut sized 10KB. So as long as it work, pick whichever you choose.

As for server, I think in GPS term, it normally refer to the server that gives you the satellite position. For example, for Nokia, that would be supl.nokia.com

SUSOptiplex330
post Dec 3 2011, 01:31 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(lysvincent @ Dec 3 2011, 12:25 PM)
Hi there...May i know if papago on android can download germany or other countries maps?
I think even if they are available, you have to pay. Since you have a Symbian Nokia phone, why not get it from Nokia for free?

SUSOptiplex330
post Mar 23 2013, 10:24 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Desmo78 @ Feb 3 2013, 12:47 PM)
Hi all, Newbie here...I just bought garmin nuvi 40LM. I would like to add Australia map into my device. Can someone tell me where can I download it? Thanks in advance.
I think you can buy them from Garmin website. May cost USD100 and reason why I stick to Nokia with their free maps for overseas usage.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0207sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:02 AM