Brothers in Arms: Hell's Highway, A game where shrapnels truly slice

TS-= Virgil =-
post Sep 16 2008, 03:58 PM, updated 18y ago

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

Brothers in Arms: Hell's Highway
is the third entry in the Brothers in Arms series of video games which follow a squad of men, of the 101st Airborne Division (502nd Parachute Infantry Regiment) led by the player-character Matt Baker. This game once again puts players in the role of Staff-Sergeant Matt Baker during Operation Market Garden in the later stages of WWII.

Features:

The game has many new features, including the ability to command a further squad from a selection of new specialized units (bazooka teams and machine gun teams). When a command is issued, the player model uses hand signals to issue the command to his squad, just like the previous games in the series. The player also has the ability to take cover behind objects, in a manner similar to Rainbow Six Vegas, which is an integral part of the game's strategy. A regenerating health system has replaced the more punishing set health per mission system of previous titles in the franchise. The AI has been drastically improved, and the player's team will adapt to whether or not they are seen by whispering. The AI also makes mistakes such as tripping, and helps each other when these mistakes are made. The game is built on the Unreal Engine 3 and the Windows version can take advantage of the features in DirectX 10 which allows for an enhanced graphical experience for more realistic gameplay. There is also a graphic and graphically impressive gore system.

Trailers
:

Brothers in Arms: Hell's Highway - Behind the Scenes

Automatic Kalashnikov
post Sep 17 2008, 11:17 AM

46 posts

I'm Buying this.
ANYONE UP FOR COOP?
dimenxion
post Sep 17 2008, 12:16 PM

289 posts

this game can co-op online? sweeeettt...
Lord_Ashe
post Sep 17 2008, 01:48 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Sign me up for coop. I need a good shooter. Mercenaries doesn't cut it.
ksleong88
post Sep 24 2008, 10:39 AM

17 posts

Is it available yet on our shores? I saw it on Play-Asia this morning. Wonder if GH has them yet.

MK84
post Sep 24 2008, 10:48 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

How many player co-op?
Lord_Ashe
post Sep 24 2008, 02:24 PM

1,495 posts

Djinn said Thursday.

DUM DUM DUM
gnome
post Sep 24 2008, 02:25 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Sep 24 2008, 10:48 AM)
How many player co-op?
Over 9999!!!

tongue.gif
defaultname365
post Sep 24 2008, 08:22 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Wow, this game... I expected those 9/10 or 90% score reviews... but its the 7/10 - type game....

IGN rated the game 7.6...

graphics only 5.5 !!! turns out there are plenty of visual glitches, slowdowns and worse, sometimes bland textures...

also, the enemy AI is said to be really dumb... they sometimes just stand there even though you just threw a grenade behind them.

but i dunno... the storyline is said to be great

http://xbox360.ign.com/articles/912/912933p1.html

MK84
post Sep 25 2008, 12:48 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

The graphics is good, but not great. Don't expect GoW or COD4 level of graphics, but they're good enough. And the map design and ambience more than make up for it. Sometimes during cutscenes the frame rate would drop.

The enemies do move when you throw frag at them, but there is a delay between the frag landing and them running. This is on Veteran. Dunno how will it be on Authentic.

Oh, now you can carry enemy MG42s! rclxm9.gif
DjiNn
post Sep 25 2008, 12:50 AM

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~
Store Representative
7,931 posts

after watching ed1001, playing Brothers in Arms it seems to me is like back to the old days of Call Of Duty 2. laugh.gif what I like is you can control your assault squadron and your bazooka ..

not bad...

wcliang
post Sep 25 2008, 07:52 AM

585 posts

heard the game only 1 multiplayer mode ?......a bit disappointment
Lord_Ashe
post Sep 25 2008, 08:59 AM

1,495 posts

Hmm. Reviews are a bit meh, but dismembering enemies with explosions? I likey. Maybe I'll get this while waiting for Dead Space. Ok Djinn, I datang.
MK84
post Sep 25 2008, 09:27 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Sep 25 2008, 08:59 AM)
Hmm. Reviews are a bit meh, but dismembering enemies with explosions? I likey. Maybe I'll get this while waiting for Dead Space. Ok Djinn, I datang.
You can do that with the MGs as well... and the game will go into a slow-mo action camera sequence. laugh.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Sep 25 2008, 09:27 AM

1,495 posts

Slow mo dismembering. Just what I need for Raya.
MK84
post Sep 25 2008, 10:30 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

One neat feature they included is the button/controller map that follow COD4. They call it "Tour of Duty".

Added on September 25, 2008, 11:40 amCheck out the US only LE version.

This post has been edited by MK84: Sep 25 2008, 11:40 AM
Lord_Ashe
post Sep 25 2008, 12:21 PM

1,495 posts

Yeh I read about that. Tour of Duty eh?

Eh MK, Band of Brothers dah ada BD ke?
MK84
post Sep 25 2008, 12:33 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

BoB BD coming in November.
Lord_Ashe
post Sep 25 2008, 01:07 PM

1,495 posts

Mmmmm. Tasty. Can accelerate planning to get PS3...
jaylike7
post Sep 25 2008, 01:32 PM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Sep 25 2008, 01:07 PM)
Mmmmm. Tasty. Can accelerate planning to get PS3...
good thumbup.gif , get it from me la..i'm selling off mine...pm me for good price rclxms.gif ,k? smile.gif
MK84
post Sep 25 2008, 02:00 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

QUOTE(jaylike7 @ Sep 25 2008, 01:32 PM)
good thumbup.gif , get it from me la..i'm selling off mine...pm me for good price rclxms.gif ,k? smile.gif
Your potong-ed PS3 ar? laugh.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Sep 25 2008, 02:06 PM

1,495 posts

Evil Jaylike is evil. Potong PS3? DO NOT WANT
jaylike7
post Sep 25 2008, 02:17 PM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

@MK

i will not potong as long as you don't play cod4 laugh.gif

@lord,

ps3 CUN! can play BD can play killzone littlebigplanet whatever exclusive ps3 games...CUN!! too bad i got no money to buy BD or else sure keep it... sad.gif

Lord_Ashe
post Sep 25 2008, 02:18 PM

1,495 posts

Haih, too tempting. Luckily I need to buy one that comes with 0% LOL
Zerg1008
post Sep 25 2008, 03:57 PM

285 posts

Haha.. Jay.
Padan muka laugh.gif
Mr. Alby
post Sep 25 2008, 04:04 PM

128 posts

PS3 chun!!!!!
Thats why I play my 360 everyday.... laugh.gif
DjiNn
post Sep 25 2008, 04:07 PM

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~
Store Representative
7,931 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ Sep 25 2008, 04:04 PM)
PS3 chun!!!!!
Thats why I play my 360 everyday.... laugh.gif
ah ? the ps3 chun ? the you play xbox 360 everyday ?

like that also can ? means ps3 you rarely touch izzit ? tongue.gif
Mr. Alby
post Sep 25 2008, 04:11 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Sep 25 2008, 04:07 PM)
ah ? the ps3 chun ? the you play xbox 360 everyday ?

like that also can ? means ps3 you rarely touch izzit ? tongue.gif
haha....what to do...
I was force to have a PS3.... laugh.gif
MK84
post Sep 27 2008, 03:42 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Heh.... they already hinting at the next sequel for BiA in the final cutscene.

Brothers in Arms:NUTS! laugh.gif
ksleong88
post Sep 27 2008, 10:49 PM

17 posts

Anybody got the game and tried the co-op yet? I just got it on friday and din really put in much time. Damn work!! Sigh. mad.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Sep 29 2008, 08:23 AM

1,495 posts

No coop la.

My impressions after several chapters:

It feels like a last gen game in a next gen dressing, however, all is not bad. The tactical play is cool (although slightly repetitive), the action cam is CRUNCHY satisfying and when you do get past a section with all your men intact, it's a very good feeling.

Controls are slightly clunky (I've killed my men several times with an ill placed pineappel) but you get used to it...the best thing is the STORY. It feels well written and really pulls you in. No regrets, this is a good game to work off all those raya food smile.gif
MK84
post Sep 29 2008, 11:15 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Bring on the battered bastards of Bastogne!
defaultname365
post Oct 7 2008, 11:54 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Damn... this game just didn't do justice.

Its sad... coz its been years some have been waiting for...

Well... too bad
gnome
post Oct 13 2008, 08:21 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

Demo is out but not in Asia lolololol

Im playing the pc version anyways.
StonedHeadache
post Nov 2 2008, 12:48 PM

My Jasper Bazuka victim...!!!
lets us have peace.....

STOP THE WAR...!!!

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
bem69
post Nov 2 2008, 02:53 PM

K-Bem
2,660 posts

Aku takyah tengok apa content Stoned post, jawapan dia..

"Terer la tu"
StonedHeadache
post Nov 2 2008, 04:35 PM

QUOTE(bem69 @ Nov 2 2008, 02:53 PM)
Aku takyah tengok apa content Stoned post, jawapan dia..

"Terer la tu"
dalam thread ni pun aku kena gak ke....

ade saje....

0.0276sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:20 AM