Everything about Thai gods, amulets, etc

project-o
post Jun 21 2008, 09:50 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Was reading through this thread I'm not familiar with the other statues but am familiar with Luang Pu Tuad. I have a small figure in my house. As far as I know this Luang Pu Tuad can't really be considered a "god" but was a famous Buddhist monk in Thailand.

This is his story:
http://www.huahinquality.com/monkol.html

He is highly respected and there is a temple dedicated to him in Thailand.

After his passing he made a vow as a great being to protect those that are following the Buddhist teaching and doing good and being kind to others. These things work only if we are good and do good things and have faith in them.
QUOTE(maloa @ Jun 19 2008, 02:21 PM)
[attachmentid=502423] LP Thuad Front
[attachmentid=502424] LP Thuad Back

LP Thuad,
Wat Chang Hai
Chang Wat Pattani (province)
YR Made 2533/1990 (thai calendar this year is 2551)
project-o
post Jun 24 2008, 11:11 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

BUt why want to return it ? Something happened ?
project-o
post Jun 25 2008, 02:47 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

What Maloa says is true... sometimes these things lessen the bad things that are supposed to happen. Can you all please tell me more about renting amulets ? How does it work ?

project-o
post Jun 27 2008, 09:47 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Hi Maloa,

Myself haven't rented so far. Mine have been given to me by monks or family friends. That's why I really haven't got any from the shops or temples.
project-o
post Jun 29 2008, 11:13 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Will take some pics. They are always on my altar b'cos I'm alergic to metal things. Anyway this is my Luang Por Tuad figurine on my altar. It is older than me too.
project-o
post Jul 1 2008, 09:32 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Wow!.. .didn't know that there are so many kinds of amulets. The ones I got are either luang por tuad or Sakyamuni Buddha with Thai writing on them. Some of the figurines and small statues on my altar are Thai style versions of Buddha too.
project-o
post Jul 7 2008, 08:43 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Adding a few from my amulet collection the gold one is Luang Phor Lindam but I'm not sure about the other two. Hope you all here can help me.Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by project-o: Jul 7 2008, 08:43 PM
project-o
post Jul 9 2008, 10:41 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

But I don't think that these things can lose power. B'cos the power comes from inside us. From faith and the good deeds we do... prayers etc. Anyway bad luck ? I don't think so too.
QUOTE(maloa @ Jul 9 2008, 02:25 PM)
hello again paradiseboy..
er in laymen terms,yes the amulet will lose its power,but not to worry,just give it to monk for prayers,unless u r talking about tangkai or takrut..that is going to be abit hard as some sifu will have different powers than others,unless u specific know what the tangkai is for..or done by famous monk hopefully the monk will know the pali for it..i dont think it will cause bad luck..hehe...
project-o
post Jul 10 2008, 01:07 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Hi Maloa.

Anyway for me... b'cos mine are mostly gifts from family friends I don't ask about their origin or whether they have been chanted upon. Normally what I will do is perform a short ritual once I receive. I will put a glass of clear water and do my usual prayers over it, dip the amulet into it 3 times and then inform heaven etc... that I received this from such a person and indirectly thank the person.

For other rituals I'm not sure.

project-o
post Jul 10 2008, 08:14 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Anyway Maloa... in what sense is a talisman "fake" ? Does it mean that the effect is not there or it is not made properly ?
QUOTE(maloa @ Jul 10 2008, 02:29 PM)
hello project-o,how nice of your family friends,if got extra remember to pass some to us yar..as for collection and admiration..as for me. my uncle passed me 1 JTK, and ask me to try and wear..it proves its ability in a way and i never question about its identity wherether its real or fake.. the amulets i've rented,so far i dont purposely verify with ppl wherether its real or fake, i just wear it with faith,there are a few i felt uneasy wearing it,so no harm still put in altar,one of the many i rented in bangkok only is fake(friend look at my collection and told me this 1 no ok) but i still keep in altar and offer my prayers/joss stick to it..because karma is not on us,its on those that do all this bad deeds..but of course there is a fine line between believers and collectors..because collectors only look for old and genuine amulets,as for believers dont care wherether its old or new, as long as got faith...as for me..i fall in between those line,i believe and collects..but if i know its a fake, i wont blame myself or the dealers...because maybe the dealers needed that money(take it as do charity and learn a lesson) it will makes you feel better...forgive and forget...
project-o
post Jul 16 2008, 10:39 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Don't make me organiser lah... I'm too far away from you all. Anyway what and where are you all planning to go and do ?
project-o
post Jul 20 2008, 09:12 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Next time I'm in KL I will try and make it for meetups
project-o
post Jul 21 2008, 11:13 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

These are supposed to be put into plastic and worn just kept ?
QUOTE(maloa @ Jul 21 2008, 08:19 PM)
er
emily....
teaser for u..
your 3 tone jtk...
[attachmentid=535420]

brows.gif

my green color herb 5.5cm
front
[attachmentid=535422]

back
[attachmentid=535424]

a big thank you to wingky for helping us rent this jtk..
project-o
post Jul 27 2008, 12:39 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

I see your altar is also like mine Maloa. A mix of this and that. Only I don't have ancestor tablet, tei chu and ngang kuak. Mine mainly different versions of Sakyamuni Buddha.
QUOTE(maloa @ Jul 25 2008, 11:17 PM)
hello cskeong,its a mixture of abit
at home, my parents pray to buddha,sang ka chai(me ler foh), guan yin, ngang kwak, got ancestor tablet, got tei chu(area god)

Added on July 25, 2008, 11:19 pm

bro, i know ar...thats why i try to keep it short, me ar,last minute notice..

0.0381sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:33 PM