363 posts

QUOTE(PVCpipe @ Mar 10 2009, 10:32 AM)
if its a black magic then i dont think a christian can wear them... sweat.gif
Maybe they shouldn't even be in this thread. laugh.gif

joe_mamak
post Mar 10 2009, 12:49 PM

363 posts

To those who believe in the amulets, go get one if you feel better. But remember, everything in moderation. Don't just get an amulet and then don't practice the way.

An interesting news article - http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/6976705.stm

joe_mamak
post Mar 10 2009, 01:54 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(happy4ever @ Mar 10 2009, 01:53 PM)
Veteran Buddhist scholar Sulak Sivaraksa is disgusted by what he sees as a perversion of the teachings of the Buddha.

"They've lost their way", he said. "Monks are supposed to renounce money. The teachings of the Buddha have been killed by the demonic religion of consumerism."

And like all pyramid schemes, this one is beginning to unravel.

What sort of "way" is there to practice? An amulet in possession is a contradiction to the belief in buddhism.
Only those who are not an adherent to any religion would go for it. It is the lacking of faith in their own beliefs that prompts and compels them to seek out such amulets.
It's a stop gap measure. laugh.gif

The road to Nirvana is long. Sometimes one will stray. Hopefully they will get back on to the path.

Why are you being so anal about this? brows.gif

joe_mamak
post Mar 10 2009, 02:05 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(happy4ever @ Mar 10 2009, 01:59 PM)
Because you haven't been lubricating my posterior for a long time.
Now shuddap and do your job as you're paid to do, slave.
I don't swing that way. Perhaps an amulet will help you in finding what you seek.

joe_mamak
post Mar 10 2009, 02:12 PM

363 posts

Buddhism has often been infused by local custom and beliefs for centuries. So some impurities have come in here and there. What remains pure are his teachings.

joe_mamak
post Mar 10 2009, 02:13 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(happy4ever @ Mar 10 2009, 02:10 PM)

Not if its soaked into vaseline first, and applied by YOU
Not going to happen. Keep fantasizing. laugh.gif
joe_mamak
post Mar 10 2009, 02:17 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(happy4ever @ Mar 10 2009, 02:13 PM)
Just stop posting and come here and lube me boy. The vaseline is off the self to your right. Careful of the stool.
Doesn't Christianity abhor such practices? laugh.gif

Anyway, I am flattered but I really can't help you in this area.

joe_mamak
post Mar 11 2009, 10:41 AM

363 posts

Kenapa mamat ni asyik jaga tepi kain orang lain?

whistling.gif

joe_mamak
post Mar 12 2009, 01:55 AM

363 posts

Eh...happy4ever you not scared meh?

Amulets, according to you are associated with black magic. Someone place a hex on you and turn you........into a homo. For reaallll!

brows.gif

joe_mamak
post Mar 12 2009, 02:16 PM

363 posts

Something I found -

http://www.squidoo.com/thaiamulet

http://www.thaiworldview.com/bouddha/animism6.htm

Interesting.
joe_mamak
post Mar 13 2009, 04:36 PM

363 posts

"I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike your Christ."
-- Mahatma Gandhi
joe_mamak
post Mar 13 2009, 04:52 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(happy4ever @ Mar 13 2009, 04:36 PM)
Fine. come find me.

In the mean time, what religion are you actually in?  rolleyes.gif
I reckon that I;ve spilled some beans here, have I?

Revealing the truths of your fake charms and amulets, now resorting to threats?
Very muslim like.
The not so tolerant kind, I suppose. Your religion also has those, right?

As for the truth, who is to say it is real or not? Just let things be.

I am suprised that this thread has gone on for so long with your trolling.

Where are the mods? Clean up time?

joe_mamak
post Mar 13 2009, 06:09 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(happy4ever @ Mar 13 2009, 05:33 PM)
I'm pointing out how it can be misled when you see monks involved in it, and explain on why it shouldn't involve monks.
Thats all. The dangers would be when its taken for granted for things it cannot do for the wearer.
And my POV was given on the charms used on people in terms of business and relationships, and the dangers it pose.
The use of Amulets have nothing to do with religion. And it baffles me why people say I should not mind their beliefs.
This thread isn't talking about their beliefs. it is seeking POVs on such items, hence my POV stands.

But the problem is, there are people here that cannot take point of views that are in opposite view of theirs.
Intolerant people comes in many forms and be in everywhere.
Why shouldn't monks be involved in it? They started the practice in the first place. But along the way it became overly commercialised. Should the monks stop doing it just because it is so?

Do the amulets have nothing to do with religion? I am not so sure. Buddhism is pretty flexible, it assimilates with the local culture and beliefs and practices. If having an amulet also leads to Nirvana, then why not?
It's a long, long, long journey...........maybe in the next life, they don't need amulets. smile.gif

Anyway, here, another interesting article on amulets -
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1169/topics/220340

joe_mamak
post Mar 13 2009, 06:31 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(happy4ever @ Mar 13 2009, 06:16 PM)
Well, from the way how people see and use amulets and charms as something magical, and with monks "blessing" it to make it magical...I doubt its from the origins of Buddhism. While remaining flexible, one must not fail to realize that by seeking to charm someone for something goes against the moral values in Buddhism.

And from the link

"Is it true that the Buddha amulet can protect firearms?

Yes it is. But it also depends on the quality of your mind. The late Luang Phor Ngern of Wat Don Yai Hom, Nakorn Pathom Province, one of the greatest guru monks, once said that: the number-one mind with full-hearted trust in Lord Buddha's miracles, the gun will not bang or misfire; the number-two mind, the gun bang but the bullet misses; the number-three mind, the gun bang and the bullet hit the target but never penetrate into the body. So, when you hang Buddha amulets on your neck, you must have faith and trust on the Buddha!!"

It would be great wouldn't it? thumbup.gif
Believing in something wrong but still threading the path to Nirvana might not be such a bad thing. laugh.gif

joe_mamak
post Mar 13 2009, 06:36 PM

363 posts

Then there would be rebirth. And the journey continues. brows.gif
joe_mamak
post Mar 14 2009, 01:14 PM

363 posts

I wonder if such exchanges were to happen in LYN Christian thread how long it would take for someone to get warning and be banned.

whistling.gif

joe_mamak
post Mar 14 2009, 01:46 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(happy4ever @ Mar 14 2009, 01:42 PM)
well, nothing happens actually  biggrin.gif no threats, no vulgar words, all are welcome.  rclxms.gif

And since this thread is ASKING about amulets and charms and thai gods, so it isn't wrong to discuss about it?

It isn't a thread to gather amulet-collectors. Otherwise it should be in the Hobbies&Collectibles section.
Ahh...but are you merely discussing? You should know better yourself.

joe_mamak
post Mar 14 2009, 02:01 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(happy4ever @ Mar 14 2009, 01:58 PM)
oh yes....voicing out my POV on what I think these things are, and what it should not be.

Serves the TS's query pretty much. Its just that a lot of people here thinks it is "their" thread now and hogs it and shoos away those  that differ in their opinion.
Sure, whatever you say.

joe_mamak
post Mar 14 2009, 02:07 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(happy4ever @ Mar 14 2009, 02:05 PM)
Sure. This thread is no different from all other kopitiam threads.
Sure, whatever.

0.0420sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:21 PM