Household Air purifier/ Ionizer, How reliable it is?

unnamed
post Aug 30 2009, 07:39 PM

502 posts

QUOTE(reader @ Aug 30 2009, 05:30 PM)
Bought 2 units of FU-W53E few days ago.  I don't know how to review or comment much as I do not feel  there's any difference.  Maybe I always stick to the principle - Keep clean at the source. So the indicator light is green since I first switched on, so no difference at all. Nothing much to clean maybe.. but Clean room = happy man!

My advice.  No need to buy too powerful unit like mine (40m square) as running at full speed is VERY NOISY!!  So 85% of the time mine is set to the low (mid is also noticeably load).  Since a lower model's cleaning power is the same at "low" setting & "Mid" is comparably good (a bit lower, but also a bit quieter).  So a smaller unit running at Mid is maybe better.  Or maybe get 2 smaller units and switch on all when max cleaning is needed.

a bit regret that I bought 2 big units.. My 2cents - Keep source clean, get a lower model is enough.

By the way, dun get cheated by any shop that wanna sell their older units.  Last few weeks, some shops tell me FU-W53E is not selling in Malaysia. Now I found and bought mine locally.  And I am happy with the price @ RM1280/unit.

*Was planning to buy AAF from RayV.  But the quoted delivery charges is unacceptably high, and I feel that it has too many filters and consumable to maintain. So I go to my second choice - Sharp basic unit with only HEPA filter (max 5 years use) and a Washable Charcoal filter.
is that model better than Sharp KC-840E (the one with humidifier) ?...bought mine today for rm13xx + 3 years warranty.

after using it for few hours seems like cant really feel the ion effect...i assume the ionizer function will make the room feel fresh like when we walk into Harvey norman or Best...is that right?
unnamed
post Aug 31 2009, 09:49 AM

502 posts

i've read before that the Sharp plasmacluster technology is different than other ionizers...it also produces positive ions, whereas others just release negative ions...so thats why maybe the fresh smell not so strong.
unnamed
post Aug 31 2009, 11:23 AM

502 posts

QUOTE(RayV @ Aug 31 2009, 11:00 AM)
If it really produce negative and positive ions together, then is there any possibility all the charged particle (or dust) will all stick together. I think there will be million or mores of charged particles. Something like magnetic poles will attract to their opposites, negative & position will attract and negative & negative will repel. Any comment?

FYI, safety level of ozone permit is about below concentration of 0.05PPM (part per million). You can refer to any health regulation such as EPA, OSHA FDA etc. Below are some website for your references. Do they done any tests on the emission of Ozone level at air outlet?

http://www.osha.gov/pls/oshaweb/owadisp.sh...IONS&p_id=21753
http://www.epa.gov/air/ozonepollution/health.html
a quick google brings me to this page http://www.sharp.ca/products/ion/plasma_home.asp

"Sharp Electronics announces a world-first technological breakthrough in air purification.

Sharp has become the first company in the world to successfully replicate Nature's own air purification process.

By creating a positive and negative ion shower (PCI) we are able to recreate the natural chemical process that purifies the air in the Earth's troposphere. In this way, we are able to inactivate most airborne particles, including viruses, bacteria, mould spores, germs, fungi, and other odour causing substances. It is even effective against many of the noxious components contained in cigarette smoke. "

as you see, it says the Sharp one can also create positive ions....maybe as a way to control the level of negative ions in the air.

one good place where i find the air is feeling very fresh...probably due to too much negative ions...is Best electrical store at 1U. have also been to House of air cleaners in SS2 and the smell there not as strong, but still better than my room now with the Sharp unit.

Added on August 31, 2009, 11:26 am
QUOTE(Tohsan @ Aug 31 2009, 11:19 AM)
After a long period of time if you use these plasmacluster thingy, you will find that the surrounding area of the Sharp purifier is full of submerge dust on the floor surface and some other will stick on the wall. I already have 2 unit of Sharp air purifier,already use them for 5 years.
anyone knows if this the same for other brands of air purifier?

This post has been edited by unnamed: Aug 31 2009, 11:26 AM
unnamed
post Sep 18 2009, 10:40 AM

502 posts

pair the PurAir 400A (rm888) with OSIM uMist humidifier(rm368) could be value for money.

i'm running my KC-840E on medium speed and humidify on, and i still have my uMist running so that i can feel the ion from the uMist.
unnamed
post Nov 6 2009, 10:10 AM

502 posts

anyone using the MedKlinn Asens ionizer? want to know how well it works.
unnamed
post Jan 5 2010, 12:32 AM

502 posts

i've subscribed to this topic and it has become annoying with Onemorething using this topic all for himself to promote his product.

a few pages back theres a forumer "hackwire" who seems to buy into Alen products....eventhough he has a geeky username, looks like he has fallen into one of the oldest internet marketing technique.

0.0176sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:15 PM