ICE setup

TSxDjWanNabex
post Sep 11 2008, 08:58 PM, updated 18y ago

932 posts

Hi all, im new here rclxms.gif

I have a question for all the sifus out here biggrin.gif

I have seen many new amps for sale at cheap prices, with 1000W and all. My question is that how do i choose an amp? I am using a 2 chn 600W oldschool amp currently, and thinking of upgrading. How do i choose an amp to satisfy and further boost my ice setup? I have a XCS 6 component set for the front, with 150W and 150W read speakers with a 8 or 10 inch woofer( not too sure LOL ). Using a kenwood HU
If possible, please guide me on the setup and everythig i need to know of a good setup and a good woofer and an amp satisfying it.

Thanks in advanced for the help.

* sorry if there is a topic like this already, but i really cant find it *
bafukie
post Sep 11 2008, 10:28 PM

1,406 posts

question for u is.. what are u not satisfy regarding ur ice setup?
TSxDjWanNabex
post Sep 12 2008, 08:02 AM

932 posts

Hmm, when it reaches the 25 lvl mark in my volume and i go higher, it starts to like scrue the song up. U know what i mean? It becomes distorted. And some times when i go along the highway, it becomes hard to heard. Just want to increase the notch in my ICE la.
driftmeister
post Sep 12 2008, 09:28 AM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

1) wat player are u using? 25 is max? or how much is the max? always tune ur system at 3/4 of the max volume

2) that's obviously a sound proofing problem instead of ur ICE problem, without good sound proofing, a good set of ICE is worthless
TSxDjWanNabex
post Sep 12 2008, 07:30 PM

932 posts

No, the max is not 25. The max is either 35 or 40. Never really tried. After going past 25, my speakers like cant support it la, u get what i mean rit? The sound just gets distorted. Um, i dont really have any soundproffing items, and i have a loud exhaust plus my windows are basically down 3/4 of my time driving, to save petrol biggrin.gif

Im using a kenwood KDC ( forgot series, but one of the higher end ones )
craziechild
post Sep 13 2008, 01:44 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

first of are the current gain too high?
ckmoy007
post Sep 13 2008, 02:21 PM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

add an amp might help. maybe ur HU can't support ur speakers... wat r ur speakers?
driftmeister
post Sep 13 2008, 04:44 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Sep 12 2008, 07:30 PM)
No, the max is not 25. The max is either 35 or 40. Never really tried. After going past 25, my speakers like cant support it la, u get what i mean rit? The sound just gets distorted. Um, i dont really have any soundproffing items, and i have a loud exhaust plus my windows are basically down 3/4 of my time driving, to save petrol biggrin.gif

Im using a kenwood KDC ( forgot series, but one of the higher end ones )
not too sure about kenwood as i've not used it since 5 years ago, and all kenwood models starts from KDC if not mistaken
is ur amp driving ur front comps? with passive crossover?
it's best to list down the setup and settings so we can have a clearer picture and guide u accordingly

btw, winding down ur windows during highway cruising will only increase ur petrol consumption instead of saving wink.gif
more wind drag rushing into ur interior
TSxDjWanNabex
post Sep 14 2008, 08:29 AM

932 posts

My amp drives my woofer only. I dont think it drives any of my speakers ( not too sure as it came with my car and i havnt checked it ). I do have a 2 chn amp with 600W. I have a soundstream component for my front, with 2 crossovers. My rear just has a 150W rear speakers.

How do i check what is my amp driving ( still new at ice, so im still learning, hope you dontmind biggrin.gif )

And yea i know winding down windows at fast speed uses more petrol, thats why in the highway i wind it down 1/3 way down biggrin.gif
mars2005
post Sep 14 2008, 08:35 AM

252 posts

Hmm it sound like your HU not enaf power to drive your speaker.
jimmylim85
post Sep 14 2008, 10:25 AM

iPhone world....
7,832 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Sep 14 2008, 08:29 AM)
My amp drives my woofer only. I dont think it drives any of my speakers ( not too sure as it came with my car and i havnt checked it ). I do have a 2 chn amp with 600W. I have a soundstream component for my front, with 2 crossovers. My rear just has a 150W rear speakers.

How do i check what is my amp driving ( still new at ice, so im still learning, hope you dontmind biggrin.gif )

And yea i know winding down windows at fast speed uses more petrol, thats why in the highway i wind it down 1/3 way down biggrin.gif
why not snap a few pictures of your ICE setup so that we can visual it and give some comments.
driftmeister
post Sep 14 2008, 12:26 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Sep 14 2008, 08:29 AM)

sounds like the power of the HU is retarding the speakers bcos of distortion

check the woofer cable, and if the cable is same as the amp output cable, then it shud be
(but for ur case, it shud be woofer amp cos u dun drive the sub with ur HU power)

1/3 2/3 doesn't make any different TBH, i would rather set the aircond to level 1 and enjoy the music instead of wind sound tongue.gif
ckmoy007
post Sep 14 2008, 02:22 PM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

if u say ur rear speakers r 150watts, presuming it is 50watt RMS. If without amp, ur HU might not be powerful enuf to power these speakers, cos HU mostly produces onli 20-25watt RMS.
TSxDjWanNabex
post Sep 14 2008, 04:49 PM

932 posts

How am i to check if my amp powers up my HU. If im not mistaken,it does. Becuase when i changed my HU, my foreman asked wheter i have an amp. Ill try getting some photos to you anyways.

Driftmeister, my car being a 1.3 looses alot of power for some unknown reason when i on my AC. Even my 1.0 kelisa doesnt loose power. I know, weird.

Edit : The model of my HU is a Kenwood KDC-MP5039U, and has max power at 50x4 W. The speaker impedance is 4-8 ohm.

This post has been edited by xDjWanNabex: Sep 14 2008, 05:14 PM
jimmylim85
post Sep 14 2008, 07:46 PM

iPhone world....
7,832 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Sep 14 2008, 04:49 PM)
How am i to check if my amp powers up my HU. If im not mistaken,it does. Becuase when i changed my HU, my foreman asked wheter i have an amp. Ill try getting some photos to you anyways.

Driftmeister, my car being a 1.3 looses alot of power for some unknown reason when i on my AC. Even my 1.0 kelisa doesnt loose power. I know, weird.
Edit : The model of my HU is a Kenwood KDC-MP5039U, and has max power at 50x4 W. The speaker impedance is 4-8 ohm.
what car are you driving that seems to cut your HP when AC is on. AFAIK Iswara 1.3 and Wira 1.3 have this problem.
mrjaxx
post Sep 14 2008, 08:27 PM

94 posts

ask any reliable sifus then u wil noe is the best for u n ur money lah...
my 2 cents from me.. cool2.gif cool2.gif
TSxDjWanNabex
post Sep 14 2008, 08:58 PM

932 posts

Driving a 1.3 satria biggrin.gif

0.0214sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:16 AM