Need Info about PS3 and Xbox 360, Help on information abt consoles

TSsniperhawk
post Sep 11 2008, 09:45 AM, updated 18y ago

Greetings to all forumers and gamers,

I have started this topic for some information on the PS3 and Xbox console as I am finding myself to buy one of this console for my nephew. I am unsure of the pro's and con's of these console.

Please help me on this and let me know the details of the consoles and the prices and recommendation please.

Your kind help is appreciated and thanking all of you in advance.

Thanks..

**Majulah "gaming" untuk Negara**

This post has been edited by sniperhawk: Sep 11 2008, 09:55 AM
oyama
post Sep 11 2008, 10:00 AM

925 posts

QUOTE(sniperhawk @ Sep 11 2008, 10:45 AM)
Greetings to all forumers and gamers,

I have started this topic for some information on the PS3 and Xbox console as I am finding myself to buy one of this console for my nephew. I am unsure of the pro's and con's of these console.

Please help me on this and let me know the details of the consoles and the prices and recommendation please.

Your kind help is appreciated and thanking all of you in advance.

Thanks..
**Majulah "gaming" untuk Negara**
BASICALLY THIS IS TYPICAL ANSWER:
(bare in mind, this is not considering the piracy factor..please vote for original..)

PS3 FAN will say:
1-xbox got 3ROD (but in here there's on person name tech2 that can cure the 3ROD-3 Red Rings of DEath)
2-xbox have to pay for online gaming (but the crowd is better as xbox establish earlier before..but ps3 also nowadays not bad as well)
3-We got Blueray and it's the Cheapest solution for blueray in the market! (if u make a home theathre of the ps3, u might take this as a factor)

XBOX FAN will say:
1-PS3 games is expensive! (the game price is around RM100-RM220) - new release games mostly RM170 n above
2-PS3 is heavier! (ps3 is around 5kg..!)
3-PS3 got lens problem! (but the statistics shown is a rare case..mean not so much happen as 3ROD)

I just list the major factor people will say..but act it depend on you.
For me i love ps3 games and i need blueray~ then i buy a ps3...

Thinking of one thing, u want to buy for your nephew.. If he can really take care about console very well then my suggestion go for xbox360!
if can't really take care well..then go for ps3~ owh..btw, how old is ur nephew?

U can also research by go web search..the console wars has begun since the released~ hope this might help you~

I'm none a PS3 fanboy...for me both machine are greats~ u r the buyers, u have the choice..u have the money..take it!
nakata101
post Sep 11 2008, 10:12 AM

*******(PES&WE)******* Play Like Champion
2,423 posts

Not again..... brows.gif
Both console got their pro's and con's(Suggest u go check the Xbox and Sony section), since this is not for u one, just throw a coin to decide which console to get lah.
TSsniperhawk
post Sep 11 2008, 10:29 AM

Thanks for the info nakata..I have searched in the web and i am a bit puzzled. Well for me I am not sure which one to choose as my nephew likes the both. My nephew is about 10 years old. So is there possible for me to get to know the cheapest price I can get for Xbox360 and PS3. I have to ensure that can both consoles use pirated dvd game as myself prefer for ori games but am not sure on my nephew and his father.
CoLiNJvC
post Sep 11 2008, 10:40 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(sniperhawk @ Sep 11 2008, 10:29 AM)
Thanks for the info nakata..I have searched in the web and i am a bit puzzled. Well for me I am not sure which one to choose as my nephew likes the both. My nephew is about 10 years old. So is there possible for me to get to know the cheapest price I can get for Xbox360 and PS3. I have to ensure that can both consoles use pirated dvd game as myself prefer for ori games but am not sure on my nephew and his father.
There wont be pirated games for PS3 games... for now i think... maybe for atleast 2 or 3 more years.

The mkt price for PS3 now is 1200+, but with the games cost around 150 - 200 per piece.

xbox need to depend which version that u want to get since it's come with many various packages.
The cheapest now is 1200+ but it able to play pirated games since they're mostly modded in the market.

This post has been edited by CoLiNJvC: Sep 11 2008, 10:43 AM
oyama
post Sep 11 2008, 10:52 AM

925 posts

QUOTE(sniperhawk @ Sep 11 2008, 11:29 AM)
then go for xbox 360~ but have to say to ur nephew..dunt play for all day long..if not kabooom~

easily get 3ROD..
GamersFamilia
post Sep 11 2008, 04:24 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,872 posts

go to xbox360 since ur nephew more towards pirated games...cause PS3 only can play genuine games.
SUStlts
post Sep 11 2008, 05:34 PM

pee poo pee poo
1,891 posts

buy x box360 1 game rm10 lol keng ....not nice play can buang from 10 floor down np icon_rolleyes.gif
eone
post Sep 11 2008, 08:14 PM

Prime
2,678 posts

who says 3ROD is curable.. mine got hit hard! cannot revive
Remedy
post Sep 11 2008, 08:25 PM

83 posts

if you want to consider about getting a console which can play modded games.. then hands down xbox 360.

if we compare original to original. PS3 beat x360 in the sense:
- ps3 now officially launched here and covered by sony local warranty
- ps3 has blue ray player
- ps3 has a very solid hardware design, its quiet and can let u play a few days non stop
- ps3 has very promising exclusive games.. little big planet, resistance 2, killzone 2, ff13 versus, god of war 3.
- ps3 network is FREE
- built in WIFI, Internet Browser, Music/Video Player

the console is abit pricey (you only pay one time and it will rarely give u any issues at all) and yes the game is a bit pricey.. but compared to xbox original games.. its just RM 20 - 50 more considering the discs are in blue ray. Just choose the games carefully.

This post has been edited by Remedy: Sep 11 2008, 08:27 PM
nwk
post Sep 11 2008, 08:30 PM

256 posts

if you do not want to support the great satan, BILL GATES, then support SONY and buy a PS3 on September 20.
GamersFamilia
post Sep 11 2008, 08:32 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,872 posts

QUOTE(eone @ Sep 11 2008, 08:14 PM)
who says 3ROD is curable.. mine got hit hard! cannot revive
3rod is not curable..yeah its true..after that buy new console ,then 3rod...buy again then 3rod..this console are blood / money sucker
msn83235502
post Sep 11 2008, 09:08 PM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

again? in 1 day gap? arghhhh....
nakata101
post Sep 11 2008, 09:10 PM

2,423 posts

Childish saids :" Xbox360 not good, got too many FPS, always got 3rod... play 1 days got 3rod ad..... new one also got 3rod, PS3 good, dun have hardware problem, got many RPG game now, FPS and ACT also better than XBox360 one, Racing game Sony GT is the best one, no need play other racing game after play this game. " thumbup.gif
earthdome
post Sep 11 2008, 09:51 PM

kato rosa
715 posts

QUOTE(nakata101 @ Sep 11 2008, 09:10 PM)
Childish saids :" Xbox360 not good, got too many FPS,  always got 3rod... play 1 days got 3rod ad.....  new one also got 3rod, PS3 good, dun have hardware problem, got many RPG game now, FPS and ACT also better than XBox360 one, Racing game Sony GT is the best one, no need play other racing game after play this game. "    thumbup.gif
yeah..i wonder who the child is..lol
nakata101
post Sep 11 2008, 09:54 PM

2,423 posts

QUOTE(earthdome @ Sep 11 2008, 09:51 PM)
yeah..i wonder who the child is..lol
Anyone???? Who wanna match it??? laugh.gif
psyhun
post Sep 11 2008, 09:54 PM

62 posts

Perhaps another thing to consider is that most of the games in these two consoles are mainly for more mature gamers...... would it be appropriate for your 10 year old nephew (contents like gore, swearing etc)? would it be potentially fun for him or would some of the game be too complex and he'll just give it up?

Also, these are expensive and fragile machines, so if you're getting it for your nephew, make sure he really treats it well...... these machines aren't just game machines anymore, both of them can do a lot more like playing videos/music, chatting, web surfing, its essentially like a PC.....

I've also heard that modded Xbox360s will potentially have their Xbox live account banned if the Microsoft network detects it.......
GamersFamilia
post Sep 11 2008, 10:16 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,872 posts

QUOTE(psyhun @ Sep 11 2008, 09:54 PM)
Perhaps another thing to consider is that most of the games in these two consoles are mainly for more mature gamers...... would it be appropriate for your 10 year old nephew (contents like gore, swearing etc)? would it be potentially fun for him or would some of the game be too complex and he'll just give it up?

Also, these are expensive and fragile machines, so if you're getting it for your nephew, make sure he really treats it well...... these machines aren't just game machines anymore, both of them can do a lot more like playing videos/music, chatting, web surfing, its essentially like a PC.....

I've also heard that modded Xbox360s will potentially have their Xbox live account banned if the Microsoft network detects it.......
i do think Nintendo Wii the best for his nephew...or PS2

This post has been edited by GamersFamilia: Sep 11 2008, 10:21 PM
PhoenixByte
post Sep 12 2008, 08:27 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

QUOTE(nakata101 @ Sep 11 2008, 10:12 AM)
Not again.....    brows.gif 
Both console got their pro's and con's(Suggest u go check the Xbox and Sony section), since this is not for u one, just throw a coin to decide which console to get lah.
ahaha..now this is the best answer icon_rolleyes.gif
nakata101
post Sep 12 2008, 11:22 AM

2,423 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Sep 12 2008, 08:27 AM)
ahaha..now this is the best answer  icon_rolleyes.gif
Credit for Two-Face. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nakata101: Sep 12 2008, 11:23 AM
5zal06
post Sep 12 2008, 03:00 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(Remedy @ Sep 11 2008, 08:25 PM)
if you want to consider about getting a console which can play modded games.. then hands down xbox 360.

- ps3 has a very solid hardware design, its quiet and can let u play a few days non stop
- ps3 has very promising exclusive games.. little big planet, resistance 2, killzone 2, ff13 versus, god of war 3.
- ps3 network is FREE

the console is abit pricey (you only pay one time and it will rarely give u any issues at all) and yes the game is a bit pricey.. but compared to xbox original games.. its just RM 20 - 50 more considering the discs are in blue ray. Just choose the games carefully.
im 95% agree with you.
360 no internet browser eh??not sure bout this,nver on9 with 360 before..but is it true??even psp got internet
and the music player..dunno how to create the playlist in hdd for 360

the only thing i like about 360 is their xmb menu..er..dashboard..

gundamalpha
post Sep 12 2008, 05:09 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(Remedy @ Sep 11 2008, 08:25 PM)

- ps3 network is FREE

I'm not disagreeing with you, but out of all the reasons there only "promising but unproven exclusive games" is related to gaming.. blush.gif
Gahleon
post Sep 12 2008, 05:11 PM

230 posts

How old is the nephew?
If too small just get him PSP or NDSL enought
technophile
post Sep 12 2008, 05:18 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(5zal06 @ Sep 12 2008, 03:00 PM)
im 95% agree with you.
360 no internet browser eh??not sure bout this,nver on9 with 360 before..but is it true??even psp got internet
and the music player..dunno how to create the playlist in hdd for 360

the only thing i like about 360 is their xmb menu..er..dashboard..
yup. 360 has no internet browser.
lksing78
post Sep 12 2008, 07:38 PM

91 posts

Gurdian quotes
"buy them books to read"

Sori gurdian curi idea skit
5zal06
post Sep 12 2008, 11:01 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(technophile @ Sep 12 2008, 05:18 PM)
yup. 360 has no internet browser.
360 should have this feature
thats why ps3 is just more better
now i know,

i think the best choices for your nephew is ndsl like gahleon said
but if he don't like games that graphic sux,go to psp
if he has ps2,-dont buy ndsl
buy psp,-but this one,if ur nephew is good on computer could cause prob,now psp can even watch p0rn

but if u still want to buy 360 or ps3
i think.erm.360 is the better choices,he can play lots of game
ps3,i don't think the seller will give any free games,maybe 1 free game,if he has wifi,he can always download the demo game on psn
now ps3/.360 price also quite reasonable
technophile
post Sep 12 2008, 11:11 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(5zal06 @ Sep 12 2008, 11:01 PM)
360 should have this feature
thats why ps3 is just more better
now i know,

i think the best choices for your nephew is ndsl like gahleon said
but if he don't like games that graphic sux,go to psp
if he has ps2,-dont buy ndsl
buy psp,-but this one,if ur nephew is good on computer could cause prob,now psp can even watch p0rn

but if u still want to buy 360 or ps3
i think.erm.360 is the better choices,he can play lots of game
ps3,i don't think the seller will give any free games,maybe 1 free game,if he has wifi,he can always download the demo game on psn
now ps3/.360 price also quite reasonable
well 360 isn't built with internet browsing in mind.
remember this is a microsoft's machine. they already got Internet Explorer in most PC out there. so internet browsing is the last thing they want to put on their console. 360 was created as an "entertainment hub" that connects multiple devices (pc, mp3 players, camera, etc) that sits in the middle of the living room. that was their goal.

ps3 on the other hand, was built with the pc in mind. in japan, PC penetration is actually kinda low. therefore they want to build a machine that can emulate a pc inside each and every home in japan. thus, ever since PS2, you can see that it supports linux as OS and it can be used as a pc once installed. so, i think that's why ps3 got an internet browser built in complete with wi-fi. so that even if the linux OS isn't used, the PS3 can still be used as a basic pc with limited capabilities (just run games, etc.. no business centric softwares).

This post has been edited by technophile: Sep 12 2008, 11:13 PM
evilpuppy
post Sep 12 2008, 11:16 PM

4,092 posts

get him PC to play PC Game + he can learn alot from PC, im just concern bout his ages of 10 start playing console might affect his study. just my 2cents

Eisenmeteor
post Sep 13 2008, 12:05 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Sep 12 2008, 05:09 PM)
I'm not disagreeing with you, but out of all the reasons there only "promising but unproven exclusive games" is related to gaming..  blush.gif
Seconded that..

Not sure what to say but both consoles has its own pros and cons..
5zal06
post Sep 13 2008, 12:23 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(technophile @ Sep 12 2008, 11:11 PM)
remember this is a microsoft's machine. they already got Internet Explorer in most PC out there. so internet browsing is the last thing they want to put on their console. 360 was created as an "entertainment hub" that connects multiple devices (pc, mp3 players, camera, etc) that sits in the middle of the living room. that was their goal.

ps3 on the other hand, was built with the pc in mind. in japan, PC penetration is actually kinda low. therefore they want to build a machine that can emulate a pc inside each and every home in japan. thus, ever since PS2, you can see that it supports linux as OS and it can be used as a pc once installed. so, i think that's why ps3 got an internet browser built in complete with wi-fi. so that even if the linux OS isn't used, the PS3 can still be used as a basic pc with limited capabilities (just run games, etc.. no business centric softwares).
i see,sorry,nver know bout that
so both console are quite good too,but ps3 has many features i think like built in wifi,more usb cable
technophile
post Sep 13 2008, 12:45 AM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(5zal06 @ Sep 13 2008, 12:23 AM)
so both console are quite good too,but ps3 has many features i think like built in wifi,more usb cable
u know, a little more reading and researching will never hurt.
try it for once...
Jcsy
post Sep 13 2008, 01:46 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

will things like wifi and usb cable affect your gaming or watever u are doing on the console?

lol biggrin.gif

find the core weightage of why u are buying it

then research on which is better
GamersFamilia
post Sep 13 2008, 11:43 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,872 posts

QUOTE(technophile @ Sep 12 2008, 11:11 PM)

there`s people already installed Linux OS at PS3 nowdays , i think u already know..waah how lucky am i as PS3 owner..but for me both console great.

Added on September 13, 2008, 11:51 am
QUOTE(5zal06 @ Sep 13 2008, 12:23 AM)
yeap , with PS3 u can upgrade the 2.5" HDD ( Like a PC ) ; Update the Firmware time-to-time ; Custom Themes ( which can be downloaded from PC ) so many themes for PS3 available through out the net & its free ; can use thumbdrive & external HDD to backup ur profiles , game saves etc...

many great things bout it , makes the console so great.

This post has been edited by GamersFamilia: Sep 13 2008, 11:51 AM
nakata101
post Sep 13 2008, 12:36 PM

2,423 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Sep 13 2008, 11:43 AM)
there`s people already installed Linux OS at PS3 nowdays , i think u already know..waah how lucky am i as PS3 owner..but for me both console great.

Added on September 13, 2008, 11:51 am

yeap , with PS3 u can upgrade the 2.5" HDD ( Like a PC ) ; Update the Firmware time-to-time ; Custom Themes ( which can be downloaded from PC ) so many themes for PS3 available through out the net & its free ; can use thumbdrive & external HDD to backup ur profiles , game saves etc...

many great things bout it , makes the console so great.
If HE can play the game HE like, HE will be the lucky one.

This post has been edited by nakata101: Sep 13 2008, 05:16 PM
snipersnake
post Sep 13 2008, 04:59 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

sometimes, a little bit of grammatical correct relayed ideas wont hurt, as i cant comprehend some of the ideas here doh.gif
lksing78
post Sep 14 2008, 02:50 AM

91 posts

here we go again laugh.gif laugh.gif

Ok guy to battle station!!!!
nakata101
post Sep 14 2008, 06:40 AM

2,423 posts

QUOTE(lksing78 @ Sep 14 2008, 02:50 AM)
here we go again  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Ok guy to battle station!!!!
Who start the fire first??? tongue.gif
NUR_VER.3
post Sep 14 2008, 08:49 AM

308 posts

10 years old, better buy nintendo Wii, me myself a PS3 owner and also an ex Xbox 360 owner (for 2 days short) but IMHO (in my opinion) 10 year old kids are not supposed to own either Xbox360 or a PS3, why? because they are too young to appreciate the delicate hardwares of both and the cost of owning(eg:Ps3) requires a lot of money just to buy games. (one game around 100-200).

im not gonna suggest Xbox360 for its pirated games either,since we have to support original to keep the gaming industry going..

Anyway neither Xbox or Ps3 have games that are suitable for your nephew, since its more to 18+ rated(sex,gore,killing Eg: GTA4) therefore nintendo wii would be the best choice as a gift since it has more family type game and the games are more interactive compared to any console in the world(eg: sports games require players to move their hand to hit balls like in tennis, not buttons)...

This would make your 10 year old nephew to explore new physical activities in games, rather than just moving fingers...try to search more on Wii and its games to know more about this unique gaming experience, me myself are planning to buy Wii just because of this features... thumbup.gif

dezz
post Sep 14 2008, 08:09 PM

201 posts

yes, as the poster above said, getting a wii is probably the better choice. it's cheaper, have lotsa games that are fun to play with and can play *ahem* games (not that i recommend you to do so).
5zal06
post Sep 14 2008, 08:51 PM

195 posts

can ps3 hear songs when playing like 360??
NUR_VER.3
post Sep 16 2008, 07:51 AM

308 posts

currently no, since its a not so critical feature for a gaming console....IMHO la...

why do you need to listen to songs when playing games? i'll make it hard to hear the sound effects when playing games...
megajim
post Sep 17 2008, 03:30 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Sep 12 2008, 05:09 PM)
I'm not disagreeing with you, but out of all the reasons there only "promising but unproven exclusive games" is related to gaming..  blush.gif
Today there are no more exclusive games unless they are from first party publishers. Most will be cross platform. For games points on the PS3 vs 360 is more about which console has bootleg games. That is the major concern of most Malaysians as cost of games are often very pricey. Plus no free online gaming for the 360.

The PS3 will MOST LIKELY outlast the 360 on a gaming marathon on weekends. 360 will definitely have more games in comparison with the PS3.

With that said - it reallly depends on what the person wants to play and if that person has the means to support the gaming addiction. An addition as bad as the urge to eat nasi kandar.

PEACE!
snipersnake
post Sep 17 2008, 03:37 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(5zal06 @ Sep 14 2008, 08:51 PM)
can ps3 hear songs when playing like 360??
custom soundtrack = yes.

0.0253sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:30 PM