Need some advice n susgestion..

TSstudwo
post Sep 10 2008, 11:15 PM, updated 18y ago

1,129 posts

Greetings..

I am planning to get a new rig .. One of my friends susgested to me to avoid buying the pc chasis.. He said pc chasis is a killer for air flow..

Is it advisible to run a pc without gettting a chasis?

What are the factors/requirement i should worry about the without chasis thingy?

thanks in advance. rclxms.gif
renesisx
post Sep 10 2008, 11:31 PM

[ K C G ]
959 posts

no need to open new thread..just ask anything about pc case here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/722107
chyu89
post Sep 10 2008, 11:47 PM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

This question should not answer by ur friend, not to be rude, he is a fag. Just like advise someone not to buy car coz of it's depreciation.. Most important is ur budget.

This post has been edited by chyu89: Sep 10 2008, 11:48 PM
TSstudwo
post Sep 11 2008, 12:55 PM

1,129 posts

renesis pls kindly read my post properly ..
CHiNO730
post Sep 17 2008, 12:31 AM

526 posts

Unless you have a large fan blowing directly on your setup, you will need a pc chassis (assuming you mean CASE?).

A well designed case will have properly placed intake and exhuast fans. Basically they create pressure/vacuum in the case to get air moving through your components. This airflow is necessary to cool your components and assure longevity.

Your friend, sorry to say, does not really know what he is talking about.

Without the case, the components will dissipate heat at a slower rate, since there is no airflow around the heatsinks to evacuate the air.

If you don't know what I mean, try taping a few pieces of paper inside a well ventilated case or light a cigarette in front of the intake fan. You will see the direction of the airflow. Remove one of the side panels, and do the same thing. Less airflow. Now take the whole thing out of the case and try again. No airflow.

skylineGTR
post Sep 17 2008, 12:59 AM

399 posts

well said bro CHiNO730 thumbup.gif
TS, sorry to said, ur friend really noob i think about pc cooling system. In addition to what bro CHiNO730 said, another well known problem for a case-less pc is dust. Believe me, u dun want to see ur pc covered in dust just for few days usage, and i dun think u have all time available to clean it. And do u prefer to see ur pc (which u spent hundreds to thousand bucks) dun have any protection for it? IMO, better to have a casing, a cheap 1 also can, as long as u know how to set up a good airway flow into that casing. How to do it? There are lots of topics that discussing about that here, just spent some of ur time to read them and applying to ur pc setup.
kujaboyde
post Sep 17 2008, 02:02 AM

jaHat macam MoRza
1,281 posts

spammer~

0.0159sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:07 AM