AMD/ATi HD 4000 Series Discussion V4, Just added: HD4830 benches!

SUSMatrix
post Oct 13 2008, 12:21 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 12 2008, 11:57 PM)
Well said, who ever said crytek 2 engine is good, you have to do some research on what define a good engine. Good engine is like unreal 3 engine. Perfectly optimised. Even a mid range computer can run the game like 50-60fps. My 9600gt run is 60fps most of the time at MAX setting. The graphics is comparable to crytek 2 engine i can say. Crytek 2 engine nothing to shout about also, no ppl buy their engine, why? Lousy. Unreal 3 engine even expensive, ppl buy until siao edi.
Totally agreed....Crytek nothing impressive...plus low frame rates even with the best GPU....it's freaking lame engine.
SUSMatrix
post Nov 11 2008, 11:43 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Nov 10 2008, 10:09 PM)
last time i ply assassin's creed wit 3870, works fine.
play again once move to 4870, also no problem................=.=
agree, human eyes can really notice the lag once fps drop bellow ~20.
dats y 30fps is always consider smooth..........................
u wont differentiate if the game run @ 30fps constantly vs. 60fps constantly...........
but ~25 will feel the slowdown.
Friend..this has been argued countless time and proven....60fps made a hell lot of difference compared to 30fps.

SUSMatrix
post Nov 25 2008, 09:45 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Nov 25 2008, 12:41 AM)
i'll wait till pc fair only buy.
last time pc fair benq girls was great............ tongue.gif

well, the review says it all.
2 - 3 fps gain doesn't justify the 1gb memory.
i'll stick wit 512 if u ask me.

btw, dun worry too much bout fps, if the game is running @ 24fps constant, u wont fell the lag unless it go bellow 24................. smile.gif
people, dun start 2 argue bout how many fps consider no lag, coz 24 is the ans.

evidence:

Pls don't spread false information if you are ignorant.

Watching movie is not the same as playing games....24fps?? Even PSOne days needs 30fps to be optimum!! As someone already mentioned, 24fps is for the pulldown yadda and what's not. Someone has posted a sample of a F1 movie(real video, not games) at 30fps and 60fps, but i can't find the link. In games, it's even more prevalent. The difference is too obvious.

Here's some nice read:
http://www.daniele.ch/school/30vs60/30vs60_1.html

Although the article is quite old, but the concept is right on.
SUSMatrix
post Nov 25 2008, 04:22 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Nov 25 2008, 12:55 PM)
sweat.gif  sweat.gif
i'm talking those older days la..................
try imagining of those bruce lee movies bck then.
tell me, if the camera capable of max 24fps, how dey optimized it 30fps in movies?
dey shoot it in slowmo & speed it up?

u jav 2 understand dis.
30fps = smooth
<24fps = consider as lag
60fps = fully optimized

u're comparing 30fps & 60fps & conclude dat 30fps is lower therefore consider lag.
slower & lagging is 2 different term, do not confuse.
its like saying 9800gtx is a slower GPU compared to 4870 therefore conclude 9800gtx is a sux GPU.

i'm trying 2 get dis point out in every "fps discussion".
dun tek my statement too offensively, coz i'm not................. sweat.gif

btw, i b lief in the 90s, movies r still shoot @ 24fps.
dunno bout holywood standard, i'm talking bout like those hong kong budget film.
Dude...READ the link above b4 u start talking again...already got pretty good explanation. And ignorance is no excuses when you can GOOGLE. Back in Bruce Lee's days, there's no internet, but now you do.

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

Playing games at anything less than 30fps IS lag. And for fast action games like FPS, racing, action like Devil May Cry etc...60fps is how it should be play. 30fps is no excuse when you have today's powerful GPU.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Nov 25 2008, 04:29 PM

0.0373sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:00 AM