Compaq Presario CQ40 AMD Series V1, Turion X2, HD 3450, RM2k!

amduser
post Nov 2 2008, 11:18 AM

5,542 posts

seems like cant find the benchmark in google, anyone can share ur experience in gaming with this laptop? games like crysis, call of duty, devil may cry 4, need for speed prostreet, bioshock and some other decent games.

wonder y there's no expansion port 3 in this laptop, wonder how to plug in the XGP hmm.gif
amduser
post Nov 3 2008, 07:25 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Nov 2 2008, 11:18 AM)
seems like cant find the benchmark in google, anyone can share ur experience in gaming with this laptop? games like crysis, call of duty, devil may cry 4, need for speed prostreet, bioshock and some other decent games.

wonder y there's no expansion port 3 in this laptop, wonder how to plug in the XGP hmm.gif
anyone here can answer my questions?
amduser
post Nov 4 2008, 09:55 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Nov 4 2008, 09:14 AM)
I only have COD4 installed. Played it briefly for the sake of testing. I let the game choose the optimal settings. The training level was okay, but the first mission (raining ship) was laggy. IIRC the optimal settings were mostly medium, and the resolution was 1024x768.

I'll play around with the settings some other time.
ok, thx for ur reply, if compare this game on this laptop with my laptop, presario V3000, i didnt use optimal settings, but the lowest settings with most effects off, can get about 20-30 framerate.

i thought HD3200 will be better? cannot hybrid crossfire?

This post has been edited by amduser: Nov 4 2008, 09:56 AM
amduser
post Nov 4 2008, 08:57 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(shady @ Nov 4 2008, 10:52 AM)
No expansion port. The more expensive CQ45 have it though.
Not much difference because AMD has intergrated memory controller. Upgrading to DDR 800 RAM boost some bechmarks scores and make the system a bit snappier though.
HD 3450 and HD 3200 is basically the same thing except HD 3450 has dedicated video RAM. So performance wise, it would be really close with no more than 20% difference. For high end games if you want to play at native resolution, you need to choose the lowest settings or lower down the resolution. FYI, I can play RA 3 at native resolution with lowest settings damn smooth. The graphics might not be breathtaking but it is the latest game smile.gif
i thought CQ40 is the newer version? hmm.gif

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Nov 4 2008, 03:58 PM)
this is laptop graphic, u can't hybrid crossfire with a desktop graphic. doh.gif
no i mean the XGP works together with integrated graphics.

or the fusion features

This post has been edited by amduser: Nov 4 2008, 08:58 PM
amduser
post Nov 5 2008, 08:36 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(shady @ Nov 4 2008, 09:30 PM)
Both CQ40 and 45 came out togather. 45 have more features, its more nearer to HP Pavillion Notebook. Features wise HP Pavillion > Compaq CQ45 > 40 even though they share the same CPU, VGA and RAM config.

Actually 125AX can support hybrid crossfire, only HP disabled it for unknown reason. Maybe high power consumption, unstable and hot!
so there isn't any way to enable it? hmm.gif

then how bout the temperature while idle and load? my compaq presario V3000 can reach 92c shakehead.gif

from the spec of CQ 40 and 45, they r both the same, just the RAM or HDD capacity different
amduser
post Nov 8 2008, 08:43 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(daymond85 @ Nov 6 2008, 08:49 AM)
cannavaro, that mean laptop RAM is cheaper than a desktop RAM lo?
wagaga....

if cq40-125ax (AMD turion x2 RM-70) add 2x2GB 800mhz RAM is about RM 2300 (2099+93+93)

asus F5SL with C2D T5750 with 2GB RAM ddr2 is about RM 2600

which one suit for me? becoz i dun wan to pay so much if can. both is about my budget.

I just dun wan too hot then is ok... oh ya one more thing to ask (^^), can i feel the diff with this AMD and C2D proc if i just moderate using and moderate gaming eg dota?

Regarding the OS, where can i find the OS? just buy the RM10 one pcs DVD and install? if can borrow from fren the original cd to install? my sis using dell 1420, can i use hers to install?

sorry, dun laugh becoz i nvr use laptop b4.... ("\(happy.gif)/")
if just normal gaming, the processor doesn't really gv much difference, if u r playing dota, almost all laptop r the same since that game r very old, if u wanna try the limit of ur GPU go ahead and try crysis, COD4, red alert 3, need for speed.

0.0422sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:58 PM