141 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Bottom

Compaq Presario CQ40 AMD Series V1, Turion X2, HD 3450, RM2k!

cannavaro
post Nov 29 2008, 09:34 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(antonio @ Nov 29 2008, 12:24 AM)
So u mean if i stuck a brand new 800mhz ram into my lappie the proc will run at 800mhz bus speed or whatever term AMD uses?????

Gee thanks...maybe drop by lyp tomorow and get me a twin packs of 800mhz...
Have a look:

Running on Vista Ultimate x64.
rozai
post Nov 29 2008, 10:07 AM

QUOTE(willkhor @ Nov 28 2008, 09:03 PM)
Penang Queensbay??
I suggest you try Hosue of Notebook, Gurney Plaza, coz I bought mine there...160 WD ext HD, Pendrive EVO 4G, AVL Multimedia headset plus USB mouse for RM2299+RM46 (service charge 0% 12 months installment) = RM2345. smile.gif
TSshady
post Nov 29 2008, 10:44 AM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(antonio @ Nov 28 2008, 08:51 AM)
Support 800mhz ram and runs at 800mhz

Or

Support 800mhz ram but runs at 667,mhz oso?

it is like having a 865 chipset which supports DDR 400 but you Proc is only a 2.4Ghz running at 533mhz and not maximisng DDR400 because it runs at below speed???..... whistling.gif
QUOTE(Spade @ Nov 28 2008, 07:27 PM)
UMC = Unified Memory Controller (of some call it Integrated Memory Controller). Its embedded in the processor's die.
QUOTE(cracksys @ Nov 29 2008, 12:15 AM)
ah, that thing. different abbreviation, no wonder i haven't heard of it.

almost all of the newer intel processor able to fully utilized DDR2 800mhz thanks to their higher FSB, so UMC factor doesn't fit in (unless you're talking about Pentium D).

RM-70 support HT2.0 so..

667mhz will run at 667mhz
800mhz will run at 800mhz
1066mhz will only run at 1000mhz

QUOTE(antonio @ Nov 29 2008, 12:24 AM)
So u mean if i stuck a brand new 800mhz ram into my lappie the proc will run at 800mhz bus speed or whatever term AMD uses?????

Gee thanks...maybe drop by lyp tomorow and get me a twin packs of 800mhz...
QUOTE(cracksys @ Nov 29 2008, 12:32 AM)
yup.

it is guaranteed to run at 800Mhz. noticeable change in real-life experience, not guaranteed.
QUOTE(cracksys @ Nov 29 2008, 05:37 AM)
you seriously need to re-read my post.

i said ..

almost all of the newer intel processor [core 2 duo, dual core, quad core] able to fully utilized DDR2 800mhz thanks to their higher FSB [starting from 800mhz] , so UMC factor doesn't fit in [UMC gain an upper hand only when K8 vs Netburst] (unless you're talking about Pentium D[which suck. i add this line so that no fag come in and said "Pentium D also quite new what!"]).

eekk.. duh!
I have posted some benchmarks on DDR2 667 and 800 on the first post. Although capacity is different, i dont think that matters. Everest might be synthetic benchmark but the numbers show clearly 800 is faster. The optimum speed for 780G DDR2 platform is DDR2 800. Since DDR2 667 and 800 both runs at CL5 default, at same latency, 800 will be a bit faster. If you have extra spare cash to spend, get two sticks of 2GB or just add another 1 or 2GB of DDR2 667. As for dual channel, switching to stick with higher speed is always faster than getting dual channel. That means getting a single 2GB DDR2 800 will be faster than two 1GB DDR2 667 sticks and of course save some power which translates to longer battery life. Hope this helps to clear out confusion.

cracksys
post Nov 29 2008, 11:44 AM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(shady @ Nov 29 2008, 10:44 AM)
I have posted some benchmarks on DDR2 667 and 800 on the first post. Although capacity is different, i dont think that matters. Everest might be synthetic benchmark but the numbers show clearly 800 is faster. The optimum speed for 780G DDR2 platform is DDR2 800. Since DDR2 667 and 800 both runs at CL5 default, at same latency, 800 will be a bit faster. If you have extra spare cash to spend, get two sticks of 2GB or just add another 1 or 2GB of DDR2 667. As for dual channel, switching to stick with higher speed is always faster than getting dual channel. That means getting a single 2GB DDR2 800 will be faster than two 1GB DDR2 667 sticks and of course save some power which translates to longer battery life. Hope this helps to clear out confusion.

you're a confused person.

no, getting a stick with higher clock speed will NOT ALWAYS be better than going dual channel. if you mean, getting a stick of 1066mhz of DDR1 over 2 stick of dual channel enabled of 400mhz DDR1, then yes, your statement is true.

but, 1 stick of 800mhz ddr2 will always be slower (mathematically, 66% slower) than 2 stick 667mhz ddr2 running on dual channel because of doubled data transfer rate offered by dual channel tech.

of course there is other factor, latency usually lower in lower clock ram, which, theoretically means faster operation. ultimately, it's down to the fact that real life experience won't change noticeably unless benchmark were to be use.

care to share what ram model you've used for the benchmark?

This post has been edited by cracksys: Nov 29 2008, 12:07 PM
TSshady
post Nov 29 2008, 12:14 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Nov 29 2008, 11:44 AM)
you're a confused person.

no, getting a stick with higher clock speed will NOT ALWAYS be better than going dual channel. if you mean, getting a stick of 1066mhz of DDR1 over 2 stick of dual channel enabled of 400mhz DDR1, then yes, your statement is true.

but, 1 stick of 800mhz ddr2 will always be slower (mathematically, 66% slower) than 2 stick 667mhz ddr2 running on dual channel because of doubled data transfer rate offered by dual channel tech.

of course there is other factor, latency usually lower in lower clock ram, which, theoretically means faster operation.
You sound a bit rude there sad.gif

I dont want to start a war on dual channel and RAM speed but you can check out the testing I have done and posted in the first thread. This thread is about CQ40-125AX and not other AMD or Intel systems. I have personally tried all those RAM config in posted in that table and benchmarked 3 times and took the best scores. U can see that a single 2GB DDR2 800 is faster than 2 sticks of 1GB DDR2 667. Of course two sticks of 1GB DDR 667 is faster than single stick of DDR 667 and two sticks of DDR2 800 is faster than a single DDR2 800.

AMD and Intel NB/MCH behaves differently. Intel doesnt have integrated memory controller so dual channel is important where else AMD doesnt rely on dual channel bandwith much. Of course you can't compare by using mathematically. I suggest you do some research before quoting others. I'm not saying that your facts are wrong but please do more research before saying others are wrong. And if you don't trust my benchmark results, you can always get this model, and try all all the RAM config smile.gif

CQ40 DDR2 667 vs DDR2 800

Btw RAM used are ;
1GB sticks : Mushkin Value DDR2 667 1GB CL5
2GB sticks : Transcend Value DDR2 800 CL5

Both are JEDEC standard which runs at default speed at CL5. I dont think DDR2 800 CL6 exists and DDR2 667 CL4 is not JEDEC standard so even if you can get it will be expensive(Kingston HyperX line).

And another thing, latency is higher on lower speed RAM. Higher speed = lower latency = faster. Please check your facts before posting smile.gif

This post has been edited by shady: Nov 29 2008, 12:22 PM
cracksys
post Nov 29 2008, 12:46 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

^ sweat.gif

higher speed + lower latency = expensive model = faster, it is not higher speed = low latency = all model = faster. straighten that up or understand what it latency first before pointing my wrong.

i am merely correcting your general statement about dual channel but in no way, i disputed your benchmark results. no need to be so defensive.

This post has been edited by cracksys: Nov 29 2008, 12:47 PM
wingster
post Nov 29 2008, 01:07 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

Guys today I go search for the CQ-40 126AX ..... they said it already replace the new version CQ-40-134AX and is it the same as the CQ-40 126/125AX but the processor is AMD Turion X2 Dual Core RM-72 and 320G HDD ..... also power supply changed into 90V

anyone have this lappie can tell me the heat of the laptop and is it stable when using 2GB 800Mhz RAM x2 ?
TSshady
post Nov 29 2008, 01:09 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Nov 29 2008, 12:46 PM)
^  sweat.gif

higher speed + lower latency = expensive model = faster, it is not higher speed = low latency = all model = faster. straighten that up or understand what it latency first before pointing my wrong.

i am merely correcting your general statement about dual channel but in no way, i disputed your benchmark results. no need to be so defensive.
well that is fine for for me. if you have this model and able too test out different RAM config, I'm happy to compare my results with others. im not defensive, just voicing out my opinions because I have tested them. i notice that you are selling CPU and RAM. as a seller of course i want to sell two sticks of ram rather than one stick even the single stick is faster. no offence in this tongue.gif

btw, just to prove that single/dual channel doesnt differ much, pls refer to this link.

Tom's Hardware

But back to RAM and hard drives. As expected, the performance difference between single channel and dual channel DDR2-800 memory using an up-to-date Core 2 Duo system Compare Prices on Core 2 Duo Processors is little to nil, depending on the benchmark - most tests show differences, but they are really small. For games and enthusiast PCs, we recommend sticking to high-performance dual channel RAM, because the memory is one of those components that you want to perform best for a smooth experience. For regular applications, though, it doesn’t really matter much whether you run single or dual channel. Two 1 GB DIMMs typically are cheaper than a single 2 GB module, but a single DIMM will reduce your power consumption by several watts (which might just be more interesting than it is important).

Anyway the slowest component in this system is still the HDD and upgrading to a 7200rpm is better than getting DDR2 800 RAM.

Added on November 29, 2008, 1:16 pm
QUOTE(wingster @ Nov 29 2008, 01:07 PM)
Guys today I go search for the CQ-40 126AX ..... they said it already replace the new version CQ-40-134AX and is it the same as the CQ-40 126/125AX but the processor is AMD Turion X2 Dual Core RM-72 and 320G HDD ..... also power supply changed into 90V

anyone have this lappie can tell me the heat of the laptop and is it stable when using 2GB 800Mhz RAM x2 ?
Just checked out at HP Online Store. Indeed you are correct, extra 100mhz and 70GB space. Price remains the same. The original power brick for 125AX is also 90W. A bit heavy tongue.gif

So future buyers out there i suggest you to wait for 133/134AX !

This post has been edited by shady: Nov 29 2008, 01:16 PM
wingster
post Nov 29 2008, 01:29 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(shady @ Nov 29 2008, 02:09 PM)
well that is fine for for me. if you have this model and able too test out different RAM config, I'm happy to compare my results with others. im not defensive, just voicing out my opinions because I have tested them. i notice that you are selling CPU and RAM. as a seller of course i want to sell two sticks of ram rather than one stick even the single stick is faster. no offence in this tongue.gif

btw, just to prove that single/dual channel doesnt differ much, pls refer to this link.

Tom's Hardware
Anyway the slowest component in this system is still the HDD and upgrading to a 7200rpm is better than getting DDR2 800 RAM.

Added on November 29, 2008, 1:16 pm

Just checked out at HP Online Store. Indeed you are correct, extra 100mhz and 70GB space. Price remains the same. The original power brick for 125AX is also 90W. A bit heavy  tongue.gif

So future buyers out there i suggest you to wait for 133/134AX !
Just buyed CQ40-134AX XD at lowyat with 4GB 800Mhz Ram XD...... Price RM 2319

Tested for 2GB RAM 800Mhz x2 quite good and 320GB HDD XD so nice just the lappie quite hot =_=

This post has been edited by wingster: Nov 29 2008, 01:35 PM
cracksys
post Nov 29 2008, 01:40 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(wingster @ Nov 29 2008, 01:29 PM)

Tested for 2GB RAM 800Mhz x2 quite good and 320GB HDD XD so nice just the lappie quite hot =_=

damn it. i knew i should wait just a lil bit longer.

get yourself a decent laptop cooler, you'll be fine. max i hit in a non-cond room is 68c [hd3450]
Spade
post Nov 29 2008, 01:50 PM

Myth Buster!!!
1,495 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Nov 29 2008, 05:37 AM)
you seriously need to re-read my post.

i said ..

almost all of the newer intel processor [core 2 duo, dual core, quad core] able to fully utilized DDR2 800mhz thanks to their higher FSB [starting from 800mhz] , so UMC factor doesn't fit in [UMC gain an upper hand only when K8 vs Netburst] (unless you're talking about Pentium D[which suck. i add this line so that no fag come in and said "Pentium D also quite new what!"]).

eekk.. duh!
I understand bro. But I think you need to re-read my earlier post.

With AMD I believe it is the Processor (UMC) that is the most important determinant factor on whether or not you can fully utilise the 800MHz RAM.

wingster
post Nov 29 2008, 01:52 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

guys need help which software can detect the temperature of the lappie?

Spade
post Nov 29 2008, 01:52 PM

Myth Buster!!!
1,495 posts

QUOTE(wingster @ Nov 29 2008, 01:52 PM)
guys need help which software can detect the temperature of the lappie?
Its CPUID Hardware Monitor.
cracksys
post Nov 29 2008, 02:36 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(Spade @ Nov 29 2008, 01:50 PM)
With AMD I believe it is the Processor (UMC) that is the most important determinant factor on whether or not you can fully utilise the 800MHz RAM.[/b]

i'm sorry but i can't help myself from replying.

UMC is NOT the most important determinant factor on whether or not you can fully utilise the 800MHz RAM, it is the memory bus. this will be only absolutely true if we're talking about K8-netburst era. right now, as every platform in the market with HT2.0-3.0 ready and intel following AMD step integrating memory controlled into the processor, that statement is outdated.

i didn't really want to argue to this extend. i just wanted to correct the statement of ..

DDR2 800 will be better for the AMD

.. which was initially quoted by antonio.

This post has been edited by cracksys: Nov 29 2008, 02:37 PM
cracksys
post Nov 29 2008, 02:39 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

^ Everest 4.6
Spade
post Nov 29 2008, 03:03 PM

Myth Buster!!!
1,495 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Nov 29 2008, 02:36 PM)
i'm sorry but i can't help myself from replying.

UMC is NOT the most important determinant factor on whether or not you can fully utilise the 800MHz RAM, it is the memory bus. this will be only absolutely true if we're talking about K8-netburst era. right now, as every platform in the market with HT2.0-3.0 ready and intel following AMD step integrating memory controlled into the processor, that statement is outdated.

i didn't really want to argue to this extend. i just wanted to correct the statement of ..
Bro. For AMD, memory frequency (in this case 800MHz) is independent from HT (the one that replace FSB) thingy. I thought you already know that.

Me too did'nt really want to argue to this extend over a 800MHz RAM but i just wanted to correct the statement. Just like you.

This post has been edited by Spade: Nov 29 2008, 03:05 PM
developer
post Nov 29 2008, 03:29 PM

285 posts

good to have pro in here to clear things up. haha
FrozenRay
post Nov 29 2008, 04:04 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(wingster @ Nov 29 2008, 01:29 PM)

Arr....
I should wait one or two more week.....
So fast the new modal come out de cry.gif
cracksys
post Nov 29 2008, 04:39 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(Spade @ Nov 29 2008, 03:03 PM)
Bro. For AMD, memory frequency (in this case 800MHz) is independent from HT (the one that replace FSB) thingy. I thought you already know that.

Me too did'nt really want to argue to this extend over a 800MHz RAM but i just wanted to correct the statement. Just like you.

doh.gif

HT is still limiting your running memory frequency, even though you probably won't reach that limit because HT2.0 bus were able to support up to 2000mhz. unless you're running a freaking 2000mhz ddr2

pardon me, i knew about HT replacing FSB but you clearly didn't understand what both really are.
daymond85
post Nov 29 2008, 04:48 PM

333 posts

CQ40-134AX is it same price with 125ax?

when it will be out?

141 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.2758sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:56 PM