i do notice when you push the wifi/bluetooth button on the laptop, both will activate, anyone know if i only want any of it to be activate but not both at the same time.
Compaq Presario CQ40 AMD Series V1, Turion X2, HD 3450, RM2k!
Oct 14 2008, 01:02 PM
124 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i do notice when you push the wifi/bluetooth button on the laptop, both will activate, anyone know if i only want any of it to be activate but not both at the same time.
Oct 14 2008, 02:30 PM
most probably the same, but can get cheaper.
Oct 14 2008, 02:42 PM
i've upgraded to 4GB 800mhz, but i found out it should be up to 8GB max.
http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/my/en/ho/WF...18-3752105.html |
Oct 14 2008, 03:23 PM
2 slot
Oct 14 2008, 03:26 PM
i'm using kingston value 2x2GB 800Mhz
Oct 14 2008, 04:07 PM
to get 8GB need 2x4GB la, anyway 4 GB should be enough to use.
Oct 15 2008, 02:03 PM
found a website for the review with benchmark of this notebook, for those who want to know the performance of this notebook can see see. but only in chinese, maybe can use google to translate.
http://www.zdnet.com.tw/review/notebook/0,...20060095,00.htm Added on October 15, 2008, 2:05 pmya, this notebook got softstylus like writing pad, but have to go find the software. tonight will try out how This post has been edited by Vernon: Oct 15 2008, 02:05 PM |
Oct 16 2008, 02:55 PM
anyone know where to get the softstylus software?? i can't find in the internet. or someone can try install the software on this notebook and try see if it works.
about the hybrid crossfire, i can't any info also. i think we will need the official bios to enable this function, if they dun want to enable this function, i think its not worth. cos since we got the hardware but we are not able to fully utilizes all the function this notebook able to, its a waste..... |
Oct 16 2008, 11:27 PM
i dun mind the power consuming that much cos if i'm at home i'll plug the AC power. if at outside i dun think i have the mood to play game.
and compaq should let us have the setting to enable or disable it, just like desktop bios, the bios is too little setting other than only the boot sequence.... |
Oct 17 2008, 04:04 PM
just received my new notebook that exchange with them. the bios ver is F.22 but still theres no option/setting for graphic card...
Oct 17 2008, 04:33 PM
ya, just "hope"....
can we change the graphic card ar? is it using MXM socket? |
Oct 24 2008, 10:17 AM
this laptop is indeed really hot....
i think theres the 2 cons for this lappy... and with that price dun expect too much anything can be sort out, like me, the laptop hot, jack up your laptop, batt life short, use AC power whenever there has a plug, the batt is like a backup power for me. if use batt frequent, then buy a bigger cap when there is any in the market or buy an extra batt, but the price is..... overall the laptop serves me superb. Pros: with RM20xx, you can't find a new laptop with Griffin 2Ghz proc, 250Gb Hdd, a lightscribe dvd-rom writer, of course a dedicated class3 256Mb graphic card ATI HD3450, BT & wifi somemore, 3 USB port, even a HDMI port it's already enough for daily usage such as, movie, surfing, chatting, and games... of course not in high detail but all are playable. if wanna get full high details then you have to pay more, "1 sen 1 goods" The Cons: As all know, this lappy is hot!! batt life is short. average 1 hour and 30 minits for balance power setting in vista. driver for win xp is hard to find but not in vista. overall, the price/performance is really worth. for ppl that has low budget like me and a bit gaming. if want a really good performance laptop, the price would not be that little. or better go for desktop thats all, try yourself in any store. research as much as you can from any source like internet or friends. you have to know a laptop is not cheap and can't comparable with a desktop no matter performance of flexible, desktop, you can change any of the hardware you like but a laptop is limited. think twice before decide to buy a laptop. |
Oct 24 2008, 05:44 PM
ya, what i mean the hot is when the laptop is heavy usage like play games.
hmm... i will try download the driver see see. |
Oct 25 2008, 12:04 AM
anyone found the softstylus software? can share?
Dec 7 2008, 02:11 PM
wah, so long didn't came here and the pages is 50 something liao ar??
the price of the cq40 is dropping fast man...... and i notice a lot of ppl didn't read tru the 1st page..... asking the same questions..... again and again..... for now the tech is so fast and great, any laptop with 2Ghz and 2 GB ram will do anything for u, like documents, movies, games(depend on the graphic also), presentations, surfing nets, programming, encoding, decoding. the matter is about money..... got budget get Intel proc, cos they really great in this field. low budget like me Intel proc really faster than AMD when both are same speed GHz. do google for comparison...... google..... things that dunno read more and google. just dun repeat the things again and again, that double works..... the hard disk can always change if u like or wanna upgrade, be sure its SATA or IDE, the ram is 2 slot for a lot of laptops. but i dunno read from where that this laptop with rs780 chipset can support till 8GB ram. should be the white paper of this laptop... forgot. so 4 GB is not a problem for this laptop, i myself are using 4GB of rams. honestly cq40 is really a hot lappy, mine when gaming will probably go to 100++celcius, when playing nfs undercover. other game is around 90++celcius. somemore in aircon room.... games that can play on this lappy: Counter Strike Warcraft 3, this included DOTA...... :Mid settings COD4: low settings NFS MW: low settings NFS Undercover: low settings Bioshock: low settings But dun expect to set the settings to max... why not choose nvdia graphic card?? cos their graphic card cannot tahan high tempreture, why? cos their soldering on the board got problems. there already a lot of news about this incident. do google. Added on December 7, 2008, 2:13 pm QUOTE(K for Ketamine @ Dec 7 2008, 01:59 PM) imo, reason why 3GB better than 4GB i'm curious why a lot of ppl say 64-bit OS no go???replace 1GB with 2x2GB, end of the day 32-bit OS won't fully recognize the 4GB. 64-bit OS no go for now. most of the time 32-bit can recognize 3.25-3.75GB "super tweak" base on desktop if top up RM120 for 2x2GB worth it. base on 2GB price RM80 at benchmark single vs dual channel show huge different, real-world "don't think i can notice the difference" pls correct me if i'm wrong i'm using it now, and its just same as 32-bit OS.... the software?? there is WOW64 for 32-bit software to use.... This post has been edited by Vernon: Dec 7 2008, 02:15 PM |
Dec 8 2008, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(daymond85 @ Dec 8 2008, 11:13 AM) where can i find the vista sp1 64 bit driver for cq40-126au? i think its ok for vista sp1 64bit, anyway i'm using it too and doesn't have any problemofficial HP driver website from hp website, it din show the GPU driver... the driver there seem fewer than 125/133ax .... why? mobility modder support ati 3200 in 126au? vista 32 bit and 64 bit driver will be the same? download from the ATI website and mod it using mobility modder. the graphic driver, yes, u can use the modder in 64bit oh ya, anyone notice after u on ur wifi/bluetooth in the device manager will appeared 3 bluetooth peripheral device what is that and what is the driver? this problem only appeared when i on my wifi/bluetooth |
Dec 8 2008, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(daymond85 @ Dec 8 2008, 04:57 PM) what model of lappy u r using? mine model is cq40-125axcan u explain wat is the function of mobility modder? i found ATI Catalyst™ 8.11 Display Driver for Windows Vista (64 bit) - Motherboard/IGP Drivers in ATI website, so which one is better? sorry for helps http://www.driverheaven.net/modtool.php this is the software to moddify the ati graphic card driver to use on notebook. cos ati no more provide mobile graphic driver. just dl the normal 64-bit graphic card driver and then use the modder to modify just follow the instruction. |
Dec 9 2008, 12:29 AM
QUOTE(daymond85 @ Dec 8 2008, 10:43 PM) discrete card isit the same integrated card? becoz mine one will be ati3200 x86 means for 32-bit OS, x64 and ia64 means for 64-bit OS. depends on what ur OS is.for Microsoft Core XML Services (MSXML) 6.0 Service Pack 1, which one should i dl? msxml6_ia64.msi msxml6_x64.msi msxml6_x86.msi |
Dec 13 2008, 01:05 PM
QUOTE(willkhor @ Dec 13 2008, 09:53 AM) hi guys try to install latest directx9.i get this error when trying to start Call of Duty : World at Wat Anyone can help? ----- Initializing Renderer ---- execing ragdoll.cfg from disk ----- Client Initialization ----- ----- Client Initialization Complete ----- Trying SMP acceleration... ...succeeded. ----- R_Init ----- Getting Direct3D 9 interface... Pixel shader version is 3.0 Vertex shader version is 3.0 Shader model 2.0 code path is available. Shader model 3.0 code path is available. Using Shader model 3.0 code path because it is the best available path on this hardware. Attempting 1024 x 768 fullscreen with 32 bpp at 60 hz Game window successfully created. Using 4x anti-aliasing Creating Direct3D device... Com_TouchMemory: 0 msec. Using sum: 0 Loading fastfile code_post_gfx Loading fastfile ui Loading fastfile common Initializing render targets... Requested frame buffer to be 24-bit color with 8-bit alpha DirectX returned a frame buffer that is 24-bit color with 8-bit alpha Initializing static model cache... Initializing dynamic buffers... Initializing particle cloud buffer... Creating Direct3D queries... Loading fastfile 'code_post_gfx' used 1.13 MB memory in DB alloc Setting initial state... DirectX reports 256 MB of video memory and 1458 MB of available texture memory. Using video memory size to cap used texture memory at 240 MB. Texture detail is set automatically. Using picmip 0 on most textures, 1 on normal maps, and 1 on specular maps Waited 301 msec for asset '$white' of type 'image'. Waited 37 msec for asset '$additive' of type 'material'. Waited 242 msec for asset 'shadowcaster' of type 'material'. Waited 13 msec for asset 'shadowoverlay' of type 'material'. Waited 10 msec for asset 'stencilshadow' of type 'material'. Waited 154 msec for asset 'cinematic' of type 'material'. Error: Could not load material "water_droplet". Error: Could not load material "water_dynamic_spray". Com_TouchMemory: 0 msec. Using sum: 0 ------- sound system initialization ------- Loading fastfile 'ui' used 39.48 MB memory in DB alloc Error during initialization: Unhandled exception caught Com_TouchMemory: 0 msec. Using sum: 0 |
Dec 19 2008, 09:51 PM
for those who have issue with the IDT sound problem, don't ever update the IDT HD Codec driver from microsoft updates.....
those have updated just rollback the driver. that will fix the no sound issue. |
| Change to: | 0.0395sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:11 AM |