141 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Compaq Presario CQ40 AMD Series V1, Turion X2, HD 3450, RM2k!

K for Ketamine
post Dec 6 2008, 11:17 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Dec 6 2008, 11:08 AM)
I am sure the 115AU has 2 sodimm slots.

can anyone confirm "CQ40-115AU" having 2 so-dimm slot or support 4GB (2x 2GB)

myself are interested this unit, set back 2GB max according to spec

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Sep 9 2008, 12:19 PM)
Compaq Presario CQ40-115AU Notebook PC
FreeDOS; AMD Turion™ X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor RM-70 (2.0 GHz, 1MB L2 Cache); 1024MB 667MHz / max to 2GB DDR2 Memory (1024 x 1 pcs); 14.1" TFT WXGA high definition widescreen LCD panel with brightview technology; 160GB HDD; DVD +/- RW Double Layer Drive; 802.11b/g; High speed 56K; Integrated 10Mbps, 100Mbps; Ports include USB 2.0 (3), VGA, HDMI, RJ-11, RJ-45, 1 headphone, 1 microphone jack, Compaq Webcam with integrated microphone; 5-in-1 intergrated digital media reader slot; ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics; Free Nylon Carrying Case; One year International Limited Warranty (parts/labor/carry-in)
cannavaro
post Dec 6 2008, 11:23 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

If you notice on HP's site many of the CQ40s are stated as having MAX 2GB memory, including 125/26/33/34AX. Contrary to their specifications, many of us here are using 4GB with no limitations. Well, except for those on x86.
Spade
post Dec 6 2008, 12:05 PM

Myth Buster!!!
1,495 posts

QUOTE(daymond85 @ Dec 6 2008, 11:01 AM)
spade, 126au using RM-72 but 126ax using RM-70

u found temp of lappy using 3200?
Not yet bro. No one respond yet.

However I still believe 3200 are going to produce less amount of heat.

How about you bro? Any news on the temp?

Added on December 6, 2008, 12:06 pm
QUOTE(luotang @ Dec 6 2008, 11:17 AM)
so is 1 or 2 slot? i saw in the spec that max is 2GB, mean 1 slot?

i found that CQ45-107AU contains all I want.(2GB 800, 320GB,bluetooth, wireless a/g/n, HD3200,that is all I want)
But the price differ much from CQ40-115AU,is 2259 from pc fair price.

any suggestion?
Its 2 slots.

My personal advice is go for AMD based if you can.

Added on December 6, 2008, 12:07 pm
QUOTE(cannavaro @ Dec 6 2008, 11:23 AM)
If you notice on HP's site many of the CQ40s are stated as having MAX 2GB memory, including 125/26/33/34AX. Contrary to their specifications, many of us here are using 4GB with no limitations. Well, except for those on x86.
You are absolutely right bro.

This post has been edited by Spade: Dec 6 2008, 12:07 PM
luotang
post Dec 6 2008, 12:21 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(Spade @ Dec 6 2008, 12:05 PM)
Not yet bro. No one respond yet.

However I still believe 3200 are going to produce less amount of heat.

How about you bro? Any news on the temp?

Added on December 6, 2008, 12:06 pm
Its 2 slots.

My personal advice is go for AMD based if you can.

Added on December 6, 2008, 12:07 pm
You are absolutely right bro.
CQ45-107AU is also AMD based. and it suis me very well
however the price is not suitable to me sad.gif
TSshady
post Dec 6 2008, 12:28 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

HD 3200 is intergrated in the AMD M780G northbridge. Both 115AU and 125AX have the same northbridge. That means 125/126/133/134 have HD 3200 in the northbridge but disabled. Only HP knows why they are disabled. With extra discrete HD 3450, obviously this model would produce much more heat, higher power consumption and of course less battery life.

For C40 series, I dont think any Intel model comes with discrete graphics. Some CQ45 comes with 9200M GS and I would definately choose Intel over AMD. Intel Pent Dual Core and Core 2 Duo is much faster than AMD Turion/Ultra and consumes less power. You will definately get longer battery life with Intel notebook. Mine barely pass 1 hr and 2 hr seems impossible.
K for Ketamine
post Dec 6 2008, 06:23 PM

1,188 posts

that great.
luotang
post Dec 6 2008, 06:37 PM

349 posts

just now i went to pc fair to ask for memory support on CQ40-115AU
the person told me that it does have 2 slots, but it can only support max of 2GB?
he told me even if you put 3GB/4GB, it will only run at 2GB?
is that correct?
indiedrotz
post Dec 6 2008, 06:37 PM

jez bought 133ax at pc fair.. 1949 + 50 (add 1gb ram ) = 1999

got annoying sound "tekk" like meletup one from speaker..
how ah to solve dat probs? upgrading driver ??
sachinvasudev
post Dec 6 2008, 08:31 PM

56 posts

is the hp shop opposite lowyat still offering free backpack?
TSshady
post Dec 6 2008, 08:33 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(luotang @ Dec 6 2008, 06:37 PM)
just now i went to pc fair to ask for memory support on CQ40-115AU
the person told me that it does have 2 slots, but it can only support max of 2GB?
he told me even if you put 3GB/4GB, it will only run at 2GB?
is that correct?
Max is 4GB. 2 sticks of 2GB DDR2 800. Under 32bit OS only 3GB can be utilized. That is official specs for AMD 780G chipset inside the notebook.

QUOTE(indiedrotz @ Dec 6 2008, 06:37 PM)
jez bought 133ax at pc fair.. 1949 + 50 (add 1gb ram ) = 1999

got annoying sound "tekk" like meletup one from speaker..
how ah to solve dat probs? upgrading driver ??
Did you install IDT sound driver?

luotang
post Dec 6 2008, 08:39 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(shady @ Dec 6 2008, 08:33 PM)
Max is 4GB. 2 sticks of 2GB DDR2 800. Under 32bit OS only 3GB can be utilized. That is official specs for AMD 780G chipset inside the notebook.
Did you install IDT sound driver?
this means that i can add 2GB for CQ40-115AU to become 3GB?
it will support?
what the person told me is not correct?
TSshady
post Dec 6 2008, 08:43 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(luotang @ Dec 6 2008, 08:39 PM)
this means that i can add 2GB for CQ40-115AU to become 3GB?
it will support?
what the person told me is not correct?
Yes. The notebook comes with 1GB DDR2 667. If you add a 2GB DDR2 800 stick, it will run at DDR2 677 with total of 3GB RAM.
avantgardeo
post Dec 6 2008, 09:00 PM

188 posts

...many of us here are using 4GB with no limitations. Well, except for those on x86.

Do you mean except for those running 32 bit Windows? Or what? Sorry I'm kind of confused.

I'm actually interested in the PDC version of the CQ40 as I'm looking for a budget laptop with better battery life, but the "max 2GB ram" spec on the HP site is bothering me as well.

This post has been edited by avantgardeo: Dec 6 2008, 09:03 PM
luotang
post Dec 6 2008, 09:04 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(shady @ Dec 6 2008, 08:43 PM)
Yes. The notebook comes with 1GB DDR2 667. If you add a 2GB DDR2 800 stick, it will run at DDR2 677 with total of 3GB RAM.
thank you very much
because the website state that max 2GB, i am so worry if it cannot run 3GB, wasting my money
i think i will take this model
any thing need to care about?
how to differentiate between a new and a refurbish notebook?
how about the battery? anything to care about that when buying a notebook

This post has been edited by luotang: Dec 6 2008, 09:04 PM
Breaktru
post Dec 6 2008, 09:11 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Anyone had the problem of their caps lock and scroll LED flashing ?

It worked and boot to windows fine , but both of the LED keep blinking.

This post has been edited by Breaktru: Dec 6 2008, 09:21 PM
developer
post Dec 6 2008, 09:19 PM

285 posts

remove ur battery, then press the power button for 30 second, then plug in the adaptor without the battery and turn it on, remove any cd in the cdrom or pendrive
Spade
post Dec 6 2008, 09:24 PM

Myth Buster!!!
1,495 posts

QUOTE(sachinvasudev @ Dec 6 2008, 08:31 PM)
is the hp shop opposite lowyat still offering free backpack?
Got HP shop opposite lowyat meh? Care to share info?

Added on December 6, 2008, 9:26 pm
QUOTE(shady @ Dec 6 2008, 08:43 PM)
The issue is can the system run on dual-channel with 1GB + 2GB stick? Last time I check only laINTELa system can do that. Any info would be much appreciated.

This post has been edited by Spade: Dec 6 2008, 09:26 PM
Breaktru
post Dec 6 2008, 09:36 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Still doesn't go away. When I boot it after the 30 secs , it says checksum error so I press the load default value .

developer
post Dec 6 2008, 09:45 PM

285 posts

isit ok now ?

Added on December 6, 2008, 9:46 pmanyone install windows xp in this laptop? do you feel slow when booting in windows?

This post has been edited by developer: Dec 6 2008, 09:46 PM
Spade
post Dec 6 2008, 09:51 PM

Myth Buster!!!
1,495 posts

QUOTE(luotang @ Dec 6 2008, 09:04 PM)
thank you very much
because the website state that max 2GB, i am so worry if it cannot run 3GB, wasting my money
i think i will take this model
any thing need to care about?
how to differentiate between a new and a refurbish notebook?
how about the battery? anything to care about that when buying a notebook
Good question!!

Anyone have definitive way to determine that?

141 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:30 PM