HTC Touch Pro LYN's Official Thread, join our community now !

kimganner
post Nov 15 2008, 02:13 AM

149 posts

just got my 1st WinMo smartphone/PDA & it's the Touch Pro, of course. smile.gif

but i've got a problem right now. i don't have Outlook on my home PC & all my contacts are on Thunderbird's Address Book. is there any way i can sync my address book to the phone & also the Lightning calendar with the Touch Pro's calendar? & how do i know if the Touch Pro's calendar is Pocket Outlook or not? or is this a proprietary HTC calendar?

so many n00b questions...heh (paiseh)
kimganner
post Nov 15 2008, 03:42 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Nov 15 2008, 10:02 AM)
I can answer the calendar, yes its outlook. lol
it is? hmmm...cos i'm trying out BirdieSync to do the sync & it asks me to make sure I have Pocket Outlook installed on my phone. blurzzz already.
UPDATE : ok...solved itself already. weird. haizzz

so nobody else itchy finger like me & use Thunderbird/Lightning for my contacts & calendar? heh blush.gif

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Nov 15 2008, 10:13 AM)
congrats and welcome here girl! [ being the 1st female TP user ] rclxms.gif

to solve your issue use THIS software.....

@Baronic - go away, go away.....dun 'disturb' her....let me handle all her issue...LOLĀ  tongue.gif
oh...seriously? i'm the 1st & only female TP user here? LOL cool2.gif

QUOTE(lordsharingan @ Nov 15 2008, 01:17 PM)
wanna ask something . is the touch pro screen like the iphone screen or like normal pda screen? tapping on iphone screen is like tapping on glass. how does the tp tap feels like?
well i have an iPod touch which i use daily for months already (it's a great PDA esp now with the App Store). the Touch Pro & iPod touch will both feel like tapping on glass. but responsiveness will be different cos they apparently use different types of screens. i generally find the iPod touch more responsive to finger swipes & tapping. the Touch Pro is also responsive, but should stick more to using fingernail or stylus, especially once you're no longer on the TouchFLO 3D UI...cos i feel that that's the only thing that makes the Touch Pro more finger friendly right now.

This post has been edited by kimganner: Nov 15 2008, 03:55 PM
kimganner
post Nov 15 2008, 04:56 PM

149 posts

solved already...somehow. not sure why, but earlier BirdieSync initially insisted that my phone didn't have Outlook. anywayz, it's now syncing smoothly. biggrin.gif
kimganner
post Nov 16 2008, 01:43 AM

149 posts

thanks for the invite to the TT session guys, but i can't make it cos i'm actually in S'pore...maybe next time, if coincide with my infrequent visits home to KL. smile.gif

btw, what's the ideal resolution for wallpaper images for this phone?
kimganner
post Nov 16 2008, 06:14 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(gavind87 @ Nov 16 2008, 05:49 PM)
same here , but damn hard to press lah , always get the END CALL button instead of RIGHT and HOME key instead of LEFT . Frustrating when using Phone Keypad to sms
yeah...the d-pad buttons are kinda hard to press. i rather use the keyboard's arrow keys end of the day. much easier & nicer feel.
kimganner
post Nov 17 2008, 08:45 PM

149 posts

does anyone have ScummVM on their Touch Pro? then again, should start with : which version am i even supposed to d/l from the ScummVM website? blurzzz liao...againzzz. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kimganner: Nov 17 2008, 08:45 PM
kimganner
post Nov 19 2008, 03:49 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Nov 18 2008, 09:15 PM)
you should download the Windows CE ARM package one....
oh, ok....will try later this week when i'm free. smile.gif

now i got another question.........i've disabled T9 & word completion (as far as i can tell), but when i'm typing stuff on MMS/SMS, there's this annoying bar that appears & tries to complete whatever i've been typing. which is annoying as hell lah. how do i get rid of it once & for all?
kimganner
post Nov 23 2008, 11:29 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Nov 19 2008, 05:25 PM)
Start > settings > Today tab, Input.

Switch off word suggestion
ok, i tried doing this. everything under input & the T9 settings are unchecked. that line is still appearing when i type stuff. sad.gif
kimganner
post Nov 28 2008, 05:25 PM

149 posts

or make sure all your contacts are copied from the Nokia to the SIM card also. then copy from SIM card to your Touch Pro.

but MS Outlook is the easier way to go...if you've been dilligently keeping your contacts up-to-date & filled with details too.

btw, anyone using Viimo? or rather, anyone using RSS readers (i.e. free ones) on the Touch Pro? any recommendations?

Viigo seems fine so far. tho the one i'm using is a beta of their latest software version. there are 2 bugs(?) i noticed that i always kena :

1) i tend to keep my Data Connections closed/disconnected most times. when i launch Viigo, it tries to update the news feeds. but before anything can happen, for some reason, Viigo closes by itself. blink.gif

2) i'm not 100% sure on this yet, cos only been using it a couple of days at most. but i think it doesn't really keep track of what/how many newsfeeds i've read & haven't read. it kinda seems like it's actually just reloading all the newsfeeds onto the channels i've got.

This post has been edited by kimganner: Nov 28 2008, 11:18 PM
kimganner
post Nov 30 2008, 08:14 PM

149 posts

me too...never use GPS before. GPS uber n00b.

i got MapKing 2007 on 3-day trial right now. but i find that the GPS is forever not able to pinpoint my current location. e.g. i stay in Tampines...but the daym thing kept showing my location as somewhere in Orchard Rd pulak. blink.gif

when i go to GPS Status, it shows "Acquiring: No Fix" & there's a green circle with a "?" icon on the GPS Position tab.

then yesterday i tried Google Maps & clicked on "Use GPS", Google Maps was able to pinpoint My Location fairly accurately. went into MapKing 2007 again & this time the GPS showed the right location (i.e. there was way more info on the GPS Status & GPS Position tabs. what gives? icon_question.gif
kimganner
post Dec 1 2008, 12:47 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Nov 30 2008, 11:27 PM)
@kimgamer, u have to let GPS to finish acquiring a fix to show your real location.
ah, ok. then in that case, seems like Google Maps can fix faster cos of the A-GPS? while MapKing only use the built-in GPS (if i understand it right)?

tried again today, but this time i try d/l update for the Quick GPS before i went out. open MapKing when i was outdoors walking to bus stop, now it got a fix on my location really fast. tho i find it overall kinda slow in catching up to my location on-the-go. bus already turn, GPS haven't turn yet. tongue.gif
kimganner
post Dec 2 2008, 12:17 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(Chosen1 @ Dec 1 2008, 11:24 PM)
Hi all... have been using the TP for a few weeks now. Really getting to like it alot... one of my only gripes... is it just my phone, or is the reception for TP not as good as a normal mobile phone? ESP with MAXIS... wow.... some places other ppl got 3 to full bar mine is one. can be really bad at times...
yeah, mine also like not very good reception. dunno if it's a hardware thing or can still be tweaked. tho it's not very bad until cannot tahan lah...
kimganner
post Dec 11 2008, 01:06 PM

149 posts

my Touch Pro's using the Martin Fields screen protector...so far so good. used the same brand for my W910i last time also.

only thing the Martin Fields doesn't protect from is something sharp piercing thru it (expected lah)...which is what happened on my W910i, i.e. heart pain - cos gotta replace. no way to reuse that one. tongue.gif
kimganner
post Dec 18 2008, 06:30 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Dec 18 2008, 11:33 AM)
just a little 'secret' to share with you guys about difficulties to lock on the satellite [ mapking / garmin ]

1. please update the quickGPS data frequently [ don't let it expired ] - update it thru free wifi if you don't want a huge telco data bill......
2. enable it using Advanced Config Tool. why? Because quickGPS IS NOT enable by default in the rom !

note : i have no issue so far even for these few days in Klang Valley.....
ermmm...so supposed to enable A-GPS? cos the instructions on the link @ http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=427888 posted by sam_x says "1. disable A-GPS" rclxub.gif

btw, any way to make th Calculator look/fit with the overall Touch Pro black look?
kimganner
post Dec 19 2008, 12:41 AM

149 posts

anyone using the Jabra BT3030 with this phone? i just got it & find that sound quality is good for music (still undecided on phone sound cos only had 2 calls when connected today & for 1 the volume was way too soft while for another 1 it was ok).

but my problem is that the play/pause button doesn't seem to work on the TouchFlo Player & the next/previous buttons seem a bit unresponsive. or am i just pressing the buttons the wrong way?
kimganner
post Dec 19 2008, 05:07 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(RME-RAnger @ Dec 19 2008, 09:12 AM)
then u use windows media player, im usually use that to enjoy my music.. rclxms.gif
u using the BT3030 also? smile.gif

for some reason whenever i try to play a song on WMP, i get an error msg a few secs into the song saying not enough memory to complete the function. methinks i need to re-sync all my songs all over again. mad.gif

This post has been edited by kimganner: Dec 19 2008, 05:07 PM
kimganner
post Dec 20 2008, 02:23 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(darkcroation @ Dec 19 2008, 11:37 PM)
im using bt3030..it works well with the play n pause button..even the fast forward ..i think wen after u pair the device u neeed to thich the set as wireless headset n the other 1..
ah, ok....ermmm...how to do that?

now Day 2 using it, seems like Next/Previous buttons work. along with the Volume buttons. but Play/Pause button still no go.

@ Baronic: can do direct transfer? cool. didn't know that. so can just copy & paste stuff over (if i understood you right)?

This post has been edited by kimganner: Dec 20 2008, 02:24 PM
kimganner
post Dec 22 2008, 09:55 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Dec 20 2008, 09:48 PM)
yea, connect your touch pro as a disk drive, and transfer as u wud with a USB thumbdrive. using disk drive is faster than active sync.

oh, and i just realised that u're the saviour who gave me the links of the House MD song names! i still owe u a drink for that lolz
haha...no probs. now that i've got a PDA phone, you're the saviour instead. lol

will try your method later at home. btw, is it necessary that my songs be sorted in folders (artist) & subfolders (albums)?
find that system very troublesome, actually.
kimganner
post Dec 25 2008, 12:05 AM

149 posts

Merry X'mas everyone!!! biggrin.gif

oh....& i did the direct transfer thing for my music files. but now every single one of my music files show the same album art. getting sick of looking at David Cook's face already... doh.gif

This post has been edited by kimganner: Dec 25 2008, 12:05 AM
kimganner
post Jan 15 2009, 05:00 PM

149 posts

alamak...i tried installing a calculator skin (but didn't work) & now even after uninstalling, my stock calculator program doesn't work anymore.

can anyone advise how to get it back?

0.0646sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:47 AM