18 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

HTC Touch Pro LYN's Official Thread, join our community now !

TSold newspaper
post Oct 27 2008, 12:21 PM

if it ain't broke, don't fix it !
1,245 posts

QUOTE(psjjl @ Oct 27 2008, 08:21 AM)
Bro oldnewspaper,

any tips and tricks to solve this baby's battery drainage issue yet? please advice.
1. Disable 3G and change to GSM mode [only use it when necessary]

2. Disable the beam function [only use it when necessary]

3. DO NOT lock the phone by either pressing/hold the end key for >5 sec or thru the phone lock setting [this is the main culprit in TP]

4. use the auto adjust backlight mode [ in the battery setting ]

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSold newspaper
post Oct 27 2008, 02:37 PM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Oct 27 2008, 12:40 PM)
Why does locking the phone drain the battery ?
no idea why....could be the firmware bug [stock rom]...few user here tested it before and yes this feature does really drain the battery extremely fast.
TSold newspaper
post Oct 27 2008, 02:54 PM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(psjjl @ Oct 27 2008, 02:43 PM)
THANKS FOR THE ADVICE. Do you know about SaveBatteryHTC_Juno? Maybe i'll download this software to have a try.
you're welcome....thanks for the head up to try this for us! rclxms.gif please share with us your observation / feedback after probably 24/48 hours of trying this ya thumbup.gif

and for those who want to try out too....here's the cab file - HERE !

or tweak the registry manually [ same registry value as the cab above ]

1. HKLM\Comm\AsyncMac1\Parms\DisablePowerManagement
Change Dword value from 1 (default) to 0

2. HKLMComm\Irsir1\Parms\DisablePowerManagement

3. HKLM\Comm\PPTP1\Parms\DisablePowerManagement

4. HKLM\Comm\L2TP1\Parms\DisablePowerManagement

icon_rolleyes.gif

note: try at your own risk....
TSold newspaper
post Oct 27 2008, 02:59 PM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(ultimacy @ Oct 27 2008, 02:42 PM)
Hi old newspaper,

May I know how fast is "fast"?
I'm using WM default autolock everyday.
No big concern so far.
here's my observation/test; [ no activity used at all during the test period ]

8.00am - 100% fully charge
2.00pm - battery shown approximately 70% ++

if without lock - the battery will still shown 100% ! [ at 2.00pm ]

TSold newspaper
post Oct 27 2008, 03:09 PM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Oct 27 2008, 03:05 PM)
Geez, using a WM device surely poses alot of challenge. Doesn't HTC improved their ROM from time to time and just release new ROM each time?
i agree with you...lol. just hoping HTC will release an TP firmware update real soon.....and this could be the reason why many don't stick to the stock rom but opt for those cooked rom... sweat.gif

QUOTE(psjjl @ Oct 27 2008, 03:06 PM)
the SaveBatteryHTC_Juno is just a very tiny software. 3K in a cab and will only take 2K when install in the RAM. No application icon in the program menu to start this software. Dont know whether it will work. Will tell the outcome 24 hours from now.
thank you, you're the man ! rclxms.gif
TSold newspaper
post Oct 27 2008, 03:40 PM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Oct 27 2008, 03:16 PM)
0_0 serious shet. i think more like your battery level never refresh la lol. i notice in TD sometimes the battery level indicator isnt accurate cuz doesnt refresh properly.

if u wanna test, u need to test the mah used with and without lock mode
i just test purely on observation basis, didn't check the mAh fluctuation.....lazy d....lol. anyway i'm using the VGA battery indicator by FInixNOver and it pretty accurate on the percentage of the battery level. without lock function, i am very happy with my battery life.....moderate phone call, wifi, light gaming can last for 2 1/2 day d!

QUOTE(psjjl @ Oct 27 2008, 03:30 PM)
u will find the percentage of the battery increase ( mine from 21% to 27% ) after installation. oh ya dont forget to restart your baby when it asked.
this is serious improvement....straight increase of battery level right after installation.....
TSold newspaper
post Oct 28 2008, 07:54 AM

1,245 posts

7.45am now and my TP still have 90% since fully charged yesterday morning at 8.00am. [ that's almost after 24 hours d ! thumbup.gif ]

usage : 12 phone calls, 6 smses, 10 min on wifi and 1 song played.
TSold newspaper
post Oct 28 2008, 08:01 AM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(New_kid @ Oct 28 2008, 12:41 AM)
Yay... Now i owned my first ever PDA and it's a HTC Touch PRO!!!
Lalala...
congrats and welcome to the club! rclxms.gif spent some time to read the first page and happy tweaking !

QUOTE(old man @ Oct 28 2008, 12:58 AM)
Bro, pls add me as the proud TP owner  icon_idea.gif .

Bought it on 21 Oct thru maxis deal. Part of the reason that encourages me to go for it was bcoz of this forum. Thanks for all the sharing and feedback  notworthy.gif . This is my 1st pda phone and still exploring it. Just managed to get the mapking working last nite, it was amazing  rclxm9.gif . Will definitely try those tweak as suggested later.
congrats and welcome to the club! rclxms.gif then HTC should be thankful to this forum....lol. give the garmin mobile XT a try then you'll be more happier! [you're the 60th user reported in ! rclxms.gif ]

This post has been edited by old newspaper: Oct 28 2008, 08:04 AM
TSold newspaper
post Oct 28 2008, 10:21 AM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(bearbearhong @ Oct 28 2008, 10:14 AM)
my battery averagely last almost 2 days, i need to charge end of 2nd day with batt life +-40%, less than 45 min phone calls, smsing, 5 min wifi, some files exploring.
mine is about the same, just slightly better [ without 3G network ]. this is consider very good d bro.....my record so far was 3 days with balance of 25% with this usage : 40 min calls, sms, 15 min wifi, 20min light gaming, 5 min of music.
TSold newspaper
post Oct 28 2008, 11:10 AM

1,245 posts

not sure about the lock does drain the battery cos i don't use any lock at all, not even the default one tongue.gif

@maxtek, robinlim - guys, i still remember when this thread was started, already few user complain about the battery charging problem, fast battery drain etc etc and they got it replaced by the dealer, so i wonder will those irresponsible dealer will just swap the batter and pass it on to the next unlucky buyer..... hmm.gif just my thought......

This post has been edited by old newspaper: Oct 28 2008, 11:11 AM
TSold newspaper
post Oct 28 2008, 06:02 PM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(old man @ Oct 28 2008, 11:26 AM)
Oh no... sad.gif

I am now having problem with my AC charger, it seems not charging when i plug it on. It was ok previously but now i have to charge it using the USB thru my laptop or car charger.

Sent an email to the sis customer care, now waiting for reply.

BTW, thanks Old Newspaper. I will definitely try the Garmin later.
bro, call SIS straight, don't email to them...sometimes it takes ages for them to reply to you......since your TP is quite new why not bring it back to your dealer to get it replace for you...

QUOTE(robinlim @ Oct 28 2008, 11:27 AM)
not sure bout that, but definitely there're those irresponsible dealers around gah hmm.gif
in fact my battery had been replaced once
it's much better than the first battery
but still couldn't match yours sweat.gif

btw old newspaper bro, did u set ur battery power to "Turn off device if not used for ? min"?
I didn't set that previously
I always set the sleep mode manually
but whenever there's a missed call or calender reminder while i was not around
it'll on wake up mode
wondering is this one of the reason hmm.gif

Added on October 28, 2008, 11:31 am

I've oredi dumped the HTC charger
i think something wrong with it
few times charged for the whole night couldn't get 100% doh.gif

now using normal mini USB charger
full charge within few hours biggrin.gif
yes, i did set the 'Turn off device if not used for....1 min' to be exact. it's the default setting.....

bro, how on earth can you survive without using the charger? hmm.gif why not get your replaced by SIS? with the original desktop charger, it usually takes less than an hour to get it fully charged.....

QUOTE(SFOD-D @ Oct 28 2008, 02:35 PM)
I dont care what XDA or others claims... my TP till now 2.30pm with a single charge 10.00am yerterday with calls, sms, you tube, soft reset, backup etc etc still got 40 percent juice left. For those who might have problems with battery probably due to tweaking??
we can't really compare our TP's battery life with those counterpart region....reason being was;
1. different cellular network
2. different firmware/ radio rom [ usually radio rom is the main culprit of this ]

my TP is heavily 'tweak' tongue.gif but i don't face any fast battery drain issue here...

This post has been edited by old newspaper: Oct 28 2008, 06:04 PM
TSold newspaper
post Oct 29 2008, 11:00 AM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(Saigo @ Oct 29 2008, 10:57 AM)
Ya, after sliding out the keyboard to change the screen horizontally, the pressing points like all whacked out.. if vertically still working fine. =S So you tested it with the horizontal screen right?
probably screen alignment issue.....maybe try to realign the screen again.
TSold newspaper
post Oct 29 2008, 11:19 AM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(lionking7791 @ Oct 29 2008, 12:57 AM)
Hi all,

I just get my TP on yesterday (28 Oct 2008) thru maxis hot phone deal !!! please add me into the list .... thx !
congrats and welcome bro! rclxms.gif don't worry, i'm quite efficient in terms of adding new user to the list...only miss once tongue.gif [ self praise......LOL ]

QUOTE(New_kid @ Oct 29 2008, 09:21 AM)
Actually i had a lil prob with my tp yesterday...
I charged my TP at bout 3.40 am, when i checked it at 6.30, it is still one bar away from full... Shouldn't it be full already?
I then restarted my TP using the on/off button on the top... Then my battery icon in the system tray is missing... I tap the system tray and it shows 4 icons including the battery icon and i then tap the battery icon... much to my surprise, my battery is full now... and when i exit it, my battery icon appears now in the system tray... BTW i'm using the original battery indicator...

Sorry again, i'm a newbie in tweaking, so can anyone give me some website which teaches step by step tweaking? I wanna try to use advance configuration tool v3.3 but not really sure how to do it... I don't even know how to install apps, games, ebooks and skyskape... And how to make some folders appear in the programs? Sorry for the multiple questions but i'm really new in the PDA thingy... hope to get some help here...

Thx in advance...
1. missing battery : try to set the clock always appear on all program.....thru the clock and alarm setting

2. accurate battery level indicator - try to use the FInixNOver VGA Battery Icon

3. installing application method;

there's 2 type of installer file extension for ppc, .exe and .cab file.

[.exe ] file - you need to sync the ppc with your computer first and execute the .exe file to install it, however there some .exe file where you need not to install, just copy the .exe file and run it straight from your ppc

[.cab ] file - just copy the file to your ppc and install it from ppc itself.

if in any case you can't run the installer after trying both method, pls check the .NET framework that you have, always update to the newest one cos some application does require the newer one

4. tweaking - try to use the Advance Config Tools 3.3 first if your new in tweaking, don't tweak thru registry editor first [ we will guide you later on this ]

all the necessary files/application is all listed in the first page....and please read the description of it first. you don't have to install all if your TP don't have such issue.....

we have many sifus here to help you out, don't worry....cheers up bro and enjoy your TP! icon_rolleyes.gif

TSold newspaper
post Oct 29 2008, 11:22 AM

1,245 posts

@saigo : if after screen alignment has been done and the problem still occur, try to soft reset.....btw, did you tweak any of the screen sensitiveness earlier?
TSold newspaper
post Oct 30 2008, 12:28 AM

1,245 posts

ever wonder how's the TP internal parts looks like?

download THIS unofficial 'dismantling' guide for TP brows.gif

credits to bro A Mak a.k.a. Makuk thumbup.gif [ this guide was made by author when he removed the build in camera because his workplace doesn't allow any camera device there... ]
TSold newspaper
post Oct 30 2008, 12:53 PM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(prescott83 @ Oct 30 2008, 08:17 AM)
anyone check in htc member club? got update for Touch Pro about the 

Hot Fix for Video and Audio Asynchronous Streaming issue in HTC Touch Pro

Added on October 30, 2008, 9:28 am
haha.....after see inside of TP....just normal chip...RM3k for the device....huh....HTC earn a lot..lolx...
lol....if HTC don't make enough how can they invest in r&d to come out a better model in near future......[ yeah, htc does make hell lots of $$$ from us d...]

QUOTE(dadarouch @ Oct 30 2008, 09:32 AM)
WALU. lidat oso got 1. lmao. where he work at wor? Intel's top secret facility in Pantai Luar?  laugh.gif
probably he work in the playboy mansion... brows.gif

QUOTE(callmepaper @ Oct 30 2008, 09:42 AM)
well, u can find plenty of dismantle guides for electronic appliance specifically such as mobile phone, mp3, dvd player, and such, even on youtube. i have once having difficulty with my creative zen mp3 booting up, after referring to a dismantle guide on youtube to remove and re-install the internal battery, it works perfectly.

yes, HTC = Hide The Cost.
lol....just to add on : HTC = Hide The Cost, Hammer The Customer

QUOTE(santaclaus @ Oct 30 2008, 10:09 AM)
hi guys ... my tp wont mute when i flip it  cry.gif

already tweak it using diamond tweak ... last time after twaek can mute but now suddenly cant mute  blink.gif

helppppppppppp............
flip mute function is on by default, no need to tweak it.....this function does work if you flip down and put on a rather flat surface for it to work effectively, by just holding it and flip with hand, it won't work effectively...

QUOTE(sam_x @ Oct 30 2008, 10:33 AM)
Ok... Let's see who has a solution for this:

In the T3D home, i realised that if I put my appointments to 'All Day' only 1 will show up.

If I put the time of the appointment, it would show...

Any solution that if I put many appointments on 'All Day' it would show up?

Cheers!
try set the reminder to above 1 hour, it will surely appear.....

QUOTE(santaclaus @ Oct 30 2008, 11:32 AM)
omg ... i changed to schap's registry but the flip mute problem stil exist

and now when i browse the website ... even i turn the phone ... the web din turn unless i slide the qwerty out
Opera browser by default should turn orientation when you turn your phone......if it doesn't try to reconfigure the G-Sensor function. you probably might want to try Gyrator 2 application...it work great on every pieces of my applications [ except the manila/TF3D ]

icon_rolleyes.gif

TSold newspaper
post Oct 30 2008, 01:33 PM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(New_kid @ Oct 30 2008, 01:19 PM)
Save MEEE!!!... i installed the WM 5 ringtone delay thing that was posted in the 1st page... now my virtual keyboard is compact querty... can't even change it in the input menu... Save me pls
the ringtone patch has nothing to with the input function.....wondering what else have you done to have this issue hmm.gif just try to soft reset and see whether this issue still bothering?

did your TP suffer from ring delay? it's normal if it's delay for a second or two unless it delay for more than 5 seconds....

my advise : if it's ain't broke don't fix it !

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSold newspaper
post Oct 31 2008, 03:49 PM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Oct 31 2008, 01:27 PM)
hello ppl,

New Touch Pro user reporting in.

Here's my short summary for the phone after using it for approx a week.

Fav features,
- Screen Reso (my fav feature)
im totally in love with the reso output of the TP, totally sharp and awesome, i love browsing with it on the go, despite having smaller fonts, but webpages are much more viewable. LYN can be browsed without sweat.

- Slideout Keyboard
the keyboard is really usefull, by far, one of the best slideout kb ive used on PDAs. Though the keys are small, ive got no problem navigating over it with my big thumbs, the keys has a solid feel to it, theres 1 problem though, the slide part gets annoyed sometimes when the TP is used without it, when you hold the phone, you will feel the slight slide-motion which gives you a very insecure feeling. For ppl like me who wipes the screen alot (fingerprints), you should get what i mean...

- Audio/Video
The display quality is great no doubt, plays video perfectly though it a little on higher reso. The speakers are quite disappointing though... well.. maybe coz im used to SE phones speakers.

- GPS
the gps is handy at times, im always on the run and at times i need to go places im not familiar with, so far the GPS never failed me yet. (using mapking btw)

All in All,
By far, ive never encountered any of the reported problems. All features and functions works flawlessly. The TF3d is nice too, makes navigating the TP more interesting and is not much different from a normal phone which is good.

This is one of the most features packed phone ive ever owned, as well as the most expensive one. The aesthetic features are great too. No Regrets getting the TP..... yet..

Added on October 31, 2008, 1:27 pmbtw... yes the batteries life is pretty disappointing.
congrats and welcome to the family rclxms.gif i guess tweaking your TP is not an issue as for the 'hardcore overclocker' like yourself..... tongue.gif

battery life is very subjective to individual [ some do and some don't like it ] due to the differential usage pattern and also the battery conditions itself...

icon_rolleyes.gif

TSold newspaper
post Oct 31 2008, 04:13 PM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(maxtek @ Oct 31 2008, 04:04 PM)
Well, to be honest, let's be fair... It's a PPC, and battery life can't be comparable to a normal GSM mobile... laugh.gif But how many of us are actually happy with the battery lives of our TP???  brows.gif
wave.gif i'm happy with the TP battery life....seriously. as long it can last me for above 2 days for my daily routine ....i'm happy d. yes i agree that pda can't be compare with normal cellphone....anyway i don't have any to compare with as i has stop using normal cellphone for about 5 years d sweat.gif
TSold newspaper
post Oct 31 2008, 04:25 PM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(maxtek @ Oct 31 2008, 04:18 PM)
Well, the problem is now I can't get my battery changed... It BARELY lasts a day (with moderate usage, without GPS) and I'm really pissed at SIS now...  mad.gif
i understand your pain bro.....i doubt SIS will change it straight for you as yours is almost 2 months old, they will say it's due to normal tear and wear bla bla bla....or whatever reason they can come out with. have you try to ask the dealer to help you out on this matter?

18 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:46 PM