butterfly vibrato
Sep 8 2008, 01:00 AM
2,650 posts Joined: May 2005 |
time to feed your GAS
Sep 8 2008, 01:20 AM
816 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Damansara, KL |
QUOTE(+3kk! @ Sep 8 2008, 12:55 AM) i can shred (a few mistakes here and there at times), just well......no motivation to go further. the 3 string + tap i cant do, only can do the 3 string well with a few mistakes here and there again. I started with 5 string sweeps, then only 3 strings and sweep+tap. I don't know why, but 5 strings is easier for me. duno 6 yrs after the 2nd yr kinda got bored of my guitar. |
Sep 8 2008, 01:55 AM
2,918 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Deliciously Pointless To: Jaw-Dropping Absurd |
how did we go from a sweet sounding bluesy soulful vibrato from bb king to extreme tasteless random sweeps ?
some people just don't care about doing 5-strings sweeps actually... (cf. "freak show excess" by steve vai... where Vai kind of make fun of the whole thing |
Sep 8 2008, 02:14 AM
QUOTE(Pix @ Sep 8 2008, 01:55 AM) how did we go from a sweet sounding bluesy soulful vibrato from bb king to extreme tasteless random sweeps ? Haha, I don't know how we got here either. I don't worship sweeps, i'm more of a tapper myself. I just like sweeps because they are IMO a very difficult technique. If you can nail sweeps down, you're know you're on the right track TECHNIQUE-wise, not necessarily musically-wise. But still, its a very subjective matter. some people just don't care about doing 5-strings sweeps actually... (cf. "freak show excess" by steve vai... where Vai kind of make fun of the whole thing |
Sep 8 2008, 02:27 AM
2,650 posts Joined: May 2005 |
i find alternate picking harder than sweep picking >.<
oh and serpent ash's 5 string sweeps are bbq sauce |
Sep 8 2008, 05:24 AM
2,918 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Deliciously Pointless To: Jaw-Dropping Absurd |
QUOTE(fatboythin @ Sep 8 2008, 02:14 AM) Haha, I don't know how we got here either. I don't worship sweeps, i'm more of a tapper myself. I just like sweeps because they are IMO a very difficult technique. If you can nail sweeps down, you're know you're on the right track TECHNIQUE-wise, not necessarily musically-wise. But still, its a very subjective matter. it is subjective indeed, so besides musicality, i must say it's a good achievement to reach such good sweep technique after less than 2 yrs don't become the next rusty colley though... |
Sep 8 2008, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(Pix @ Sep 8 2008, 05:24 AM) it is subjective indeed, so besides musicality, i must say it's a good achievement to reach such good sweep technique after less than 2 yrs Thanks man, although I wouldn't really consider my sweeping good yet. Don't worry, no one can become the nect Rusty Cooley. Why would anyone want to anyway? don't become the next rusty colley though... |
Sep 8 2008, 02:42 PM
285 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Equine Park, Seri Kembangan |
QUOTE(Pix @ Sep 7 2008, 06:50 PM) on such vibrato technique, there's actually not su much string movement. The finger barely moves the string, so you shouldn't feel any pain ! thanks. the pain is actually from fretting and vibrating the same note for quite a while, and also the fact that i never use my index to bend strings. i have small hands too, a wide neck doesnt help either, so i probably doing the same as you. the hardest part is to kill off the habit of vibrating with only the finger.Just rotate your wrist "around" the part of your hand that touches the neck. For bb king, the contact point (or pivot) is certainly the first articulation of the index finger. For me, it's more the articulation of the thumb (i have small hands). So rotate your wrist quickly, and you'll see your finger "gliding" above the fretboard, with the string in between. The basic is quite easy, it's harder to master it QUOTE(fatboythin @ Sep 8 2008, 02:14 AM) Haha, I don't know how we got here either. I don't worship sweeps, i'm more of a tapper myself. I just like sweeps because they are IMO a very difficult technique. If you can nail sweeps down, you're know you're on the right track TECHNIQUE-wise, not necessarily musically-wise. But still, its a very subjective matter. i agree about that. 3 years ago i thought shredding/sweeping was godly and thats what i practiced everyday, till i mastered the 5 string sweeps (minor and major scale). but then i realise its hard to incorporate them when u write a solo or improv over a backing track, and musically it sounds like shit. i then got into blues soloing and its SO MUCH better, playing and listening wise.This post has been edited by archinkent: Sep 8 2008, 02:50 PM |
Sep 8 2008, 05:59 PM
8,275 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(archinkent @ Sep 8 2008, 02:42 PM) thanks. the pain is actually from fretting and vibrating the same note for quite a while, and also the fact that i never use my index to bend strings. i have small hands too, a wide neck doesnt help either, so i probably doing the same as you. the hardest part is to kill off the habit of vibrating with only the finger. well if you can vibrate with one finger i dont see why thats a problem, anchor the finger down but instead of using your finger to do the vibrato you twist the wrist instead. i agree about that. 3 years ago i thought shredding/sweeping was godly and thats what i practiced everyday, till i mastered the 5 string sweeps (minor and major scale). but then i realise its hard to incorporate them when u write a solo or improv over a backing track, and musically it sounds like shit. i then got into blues soloing and its SO MUCH better, playing and listening wise. hahahha thats why i never bothered to shred, im no bluesman but somehow despite all the speed and fretboard skillz. sitting down with a penta and playing it with thrills and vibratos somehhow just makes me feel a lot nicer, since im playing for personal pleasure i just decided to screw getting better shredding and jsut wank the pena the way i love it. |
Sep 8 2008, 07:42 PM
601 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Boleh LannD~! |
+3kk:
lol, but after awhile u ll get bored, so its time to increase ur licks palette with major and minor as well as some modes... |
Sep 9 2008, 01:56 AM
QUOTE(archinkent @ Sep 8 2008, 02:42 PM) thanks. the pain is actually from fretting and vibrating the same note for quite a while, and also the fact that i never use my index to bend strings. i have small hands too, a wide neck doesnt help either, so i probably doing the same as you. the hardest part is to kill off the habit of vibrating with only the finger. it's extremely difficult to vibrate a string with the strength of the finger alone ! Mere mortals are not built for this kind of effort...Anyway, vibrato is effortless. If you feel any pain, stop right now before injuring yourself. Bending with the index is not really common, i would say it works for small bends, but big bluesy bends are done with middle or ring finger. Another method is to detune the string Another one is to use your trem bar... And another one, push or pull the head of the neck You can imagine bending the string behind the fretting finger also... Play in direction of the south pole, and twist toward the north when bending is required. The increased magnetic field might pull the string for you. Naaa. I'm just bending your leg. |
| Change to: | 0.0181sec
5 queries
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 02:03 AM |