GAINWARD ATI USERS CLUB - All Welcome, News, Info, Queries, Support, Hot Pics
jimmy_none
Sep 17 2008, 08:05 PM
hi..there just wondering is anyone here use Gainward 4850 GS on 450W PSU and lower.. Do you have any problem? May i know your pc spec...eg..how many fan running,dvd-rom and etc...
plan to get one but i only had 450w Cooler Master PSU and well NetRaid mention some one is using with a lower PSU so just want to check with the owner... thank you
jimmy_none
Sep 18 2008, 09:39 PM
QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 18 2008, 09:34 PM) Fuuurrrmark easiest to replicate the thing. Friend using AMD system with realpower 450w coolermaster PSU. My specs in my sig. I using cap ayam 550w... but his is 450w also can handle wor... =/ and i do get blackscreen in crysis with 8x AA lol... game was barely playable..but that is a good way to stress the card  fps was around 30 -.- errr.. chap ayam PSU brand need to divide by 2 as is not Real Power This post has been edited by jimmy_none: Sep 18 2008, 09:44 PM
jimmy_none
Sep 18 2008, 09:45 PM
Yeah max output is 450w for Real Power..but your 550W output roughly around 300W only
jimmy_none
Sep 18 2008, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 18 2008, 10:06 PM) Aiyo, typo just now. What I meant was, real power 450w isn't a "true power" as in like 450w output and 550w as the input. My PSU although cap ayam, manufacture claim to have a 80% efficiency... and not 50% like what you said. even if it cannot attain 80%, at least also got 70% from what I read from reviews. well... correct me if i am wrong...if is 70% means your PSU output is around 385.. where as 450 Real Power is almost 450w right? 60W is a lot of diff
jimmy_none
Sep 18 2008, 10:46 PM
hehe...not really arguing... just check PSU is stating Peak Continuity +12V1 18A 12A +12V2 16A 10A
total 264W..
jimmy_none
Sep 18 2008, 10:50 PM
so i guess 450W Real Power seems ok since got 34A.. i wonder if other hardware use more power will it get from the 12V ?
jimmy_none
Sep 19 2008, 08:57 PM
Gigabyte 4850 ain't that bad ... unless your really can need that overclock edition...
jimmy_none
Sep 19 2008, 09:01 PM
yeah...in term of diff...how big the different is for Gainward 4850 and 4850 GS in term of gaming..the market price is not that far apart....considering getting the non GS version since my PSU is not enough juice
jimmy_none
Sep 19 2008, 09:13 PM
i thought the 4850 Custom is same as 4850 GS cooling..just the GS is OC.
jimmy_none
Sep 19 2008, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(Lacus @ Sep 19 2008, 09:39 PM) aiyoh, not enough juice? change lor =_="..seriously..if not enough juice, op for another card then ;/ errr...budget not enough besides this gonna be second last upgrade....buying a new PSU seems like a waste...my last upgrade would be a HDD..
jimmy_none
Sep 19 2008, 10:22 PM
hmmm..not really...normal minimum is 450W well is stated in the requirements
jimmy_none
Sep 19 2008, 11:18 PM
errr CM do have 450W Real Power and i am using it.. So do you think the CM can handle the 4850 without rebooting?
This post has been edited by jimmy_none: Sep 19 2008, 11:21 PM
jimmy_none
Sep 20 2008, 12:10 AM
QUOTE(Lacus @ Sep 19 2008, 11:26 PM) don't think so but u can try..no harm lor..try and report here  means you want me to jump into the pit of death.....
jimmy_none
Sep 20 2008, 02:24 AM
TerryZeroX..i notice you signature you are using CM 450W and Golden Sample. Just wondering how is your system right now? Stable? Got auto reboot?
jimmy_none
Sep 20 2008, 11:26 PM
true...be nowadays who still is 56k...lol.....
jimmy_none
Sep 21 2008, 12:47 AM
well for the price you paid for 4670.. nothing much can complain....
jimmy_none
Sep 21 2008, 12:51 AM
QUOTE(Lacus @ Sep 21 2008, 12:48 AM) Of coz  CF mobo  ...but not now..Planning hehe....so nice distro..went and meet him to collect my gift  ..man, since when u see distro so friendly  ...Gainward should have come earlier when i bought my 3870 >< (gainward did not made ati cards until recently :/ ) Added on September 21, 2008, 12:49 amyeah, for the performance gain...quite ok imo  what are the next second card model you are getting? your cards is quite new i presume..
jimmy_none
Sep 22 2008, 07:29 PM
i believe getting a graphic card is based on the graphic card itself.. games is just an extra bonus....the main thing is get a good graphic card..
jimmy_none
Sep 24 2008, 12:00 AM
haha...means you was being poison....
jimmy_none
Sep 24 2008, 07:52 PM
i am curious exactly what is the height, weight and side length in cm for HD 4850 GS.