GAINWARD ATI USERS CLUB - All Welcome, News, Info, Queries, Support, Hot Pics

cloudwan
post Oct 31 2008, 10:23 AM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

Guys, i just got myself an Gainward 4850GS from a forumer here..
It's 2nd hand but still quite brand new coz it was purchase like last month or last 2 months ago i think..
Anyway after receiving it i had a few probs with it, when installing it was no prob but everytime i tried to test its stability using 3dmark vantage it would load the jane marsh bench halfway thru then the computer would restart..
I tried a few times already... I install n uninstall drivers like a few times already..
I always notice that about haf way thru load there would be some artifacts appearing before my pc restart..
Sometimes after the restart at the desktop would appear some artifacts which would go away if i open up a window or something..
I tried downclocking the gpu n it's still the same but when i downclock the mem to 1ghz only then it would run the test stabily..
Is this normal for a GS?? For your info the GPU heatpipe is copper..
Please guys need help here..
Thanx for ur help n time.. smile.gif
cloudwan
post Oct 31 2008, 10:46 AM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Oct 31 2008, 10:38 AM)
humm , your problem is not the 1st  batch problem...

ur problem more like not enough power psu problem,

but u r using st56f sweat.gif
It couldn't be the psu prob coz i can use my 4870 no prob..
I run tons of test and played games with my 4870 and never once did it restart or anything..
Don't tell me 4850GS suck more juice than a 4870... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
cloudwan
post Oct 31 2008, 12:13 PM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(desmond1310 @ Oct 31 2008, 11:06 AM)
cloudwan, I believe its best you pm and send it back to Netraid to swap for a new card. So far a lot of us had experienced problems with the first batch (copper heatsink) and we have sent it back for an exchange d. I believe you're still able to do so right now.
QUOTE(8tvt @ Oct 31 2008, 11:09 AM)
better change a new 1 atleast got a reason there..
so it's should be numbers of faulty problem then..

won't seem agree on the psu thingy..
Still can eh? Hmmm i gonna try pm netraid ah see how..
I'm really pening thinkin bout it, i even tried using different pcie connector still cannot.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Haihhhhhh...
Usually how long can i get back the RMA?? sweat.gif sweat.gif

Added on October 31, 2008, 12:23 pm
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Oct 31 2008, 12:05 PM)
Strange.Why your systems cannot run doh.gif
I dont really know why.Gaming Crysis quite long edy with the card,yet no crashes/black out.Even Furmark 30 minutes report well.(Tested before packing the card)..
Maybe you could try gaming..?
Very strange indeed,no artifacts for me thou..Have you checked the temperature?
That's why i been pm'ng u.. I myself is kinda confused already.. U said u could play no prob but i can't even pass the benchmark test..
I had tried test games benchmark eg DMC4 & WIC but not with the mem set at its stock 1100mhz but at 1000mhz..
It ran ok but i had to lose out the extra mem bandwidth ah.. Don't want ler to use a cripple card meh..

The temp at idle is kinda like the temps i get when i was using the reference 4850..
If i'm not mistaken around 6x idle and at full load i'm not sure could be 7x~80c i think.. Fan speed at 40%..
I've already taken it out and using my 4870, hmmm i'll try again later ah when i'm back from work..

Haihhhh.. Maybe it's just my damn luck ah.. sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by cloudwan: Oct 31 2008, 12:23 PM
cloudwan
post Nov 2 2008, 10:00 AM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(studwo @ Nov 2 2008, 09:44 AM)
I am geeting a new rig for me friend... May i know what power supply are u people using in ur rig which contain the gainward 4870 n above
I'm using Silverstone ST56F 560watt.. Running a 4870 just fine..
U need at least 500w and above kot to run it.. sweat.gif
But if u got a true, true power psu like my friend enermax liberty 400w i think u should be able to run it on a 450w PSU..
My friend can oc his C2D up to 4.0ghz plus use a oc'ed Gainward 4850GS just fine on his enermax liberty 400w.. brows.gif
cloudwan
post Nov 5 2008, 11:47 AM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(NetRaid @ Nov 3 2008, 11:20 PM)
OK Guys,

No need to speculate. No stock because:

1. 4850 GS and 4870 GS all SOLD OUT since 2 weeks ago. Dealers also probably habis.

2. The rest of the stock was recalled back due to our merger with Scanart where Scanart will be the official distributor for Gainward starting 1st November. 2008.

3. All stock should be available by this weekend (hopefully), or early next week.

Good news is there will be more models: 4850-1GB GS, 4870-1GB GS, 4650-1GB, 4670-1GB and the new 4830. There will not be any 4850X2 at the moment. We do hope that the newer GS batch will be further improved (cooler, faster, more OC capability).

Version 2 of this thread will start these few days. Looks like I'll be the mod of the time being (although my new role is SI/OA products like Fuji Xerox, CNet, Asus Networking, Panasonic, Airis GPS etc).

Cheers guys!  icon_rolleyes.gif
Aiyoooo, like this eh? Just when i want to send u my GS for RMA.. doh.gif doh.gif
Soooo netraid regarding me wanting to RMA my GPU how?? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Still send to u or whut?
Is scanart going to accept warranty for Gainward distributed under u? sweat.gif sweat.gif

0.0368sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:10 PM