I'm a 1st time dog owner and my puppy chow chow has been with me for 2 months already. Any other chow chow owner or chow chow fans that likes to chat here?
This post has been edited by jarjar6666: Oct 22 2008, 07:18 PM
Ya ya, chow chow is very well behave. They are not barker and not destructive. Generally it is quite easy to take care and they are the easiest breed to house break.
moomoomilk, how old is ur male chow chow? Got any pics to show? Mine is a 4+ mths female red chow chow.
Chow chow is not a fierce dog la. They are very protective of their owners, they just suspicious to strangers and not like other dogs that can be friends with everyone. Thus make them a very good guard dog. My chow chow doesn't need to be tamed coz i'm her boss and i'm the alpha .
Hmm.. My male Chow Chow is about 10 months.. I'll take his pic asap.. Hehe.. He's a pure white Chow Chow.. When he's young look like bear bear lor.. Now look like lion
Chow chow is not a fierce dog la. They are very protective of their owners, they just suspicious to strangers and not like other dogs that can be friends with everyone. Thus make them a very good guard dog. My chow chow doesn't need to be tamed coz i'm her boss and i'm the alpha .
yaka... goodluck lor.... not try to ply against u but just sharing my experience and homework that i've done on this breed. not to pour salt onto your wound but lots of chow chow having attitude problem to their owner because not much time they spent on handling them, when it comes to a year or 2 u will knw . so far no problem for mine too
Hi teddie, thanks for your advice . I think chow chow needs to feel loved by their owner than they will love their owners with their lives. I spent a lot of time with my chow chow so I guess it will be no problem. Wa..momo got a crema chow chow. I like cream one too but too expensive for me and I'm a 1st time dog owner. Faster upload somemore picture la.
hehe... good to hear that u spent alot of time with her, keep it on my red chow chow only listen to my mom
hi every1 i m new here.... i got a chow chow too... she already 5 yrs plus but still very small size but she look cute.... n nice to meet u all here....
HI teddie, chow chow is famous as a 1 man's dog. It is normal that he only listen to your mother.
Hi dcwk24, nice to meet you. Your chow chow is male or female? Got any pic to share?
What are you all feeding your chow chow? My chow chow now is on addiction kangaroo + nutro lamb & rice (just bought). Thinking of trying california natural lamb & rice.
Chow chow is very nice to its owner geh. My uncle's female chow chow duno is ham sap or what. See me sure wrap around my leg and start "humping" my leg. Mind you its a female. But very cute like bear bear.
I have a chow chow =) His name is Harry.. and my uncle has 2 chow chow =) we are all chow chow lovers XD
My dog, Harry, is very funny.. he doesnt like the colour black.. so, whenever he sees ppl in black shirt or ppl who has darker skin, he'll bark.. and he wont play with u or even walk near u if he sees me in black.. lolx
also, harry is very very lazy.. he wouldn't bark when there's visitors.. cos he knows my another dog, ricky would bark..
Hi pandacid, harry really funny. Did he got abused by a man in black b4? Haha. I think harry is clever instead of lazy la..if me also i won't bark if i know another dog will bark. haha. What color is your chow? Any pic to share?
Harlow jarjar6666!!! Lolx.. yes Harry is indeed funny.. lolx.. i'm not sure bout the abuse case as i brought him back when he was 3 months old.. =) hahah.. too clever.. that's why he so fat.. lolx.. here i attach some of harry's pics..
this is harry when he was around 5-6 months old
Left is my pomeranian last time and harry on the right
i have some other harry's picture in my desktop; but anyways, here's the most recent pic of harry.. (this is how he looks like when i'm opening the gate.. lolx
owhh.. did u see chow chow in black before? i was in a dilemma to choose between black and brown when i was about to bring one home.. cos the black one was sooooo cute like a grizzy bear..
what bout ur bearbear? any funny things about bearbear?
hi hi, wa..harry really chubby wor. So cute. Eh, he got drop ears one? Harry's color is similar to bearbear leh. Not all red but got white mane. How old is harry now? Maybe we can let bearbear makes friends with harry. Bearbear not much funny things la, just that she likes to eat very much. The word 'mum mum' sure will get her attention one.
Added on September 30, 2008, 7:41 pmoh ya, i never see a black chow chow but i fancy the cream one. But it is too expensive for me.
This post has been edited by jarjar6666: Sep 30 2008, 07:41 PM
Harlow jarjar6666!!! Lolx.. yes Harry is indeed funny.. lolx.. i'm not sure bout the abuse case as i brought him back when he was 3 months old.. =) hahah.. too clever.. that's why he so fat.. lolx.. here i attach some of harry's pics..
i have some other harry's picture in my desktop; but anyways, here's the most recent pic of harry.. (this is how he looks like when i'm opening the gate.. lolx
owhh.. did u see chow chow in black before? i was in a dilemma to choose between black and brown when i was about to bring one home.. cos the black one was sooooo cute like a grizzy bear..
hi hi, wa..harry really chubby wor. So cute. Eh, he got drop ears one? Harry's color is similar to bearbear leh. Not all red but got white mane. How old is harry now? Maybe we can let bearbear makes friends with harry. Bearbear not much funny things la, just that she likes to eat very much. The word 'mum mum' sure will get her attention one.
Added on September 30, 2008, 7:41 pmoh ya, i never see a black chow chow but i fancy the cream one. But it is too expensive for me.
Yalor.. his ears drop wan.. but then sometimes when he got excited then will go up wan.. but seldom happens la.. so far i only seen 2 or 3 times.. Harry's fur very unique wan.. u see he is brown right.. but then the inner part of the fur like greyish wan.. cos harry's mom is black chow chow
haha bearbear is a she.. i think harry would be interested maybe.. haha harry see too many male dogs dy.. later he become gay *choi* lolx.. harry also likes 'mum mum'.. lolx.. and he's very fussy.. he only eats gardenia bread.. last time even worse.. he wants gardenia with jam only he eat.. if not then with cheese.. choosy harry.. lolx..
maybe u should look for a black chow chow puppy.. they really look like grizzy bear.. i havent seen a cream one in real before.. owhh btw, my uncle has a chow chow, his fur is more to reddish kind of brown.. quite unique also
Added on October 1, 2008, 6:41 pm
QUOTE(beardiekid @ Sep 30 2008, 09:41 PM)
' Sooo cute.. looks like a lion
How much does he weigh?
haha.. yup yup.. lion.. lolx.. there was once this postman asked me.. "ini singa kah anjing?" then i said anjing singa.. lolx..
I'm not sure how much he weighs now.. but the last time i brought him to vet, he was around 24kg.. =)
This post has been edited by pandacid: Oct 1 2008, 06:41 PM
wa..harry is a big guy! Last time Bearbear was sitting beside me in my car while i went to buy McD in the drive thru and the lady that took my order also ask 'ini singa ke anjing?" Lol. Bearbear's fur also looks like golden from outside but the inner coat is black color. I think most of the red chow chow is like this? Anyway, both bearbear's parents also red color.
haha then u got answer her 'ini anjing singa' anot?? lolx.. owhhh izzit.. i thought only harry got black fur inside.. cos his mommy is black chow chow mar.. hahah.. bear bear still young lor.. few months old only.. but then i think she's a lil too skinny lor.. maybe u can feed her more to get her chubbier =))
Added on October 3, 2008, 3:59 pm
QUOTE(notorius @ Oct 3 2008, 01:14 AM)
so adorable chow chows u guys got there...
i'm so inlove wit chow chow...
my gf juz mms me when she went to the pet shop today.. so chubby.
i LOVE chow chow..
any chow chow association or groups?
hahah.. ur gf so nice to mms u chubby chow chow pics from pet shop.. lolx.. i dont know any existence of chow chow association but then if u know then make sure u tell me kay.. hehe..
This post has been edited by pandacid: Oct 3 2008, 03:59 PM
Like baby lion ~~~~ we cant hv a lion at home, but we can replace chow chow as lion =X
Hi pandacid, i think your harry just clever la, not lazy. My bearbear is almost 6 mths already, now weight abt 15kg. I also feel hard to carry her already. Here are her recent pic.
So cute!! i want to buy a chow chow when i got money since now i m still studying.. haha .. got a question here, is chow chow easier to take k or GR? i wonder why some of the chow chow face become flatter and deeper color when they grow up, but some there re not? sorry. noobie here
Not botak la, still got 1 inch of fur left. Because the undercoat is black color, so after cut off the top portion, the fur will shows black color. It is hard to tell how your chow will look after grow up because the face will change one. Best is to look at the parents.
Yes, black tongue is chow chow's 'trademark' for purebreed. There is a legend about the black tongue. They said while the world just started and god was painting the sky blue, the god dripped some blue paint on the earth, a chow chow walked by and licked the blue paint thus got the black tongue .
Yes my heart melts everytime he gives me the "innocent" look (like his going to cry anytime). Bearbear is lucky that she gets to sit on the couch How old is bearbear now? Planning to get bf soon? hehehe
Actually I don't allow her to sit on the sofa one, just that when she is too exciting fetching her toy and run fast, she will jump up to the sofa . Bad girl. She just reached 6 mths few days ago. Hmm...I don't plan to breed her so soon, maybe after 1 or 2 years.
I also melt when see momo's eyes like that. Hehe..unfortunately, bearbear's eyes are fierce, so won't look innocent .
This post has been edited by jarjar6666: Oct 23 2008, 06:30 PM
here is the chow i saw.. last sunday beside 1U that park.. kekeke very big size and cute plus LAZY hahaha need its owner to carry it to walk hahaha... 10month old
so cute lah chow chow, like a big teddy bear my bro's fav dog.
Momo is super lazy too. He can sleep 18 hours a day (he thinks he is a koala bear). The only activity he looks forward too is his evening walks. Apart from that, he will not even walk/move unless he wants something (eg: jerkie). Even his daily meal needs to be hand fed and he takes half an hour to finish his food (yes like children!) cause he will walk here and there, take a bite, and walk here and there again and another bite. And we've rarely seen him wag his tail before
This post has been edited by mspy: Oct 25 2008, 06:25 PM
wa..mspy, momo so lazy ah? Actually i wish my bearbear be a bit lazy coz she is very active and kepo. Everything also wanna go check out. Sometimes she is running me during the walk/run. About the food, do you change his food? Maybe he is too boring eating the same food? Bearbear will wallop everything in her bowl within 2 mins.
hahaha chow chow should be ok la... i got 1 pair be4 ... if u bath is at least once a week la... but tell u, chow will change coat.. when change coat.. just imagine the chow is botak and be4.. those fur will around ur house if u didnt comb well
I don't find my chow chow has any odour. If you search on the net, they said chow chow has least body odour. Ya..some GR is smelly. Today I met one that smell like bull shit.... Chow chow won't get botak when shedding la, my bearbear is shedding now, not much different from the outlook but the fur really all over the place.
Added on October 30, 2008, 11:37 pm
jarjar...i am interested to get 1 chow chow its so cute...
may i know around how much is the expanses for it? for food...and grooming?
ohya..may i know wat is the age of ur chow chow? as it grow bigger...it will eat more right?
cantona7, I'm not sure how much i spent for food but I've been keeping my chow chow for 4 months now and I think I've spent about RM400 for the food. But all the food is those premium brands food like Eagle Pack, Orijien, Addiction, Solid Gold, Evangers. As for grooming, I bath my chow chow once a week cause I keep her outdoor. Chow Chow doesn't really need grooming always cause their hair won't grow very long like shi tzu. Their fur will get into shape naturally. Maybe 3 months once go for a full grooming is enough. My bearbear is now 6 months old. It will eat more but not a lot la. Their size is actually not that big, just the fluffy fur makes it looks bigger. They are medium size dog. I'll go to the World Animal Day in KL tower this sunday. Maybe you could meet me and my chow chow there.
This post has been edited by jarjar6666: Oct 30 2008, 11:37 PM
Hi there, i am looking for a male, brown colour chow chow. Have searched a number of shops still could not find any. Any recommendation? And any advice before buying one? Many thanks in advance ya.
hey.. that my chow chow le his name is tung tung. that day his "kai ma" bring him go 1u while i sleep at home. mine 1 also need to be feed by spoon everyday. about the odour, the main problem come from his saliva. sometime really busuk..
Hi Chow Chow owners! I have been researching Chow Chows for quite a while and feel like adopting one. I just have one question, will Chow Chows over-heat if I leave it outside? My car porch (well covered and high) is about 400 sqf and I am planning to keep my pet there. Any comments is appreciated.
wah!! cute chow chow u guys have there chow chow is oso one of my favourite breed. i really wish to hv 1 and almost hv 1 last time. but it is j too expensive and the maintainance is quite high. so i now can j look at ur guys chow chow act how much is the maintainance u guys spend per month for a chow chow? as u guys said, chow chow shed twice a year, whn they doesn't shed, will their fur still b flying all over?( i mean like whn v hug them, will the fur stick on our shirt all over? ) will their fur easily get tangle? hope to knw more about chow chow mayb next time i can hv 1 myself.
I think it is a myth that chow chow always need cool weather. Those 4 season countries have summer too and sometimes their summer is even hotter than us. If the puppy is born locally I think it should have no problem adapting to local weather. Ah_chuan, when they don't shed, the fur won't fly and no fur will stick on your cloth. And because their fur is quite long so it will become a fur ball and easy to pick up. I don't know how much i spend on my bearbear every month coz i never keep track. It really depends on individual on how much you wanna spend.
wat do u mean by fur ball? tats mean if hving it inside house will oso still need to pick up fur oso? cuz i now hving a poodle living with me in my house. n i nvr c a single fur on the ground. it seems like they nvr shed. so i j wonder izzit the same as chow chow whn they dont shed? will they stop shedding in certain age?
sorry for the late reply... ya my chow chow is a female n i m looking for another chow chow to breed with my dog any 1 interested?
hmm ya i can show u my chow chow
[SIZE=1]
QUOTE(jarjar6666 @ Sep 9 2008, 06:55 PM)
HI teddie, chow chow is famous as a 1 man's dog. It is normal that he only listen to your mother.
Hi dcwk24, nice to meet you. Your chow chow is male or female? Got any pic to share?
What are you all feeding your chow chow? My chow chow now is on addiction kangaroo + nutro lamb & rice (just bought). Thinking of trying california natural lamb & rice.
Added on December 13, 2008, 9:45 amhi there hav u get ur chow chow yet? i saw a puppy chow chow at petmore.... but they sell very very expensive around rm3880 but it is very very cute n creamy fur...
QUOTE(honzone @ Sep 22 2008, 07:29 PM)
Where can i get a cheap chow chow?
Added on December 13, 2008, 9:48 ami agree my chow chow named donna she don line those black skin or tan skin ppl... she love to bark on them.... my chow chow is very very fierce with all strangers.... no body can touch her.... just only family member can touch her....
QUOTE(pandacid @ Sep 28 2008, 10:15 PM)
I have a chow chow =) His name is Harry.. and my uncle has 2 chow chow =) we are all chow chow lovers XD
My dog, Harry, is very funny.. he doesnt like the colour black.. so, whenever he sees ppl in black shirt or ppl who has darker skin, he'll bark.. and he wont play with u or even walk near u if he sees me in black.. lolx
also, harry is very very lazy.. he wouldn't bark when there's visitors.. cos he knows my another dog, ricky would bark..
This post has been edited by dcwk24: Dec 13 2008, 09:48 AM
I personally love chow chow a lot! Just waiting for my new house to be ready. May get a toy poodle / chow chow / golden retriever.. My mum prefer big dogs.
then do u know where is petmore? cause they got selling chow chow very very nice n cute .... creamy color... then when r u going to buy? i mean when r u going to move?
QUOTE(aXin @ Dec 13 2008, 04:03 PM)
Found this while checking out the web site. http://www.adpost.com/my/pets/19379/ Anyone interested in buying chow chow can check it out! I personally love chow chow a lot! Just waiting for my new house to be ready. May get a toy poodle / chow chow / golden retriever.. My mum prefer big dogs.
[quote=dcwk24,Dec 13 2008, 09:36 AM] sorry for the late reply... ya my chow chow is a female n i m looking for another chow chow to breed with my dog any 1 interested?
heya dcwk24, my momo is almost 3 years old liao and still "virgin" ha ha ha....I would be interested in breeding him. Offer still open?
anyway i keep my chow chow inside the house n sometimes i bring her to my room n sleep with me...
i think no problem.... unless u r alergy
[quote=aXin,Dec 14 2008, 08:06 PM]dcwk24, At least 1 1/2 years from now. So I shall have enough time to earn more bucks and get everything done by then. Question here, any one keep their chow chow at home? Is it all right??
[/quote]
Added on December 15, 2008, 12:45 pmhahahaha my donna still virgin as well lol...
anyway can i see ur momo look?
[quote=mspy,Dec 15 2008, 02:07 AM] [quote=dcwk24,Dec 13 2008, 09:36 AM] sorry for the late reply... ya my chow chow is a female n i m looking for another chow chow to breed with my dog any 1 interested?
heya dcwk24, my momo is almost 3 years old liao and still "virgin" ha ha ha....I would be interested in breeding him. Offer still open?
[/quote]
This post has been edited by dcwk24: Dec 15 2008, 12:45 PM
I've been looking around for a nice Chow Chow... for those who own one, how much is a fair price for a puppy (healthy one). I've contacted a breeder and also saw a very good looking Chow Chow in a pet shop and both sources quote a price of RM3k+. Is that the normal price for a Chow Chow?
I have seen ads in adpost.com and <no spam links> that sells chow puppies for less than RM2k but they are all not available at the moment and I am afraid to buy from an unknown source. Anyone can recommend a breeder/shop that is reputable? Main concern is puppy must have good genes and healthy.
This post has been edited by yktan: Dec 19 2008, 06:33 PM
ya wat i know from now is around 3k++ is really really expensive .... since 5 yrs a go i bought my chow chow around 2.8k.... i saw 1 really really nice chow chow at petmore u can check it out the site www.petmore.com (if i m not mistaken) anyway they sell chow chow around RM3880 but look very nice n the fur is creamy color... if u go there just drop by there n hav a look... but b4 tat it was at desa park city now don know where it moved... if u r interested just ask the stuff there then they ll let u know....
QUOTE(yktan @ Dec 19 2008, 06:30 PM)
I've been looking around for a nice Chow Chow... for those who own one, how much is a fair price for a puppy (healthy one). I've contacted a breeder and also saw a very good looking Chow Chow in a pet shop and both sources quote a price of RM3k+. Is that the normal price for a Chow Chow?
I have seen ads in adpost.com and <no spam links> that sells chow puppies for less than RM2k but they are all not available at the moment and I am afraid to buy from an unknown source. Anyone can recommend a breeder/shop that is reputable? Main concern is puppy must have good genes and healthy.
Added on December 22, 2008, 11:00 amsorry i ll send u others photo next time cause not free now hehehehe
QUOTE(mspy @ Dec 15 2008, 10:06 PM)
Here is momo's picture:
Baby momo...1st day I brought him back...his about 4 months old
All grown up...approximately 1 year plus close to 2 years.
Do you have more pictures of your Donna? Where are you located? I'm in Bukit Tinggi, Klang
This post has been edited by dcwk24: Dec 22 2008, 11:00 AM
ya wat i know from now is around 3k++ is really really expensive .... since 5 yrs a go i bought my chow chow around 2.8k.... i saw 1 really really nice chow chow at petmore u can check it out the site www.petmore.com (if i m not mistaken) anyway they sell chow chow around RM3880 but look very nice n the fur is creamy color... if u go there just drop by there n hav a look... but b4 tat it was at desa park city now don know where it moved... if u r interested just ask the stuff there then they ll let u know....
Thanks bro. I'll go Petsmore at Desa Park City to have a look. I've been to the one near OUG and also the one in Kepong (near OCBC) but they don't have Chow Chows. Did you buy yours in a pet shop?
Update: I went to Petsmore (Desa Park) and they did have a Chow Chow there but it's a 3-month old red one. The staff that served me (guy) is really nice... he even opened the door and let me pet the Chow Chow. The Chow Chow is very friendly and active once the door is open. Anyways, I prefer cream-coloured ones and the price is too much also (RM3200+). Guess I would have to look harder for cheaper ones.
This post has been edited by yktan: Dec 22 2008, 08:50 PM
ok i introduce u a guy named eric n now he was at 1U petmore... the location is just near by the cold storage if u know where last time giant just over there if u still don know then do u know where is the aeroline bus station? just over there.... then u look for eric n tell him tat u wan the chow chow n he ll tell u every thing tat u wan......
yes i bought my chow chow at ss2 next door to watson....
QUOTE(yktan @ Dec 22 2008, 02:40 PM)
Thanks bro. I'll go Petsmore at Desa Park City to have a look. I've been to the one near OUG and also the one in Kepong (near OCBC) but they don't have Chow Chows. Did you buy yours in a pet shop?
Update: I went to Petsmore (Desa Park) and they did have a Chow Chow there but it's a 3-month old red one. The staff that served me (guy) is really nice... he even opened the door and let me pet the Chow Chow. The Chow Chow is very friendly and active once the door is open. Anyways, I prefer cream-coloured ones and the price is too much also (RM3200+). Guess I would have to look harder for cheaper ones.
She's very pretty dcwk24! Well, Chow Chows are well known to be wary of strangers. But I guess I am quite safe with your Chow since I am very fair
Btw, I've got some questions for your experienced Chow owners. (1) Do you guys all keep your Chow Chow in your house? (2) Do you let him/her roam free in the house or have a playpen or cage/crate? (3) Do you have a dedicated corner/place in your house that you put newspaper for your Chow to poo poo and wee wee? (4) How many times do you feed your Chow?
thanks ya i love my chow chow very very much n she always moan when i m back form work or outstation....
yes i kept her inside my house when no body at home we ll type her up... when i m back i ll release her... yes i set her free all the time if i m at home... during her puppy time i did put her in the cage longer time i saw it very pity so i decide to just tied up her until i woke up just release her for a while then i go to work... hahaha when u wan to train a dog poo poo n wee wee tat is very very a bit difficult cause it need to learn then u hav to set a point for it to poo poo n wee wee cause once it know where shall it do the buisness then it ll set the point there... i always bring her out my garden n finish her business....so u hav to very very read it mind when she wan to poo poo n wee wee tat time faster bring it to outside.... if when there pee pee n poo poo inside the house then u hav to bit them up n scold them until there know... it take u around 2 to 3 months it depends ... so at 1st u hav to accept when there pee pee n poo poo inside the house.... just like a baby... i just feed my chow at night time around 8... normally i ll just feed them some food which is good for fur, bone, skin, mouth breathe .....
so if u wan to get 1 chow chow try to go to 1u n they having a cramy chow chow there.... very very hyper active n cute....those who bought the chow chow at petmore plz let me know ya... cause i wan to visit the chow chow.... i always go to visit the chow chow at petmore.... hahahaha cause it look very nice n cute....sorry tat i cant take pic for it...
QUOTE(yktan @ Dec 24 2008, 10:35 PM)
She's very pretty dcwk24! Well, Chow Chows are well known to be wary of strangers. But I guess I am quite safe with your Chow since I am very fair
Btw, I've got some questions for your experienced Chow owners. (1) Do you guys all keep your Chow Chow in your house? (2) Do you let him/her roam free in the house or have a playpen or cage/crate? (3) Do you have a dedicated corner/place in your house that you put newspaper for your Chow to poo poo and wee wee? (4) How many times do you feed your Chow?
1) Do you guys all keep your Chow Chow in your house?
I kept my chow chow outside during weekdays in my sister's house and she will be indoor with me when I take her back during weekends.
(2) Do you let him/her roam free in the house or have a playpen or cage/crate? When she is in my house, she will roam free inside my house. I even can let her roam free while nobody is at home too. No disaster will happen. She is now 8 months old.
(3) Do you have a dedicated corner/place in your house that you put newspaper for your Chow to poo poo and wee wee? Yes, I have a dedicated corner with wee wee pad on the floor for her to pee in the kitchen. And she will come and let me know after she has pee. Normally she will poo when we bring her outside to the grass. If we are unable to bring her out, she will poo in 1 dedicated place. I never teach her, she just learned it herself.
(4) How many times do you feed your Chow? 2 times a day. Morning and evening.
Thanks for all the info jarjar6666. I hope my Chow Chow also will be as easy to toilet train.
BTW, does anyone know which vet is more experienced with Chow Chows or good vets around KL/PJ? Need to bring my puppy to have a check up.
Do you guys give any supplements to your Chow Chow? What brand dog food do you use? I was told that mine is on Science Plan now and I hope to gradually switch him to Eagle Pack Holistic (was told it is better, no chemicals)....
I'm giving cod fish liver oil everyday to my chow chow since i got her home at 2 months. I've tried a lot of brands on my bearbear and I always mix 2 types of kibbles for her. She is now eating eagle pack holistic lamb & rice + Evangers pheasant & brown rice. Just bought Pinnacle duck & patoto for her. With mixing 2 types of kibbles together i have no problem switching her food even i switch suddenly in 1 day also her stool still firm.
Angel - Top Maltese 2006 @ Best Malaysian Bred In Show
2,309 posts
QUOTE(yktan @ Dec 25 2008, 07:03 PM)
Thanks for all the info jarjar6666. I hope my Chow Chow also will be as easy to toilet train.
BTW, does anyone know which vet is more experienced with Chow Chows or good vets around KL/PJ? Need to bring my puppy to have a check up.
Do you guys give any supplements to your Chow Chow? What brand dog food do you use? I was told that mine is on Science Plan now and I hope to gradually switch him to Eagle Pack Holistic (was told it is better, no chemicals)....
The best way to determine the quality of a dog food is to flip to the back and read the ingredients, dont border what is written in front or "how good how good" by the sellers. Of corse, unless the sellers actually thought you how to read the ingredients and allow you to choose your own.
quite a lot of ppl like to feed thier dogs with the brand named "Holistic" i gave my chow chow eat the salmon flavour... but i hear there is a new thing out n it kangaroo meat... n they told me the kangaroo meat good for dogs n can maintain the nice fur n bone .... i forgot wat is the function but go n ask for the advice...
i gave my chow chow some vitamin n others food good for bone n fur n skin as well but i cant remembered the brand if u wan it i ll check for u all...
n 1 more thing is becareful when u changing dog food cause some food dogs might not accept it ( i mean some dogs) cause it ll cause allergy for them ... so beware ya...
so if u wan to get 1 chow chow try to go to 1u n they having a cramy chow chow there.... very very hyper active n cute....those who bought the chow chow at petmore plz let me know ya... cause i wan to visit the chow chow.... i always go to visit the chow chow at petmore.... hahahaha cause it look very nice n cute....sorry tat i cant take pic for it...
Hi there dcwk24, I saw that 2 months old female Chow Chow in 1Utama on Christmas day and she is still there. Everyone who passes by her crate sure stop and moan "so cute, so cute" hehe.
I just brought back my 2 months old Chow Chow today and place him in a cage (will post some pictures later). Got some questions for more experienced dog owners:
(1) He pees and poos everywhere in the cage. I have to clean up the poo quickly or else he will step on it. I tried spraying the toilet training liquid on the newspaper (at the bottom tray) at one side of the cage but so far he totally ignore it. He seems to like to pee right in the center of the cage but poo everywhere. How do I begin his toilet training? Will he learn in the cage or do I have to bring him out of the cage and place him on some newspaper so that he will get the idea?
(2) Since he pee and poo everywhere, I don't let him out of the cage at all now. Is that alright? He moans and cries but even though it is very heartbreaking, I try to ignore him now.
(3) He drinks lots of water. I am using the licking type of water feeder (500ml) and he finishes it in 7 hours. Therefore, I think he pees a lot. Is that normal?
(4) He likes to bite everything (including the cage ... I guess to free himself ) and everytime I open the cage, he will try to get out and bite my hands. The pet shop guy said that I should not allow him to bite my hands or else he will be very destructive (bite everything in the house next time). So, I say "NO" sternly and hit his butt lightly but he still bite my hands everytime I put my hands in the cage. Do you have the same problem?
(5) Are 2-months old puppies too young to learn simple comands like "NO"? My Chow Chow totally ignore everything I say at the moment
OMG u bought the chow chow at 1u? is tat cute? can my wife n i visit ur chow chow some times? hehehehehe how much u bought it? is tat ur x'mas present?
anyway ok for wat i think normally very pity u put it into the cage... oly when it do wrong thing then only u put it inside... normally just leave him outside n walk around when it wan to pee n boo then u quickly bring it to some place tat u wan it pee n boo there... u get wat i mean? u hav to take a lot of time to train it... cause it might not understand cause it just like a baby still need to learn ...
if u wan it pee n boo inside the toilet then u hav to teach it all the time in the toilet then only it ll know where to pee n boo... b4 tat u need to get it signal when it wan to pee n boo example u wan to put it to toilet then u need to keep on ask it to pee n boo until finish then keep on repeat everyday.... this is the worst part but now choice u hav to do until it know ... i think it ll realise may b around 3 months? it depends it smart or not....
is ok let it drink more water... is very healthy wat... but train it when it wan to pee n boo.... n u can train a lot of thing as well....
y it like to bite just because it teeth is growing tat y keep on like to bite bite bite... so try to buy some toy tat it really love to bite... if not it ll bite ur shoes n others thing from ur house... so beware when ur ***** is naughty....
finally sold out already... for those ppl still wan chow chow u still can go to 1u n ask eric to show u another creamy colr chow chow there still hav 1 more... but don know which branch.... try to talk to the person incharge named eric...if u guys get it plz let me know ya...
QUOTE(yktan @ Dec 27 2008, 02:55 AM)
Hi there dcwk24, I saw that 2 months old female Chow Chow in 1Utama on Christmas day and she is still there. Everyone who passes by her crate sure stop and moan "so cute, so cute" hehe.
I just brought back my 2 months old Chow Chow today and place him in a cage (will post some pictures later). Got some questions for more experienced dog owners:
(1) He pees and poos everywhere in the cage. I have to clean up the poo quickly or else he will step on it. I tried spraying the toilet training liquid on the newspaper (at the bottom tray) at one side of the cage but so far he totally ignore it. He seems to like to pee right in the center of the cage but poo everywhere. How do I begin his toilet training? Will he learn in the cage or do I have to bring him out of the cage and place him on some newspaper so that he will get the idea?
(2) Since he pee and poo everywhere, I don't let him out of the cage at all now. Is that alright? He moans and cries but even though it is very heartbreaking, I try to ignore him now.
(3) He drinks lots of water. I am using the licking type of water feeder (500ml) and he finishes it in 7 hours. Therefore, I think he pees a lot. Is that normal?
(4) He likes to bite everything (including the cage ... I guess to free himself ) and everytime I open the cage, he will try to get out and bite my hands. The pet shop guy said that I should not allow him to bite my hands or else he will be very destructive (bite everything in the house next time). So, I say "NO" sternly and hit his butt lightly but he still bite my hands everytime I put my hands in the cage. Do you have the same problem?
(5) Are 2-months old puppies too young to learn simple comands like "NO"? My Chow Chow totally ignore everything I say at the moment
Added on December 27, 2008, 9:27 amyktan i wanted to tell u tat when sometimes it do wrong thing plz don just bit it with very light .... bit it harder so tat it know wat does it mean... n shout it when u wan to stop it ok?
QUOTE(dcwk24 @ Dec 27 2008, 09:25 AM)
OMG u bought the chow chow at 1u? is tat cute? can my wife n i visit ur chow chow some times? hehehehehe how much u bought it? is tat ur x'mas present?
anyway ok for wat i think normally very pity u put it into the cage... oly when it do wrong thing then only u put it inside... normally just leave him outside n walk around when it wan to pee n boo then u quickly bring it to some place tat u wan it pee n boo there... u get wat i mean? u hav to take a lot of time to train it... cause it might not understand cause it just like a baby still need to learn ...
if u wan it pee n boo inside the toilet then u hav to teach it all the time in the toilet then only it ll know where to pee n boo... b4 tat u need to get it signal when it wan to pee n boo example u wan to put it to toilet then u need to keep on ask it to pee n boo until finish then keep on repeat everyday.... this is the worst part but now choice u hav to do until it know ... i think it ll realise may b around 3 months? it depends it smart or not....
is ok let it drink more water... is very healthy wat... but train it when it wan to pee n boo.... n u can train a lot of thing as well....
y it like to bite just because it teeth is growing tat y keep on like to bite bite bite... so try to buy some toy tat it really love to bite... if not it ll bite ur shoes n others thing from ur house... so beware when ur ***** is naughty....
finally sold out already... for those ppl still wan chow chow u still can go to 1u n ask eric to show u another creamy colr chow chow there still hav 1 more... but don know which branch.... try to talk to the person incharge named eric...if u guys get it plz let me know ya...
This post has been edited by dcwk24: Dec 27 2008, 09:27 AM
omg chow chow... im very very in love with chow chow tooooooo...... but too bad when i see the price is 3k+ at some petshop i felt sooo =( where can i buy a chow chow at not so exp price lerrr
very hard to see chow chow code rm2k plus... m\normally every petshop selling more than 3k now...if i know i ll let u know ya....
QUOTE(OnePageMemory @ Dec 27 2008, 10:05 AM)
omg chow chow... im very very in love with chow chow tooooooo...... but too bad when i see the price is 3k+ at some petshop i felt sooo =( where can i buy a chow chow at not so exp price lerrr
Hi, I think choosing a chow chow most important thing is not the look, it is the personality. My bearbear is not the best looking puppy in the litter but she is the smartest 1 so I choosed her. I think maybe I can share some of my experience of raising her. I put the cage outside the door of the toilet and open the cage door so she will have access to the toilet, more space but unable to come out to other part of the house. I cover the whole cage floor with door mat so she will know that is the place she sleeps and not pee & poo. It is puppy's natural instinct of not to dirty their sleeping place. If you bought the puppy from the pet shop I think this way might not work coz they poo & pee and sleep in the cage all the time. I bought it from the breeder so she a better start. Since day 1 bearbear never pee and poo in the cage, she will go out to the toilet and pee. That's the 1st step of getting her use to the pee & poo place. Then just after few days I got her while she is still 2 months, she already learned the sit command. She has to sit 1st then only I'll give her food. About the biting part, yes, they all bite at that age. Just make sure you have tons of toys and when she bite your hand, give her the toys to bite. I never beat my bearbear and she never bite any of my furniture and things other than the toys I gave her. You need to show your love to the chow chow and when she loves you back, she will listen to everything you said. Bearbear will stop whatever she is doing whenever I said 'no no'.
finally sold out already... for those ppl still wan chow chow u still can go to 1u n ask eric to show u another creamy colr chow chow there still hav 1 more... but don know which branch.... try to talk to the person incharge named eric...if u guys get it plz let me know ya... Added on December 27, 2008, 9:27 amyktan i wanted to tell u tat when sometimes it do wrong thing plz don just bit it with very light .... bit it harder so tat it know wat does it mean... n shout it when u wan to stop it ok?
Dear dcwk24, I did not buy the Chow Chow puppy in 1U. I bought her brother from Petsmore from Jalan Sultan. Yeah! It's sort of my Christmas present . Of course you and your wife are welcome view him... maybe when he has finished all his vaccinations and behave enough, we can have a doggie meetup?
I went to Petsmore 1U again today (I always go there and seek advice from one of the staff cos he is quite experienced in rearing dogs... he has 6 dogs at home right now if I am not wrong) and the Chow Chow is now "reserved"... so I think you might have to hurry if you want to have a look for the last time!
Yeah it is quite pitiful that she is in a cage but this is to avoid "accidents" of peeing and pooing everywhere. I read some books about raising puppies and they said that it is better for them to be caged if no one is around to pay attention to them... once they get used to peeing and pooing everywhere, it takes a longer time to train them to do it at a proper place.
About the water, I found the problem. The bottle that I used didn't fit the dispenser properly, so it leaks a lot when my puppy licks it or even accidentally rub against it. I changed the bottle and now it doesn't leak so much (and I don't have to keep on changing the newspaper on the tray).
Good to hear that the biting problem is normal. Now I bought him a cloth toy that is wounded up like a thick rope and he is having a lot of fun with it. He has another ball but I think I play with it more than him
Thanks for the tips!
QUOTE(jarjar6666 @ Dec 27 2008, 01:51 PM)
Hi, I think choosing a chow chow most important thing is not the look, it is the personality. My bearbear is not the best looking puppy in the litter but she is the smartest 1 so I choosed her. I think maybe I can share some of my experience of raising her. I put the cage outside the door of the toilet and open the cage door so she will have access to the toilet, more space but unable to come out to other part of the house. I cover the whole cage floor with door mat so she will know that is the place she sleeps and not pee & poo. It is puppy's natural instinct of not to dirty their sleeping place. If you bought the puppy from the pet shop I think this way might not work coz they poo & pee and sleep in the cage all the time. I bought it from the breeder so she a better start. Since day 1 bearbear never pee and poo in the cage, she will go out to the toilet and pee. That's the 1st step of getting her use to the pee & poo place. Then just after few days I got her while she is still 2 months, she already learned the sit command. She has to sit 1st then only I'll give her food. About the biting part, yes, they all bite at that age. Just make sure you have tons of toys and when she bite your hand, give her the toys to bite. I never beat my bearbear and she never bite any of my furniture and things other than the toys I gave her. You need to show your love to the chow chow and when she loves you back, she will listen to everything you said. Bearbear will stop whatever she is doing whenever I said 'no no'.
jarjar6666, I agree that the look of the puppy is not the only determining factor if it is a pet, but some people choose the look because they want to "show" the dog in the future. It looks like you chose a very well behaved, may be partly because it is a female. I saw the sister of my puppy and she is very very gentle and tame (the pet shop person said that females are higher probability of becoming well behaved). I chose my puppy because he is very energetic... an indication of him being healthy (from books again).
You are so lucky! You are most definitely right about the pet shop puppies.... even if I place a mat at one corner of the cage, my puppy will still poo poo near or on it. Since he is already used to pooing and peeing everywhere in the cage, now I am trying a new technique... every time after I feed him, I will bring him out to my car porch and try to get him to pee/poo at the newspaper that I prepared (with some training spray). Hopefully he will learn it and I can abandon the cage and let him roam in my car porch when I am not at home.
Woah, already know how to "sit" at 2 months... that's really good! I am training him "NO" and "COME" at the moment. He seems to know what I mean but sometimes just choose to ignore it.
Yeap, I already have 3 toys which I am trying to switch around every few days. I think I have to pick up more teething toys since he likes to bite and pull at the moment.
Thanks so much for sharing your experience guys, I wish more people can share because every puppy is different and it will be interesting to see what other success stories there are.
This post has been edited by yktan: Dec 28 2008, 01:31 AM
Haha..although my bearbear is quite well-behaved but she is very energetic and curious too. She will follow me everywhere i go and check out everything i did. When she is in the park, she is the one that always bringing me to walk.
That's so cute. At what age do you bring your puppy out for walks? After all her vaccinations?
Nice videos! My puppy (2 months old) has learned "no", "come" and "sit" commands so far. I think next in line is "down" and "stay"... with those commands in line, I think I will feel safe to bring him for walks (especially "come" and "stay"). How I wish toilet training can be as easy as teaching commands (lucky you!).
I think I should start recording some videos too.... they don't stay young for long hehe.
nice video n ur bear bear is very very hyper active... very smart dog too... well train... if u got face book can go n visit my facebook n watch the video of my dog there.... hehehehe
i just bought this chowchow 3 days ago. she is very naughty, i bought this below 2k she is really active follow me everywhere......poo and pee really need times to teach hopefully she can learn!!
This post has been edited by sbugeye78: Jan 4 2009, 11:07 AM
i just bought this chowchow 3 days ago. she is very naughty, i bought this below 2k she is really active follow me everywhere......poo and pee really need times to teach hopefully she can learn!!
Hi sbugeye78, welcome to the Chow Chow gang! It's a nice red Chow Chow you got there. Did you get your new pet from a pet shop or breader? Yeah I am having a rough time with pee pee and poo poo too. I wish you all the best!
Has anyone bought a pet carrier to transport your Chow Chow puppy to a vet or groomer? Currently I am looking to buy a pet carrier because I need to transport my Chow Chow puppy back to my hometown with me during the CNY (I am going to drive alone, so leaving him alone behind will be a disaster since he is not toilet trained and bites everything at the moment). I am considering either the DogIt Pet Cargo 500 or 600. Both can fit my backseat (the 600 is a bit of a squeeze even though can go in the door). The specs are as follows:
The Pet Cargo 500 will be able to fit my Chow Chow for the next 2 months (I guess) and Pet Cargo 600 will probably last 1 - 2 months more. Which of these would you buy? I was thinking to buy the Pet Cargo 500 for now and hopefully he will be toilet trainer by the next 2 months and I will be able to let him sit on the backseat without the carrier. Any comments/advice?
This post has been edited by yktan: Jan 5 2009, 12:36 AM
Coming CNY i not planning to bring the bearbear back to hometown! i plan to put her in dog hotel.......i think this plan in better then buy the pet cargo! i got this chowchow from a supplier ,normally he sell puppy to the pet shop.
sbugeye78, how old is your Chow Chow? Mine's 2 months old and by Chinese New Year, he would have done his second vaccination only... I don't dare to put in a pet hotel. Where are you boarding your puppy?
yktan,
my bearbear 3 months old already, next week going to had 3 vaccination. i plan to put her at sri petaling, near to UOG there is pet shop. i need check out the cost 1st, where is your hometown? what happen if ur chowchow peepee or poopoo on the way back hometown? how many times ur chowchow poopoo a day? my bearbear only poopoo once in morning!
Added on January 5, 2009, 6:24 pm
QUOTE(yktan @ Jan 5 2009, 10:26 AM)
yktan,
my bearbear 3 months old already, next week going to had 3 vaccination. i plan to put her at sri petaling, near to UOG there is pet shop. i need check out the cost 1st, where is your hometown? what happen if ur chowchow peepee or poopoo on the way back hometown? how many times ur chowchow poopoo a day? my bearbear only poopoo once in morning!
This post has been edited by sbugeye78: Jan 5 2009, 06:24 PM
sbugeye78, my home town is in Johor. Yeah, I am very afraid that he will pee pee during the trip and hyper-activity/biting stuff in the car. That's the reason why I want to buy a pet carrier at the moment. When he is toilet trained and can old his pee pee (probably around 4 months old), then I'll let him ride in the car without the carrier.
Wow, your chow chow only poo once a day? That's amazing. What food do you feed him, how many times a day and how much each time? I am feeding him Artemis Fresh Mix (Medium to Large puppy) 2 times a day and 4 soup spoon (those chinese soup spoon) each time. I'm also giving him multi-vitamin paste each time because he just recovered from flu. On top of that he gets some puppy treats during his training and play time . At the moment, he poo poos 2 times a day on average (normally after each meal).
Have you trained your Chow Chow commands so far? Is he housebroken or newspaper trained? I am in the process of training him to pee pee and poo poo on newspaper at the moment. Today he seems like he improved a lot. I confined him straight after his dinner and he poo pooed and pee peeed in 5 minutes. No accidents during playtime too, so I am very glad today
This post has been edited by yktan: Jan 6 2009, 12:09 AM
i feed my bearbear nutriage, 2 twice a day morning 3 spoon (same as urs) nite 4-5 spoon so far peepee and poopoo a issue for me when she in the cage, she will peepee on the cage no worry coz got a plastic layer. for poopoo not that steady sometimes in the cage and sometimes near to the cloth i need to guide him poopoo on the newspaper! how u train ur chowchow poopoo>?
I have exactly the same problem as you sbugeye78. If I let him poo in the cage, he poos at random places and step on the poo if I don't get to it fast. Sometimes the poo get stuck into certain parts at the bottom of the cage (between the metal wires) which makes it almost impossible to remove. I tried to bring him out to the porch and carry him to a spot that I layered with newspaper every time he wants to poo. The problem is sometimes when I carry him when he is halfway pooing, he will stop and won't do anything on the newspaper.... later go back to the cage will straight away poo in the cage
Now I bought four pieces of the playpen fencing and set it up at my porch with lots of newspaper on the floor. Now, after every meal, I will put him inside and don't let him out until he has done his pee pee and poo poo. On the first day, he took almost 30 minutes to poo.... and I rewarded him a treat before letting him out. On the second day onwards, he seems to understand that he needs to pee pee and poo poo inside (maybe because I leave some of his pee-stained newspaper there), so when I put him in, he will normally pee and poo in 15 minutes. Maybe you want to try this method and see if it works for you? This might solve your poo poo problem. As for pee pee, you will still have to clean the cage tray until he is paper trained or can hold it long enough.
Is your chowchow 24hrs x 7 also in air-cond environment? my bearbear not so lucky! most of the time his tongue is it normal or not? he drink plenty of water! any bro can give me some advised?
This post has been edited by sbugeye78: Jan 6 2009, 08:13 PM
Is your chowchow 24hrs x 7 also in air-cond environment? my bearbear not so lucky! most of the time his tongue is it normal or not? he drink plenty of water! any bro can give me some advised?
sbugeye78, like jarjar6666 said, don't worry your puppy will be fine. Mine does not have the luxury of air conditioning either . Mine drinks A LOT of water too... he will drink more than 1 liter on a hot day, so it's pretty normal. If you bring him out to play (exercise), make sure you have a water bottle/dish there too cause he gets real thirsty. If you use a water dish and your dog wets his neck/chest area all the time, you may want to change to a water bottle feeder... my groomer said that he has seen a few Chow Chow with skin irritation/infection at the neck/chest area as a result of wetness.
jarjar6666 & sbugeye78, what type of toys does your Chow Chow like? I bought 3 types of toys: (1) A rubber ball (2) A DNA - like rubber toy (3) A cloth-rope type toy But he only likes the cloth-rope toy. The totally ignores the other 2
jarjar6666, do you leave bearbear outside even at night? If you do, are you afraid that someone might dognap him? Initially I wanted to let my puppy be outside so that he can have more space to run around and play but the pet shop people advised me not to house him outside when he is so young.
This post has been edited by yktan: Jan 7 2009, 12:09 AM
it depends wat u gave the food to ur dog... if u give a lot then there ll poo more than 2 times... like my dogs i just give them food around 8pm n i give them snacks for supper...after dinner poo n next moring poo .... if u give less food then there ll just poo once i guess....
QUOTE(yktan @ Jan 6 2009, 12:08 AM)
sbugeye78, my home town is in Johor. Yeah, I am very afraid that he will pee pee during the trip and hyper-activity/biting stuff in the car. That's the reason why I want to buy a pet carrier at the moment. When he is toilet trained and can old his pee pee (probably around 4 months old), then I'll let him ride in the car without the carrier.
Wow, your chow chow only poo once a day? That's amazing. What food do you feed him, how many times a day and how much each time? I am feeding him Artemis Fresh Mix (Medium to Large puppy) 2 times a day and 4 soup spoon (those chinese soup spoon) each time. I'm also giving him multi-vitamin paste each time because he just recovered from flu. On top of that he gets some puppy treats during his training and play time . At the moment, he poo poos 2 times a day on average (normally after each meal).
Have you trained your Chow Chow commands so far? Is he housebroken or newspaper trained? I am in the process of training him to pee pee and poo poo on newspaper at the moment. Today he seems like he improved a lot. I confined him straight after his dinner and he poo pooed and pee peeed in 5 minutes. No accidents during playtime too, so I am very glad today
Added on January 8, 2009, 9:14 amalright in wat situation tat ur chow drink a lot of water? after food or when it feel hot? if because of food may b the food feel salty... so u better beware of the food... if because hot then drink more water then u hav to focus tat when dogs feel hot where there always stayed the most place or the tongue keep on come out means tired n hot...
QUOTE(sbugeye78 @ Jan 6 2009, 05:53 PM)
thanks for the info i will give a try
Added on January 6, 2009, 8:13 pmyktan,
Is your chowchow 24hrs x 7 also in air-cond environment? my bearbear not so lucky! most of the time his tongue is it normal or not? he drink plenty of water! any bro can give me some advised?
Added on January 8, 2009, 9:36 amwat time do u guys bring ur dogs out for walk walk... to share with u all if u don wan ur dog feel hot try to bring them during morning 6am tat is the best time for dog cause the floor is not tat hot anymore... in between 5 to 9 i think 7 something is better but still consider hot for them... tat y there always walk no longer feel very hot n thier tongue feel like going to drop down to the floor rite? so this is wat i heard from others...ya becareful don bring ur dog when it rain especially those grass... cause my dog get infection easily... make me so worried always... n need to cover something on it head so tat it wont keep on scratch n licking....
i always put my dogs inside my house cause outside i feel very dirty especially rainning time n they scare of the thunder as well... so i don dare to put them outside... cause inside my house quite cool so they just like it ....
yktan how was ur chow chow wat is ur chow chow name? when can i visit ur white chow chow.... hehehehehehe
QUOTE(yktan @ Jan 7 2009, 12:01 AM)
sbugeye78, like jarjar6666 said, don't worry your puppy will be fine. Mine does not have the luxury of air conditioning either . Mine drinks A LOT of water too... he will drink more than 1 liter on a hot day, so it's pretty normal. If you bring him out to play (exercise), make sure you have a water bottle/dish there too cause he gets real thirsty. If you use a water dish and your dog wets his neck/chest area all the time, you may want to change to a water bottle feeder... my groomer said that he has seen a few Chow Chow with skin irritation/infection at the neck/chest area as a result of wetness.
jarjar6666 & sbugeye78, what type of toys does your Chow Chow like? I bought 3 types of toys: (1) A rubber ball (2) A DNA - like rubber toy (3) A cloth-rope type toy But he only likes the cloth-rope toy. The totally ignores the other 2
jarjar6666, do you leave bearbear outside even at night? If you do, are you afraid that someone might dognap him? Initially I wanted to let my puppy be outside so that he can have more space to run around and play but the pet shop people advised me not to house him outside when he is so young.
This post has been edited by dcwk24: Jan 8 2009, 09:36 AM
it depends wat u gave the food to ur dog... if u give a lot then there ll poo more than 2 times... like my dogs i just give them food around 8pm n i give them snacks for supper...after dinner poo n next moring poo .... if u give less food then there ll just poo once i guess.... Added on January 8, 2009, 9:14 amalright in wat situation tat ur chow drink a lot of water? after food or when it feel hot? if because of food may b the food feel salty... so u better beware of the food... if because hot then drink more water then u hav to focus tat when dogs feel hot where there always stayed the most place or the tongue keep on come out means tired n hot... Added on January 8, 2009, 9:36 amwat time do u guys bring ur dogs out for walk walk... to share with u all if u don wan ur dog feel hot try to bring them during morning 6am tat is the best time for dog cause the floor is not tat hot anymore... in between 5 to 9 i think 7 something is better but still consider hot for them... tat y there always walk no longer feel very hot n thier tongue feel like going to drop down to the floor rite? so this is wat i heard from others...ya becareful don bring ur dog when it rain especially those grass... cause my dog get infection easily... make me so worried always... n need to cover something on it head so tat it wont keep on scratch n licking....
i always put my dogs inside my house cause outside i feel very dirty especially rainning time n they scare of the thunder as well... so i don dare to put them outside... cause inside my house quite cool so they just like it ....
yktan how was ur chow chow wat is ur chow chow name? when can i visit ur white chow chow.... hehehehehehe
dcwk24, my boy is named Louis. When he has his third jab (beginning Feb), we arrange for a meetup ok? I want to socialize him, so is it ok if I let him play with Donna?
I can't bring Louis out for walks yet, so now I just play with him in my porch 2 times a day.... normally early in the morning (7am ++) and late in the evening (9pm++). Both times not that warm, so he won't get tired so fast. Thanks for the tips about infection from grass. I will take note of it. Does Donna poo during her walks? How do you dispose the poo? Now, I wrap everything up in plastic bag and throw into a big dustbin with those black plastic bags. The problem is it gets a bit stinky inside, so I have to throw away every few days.
My chow chow is locked in the cage at night and the cage is chained to the grill. So I think it is quite safe. And my chow chow is a very good guard dog, I don't think anybody can get near the gate without her barking. By the way, she adopts 3 sets of house rules. My own condo, my father's house and my sister's house. She guards all the 3 houses too. I'm so lucky to have her.
My chow chow also doesn't like rubber toy. I gave her nylon bone and soft toys. She enjoys them.
Yktan, you can also meet up with my bearbear. She is very friendly to dogs and human and she has completed the basic obedience training by MKA. My dog will poo on the grass when I bring her outside. If I'm unable to bring her out, I'll scoope the poo up and flush into the toilet. Hassle free. My bearbear also a very brave dog, she never scare either thunder or fireworks.
My chow chow is locked in the cage at night and the cage is chained to the grill. So I think it is quite safe. And my chow chow is a very good guard dog, I don't think anybody can get near the gate without her barking. By the way, she adopts 3 sets of house rules. My own condo, my father's house and my sister's house. She guards all the 3 houses too. I'm so lucky to have her.
My chow chow also doesn't like rubber toy. I gave her nylon bone and soft toys. She enjoys them.
Yktan, you can also meet up with my bearbear. She is very friendly to dogs and human and she has completed the basic obedience training by MKA. My dog will poo on the grass when I bring her outside. If I'm unable to bring her out, I'll scoope the poo up and flush into the toilet. Hassle free. My bearbear also a very brave dog, she never scare either thunder or fireworks.
jarjar6666, thanks for the offer. It would be great for Louis to meet bearbear. I can't wait for him to get over with the innoculations. I thought of doing the same thing... chain the cage to the grill or something permanent like a support pillar, it's a great idea.
How do you clean up the poo on the grass? Do you bring along a plastic bag?
my donna ll poo at our own garden all the time so i just leave it for the fetilizer...hehehehehehe....
Added on January 8, 2009, 11:10 pmactually it depends where u wan to train ur dog to pee n poo all the time? like my dog always pee n poo outside during i m working i ll order my maids to do it for me.... if let say u don hav any maid then i think u better train them at the toilet.... u need to train all the time at the base there so tat all the time louis can smell the base there....but u ll feel heart pain cause u need to scold n shout on it.... if not there wont know wat happen....
my chow chow really not frenly at all when she was at her own house ... when go to ppl house she very naughty don let others to touch her... but she really protect the family like jarjar mentioned... chow chow is a hunter dog in china n it relly big size... do u guys know tat?
i hope tat i can breed my donna with some other male chow chow but my chow chow very old 6 years old now... n my mum always yelling on me tat "NO".... cause i got another shih tsu at home also ... so i scare no time to take care as well....
does any1 got any experience about to breed a new chow chow .... cause i don wan to lost my donna seed .... does some1 can share like breeed a chow chow n take care my donna new baby then next time u help me to breed 1 more back for me is tat any1 accept my offer?
QUOTE(yktan @ Jan 8 2009, 07:42 PM)
jarjar6666, thanks for the offer. It would be great for Louis to meet bearbear. I can't wait for him to get over with the innoculations. I thought of doing the same thing... chain the cage to the grill or something permanent like a support pillar, it's a great idea.
How do you clean up the poo on the grass? Do you bring along a plastic bag?
This post has been edited by dcwk24: Jan 8 2009, 11:10 PM
dcwk24 , I'm affraid ur donna is too old to breed. I think the oldest age to breed a dog is at 5 year-old. I never beat or scold my bearbear. I don't believe in beating dog, my bearbear does not submissive to me, she loves me.
wow tat is great u got a very very smart chow chow... ya i heard tat 5 yrs old is the best time to breed... hmm too bad i missed the time... thanks for the advice.... how u train when ur chow wan to bite things?
QUOTE(jarjar6666 @ Jan 9 2009, 08:41 PM)
dcwk24 , I'm affraid ur donna is too old to breed. I think the oldest age to breed a dog is at 5 year-old. I never beat or scold my bearbear. I don't believe in beating dog, my bearbear does not submissive to me, she loves me.
When she is abt very young and want to bite things because of teething, I always show her the toys that she supposes to bite and if she bites the toys i'll praise her a lot. Now she doesn't bite anything except the thing that I gave her as toy. If she try to explore new things like towel, she will stop when I said 'no no'. Now I can leave her alone at home without any worries. She is not even interested in my shoes
then how was ur chow chow go to pee n poo? how u train it? u totally never shout on it b4? n it never pee n poo inside the house b4?
QUOTE(jarjar6666 @ Jan 10 2009, 03:06 PM)
When she is abt very young and want to bite things because of teething, I always show her the toys that she supposes to bite and if she bites the toys i'll praise her a lot. Now she doesn't bite anything except the thing that I gave her as toy. If she try to explore new things like towel, she will stop when I said 'no no'. Now I can leave her alone at home without any worries. She is not even interested in my shoes
She did pee & poo inside the house b4 5 months old. After 5 months, suddenly she knows how to pee on the wee wee pad in the kitchen. You must keep an eyes on her when she is young and immediately said 'no no' and push her away if she pee & poo in the incorrect place. She learned it by herself to pee & poo everytime step on the grass so i don't need to train her to poo outside. My house got a grand piano & carpet but I totally don't worry. I can left her roaming free in my house alone for few hour and still nothing happened in the house. This is my house rules fo her:
1) At my sister's house: Bearbear is at my sister's house from Sunday to Friday. Since she is tied outside the house so she got no choice have to pee at the place she is tied up. My bro in law will bring out to walk & poo at night.
2) At my father's house: I bring her there everyday when I go there. She have to stay at the car pouch and no pee & poo allowed. I'll bring her out to the grass to pee every few hours.
3) My house: I'll take her back on fri after work and stay with me till Sunday. She pee on the wee wee pad put in the kitchen and poo at the wet kitchen where there is a hole to flush down the poo if she has no chance to go out. She can roam freely except my room in my house.
I dunno how she learned it but she is completely house broken after age of 5 months. No accident at all. I thik praise work much better than shout. I praise her a lot when she did her business at the correct places.
Bearbear at my father's house: [attachmentid=761103]
Bearbear at my house while I'm playing piano: [attachmentid=761104]
Hiyee...so happy to c chowchow owner here. i aso 1st time b dog owner, hv a cream colour chowchow. i heard ppl said b4, "10 chowchow sure got 9 chowchow will bite ppl" but i dun think so, bcoz my chowchow wont bite ppl, actually she is a 'penakut'.. hehe..
here's my chowchow:
This post has been edited by *QQ*: Jan 20 2009, 10:15 PM
wa...qq's chow chow so cute! can we have a chow chow gathering? Must be fun seeing all those bearbear.
thankyou... ya sure, i hope v can hv a chowchow gathering soon, can meet up n share some experience.. jarjar, where u give ur chowchow basic obedience training? in kl?
Hiyee...so happy to c chowchow owner here. i aso 1st time b dog owner, hv a cream colour chowchow. i heard ppl said b4, "10 chowchow sure got 9 chowchow will bite ppl" but i dun think so, bcoz my chowchow wont bite ppl, actually she is a 'penakut'.. hehe..
here's my chowchow:
Hi there *QQ*, your chow chow is sooooo adorable! What's his/her name? How old is he/her? Louis (my male Chow Chow) also has brown droopy ears! Did you trim his fur? His fur is like so short and tidy
QUOTE(jarjar6666 @ Jan 20 2009, 10:50 PM)
wa...qq's chow chow so cute! can we have a chow chow gathering? Must be fun seeing all those bearbear.
I agree jarjar6666 I can't wait for Louis to get done with his vaccinations and meet some new friends/playmates.
This post has been edited by yktan: Jan 21 2009, 12:08 AM
[quote=yktan,Jan 21 2009, 12:06 AM] Hi there *QQ*, your chow chow is sooooo adorable! What's his/her name? How old is he/her? Louis (my male Chow Chow) also has brown droopy ears! Did you trim his fur? His fur is like so short and tidy
Ya, i brought her for full grooming last few months, actually ask the groomer to make like lion look, but tat time my chowchow's fur not enuf long, at last the groomer cut for my chowchow like a doll look..
my chowchow is a female, she now is 8 mths plus, her name is TungTeng (in korea language means fat person) hehe. ur Louis is handsome too... when he will finish his third vacation?
Hi there *QQ*, your chow chow is sooooo adorable! What's his/her name? How old is he/her? Louis (my male Chow Chow) also has brown droopy ears! Did you trim his fur? His fur is like so short and tidy
Ya, i brought her for full grooming last few months, actually ask the groomer to make like lion look, but tat time my chowchow's fur not enuf long, at last the groomer cut for my chowchow like a doll look..
my chowchow is a female, she now is 8 mths plus, her name is TungTeng (in korea language means fat person) hehe. ur Louis is handsome too... when he will finish his third vacation?
TungTeng is very slim, I think you have to change her name!
Louis is going to get his third vaccination early next month. However, when I brought him to the vet for his second jab, the vet said that he was given the first shot too early... he got his first shot at 40 days old and the vet said that it is 2 days too early (he might still have mommy's antibody that will kill off the vaccine and render the first jab useless). So he advised me to repeat another shot.... that means instead of 3 shots, he suggests 4 shots. I am still thinking if I should do it.
I am kind a pissed with the pet shop now.... I am thinking of going back to ask their side of the story.
This post has been edited by yktan: Jan 22 2009, 12:28 AM
my chowchow yesterday got 2 teeth drop, bring her see VET! doctor said is normal. now the mouth got infections, any one of your face the same issue! her mouth now very stink! any advised
may i know how old is ur chow chow now? n where do u stay? i can introduse u go to some nice vet doc.
[quote=sbugeye78,Feb 5 2009, 03:18 PM]hi,
my chowchow yesterday got 2 teeth drop, bring her see VET! doctor said is normal. now the mouth got infections, any one of your face the same issue! her mouth now very stink! any advised
[/quote]
Added on February 7, 2009, 9:25 amur chow chow look very very cute n pretty gul... hahaha y u call her that name? mean (fei po) is it? great our chow chow fans sound like more n more now. ya we hope tat we can hav a chow chow gathering. so i hope some1 can organize it...
[quote=*QQ*,Jan 21 2009, 12:37 AM] [quote=yktan,Jan 21 2009, 12:06 AM] Hi there *QQ*, your chow chow is sooooo adorable! What's his/her name? How old is he/her? Louis (my male Chow Chow) also has brown droopy ears! Did you trim his fur? His fur is like so short and tidy
[/quote]
This post has been edited by dcwk24: Feb 7 2009, 09:25 AM
i already survey ler.. it that really hard to get a creamy or white colour chow chow?? even if i saw ppl selling. But all of them sold.. T____________T sad..
anyone here knows where to go or search to buy my creamy chowchow?
Have you search in adpost? Well, maybe you need to wait. There is not many chow chow breeder here.
Added on March 5, 2009, 6:03 pmenvyblue, i just saw your post in the 'pet store' thread. Maybe it is more appropriate for me to answer here. When I searched for my bearbear in last year jun, I found both cream & red. Maybe it is just not the season now. You need to wait. I bought my bearbear from a breeder in jln ipoh but i heard he is not into the breeding business anymore.
This post has been edited by jarjar6666: Mar 5 2009, 06:04 PM
well don b so sad... u can try to wait if u don mind... but i don see any chow chow yet... if u wan a white or a creamy chow chow i can try to help u focus on it... by the way u can go to 1U petsmore n look for a guy named eric and ask him when can there get it... if they hav it they ll in form u....hope this can help u plz don cry anymore hahahaha....
QUOTE(Envyblue @ Mar 4 2009, 11:32 PM)
T_____T i want chowchow tooo...
i already survey ler.. it that really hard to get a creamy or white colour chow chow?? even if i saw ppl selling. But all of them sold.. T____________T sad..
anyone here knows where to go or search to buy my creamy chowchow?
(1) Do you walk your Chow Chow? Is he hard to control? The first time I brought Louis out, he is totally out of control.... I guess it is understandable cos he is so curious about all the interesting things on the streets. The second time he is actually quite tame, the only problem is he will bark try to go after every human being he sees. It's very weird cos when I bring him to the groomers, he is very friendly etc to the groomers and other customers.
(2) How often do you bath your Chow Chow? What shampoo do you recommend? How do you dry him (do you have the Metro Air Force dryer thing)?
Hi, 1) my bearbear seldom bark. She actually never bark unless there is stranger outside the gate and cats. I think all dogs will be hard to control at 1st especially when they are puppies. Just need more practice and patient. 2) I used to bath my bearbear once a week but now is 2 weeks once. I'm using McKlee's shampoo for puppies. I just towel dry him when I bath her myself. I send to grooming center to bath her in alternate week.
I'm also a first time dog owner and she is a chow chow too. Chow chow is not hard to take care, they are quiet and clean. You may need more time to take care of their coat.
chow-chow 3-4 years old, sorry i dont know the exact age i think this not that important, since dogs can live up to 12 years right???? Help him to find a new home......Thanks a lot....
LOL. ^^ kkayyys.. hehe. whr u go for obedience training? i heard chow chow dont really mix well with other pets right? if from young shld b ok right i have a pom at home. hehe.
My fren got a chow chow, but now botak (whole body). The skin colour (whole body) is black, is that normal? I a bit shock when she told me that is her chow chow. Coz I remember the last time I saw her chow chow is a big fat dog and now is a skinny and black dog.
the fur came of by itself or they cut it? i duno much about chowchows but there's this disease known as black skin disease. the fur will slowly fall off whr the black skin is. My pom had that disease b4, went to a vet and they gave us a shampoo to bath her with, her fur has grown back now but not as fluffy as b4.
Added on August 28, 2009, 10:51 amits quite common in pomeranians, i think its common in chows too.. i heard feeding olive oil is good to clear it up. i've nvr used that tough, just the shampoo.. its a medical shampoo, got to bath her properly.. wash every part of the black skin and leave for 5mins then only wash off.
This post has been edited by jolenelarhhs: Aug 28 2009, 10:51 AM
My told me that the chow chow got skin disease and very smelly so end up they went to grooming centre and trimmed all the fur. Hopefully she can recover soon.
This post has been edited by shingin: Aug 28 2009, 12:47 PM
I went for the MKA obedience training. As for living along with other pets, you need to socialise him since young. My father just adopted a stray dog and my chow chow is fine with her. To avoid skin problem, don't feed anything with wheat, corn or chicken. I only feed my chow chow lamb, duck, venison etc. I never feed her any kibbles with chicken. So far no problem (touch wood).
She is 1.5 year-old. Somehow my chow chow doesn't like to eat fish. She rejects all the Orijien 6 fresh fish & Addiction Salmon Bleu. Now feeding Evangers pheasant & Rice + Natural Balance Lamb & Rice. Will start on Acana Lamb & Apple soon.
oo.. mayb cause fish nt as much taste. but salmon is good for them hahha. i feeding purina one lamb. but gt 1 time my maid bought the salmon one @.@ took wrong i think so now feeding Roxy the salmon one. she also dont really like it. just give her she duwan eat, must play with her/ feed her with hand/ train her with tricks. hahha.. atleast liddat can 2 in 1. teach n feed. hhahah !
the fur came of by itself or they cut it? i duno much about chowchows but there's this disease known as black skin disease. the fur will slowly fall off whr the black skin is. My pom had that disease b4, went to a vet and they gave us a shampoo to bath her with, her fur has grown back now but not as fluffy as b4.
Added on August 28, 2009, 10:51 amits quite common in pomeranians, i think its common in chows too.. i heard feeding olive oil is good to clear it up. i've nvr used that tough, just the shampoo.. its a medical shampoo, got to bath her properly.. wash every part of the black skin and leave for 5mins then only wash off.
Hi, my bf has a chowchow with the same skin prob too. A doctor suggest we use malasep to bath her.
Actually we try many ways to cure it, change the diet to fish only (8 fish by Orijen), let her blow fan so she wont get too hot, tried a lot of shampoos, cut down on snacks, tried for so long & she manage to recover BUT the skin prob came back again.
So i think it's the season..this happened to her for 2 years at the end of the year..
Thats just what we thought but If some1 know whyis this happening, plsssss let me know...really hope to find out whats the main reason...
Hmm.. my pom only got it once and she's all better now. Except her fur doesn't seem to grow back to as long as it was b4. I think it could be genetically passed down.
Causes of Black Skin Disease in Dogs The exact cause of black skin disease has not yet been pinpointed. Various forms of the disease occur from a variety of causes including obesity, hormone imbalance, allergies, and genetics.
Treating Black Skin Disease in Dogs Black skin disease is treated based on its cause. If the cause is due to a hormone imbalance, hormone therapies can be given. If the disease is caused by obesity or allergies, addressing these conditions can reduce the severity of the symptoms. Some of the treatments of black skin disease can have serious side effects. For example, hormone therapies and steroid treatments may cause the development of diabetes.
The chow chow is going to be euthanised is if no one adopts him Please pass the word around, even a temporary foster home will do. I already have 2 dogs at home and 1 foster puppy to care for, how I wish I could take him in
This post has been edited by byaku-chan: Nov 7 2009, 12:02 AM
Hi All I am looking a female chow chow puppy with MKA cert in penang island. OR my male chow chow (MKA cert) is looking for a mate. Anyone have frens that can introduce ? kindly text me ya.
Just got my 3 months old Chow Chow today! So happy!
btw, where should I send my chow chow for training? MKA? or any other suggestion? I live in KL btw
Depends on your budget. MKA joining fee is RM100 while basic training is RM50, location is at 1Utama park opposite the Old Wing area. Canine Sportz Club is more expensive but quite fun. Joining fee for them is RM100 while basic training is RM130.
QUOTE(Shinnen @ Mar 6 2010, 07:25 AM)
Depends on your budget. MKA joining fee is RM100 while basic training is RM50, location is at 1Utama park opposite the Old Wing area. Canine Sportz Club is more expensive but quite fun. Joining fee for them is RM100 while basic training is RM130.
err, what's the difference between mka and canine? the way they train?
this is my damn chow chow , this year 2 year old liao , suddenly kisiao like to bite ppl . this week kena liao . open a brand new 6 lubang on my butt. and hand...... sien .........
seldom have white colour in chow chow breed.looks like a Lion only!!
Hello to ALL CHOW CHOW LOVERS i needed help from you guys to vote for my doggie chow chow ^^ by clicking "like" and follow the instruction below!!!!! We really needed your help!!! In Facebook. Guys thank you for supportinggg Follow THIS INSTRUCTION to click 'LIKE' on my doggie photo 1)First you have to click 'Like' on the Petsmore.com page. On Top of The Page Got The 'LIKE' Box. Link: http://www.facebook.com/petsmore 2) After that you can just click on the link and click 'LIKE' beside the comments.Link: http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=437...f_t=photo_reply
wow so nice... where did u got this baby from? i got it from selayang... mine got black color at the end of the tail and on top of the body.. but the body black color is losing ad.. only left the end of the tail wan.. u bring him to exercise la.. haha but biting is normal for a puppy.. but when he/she bite u must scold ot lightly hit the mouth to correct ur dog.. where u live? ur chow chowi s a b****? or dog? look exactly the same as mine.. lol ... maybe my fei fei brother? go c my blog to check my fei fei .. really exactly the same. exercise will work things out =D
urs got cert???????? i scare is from same parents la.. where is ur location? coz tat time i bought from tat breeder one is male n one more is female.. i took the female
im still deciding whether to take chow chow or not. need some advice from those who had this pet here. thanks. is it really that bad tempered as mentioned in those books? im afraid if i get one then in future when my wife got baby will it be jelly to the baby and harm him/her ? pls advice...pls pls
chow chow is not that bad temper la... i dont think i got any issue with my chow chow..
the dog is doing well with my 5 yrs old nephew and 7 yrs old niece too. u just need proper handling... if u cant handle well then send for training.. lol
owh, thx antonio.. u know my knowledge bout this dog really lil. but we love the chow chow so much when we saw it. its just tat a bit worried with the "specs" tat ppl talked bout chow chow.. tats y wanted to ask ppl who own this dog.. anyway, thx alot for ur info...i guess i have my decision now.. =)
urs got cert???????? i scare is from same parents la.. where is ur location? coz tat time i bought from tat breeder one is male n one more is female.. i took the female
my breeder is from subang. hope not the same, lol
Added on March 9, 2011, 10:51 pm
QUOTE(AntonioKane @ Mar 5 2011, 12:24 AM)
my breeder is from subang. hope not the same, lol
This post has been edited by leejason99: Mar 9 2011, 10:51 PM
Added on March 9, 2011, 10:51 pm my breeder is from subang. hope not the same, lol
come lets arrange a meet up for our doggie la. hehe .. i stay in usj
Added on March 14, 2011, 12:44 am
QUOTE(Kelvenwai @ Mar 10 2011, 01:51 AM)
Champion line
hey... dont sell here la.. promote somewhere else.. anyway tat doesnt looks like a champion line to me.. ordinary only.. i saw one guy from ipoh got 2 chow chow, tat is for sure is champion line.. ur chow's eye too big la.. -.- cantik punya chow have to be kecik kecik like almond.. -.- No hard feeling k bro. but sell at pet store
This post has been edited by AntonioKane: Mar 14 2011, 12:44 AM
Added on March 14, 2011, 12:44 am hey... dont sell here la.. promote somewhere else.. anyway tat doesnt looks like a champion line to me.. ordinary only.. i saw one guy from ipoh got 2 chow chow, tat is for sure is champion line.. ur chow's eye too big la.. -.- cantik punya chow have to be kecik kecik like almond.. -.- No hard feeling k bro. but sell at pet store
nowadays all this big bone la, show quality la, champion la all commercial sake only, no truth one..can you gurantee a champions lineage pupp to be a cham as well? or outcome of a show quality....
kane, where u usually go jalan? my chow now dont like to be on leash, that fella dont want to jalan with a leash, how is yours?
nowadays all this big bone la, show quality la, champion la all commercial sake only, no truth one..can you gurantee a champions lineage pupp to be a cham as well? or outcome of a show quality....
kane, where u usually go jalan? my chow now dont like to be on leash, that fella dont want to jalan with a leash, how is yours?
Totally agree with u ^^ , those really high quality dog will easily cost more than 5 digit.. around my house onlly.. no leash then how u train la? haha i wont bring out without leash.. later kena rogol =.= .. habis la.. lolx you intro place to go lepak la.. den i go grooming kau kau b4 go out.. show off abit.. lolx
ur dog let you put leash on her when go jalan jalan?mine tak suka leash one, wont even jalan a bit without leash, normally
if go jalan jalan will go 1u park outside new wing or dpc, got a lot of dogs there.
oh.. need to train 1st.. haha she will walk over to me to allow me to tie her up wan.. i not using collar i using the body wan.. like a collar but go arond her body.. i wanna change to neck collar ad when she grow up.. got one but the size too big .. haha Ur dog is dominating over u .. haha GG .. Chow Chow is veli stubborn and veli dominating wan... penat lo.. u need to train properly again.. if not next time might have some difficulty to handle.
Added on March 14, 2011, 12:44 am hey... dont sell here la.. promote somewhere else.. anyway tat doesnt looks like a champion line to me.. ordinary only.. i saw one guy from ipoh got 2 chow chow, tat is for sure is champion line.. ur chow's eye too big la.. -.- cantik punya chow have to be kecik kecik like almond.. -.- No hard feeling k bro. but sell at pet store
This chow chow not for sell! Her eyes is after operation make bigger as Vet suggested. Eye too small usually got tearing problem.
Those champion parent will least at MKA Cert. Cant cheat one.
This post has been edited by Kelvenwai: Mar 15 2011, 11:32 PM
This chow chow not for sell! Her eyes is after operation make bigger as Vet suggested. Eye too small usually got tearing problem.
Those champion parent will least at MKA Cert. Cant cheat one.
need to say more? see the attached thumbnail
Added on March 18, 2011, 8:17 pm
QUOTE(leejason99 @ Mar 16 2011, 10:40 AM)
so how do you train your chow antonio? mind to share? ive come accross many people selling dogs with mka, even though
their parents are listed as champions, the pupp might not be theirs so happen to a friend of mine. the pupps are from different
kennel but just that they happen to be delivered almost the same time as the champs b****, they just kind of adopted the
champs kennel as the fake parents of the newborn, too many cases as such, btw mka are so easy to acquire these days and
there are so many champs in too many category so long as ur breed is not a faulty one in mka's rules, u stand a chance to get
at least one cert from mka if you participate in competition organize by them (participate 2 tourney at least will get one cert, so bloody
easy and they all call their sire/b**** a champ just after getting that one cert, what a joke)
where u live ah bro? haha.. lets chat bout chow chow.,. ignore sellers here.. use treat to train lo.. haha .. jerhigh works really well.. subang got one shop selling jerhigh for rm5 only.. so i buy alot other shops at least RM6.50 for 80 grams. repetitive is the best training.. haha.. one person train enuf d... but my chow got good temparement.. ( told by vet ) i not pro oso oh.. but so far so good.. these days oso lazy to train much... haha u checked ur chow's teeth? cantik?
This post has been edited by AntonioKane: Mar 19 2011, 11:24 AM
Hi all , am i in to correct thread , i'm looking forward on this may consider one . do i need special care like huskie or what? do it need to sleep under air con rooms?
Btw .this is my dog , it's around 14 years i think anytime it's will go
Hi all , am i in to correct thread , i'm looking forward on this may consider one . do i need special care like huskie or what? do it need to sleep under air con rooms?
Btw .this is my dog , it's around 14 years i think anytime it's will go
And if anyone know what breed is this Y. Y i'm kinda loving it !!
It certainly need special care, not necessary air cond, but make sure is a cool place.. at least inside your house with fan if not ready money for VET again n again !
Added on March 29, 2011, 7:51 pm
QUOTE(MK83 @ Mar 29 2011, 04:26 PM)
anyone know how much is a market price for chow chow puppies?
Depends , make sure get it from a good breeder, u might end up spending more in veterinary. a good chow would cost about 4k ?
i guess anyone selling below that would be kinda desperate. Trust me ! Get a Pedigree
This post has been edited by AntonioKane: Mar 29 2011, 07:51 PM
huh for the vet problem it's will make it skin got red spot ? or what? @@ btw thanks for the info !.
many types ohhhhhhhhhh .................... never heard of red spot, hotspot ada la.. actually chow chow is easy to take care la , just proper environment and good pedigree ok ad.. =D
PLEASE HELP ME FIND MY DOG....HIS NAME IS PIXIE...HE WILL RESPONSE TO HIS NAME...REWARD WILL BE GIVEN TO THOSE WHO HAS FOUND HIM...WE JUST WANT THE DOG BACK...PLEASE HELP ME FIND THANK YOU..
may i know whr can i find chow chow puppy from the pet shop in KL area? i'm very like chow chow and my family also wanna have 1. if getting from west Malaysia to east Malaysia, will it bring any bad effect to the puppy? i try search at east Malaysia, however i didn't see any shop having it. all shop telling me to import from oversea or west Malaysia.
This post has been edited by serpent1990: Apr 2 2011, 08:54 PM
Hi i'm actually looking for a female chow chow with mka cert to get attach with my male chow chow. Do anyone know where could i find female chow chow slightly 2 yrs old?
This is my chow chow
This post has been edited by karenyuna: Apr 3 2011, 03:44 PM
may i know whr can i find chow chow puppy from the pet shop in KL area? i'm very like chow chow and my family also wanna have 1. if getting from west Malaysia to east Malaysia, will it bring any bad effect to the puppy? i try search at east Malaysia, however i didn't see any shop having it. all shop telling me to import from oversea or west Malaysia.
Chow Chow is kinda hard to get , but today i saw one in Subang ! hehehe i think is 3.6k male . veli nice looking chow chow .
Added on April 5, 2011, 1:12 pm
QUOTE(karenyuna @ Apr 3 2011, 03:43 PM)
Hi i'm actually looking for a female chow chow with mka cert to get attach with my male chow chow. Do anyone know where could i find female chow chow slightly 2 yrs old?
This is my chow chow
Post more photos of your chow la.. haha That day i saw jason's chow chow. Beautiful , darn big bone .. keke
This post has been edited by AntonioKane: Apr 5 2011, 01:12 PM
for your informations, chow chow is no longer an expensive breed, even with mka u can get as cheap as rm1300 after nego with the breeder. u can go to this site and type chow chow under pets category http://www.adpost.com/my/ or mudah.com.my and many many more sites. these are genuine mka which indirectly make mka worthless in many sense...just make sure the pup is healthy and you like them, that all matters, buying a 5k or 10k chow does not gurantee you of the temperament or quality
Added on April 6, 2011, 12:19 pm
QUOTE(AntonioKane @ Apr 5 2011, 01:11 PM)
Chow Chow is kinda hard to get , but today i saw one in Subang ! hehehe i think is 3.6k male . veli nice looking chow chow .
Added on April 5, 2011, 1:12 pm Post more photos of your chow la.. haha That day i saw jason's chow chow. Beautiful , darn big bone .. keke
your dog's temperament are excellent she is so friendly with everyone, so cute
This post has been edited by leejason99: Apr 6 2011, 12:19 PM
for your informations, chow chow is no longer an expensive breed, even with mka u can get as cheap as rm1300 after nego with the breeder. u can go to this site and type chow chow under pets category http://www.adpost.com/my/ or mudah.com.my and many many more sites. these are genuine mka which indirectly make mka worthless in many sense...just make sure the pup is healthy and you like them, that all matters, buying a 5k or 10k chow does not gurantee you of the temperament or quality
Added on April 6, 2011, 12:19 pm your dog's temperament are excellent she is so friendly with everyone, so cute
that day kena bite by one silky terrier b4 go back.. -.- hahhaa.. ehh.. bro, can help me look out for black chow?
that terrier very daring ya, got blood? last time got one breeder sell grey chow (dark grey almost like black) for 3k but i throw away the contact d...see you good luck or not la, cause very seldom got grey or white colour one, i will inform you if i encounter one
Wow, cantik leh ! so fluffy !! the eyes so cute eh.. kekkeke, nice color
Added on April 13, 2011, 5:55 pm
QUOTE(leejason99 @ Apr 8 2011, 05:09 PM)
that terrier very daring ya, got blood? last time got one breeder sell grey chow (dark grey almost like black) for 3k but i throw away the contact d...see you good luck or not la, cause very seldom got grey or white colour one, i will inform you if i encounter one
hahaha, gila terrier.. lucky no blood just abit of scratch .. but now ok ad.. keke not much chow chow owners around?
This post has been edited by AntonioKane: Apr 13 2011, 05:55 PM
Bro, u daily grooming ahh??? the color so so so so RED! cantik =D share with me some grooming tips for ur chow la.. can can ?
Not everyday, I just comb her coat once in 2-3 days. Shower once in 2 weeks, full groom once a month. My experience as well as a couple of Chow owners, we find California dog food is 1 of the best for Chows, the coat grows much better in an obvious way, smoother n stronger. I've tried other dog foods, the fur is rougher n sheds a lot.
This is my Chow a month ago right after grooming, she looks so round. Usually after grooming, we nickname her Ah-Boy because she looks like male Chow. Notice her reverse-heart shaped tongue?
Does any1's Chow sleep like this?
my chow chow have the same sleeping gesture like yours..lol
Hey bro wongcmartin , i started to feed my fei fei on california natural for 2nd month d. so cute la ur chow .. hahaha but mine is veli choosy with foods.. @@ really stubborn.. lol .. got mood swing oso.... yours is female? got mood swing?
get from breeder? careful ok , make sure is a BREEDER , not a trader . if that person have more than 2 breed of dog for sale, try to avoid. there are alot of low price Chow Chow . Precaution cause Vet fees will easier cost way higher than the price of your Dog.
Added on October 14, 2011, 9:14 pm
QUOTE(wendyloo83 @ Oct 14 2011, 02:20 PM)
I own a chow chow too! She is cute and lovely ! =)
Oh.. what color?? how old??
This post has been edited by AntonioKane: Oct 14 2011, 09:14 PM
Defeat is not the worst of failures. Not to have tried is the tr
837 posts
QUOTE(AntonioKane @ Oct 14 2011, 10:13 PM)
get from breeder? careful ok , make sure is a BREEDER , not a trader . if that person have more than 2 breed of dog for sale, try to avoid. there are alot of low price Chow Chow . Precaution cause Vet fees will easier cost way higher than the price of your Dog.
Added on October 14, 2011, 9:14 pm Oh.. what color?? how old??
any recommendation ?? how much will it cost for a chow chow right now?
Hey bro wongcmartin , i started to feed my fei fei on california natural for 2nd month d. so cute la ur chow .. hahaha but mine is veli choosy with foods.. @@ really stubborn.. lol .. got mood swing oso.... yours is female? got mood swing?
Hi AntonioKane,
Yes, mine is female & very choosy too! That's y she's smaller compared to other female Chows of the same age, as sometimes she don't eat at all. Sometimes she have mood swing, but most of the time is when she felt cheated. Sometimes we tell her that we're going out with her, by saying "KAI KAI", but suddenly change of plans, then she'll feel disappointed, shows right on her face.
But generally Chows r like this, stubborn & moody.
How's the California food doing to your Chow? Any improvement on her coat & health?
ok la , so far so good =) nothing major but she doing quite well with the small wan , not the big wan.. she always choke on tat.. now she totally eat everything up .. no more manja.. haha i went to groom her.. wait 3 more months then i post up her photo =D , now busy with my fishes. Not a good for beginners n ppl with busy life.. the last time i saw in petsmore , the chow sold off for rm4300
That's good to know. I realised that nowadays my Chow always finishes her food, getting fatter & fatter
If u're interested in fishes, do search for MACROTRIX AQUATICS, managed by my friend. He imports rare fishes into M'sia & does sourcing too. He has a FB page & a shop with 48 aquariums.
we are represented fom i planet enterprise.. providing photography services...
we will organise pets photography contest.. venue:TBC (most likely in one u / desa park city)
entry fees around rm 10-rm30(will get back rm 200 photography voucher,grooming voucher,pet food voucher,etc)
goodies bag and alot cash voucher are giving away.. your lovely pets photo will be taken by professional photography and posted to fb and voted by others...
I think this chow is mixed.Becoz the ears should stand up when 1 month old.If cant stand means..................mixed d.
For me ,she is a genius. She can fully understand my command.NEVER tie or force her to do what i wan her to do. I stayed with my husband and go back to my father's house every morning until night time. And ofcoz I bring along this girl everyday.When I open my car's door she jump into the car without my command coz she already used to it.
Know what?the first thing she reached home she will go to toilet poopoo and peepee first. This is a good thing for me coz I don't need worry bout where she gonna poo.And it's easy to clean up in toilet too!
After that she will keep looking for my mum my sis my bro everyone in the house to say hi. And sometimes they sleep late so she can't say hi but this girl quite naughty coz she like jump up to the bed and disturb them like wake them up. Like saying : ''hey ,I'm home again!Don't you miss me? ''
Sometime , my family like to bully her like when she is home and swing her tail everywhere(she want them to caress her) but they all pretend like she is transparent .So she CRIED .haha!
But the bad things is,she never let any strangers to touch her.
She can play some tricks!I just spend about 15 min to teach her a trick.And she understand=) Like ''Bang''(dead) , ''Bow''(behind's legs stay straight front's legs and head keep down) ,''right hand left hand'' ,''sit '' ,''NO'', ''Down'' ,''Kiss''(mouth to mouth) ,''Touch''(point something u wan her to touch) ,''Roll'' ,''Stand''.
She ain't a champion chowchow.She ain't pretty. But she is my good girl ever.! I wish she can live healthy and happily ever after!
How to recognise the breed is pure?(copied from wiki) The chow is a sturdily built dog, square in profile, with a broad skull and small, triangular, erect ears, which are rounded at the tips. The breed has a very dense double coat that can be either smooth or rough. The fur is particularly thick around the neck, giving the distinctive ruff or mane appearance. The coat may be one of five colors including red, black, blue, cinnamon/fawn, and cream.
The eyes should be deep set and almond in shape. Chows are distinguished by their unusual blue-black/purple tongue and very straight hind legs, resulting in a rather stilted gait. The bluish color extends to the chow's lips; the chow is the only dog breed with this distinctive bluish color in its lips and oral cavity (other dogs have black or a piebald pattern skin in their mouths). One other distinctive feature is the curly tail. It has thick hair and lies curled on its back. The nose should be black (except the blue which can have a solid blue or slate colored nose). Any other tone is disqualification for showing in the United States under AKC breed standard.[2] However, FCI countries do allow for a self-colored nose in the cream.[3]
The blue-black/purple tongue gene appears to be dominant, as almost all mixed breed dogs that come from a chow retain the tongue color.[citation needed] This is not to say, however, that every mixed breed dog with spots of purple on the tongue is descended from chows, as purple spots on the tongue can be found on a multitude of pure breed dogs.[4][COLOR=blue]
This post has been edited by Babyona: Dec 14 2011, 05:46 PM
Sorry for spamming, I just want to let you all know that we're having an event called DOGGYWOOD 2012 on 8th April 2012. Its basically a Hollywood for dogs and almost everyone who go to the event will win a prize. We have many prizes to give out. So, please like our page and register your self to us to be entitle for our Very Important Dog (VID) Zone with free flow F&B for your furry kids
Details as follow:
Doggywood Date: 8th April 2012 Time: 7.00am – 7.00pm Venue: Car Park 2 @Waterfront, Desa ParkCity Kepong Organised by: YanG Creative Powerhouse Sdn Bhd Official Magazine: Doggy Style Magazine Co-organizer: Pets More
For more details please click on my signature, it will lead you to our page and registration form.
QUOTE(AntonioKane @ Jan 30 2012, 07:13 PM)
wow... seriously? i wanted to try that.. but thinking that i would need to dry her up again... turn me off.. lol
Actually that was an accident. There was a hole at the fence(we didnt know), so he went up and played in the lake. And took damn long time to dry him up after swimming in the smelly lake!
Hey guys! Im one of the Chow chow fan but would love to adopt one.! So if there is anyone of you who would want to give out new born puppies of chow chow, Do PM me.
Hey guy, is't real that chow chow only listen to the owner only?? And not so friendly to others?? Saw an incident, went to this groom shop and the shop owner got one chow chow very big one behind a fence. A family's maid came in and curious about the dog, want to touch the dog (like when we saw cute dog we tend to touch la). That chow chow open the mouth damn big like tiger haha like want to bite de maid. Damn fierce.
most of them, coz they dun trust ppl easily ,only one can lead them. my chow I trim myself , she wont bite but she's not friendly to strangers. I like her attitude. Sombong
Thank you so much.
I dont think will get a free chow. owner will choose to sell it .
most of them, coz they dun trust ppl easily ,only one can lead them. my chow I trim myself , she wont bite but she's not friendly to strangers. I like her attitude. Sombong
Depend too, my chow chow from puppies keep social with people, now he is so lovely to people, just u don mess with him when he sleep or watch tv. He damn love tv and watch movie. So now all my other new chow chow I try let them mixed with people like my fren or guest that come my house and teach them.
Any chow chow owners here kept them under air-conditioned ?? Just wondering its' adaptability to hotty temp.
My Chow only stay in air conditioned room during night time as she sleeps with me. Day time, I'll just put a table fan on the floor, pointing towards the spot she usually sleeps.
Any specific brand of recommended shampoo to overcome that problem.?
I have no idea which shampoo could help to overcome. You might want to change your dog's diet or its food. Try Tuscan Natural (previously named California Natural), it claims to prevent itch. I've been feeding my Chow Chow on this brand, so far so good, don't have any skin problem.
My Natto died. I buried him with my own hand. He is only 3 years old. Reddish Chow Chow. I cried for a very long time. The other day I passby a petshop at Subang and saw a baby Chow Chow. I stand there look at it and cry for one hour. No words can describe. I miss Natto very very much.