fingertips!

SUSParamore
post Sep 4 2008, 03:00 PM

626 posts

I play the violin and the guitar.

By playing the violin, your fingertips will be hardened but not a lot. Just like about 10% hardened compare with guitarist fingertip.

SUSParamore
post Sep 4 2008, 03:33 PM

626 posts

Well explained by little ice.

One more thing to add is violinist do not have to press hard on the fingerboard to get the note compare with guitar.
SUSParamore
post Sep 4 2008, 03:44 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Sep 4 2008, 03:41 PM)
theres an extra layer of skin grow on my fingertips when i play guitar(and can saw some lines results form the strings, O.o)
, after stops awhile, the skin disappear , it'll be back once i play my guitar again
It is natural, it will grows back by itself just like wounds.
SUSParamore
post Sep 4 2008, 04:28 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(IpohBoY @ Sep 4 2008, 04:23 PM)
How bout electric bass guitar ?
Based on my experience, same result with guitar except you need more strength on the frets.
SUSParamore
post Sep 4 2008, 06:43 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(batuapi @ Sep 4 2008, 05:25 PM)
too much violin makes you like this

[img]http://phoenity.com/diseases/images/thyroid_enlargement.jpg[/*img]

Give me guitar any day.
That is so untrue and that is sick even though it is a joke.
SUSParamore
post Sep 4 2008, 10:43 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Sep 4 2008, 09:38 PM)
u r scaring ppl from playing violin shocking.gif
lol..

anyhow , paramore..I LuVEE Hayley Williamssss, !!!  drool.gif  thumbup.gif ...

Added on September 4, 2008, 9:39 pm
I think playing guitar r more likely to have pain fingertips.. bcoz logically, the string on guitars are thinner, which makes more pressure on the fingertips, and the guitar bass, are vice-versa...
Me? Scaring? No, that has to be batuapi.

Thanks for loving one of my band members. LoL!

Violin - thinner
Guitar - normal
Electric bass - thick

The difference between guitar and electric bass is almost the same. Electric bass need more strength and it plays a string or two at the same time unlike guitar where some chords have to use up all the 6 strings but less strength.
SUSParamore
post Sep 4 2008, 11:52 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Z @ Sep 4 2008, 11:46 PM)
But i do not know how it fared against violin.. anyone tried?
Violin are easier. Pressing the fingerboard notes requires less strength compare with classical guitar.

Violinist cannot play chords on their violin.

After all, playing classical guitar advance arpeggios pieces such as Tarrega will makes you think that classical guitar is the most painful one.
SUSParamore
post Sep 5 2008, 12:04 AM

626 posts

QUOTE(crysania @ Sep 5 2008, 12:01 AM)
Well, that's the little sacrifice one hav 2 endure if u like music.
But basically no harm done. sweat.gif

Cheers...
True but when we wanted to continuing playing music, we will just let it be. Fact is I do not find any problems with it and I wonder will any girls care about fingertips roughness, more over I do not even care about that.
SUSParamore
post Sep 5 2008, 12:57 AM

626 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Sep 5 2008, 12:54 AM)
haha im not saying u r scaring.. just coinsidencely used ur quote..
btw not only hayley i like, i like all the ppl in da band  rclxms.gif
Ohhh..great. I am Josh Farro, I play guitar in the band. You want to go out for a dinner? LoL! cool2.gif
SUSParamore
post Sep 5 2008, 02:54 AM

626 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Sep 5 2008, 02:45 AM)
doh.gif
If u r Josh, then i am Hayley Williams.  whistling.gif .

Great! laugh.gif I LoL'd laugh.gif

Now where is Zac and Jeremy? brows.gif

Sorry I am getting out of topic, very sorry. icon_question.gif
SUSParamore
post Sep 5 2008, 01:46 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(toccatina @ Sep 5 2008, 07:27 AM)
Acoustic Guitar is the 1st instrument that made my fingertips pain. But it's OK for now because the skin became rough. I am beginner lah.

I wonder, when I try playing with chords, after awhile, my fingertips have one deep inverted line >_<

I have to press very very hard if not no sound leh. Haiyo, am I doing the wrong thing? The more I play, the harder I press, the weirder the sound.

it's like i have to rest my  fingers for a night then only can play like normal @__@
The fact is your left arm and finger has not much strength and muscle. We all have the same experience when learning guitar for the first time. Keep on playing like for few weeks and the pain will go away, moreover your left arm and fingers will have more power than before. smile.gif

SUSParamore
post Sep 5 2008, 11:35 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ Sep 5 2008, 03:39 PM)
=probably u pressed too hard! it will get a slightly higher pitch than desired.

Anyway I love Paramore too. Rumours said they're coming to Malaysia, so lets pray that will come true!! smile.gif
Pressing it too hard will make the pitch higher a semi-demi-tone. (for those who knows music theory)

My band is on Final Riot! Tour and doing pre-composing for the next record. If you want my band to come, demand it! at the URL below:
http://eventful.com/demands/D0-001-000338649-6

QUOTE(Kelvw @ Sep 5 2008, 04:01 PM)
I was practicing string bending till my inner nail bleed. Had to stop a few days to heal but after that it was easier lol.
You are overdoing and nobody can be good on the first/early days. Moreover, please do not scare people away from playing guitar interest.

QUOTE(toccatina @ Sep 5 2008, 05:52 PM)
Guitar and Violin have any similarities?

Help! I still cannot play F!
Guitar and violin is both stringed instruments. These instruments are to be played with left hand fingers for pitch and right hand fingers for plucking (guitar) or bowing (violin). Guitar is a solo instrument (solo as in no accompaniment) while violin is just a melody based instruments which no chords can be done on violin (except for some very technical parts on playing).

F is the hardest chord on the guitar, it is better not to play this chord for early learners. Try to practice full bar technique (one finger pressing 2 strings follow by 3 and then 4 and so on) for some time and then only you try out the F chord.

Are you learning from a teacher?
SUSParamore
post Sep 6 2008, 01:44 AM

626 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Sep 6 2008, 01:42 AM)
really?..  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif

i WANNA GOooooooooooooooooooooooooo drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
Hayley herself attending her own band performance. How great is that!
SUSParamore
post Sep 7 2008, 12:35 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Sep 6 2008, 06:33 PM)
erm. F is NOT the hardest chord on guitar. trust me on that smile.gif
You are going too far away, I only mean by basic open chord.

QUOTE(sarcast @ Sep 7 2008, 12:40 AM)
shakehead.gif
ofcourse she need to attend, is her performance! drool.gif
So Hayley, when is the next Warped Tour? tongue.gif
SUSParamore
post Sep 8 2008, 12:38 AM

626 posts

For goodness sake, for advising beginners it is better to advice basic stuff only and I mean this F chord:

You would not want to confuse the beginners.
SUSParamore
post Sep 8 2008, 12:51 AM

626 posts

smile.gif =) smile.gif =) smile.gif
SUSParamore
post Sep 8 2008, 02:57 AM

626 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Sep 8 2008, 02:20 AM)
support support.. josh said out wat i think..

- Tomoro at my home  drool.gif

Ohhh..my ears!

QUOTE(fatboythin @ Sep 8 2008, 02:23 AM)
Omg, looking at that pic I realised how short my fingers are. When I barre an F, my 1st finger is like more than 3/4 on the fretboard. That guy's finger is like only half. sad.gif
Have you try to adjust your thumb? hmm.gif
SUSParamore
post Sep 8 2008, 03:11 AM

626 posts

QUOTE(fatboythin @ Sep 8 2008, 03:07 AM)
Yup, one and a half years ago.. biggrin.gif
Okay. Now try to think positive, with the length of your fingers there is advantage for you playing solos on the 1st to 3rd string at the higher pitch after 12th fret. smile.gif
SUSParamore
post Sep 8 2008, 03:25 AM

626 posts

QUOTE(fatboythin @ Sep 8 2008, 03:18 AM)
Yea, the solos are ok. *SELF PROMO*  tongue.gif

Yup, but I still hate having to put extra effort into stretches around the middle of the fretboard. Like there is this one part in the Tornado of Souls solo, I can't play it fluidly if I stretch, so i just tap it. Haha.
From that video, I see your fingers are not short. My fingers are like your length as well. You might want to really put more efforts on stretching so that you can do it. I can do stretching on 1st fret, that is what I did in the beginning days where I pick up the guitar, when we move to higher pitch there is not much problem.

Because.... "That's What You Get if you let your heart win."
SUSParamore
post Sep 8 2008, 03:33 AM

626 posts

QUOTE(fatboythin @ Sep 8 2008, 03:30 AM)
Yea, I guess my next practise regime will have to focus completely on stretching.  And why did you have to quote a Paramore song? Haha.
Good, we learn and improve techniques one by one. One by One - Foo Fighters

Well, it is a quoted fact. Music related. smile.gif

0.0196sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:18 PM