6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Sugar Glider V8, Cute Pocket Pets!

pink_baby
post Sep 18 2008, 05:12 PM

178 posts

hello....feel excited now cuz im going to get a pair of suggie later le... XD hope to learn more from u all soon bout sugar glider ~~
pink_baby
post Sep 18 2008, 05:44 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Sep 18 2008, 05:20 PM)
lol u should get 1 first instead of a pair. Cuz it could be a hell out of a work for u to bond with both at the same time. Worst come to worst they will bond to each other more than to u cuz they always sleeps together all the time smile.gif
the pet shop already put them together n sell in a cage wor...they been together for few mths in a cage d..if i just buy 1 then another 1 left there very pity...somemore it's hard to find a nice partner again next time as wat the petshop owner said...
pink_baby
post Sep 18 2008, 06:08 PM

178 posts

like tat i better think 1st le...thanks for all ur advise cheers.gif
pink_baby
post Sep 20 2008, 10:52 AM

178 posts

hi...got few question bout my sg, minnie...she very active during the night keep running on the wheel n climb ard her cage....then she got make some noise like siii siii....wat's tat mean??

Added on September 20, 2008, 10:57 amshe kinda scare of me sometimes when i wan to take her out from cage..but i'd been bringing her ard walking b4.... icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by pink_baby: Sep 20 2008, 10:57 AM
pink_baby
post Sep 20 2008, 02:32 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Sep 20 2008, 11:58 AM)
How long she's been staying with u?? Suggie are noctural, they sleep during day and active at nite so is she keep on jumping inside her cage or played her wheel dun worry. It means she's healthy smile.gif

Bout the hiss.... did u means she's hissing? she hiss towards u or?

If u just bring her back home and she's not bonded to u yet, of course she will still scare of u althou u bring her to walk around or carrying her smile.gif
Just make sure u have plenty of time to spend with her to let her know that u mean no harm and time will tell her u're her owner =]

Mind to share pic? hehe
i just bring her back bout 2 days...ya she's hissing...but during the time when she playing at night inside her cage...tat time i already off my room lights n i'm sleeping d...so she playing with herself....
pink_baby
post Sep 20 2008, 02:59 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Jamien @ Sep 20 2008, 02:44 PM)
pink_baby, 2 days is still very early. It took me 2 months to get this close to bonding with Frey. So bonding with a glider is all about patience. She'll learn to understand you are her tree.

BTW, did you try to put your worn t-shirt in her cage? And maybe wipe your whole face with a piece of tissue and put in her pouch? Then she'll get used to your scent faster.

Sugar gliders are nocturnal. So most owners actually stay up to bond and play with their sugar gliders. I stay up until 3 most of the time to play with Frey. Maybe you can stay up a bit?
wao...stay up til so late, next day cant wake up for work le... sad.gif put tissue inside her pouch she wont bite n eat??
pink_baby
post Sep 20 2008, 03:12 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Jamien @ Sep 20 2008, 03:05 PM)
sweat.gif Well I haven't seen Frey eat it although she might tear it into smaller pieces. Just in case, use non scented tissues lor.

You can try to wake her up a little bit earlier to bond. Bait her with a lot of treats la.

smile.gif And be a lil understanding of your joey. She is scared to be in a totally new and alien place with a person she never smelt before. Give her some time to come around. Be understanding if she bites or crabs or hisses.

Love = Patience + Sacrifice. thumbup.gif Good luck!
thanks a lot ya...wish she can bond to me soon... icon_rolleyes.gif
pink_baby
post Sep 22 2008, 02:44 PM

178 posts

I fed my minnie with watermelon n she love it...just tat her poo poo a bit watery & red...also pee alot.. XD will try gave her other diff kinds of fruits for her to try...n boiled eggs too...duno she'll like it or not.. hmm.gif
btw..are every sg looks alike?? cuz seems each of them not much diff other than female & male... tongue.gif
pink_baby
post Sep 22 2008, 03:10 PM

178 posts

ok...minnie with me just bout 4 days n i felt she growing up very fast...more fat d.. haha
pink_baby
post Sep 22 2008, 03:20 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(luc @ Sep 22 2008, 03:15 PM)
what you fed her?....nobi is with me for 2 weeks...but still like normal onnie...
i fed her apples & watermelon oni... flex.gif
pink_baby
post Sep 22 2008, 03:34 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(mamata @ Sep 22 2008, 03:32 PM)
remember to substitus with other fruits
else she will get bored

feed apple with papaya so the poop will stay firm
u mean both together??will try other fruits for her also.. laugh.gif
pink_baby
post Sep 22 2008, 03:47 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(luc @ Sep 22 2008, 03:39 PM)
tonite........mango and kiwi....hehehehehe biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
blink.gif blink.gif then everytime u need to buy lots of fruits for ur sg lo??
pink_baby
post Sep 22 2008, 04:42 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(faerieC @ Sep 22 2008, 04:34 PM)
ohh..lucky tht time i bought is apple stick. thks for de info ya.
they can drink tea arr? shocking.gif how bout other drink? cos i just give Milly plain water.
fed apples & watermelon oni... can so fast feel ur Minnie grow arr?

my Milly wif me alrd 3-weeks, just feel she fat a bit only(maybe too bond wif her evday)
i fed her 8-mealworms + 1-teaspoon smoothies + fruits evday. sometimes add hard boiled egg / chicken meat & yogurt.

have u start intro mealworms to Minnie? gliders need nutrients from mealworms. can get from those fish/bird shop. but remember to gutloads them b4 feed to Minnie.

i'm also learning to give as much care for my Milly. hope she can grow faster & healthier too blush.gif
there's a lot info we can get from so many Sifu here!  notworthy.gif  rclxms.gif
just feel that she a bit fatter n fluffy le.. XD she used to fed mealworms by the petshop b4 i bring her home...i din buy any for her yet cuz i scare of worms... rclxub.gif wat means gutload??
pink_baby
post Sep 22 2008, 05:19 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Sep 22 2008, 04:54 PM)
haha.. i got various kind of fruits in the fridge, and my friends just bought a lot of veges for me.. hehe tomato, carrot to name some..

i bought kiwi, dragon fruit, and last time apple, rose apple [jambu air], pear, mango, honey dew, choy sum.. i usually mix 3 fruits n 1 vege..

and a few mealies.. as treats too.. and 2 to 3 kibbles..
wat kind of vege they like to eat??n is there any fruits that dangerous to feed them??
pink_baby
post Sep 23 2008, 02:26 PM

178 posts

i'd been trying to feed minnie apple, mango, watermelon & cherry tomatoes...most of it she also like to eat...thinking to try some other which she haven't try...just curious whether can i can feed banana for sg?? hmm.gif
pink_baby
post Sep 23 2008, 02:44 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(jtl @ Sep 23 2008, 02:38 PM)
You can feed very very little amounts as bananas are high in phosphorus. It's best if you can avoid it altogether though.
ic...thanks for ur advise... rclxms.gif
pink_baby
post Sep 23 2008, 04:57 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(shutterstar @ Sep 23 2008, 03:39 PM)
i survey on the web about iguana's diet.....i think this link can help us to know about calcium:phosphorus ratio for sg coz its the same 2:1..check it out!

just a little help here smile.gif
http://www.iguanaden.org/diet/calphosfruit.htm  (for fruits)
http://www.iguanaden.org/diet/calphosveg.htm  (for veges)
is it suitable for sg too?? hmm.gif

Added on September 23, 2008, 5:04 pmi feel susah to feed mealworms la...need to gutload them also...how long can the mealworms survive if not feed them??

This post has been edited by pink_baby: Sep 23 2008, 05:04 PM
pink_baby
post Sep 23 2008, 05:22 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(electroyid @ Sep 23 2008, 05:18 PM)
well the ratio of balance nutrition is ok.. beter to maintain 2:1 ratio..
mor calsium in fruits is beter.. but puting calsium suppliment on fruits is a diff issue..
supliment is diff frm natural source in fruits kay... =)
roger that... nod.gif
pink_baby
post Sep 23 2008, 05:25 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 23 2008, 05:17 PM)
But he don't look 3 months. To me like 8 weeks only. Some people just never know the age, simply say to make people buy. This happens with some petshops.

Cannot substitute insects. If you scared of insects, then shouldn't get glider in the 1st place loh.

Bread is a nono....

Go to petshop to feed mealworms is the worst thing to do. Why? Coz the petshops only feed them with oats and cucumber, some only give bread and some never feed at all. Not all petshops gutload the mealworms properly. Crickets from petshops are worst coz they can be contaminated with the food they eat. So that is why must gutload mealworms and crickets if possible, 24 hours before feeding to any animal.
Cannot geli worm lah. You have to feed mealworms or crickets. It is like making a dog eat only rice and no meat for it. We cannot deprive them of their natural needs.

Cyberjaya, got a few members from cyber. Just look around hehehe..... the gathering 25 October yah.
Our local trees, majority are toxic to gliders. So the best are hibiscus trees and Guava trees. Even in Singapore, parrot keepers give guava trees coz they know other trees are toxic for parrots.

Rambutan trees, mango trees, ciku trees.... only fruits are safe, the tree is not.
Yups. Yang lain got toxic sap and bark. It's very hard to find a reference on which tree is safe, especially trees we have here. Another tree that can be used is Willow tree....
Yes, you can put food in it but make sure you take it out at the end of the day. Later got rotting fruit inside.
Best not to feed bananas. It's high in sugar and also high in phosphorus. Stick with recommended fruits like papaya, guava, mango, custard apple.... well, take the 1st page as reference.
What flavour wor?
Yes, got eucalyptus. I know 3 areas with these trees.... one is near bandar kinrara(if I get it right, need Eka to confirm it), another is puchong, outside one building but very young trees, another is at a place where people like to fly kites.... I forgot what park it is called. BIG trees by the roadside, a few were recently chopped down.
Well, it will be wet coz sugar cane the fibers cannot eat, so they just take the juice. Watermelon is loaded with water than fiber, so it would make the poop very soft. Feed a high fiber food like apple.
Those are like the best.
It's safe. Those pupaes are soft. If tajam, you should see cricket legs....
You sure safe? The clinic is well know to give high high prices. Who is the dr?
The link for iguanas, the list of food, can be followed. Reptiles also cannot take food high in phosphorus, same like gliders. Both animals need high calcium foods.
very susah to gutload wor...is there any 1 selling gutloaded mealworms?? brows.gif
pink_baby
post Sep 23 2008, 05:30 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 23 2008, 05:25 PM)
For example

Papaya   100 grams   Raw   24cal   5phos   = ratio is 4.8:1  

This shows that the ratio of calcium in the fruit is more than the recommended 2:1 ratio. The 2 is calcium, the 1 is phosphorus.

Banana   100 grams   Raw   6cal   20phos  = ratio is 0.3:1  

Banana has a ratio of 0.3 calcium to 1 phosphorus.... very bad ratio as the calcium is below the 2:1 recommended ratio.
can u roughly tell the range of the food from the list of the ratios are recommended to sg?? notworthy.gif

Added on September 23, 2008, 5:31 pm
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 23 2008, 05:26 PM)
Why susah? LOL, just get mealworms in a container, and give some veggie. Let it eat in 24 hours, then later feed to glider loh.
feel dirty with mealworms ma...cuz they mix with their poo poo...yuckss rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by pink_baby: Sep 23 2008, 05:31 PM

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0574sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 08:05 AM