Studying in Australia (V 2.5), All users: read rules on first page

jakesean
post Sep 12 2008, 06:04 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(amgine @ Sep 12 2008, 02:33 PM)
what are some of the pros and cons studying in Australia?
mind to share some views here? smile.gif
miss home food..
jakesean
post Sep 13 2008, 02:41 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(kayexh @ Sep 12 2008, 09:29 PM)
hey..question here..
which phone plan did you guys choose?
virgin mobile $70 cap.. $520 of credits to use up per month, includes 1GB of 3G data.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

www.virginmobile.com.au .. customer service is way better than optus.. emailed uptus for aobut 3-4 times, no reply at all.. have to call them up.. virgin replies my emails within 48 hours.. and btw, virgin is under optus..

This post has been edited by jakesean: Sep 13 2008, 02:43 PM
jakesean
post Sep 15 2008, 09:10 PM

1,361 posts

anyone from curtin uni doing BIS100??? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jakesean: Sep 15 2008, 09:10 PM
jakesean
post Oct 5 2008, 11:01 AM

1,361 posts

lucky for the ones in WA.. i think daylight savings starts on the 26th here..... luckily not today else i'll be late for work.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by jakesean: Oct 5 2008, 11:01 AM
jakesean
post Oct 5 2008, 07:34 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(tsm @ Oct 5 2008, 07:23 PM)
Hi all,

I need to ask for your opinion.

Do I need to buy cooler pad if I bring over my Dell Inspiron 1420 laptopn to Australia? It seems quite heavy. Or I can buy in Australia but I guest the price might be higher than Malaysia.

Thanks!
its up to u whether u really need it or not.. if ur laptop heats up like nobody's business then u might want to get one.. elsewise, just 2 tissue packets and lift the back of the laptop up.. works for me in malaysia.. i dont bring my laptop cooler back home.. i brought mine here tho..
jakesean
post Oct 5 2008, 08:05 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Oct 5 2008, 07:59 PM)
ermmmm what if i accidentally deleted the e mail??? hmmm
try calling them up and ask for your application status.. not sure whether it is the right thing to do or not, but hey, give it a go..

if i were u i'll call them up, or email them and ask.. no harm done..

This post has been edited by jakesean: Oct 5 2008, 08:06 PM
jakesean
post Oct 6 2008, 01:26 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(s373n @ Oct 5 2008, 09:50 PM)
application through agents cost $9K ...
shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif wah sure or not ? never knew its that expensive to go thru an agent..
jakesean
post Oct 7 2008, 02:57 AM

1,361 posts

been dropping like mad.. meaning have to work longer hours to enjoy holidays in msia this summer.. sad.gif ..

2.5 is darn cheap already.. anywhere below this is even better.. save damn hell of a lot on tuition fees..

This post has been edited by jakesean: Oct 7 2008, 02:58 AM
jakesean
post Oct 7 2008, 09:58 PM

1,361 posts

virgin mobile.. customer service is way way better than optus.. either way, virgin is operating under optus..
jakesean
post Oct 8 2008, 06:57 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(mrRighthand @ Oct 8 2008, 06:41 PM)
swt swt swt... y i din wait for the 1st tuesday of the month...dummy dummy,...T.T
wat about it ?
jakesean
post Oct 8 2008, 07:25 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Oct 8 2008, 07:22 PM)
good for us; not good for us also~ smile.gif
ya... i agree.. good timing for parents to send next semester/year's fee.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

bad timing for us who worked our ass out during the semester and want to bring back AUD to msia and exchange to RM to enjoy our holidays back home.... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
jakesean
post Oct 9 2008, 11:23 AM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(snowcandy @ Oct 9 2008, 10:34 AM)
Mazda2 Neo.  sweat.gif
im looking at that car too.. small and nice.. how much u got it for?

This post has been edited by jakesean: Oct 9 2008, 11:23 AM
jakesean
post Oct 9 2008, 07:10 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(snowcandy @ Oct 9 2008, 06:18 PM)
It's a wonderful car, small and quiet. biggrin.gif
I bought it for $20,000 with the safety pack included.
Added some tint and paint protection for another $995.
yeah i like small cars, thats why im looking at it.. the 20k includes all those fees n registration? coz i see onsite its 15.7k only for the most basic one.. i dun really know about all this kinda stuff, not a car fan, never thought of having a car also.. just bought a bike a few months ago.. haihs.. can international students pay by installments?

This post has been edited by jakesean: Oct 9 2008, 07:15 PM
jakesean
post Oct 9 2008, 09:37 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(snowcandy @ Oct 9 2008, 09:29 PM)
I started off with the idea of getting a bike too, but parents were worried of my safety. So yeah, ended up with a car. blush.gif
The $15,700 is the manual model while I went for the auto one. =)
I'm not sure about paying by installments, I guess you could go to Mazda's showrooms to do a test-drive as well as get more information about it.
My car along with the rego fee and all costed $18,990. Managed to negotiate with the dealer to offer a discount for the safety pack.
oooh damn.. haihs.. at first i tot i wouldnt stop cycling.. but after cycling to uni for a few months, i gave up.. rather take the bus again.. not a cheap bike too.. LOL.. at least i can cycle to work biggrin.gif ..

whoa u should be happy ur parents can get u a car.. haihs.. too bad me no $$ sad.gif .. i checked out suzuki swift too, around the $20k range.. sweeet! actually these are the two cars i have in mind.. hmmm.. probably ill decide next year, and hopefully the exchange rate drops again.. icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
jakesean
post Oct 9 2008, 10:12 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Oct 9 2008, 09:56 PM)
ask your lecturer, today market went up is it a false alarm of relief or just a so called trying to be happy before we got 6 week downward shits to happen.
i hope not.. coz that's when im gonna change my hard earned AUD to RM.. sad.gif sad.gif
jakesean
post Oct 10 2008, 10:27 AM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Oct 10 2008, 06:38 AM)
hmmmm why not to SGD? or USD?
wanna go back msia and enjoy mah.. biggrin.gif .. SGD maybe, if ill be going there for a day or two, but not when the exchange rate is roughly 1:1.. i rather stay at home smile.gif

This post has been edited by jakesean: Oct 10 2008, 10:28 AM
jakesean
post Oct 22 2008, 09:06 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Oct 20 2008, 08:32 PM)
Australia's air is wayyyyy cleaner than Malaysia. I'm asthmatic, i take about 3 puffs a day back in Msia, here I only take 1 puff, the customary before to sleep puff. That proves a lot.
QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Oct 20 2008, 08:56 PM)
Air... yeah... it happens to me. My nose is totally fine for an entire year, until I touch down on M'sian soil where it'll go running like a broken dam for a week. Need to pump pseudoephedrines and anti-histamines until my nose gets acclimatised to M'sian allergens doh.gif
in msia i use like 3-4 packets of tissue paper everyday... here i use like.. er.. say 20 packets can last me for about 1 semester? msia is madness.. stock up tissue paper like crazy..

after touching down in australia i can feel the fresh air going into my lungs.. damn shiok!

This post has been edited by jakesean: Oct 22 2008, 09:08 PM
jakesean
post Oct 23 2008, 07:45 PM

1,361 posts

with 1 unit to study this semester, i wished i had classes everyday and finish my semester within 3 weeks, i.e. 15 days of 1 hr lecture, 2 hrs tute everyday..

Added on October 23, 2008, 7:47 pmflies during summer is annoying... and they're HUGE..

This post has been edited by jakesean: Oct 23 2008, 07:47 PM
jakesean
post Oct 25 2008, 10:28 AM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(bhypp @ Oct 25 2008, 08:24 AM)
ah jake will be cursing again....jake save up those AUD and wait till the right time to sell....haha like buying/selling shares......
yah i knew it.. before i went to bed earlier today, at about 1am+ i checked the exchange rate on xe.com.. my god 2.23.. so, there goes my holidays.. no moolah to spend in malaysia.... but hey, that makes the new macbook pro more affordable in australia! biggrin.gif
jakesean
post Oct 25 2008, 10:36 AM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Oct 25 2008, 10:34 AM)
The AUD has been taking a beating this week. And interest rates are tipped to be cut further. Maybe it's not a bad thing I'm not going back this year after all. biggrin.gif
good time to buy properties in australia, as in, using RM to exchange to AUD and get one.. .. same goes to getting a car biggrin.gif ..

Added on October 25, 2008, 10:38 am
QUOTE(KVReninem @ Oct 25 2008, 07:19 AM)
guys;
we have a luck and we have a problem

1 AUD = MYR 2.23 shocking.gif

I odnt understand why i cant tag a image here unsure.gif
yes, both, bloody hell.

This post has been edited by jakesean: Oct 25 2008, 10:38 AM

0.0202sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:36 AM