Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V3, Which is right for you?
robertngo
Dec 5 2008, 08:28 PM
QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 5 2008, 07:11 PM) make a phone call to sony this afternoon. any brand is ok. i ask about trade in a panasonic 29" flat crt. the guy on the phone say trade for RM200 only.  that means RM200 off the recommeded retail price by sony (which is a lot more higher). desa is selling lcd cheaper even without the rebate. another sony con job unless u really like to buy from sony wings. normal for sony, they dont like to discount thier product, want to keep premium image. Also have you guys here see any LED DLP rear projection TV available in Malaysia? This post has been edited by robertngo: Dec 5 2008, 08:29 PM
robertngo
Dec 9 2008, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(kamen rider #1 @ Dec 8 2008, 11:36 PM) I'm using 100hz 32"... how to determine speed is vary... some people eye/brain cant catch it... try sony bravia z series, with 200hz... how is it ?... but this 100hz stuff, not appear in plasma technology... they are going 480hz... why aaa ?... plasma dont need it, its just the different in plasma and lcd technology.
robertngo
Dec 17 2008, 11:38 AM
what are the best deal for full HD lcd between 32' to 42'? on second though better get on bellow 40' i think bigger tv set will crush my cheapo IKEA tv bench. i will be watching from 6-7 feet away.
robertngo
Dec 20 2008, 10:23 PM
what are some of the 37' to 42' full hd lcd that are below 4k? samsung 40' A550 is 3.5 k but is the image quality good, i will be using to play DVD and divx file.
robertngo
Dec 21 2008, 08:21 PM
today i gone to shop to test out some LCD tv, even with 1080p upscalling dvd player the display still have black bar on top bottom when the tv is displaying at 1920x1080 resolution. why is the tv not displaying the signal at full screen even when it is accepting 1080p signal? is this a problem with dvd upscaling? the salesman is not much help so asking the sifu here.
robertngo
Dec 21 2008, 08:39 PM
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 21 2008, 08:28 PM) When are we gonna get HD Astro signal?  When the rest of the world have move on to the next HD format
robertngo
Dec 21 2008, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(welwitchia @ Dec 21 2008, 09:10 PM) It depends on the movie format. LCDs and Plasmas have a screen ratio of 16:9 so if the movie you're watching is in the same format, then u get a full screen display. Problem is "most" movies these days are in 2.35:1 format which gives u black bars that u mentioned even on a wide-screen display. FYI, CRTs / Astro are in 4:3 format. the tv show it is displaying in 16:9, you mean the dvd format itself right? This post has been edited by robertngo: Dec 21 2008, 09:17 PM
robertngo
Dec 21 2008, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(welwitchia @ Dec 21 2008, 09:17 PM) Yes, the dvd-movie must be in 16:9 or 1.78:1 (like aiman04) said. "Most" cartoons are in 16:9 i was testing *ahem* version of The Dark Knight" DVD, can really see a lot of noise, compare with the Bluray transformer they show on a philip full HD it looks ultrasharp until it looks almost unreal. but the best image quality i see today on LCD is the Sony X series, the color detail all looks amazing but the price is also amazing This post has been edited by robertngo: Dec 21 2008, 10:19 PM
robertngo
Dec 22 2008, 03:18 PM
QUOTE(theodoreooi @ Dec 22 2008, 02:18 PM) how abt LG30 LCD 32"? any coments for tis model? tq!  this tv review on cnet is very good, it have alot of configuration option that only available in higher end set, now price about 1600-1700, looks like a good deal.
robertngo
Jan 18 2009, 11:01 PM