Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V3, Which is right for you?

callmevil
post Sep 5 2008, 01:28 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Sep 5 2008, 08:33 AM)
plasma tv is also comfortable dengan game.
LCD tv is just too bright (*which as a fact many people feel that this is so good/so sharp/so clear)
the ones with the auto moving/shake feature is ok for games, if the plasma dont have that feature, then dont use it for gaming
eeee adjust the brightness/backlight la, no need stick to the presets.. doh.gif
QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 5 2008, 12:54 PM)
The best lighting is using 6500k bulb and position it slightly behind your LCD so it won't glare the screen and you got optimal lighting as meant by movie director. Don't stare directly to the bulb though. It kinda hurt your eyes.
also set ur color to the warmest option available.. smile.gif make sure the 'white' u see is not 'blue' hehe
QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 5 2008, 12:58 PM)
I only use 4 for backlight with my Sony (max 10). Maximum backlight not ony will tire your eyes but also shorten the lifespan. Not to mention your electric bill tongue.gif
haha reduce the lifespan by a verrryyy tiny fraction only, by the time its half life i think u edi got a new tv or maybe.. PJ!
QUOTE(welwitchia @ Sep 5 2008, 01:04 PM)
^ I only use Brightness 2 (Movie/Standard Mode) and Power Saving set to Min on my Sony.. but I watch my movie in a pretty dark room with a backlight behind the LCD.
Very minimal clouding but I would have preferred to have none. Sighh..why did Panny released the PY800 so late!!! Arghhh....
my brightness is at 52, backlight 7, and powersaving max for games/pc/cartoons. movies i put my backlight down to 5. my sony lucky la no clouding / smearing / ghosting smile.gif hehehe T2 panel FTW

also i prefer lcd to plasma as i use mainly for games, and putting my face right on plasma screen, i see ugly dots here and there.. but on lcd.. Sooooo Sharp~~ rclxms.gif
callmevil
post Sep 5 2008, 05:43 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 5 2008, 02:02 PM)
That's is very true indeed nod.gif
Kinda cool. The color change according to your movie scene background. Too bad its not a Sony laugh.gif
how i love that statement smile.gif
QUOTE(welwitchia @ Sep 5 2008, 04:38 PM)

very nice indeed. i can see how itll create a contrast to the screen and make as if anything on screen is 'xtra' dark
callmevil
post Sep 5 2008, 06:16 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Sep 5 2008, 05:46 PM)
^ nope.. got them from IKEA.

299 eh.. i think the one for cpu casing can get cheaper

Added on September 5, 2008, 6:19 pm
QUOTE(rthj @ Sep 5 2008, 05:55 PM)
bastards in IT just filtered these photo sites...now i cant see a single picture posted here
right click the foto link then just tunnel it

This post has been edited by callmevil: Sep 5 2008, 06:19 PM
callmevil
post Sep 5 2008, 06:57 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(kuokhong @ Sep 5 2008, 06:37 PM)
Samsung is having promotion now, their 46" a650 model is selling at rm 6000!! This is the best time to buy lcd.
What the hell, compared to 1 week earlier the price drop rm 3000.. If I knew this I would have waited for 1 more week and get this 46inch!
vmad.gif
thats so cheap i cant belive it.. that is such a ridiculous price for the a650!!!!
callmevil
post Sep 7 2008, 09:32 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 6 2008, 11:25 PM)
Dude if you want RM500 cheaper, go for older version 300 (KLV-40W300A) at RM6999. The latest one is version 400 (KLV-40W400A). W series the PQ is really good. I would go for this one last year but at the time version 300 is RM9999 sweat.gif
hmm i would suggest going for W400 rather than W300 (even though W300 has better enclosure) as the W400 is basically the X series minus the motionflow.. ok now my advice on the W400, if ure content will be mainly Blurays and other HD contents, then knock urself off with the Wseries... however, if ur content wont just be limited to HD contents, then plz do urself a favor and wait for the new X series.. u wont regret smile.gif (or u can get the one now but id suggest u to wait)

if lcd/plasma dont make a diff for u then, look at the Kuros.. get them now as the new kuros wont make any screen <50" anymore.. (aha i love this cockyness)

Added on September 7, 2008, 9:34 am
QUOTE(obiwankedah @ Sep 7 2008, 02:25 AM)
since we are talking about BD player. how to make the PS3 with 5.1 surround sound?
plan to get one soon also...
either audio out via optical or hdmi smile.gif

This post has been edited by callmevil: Sep 7 2008, 09:34 AM
callmevil
post Sep 9 2008, 09:45 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

sitting 8ft away, i can see difference between 720 and 1080,,,
callmevil
post Sep 14 2008, 05:58 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(Jcvendetta @ Sep 14 2008, 04:53 PM)
if 30% also still cheaper . But i worry about the shipping cost because if anything happens to the tv i need to ship back to USA. Actually the model I'm looking for is the Sony XBR9 which Malaysia still dont have. The X-series in Malaysia currently still more expensive than the X-series in USA includin the 30% tax. Is there anywhere nearer where I can get this XBR9?
XBR? sony? for sony the Japan build one is the best. get those over the US ones.
callmevil
post Sep 15 2008, 03:24 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 15 2008, 02:52 PM)
New Sony X series... drool.gif
can't afford sad.gif
haha u got X too? if u do then, my advice our next purchase should be a clear upgrade.. not a mere sidegrade.. so. whats above x? PJ! hehe

Added on September 15, 2008, 3:34 pmhttp://www.hdtvlounge.net/sony/x4500/

This post has been edited by callmevil: Sep 15 2008, 03:34 PM
callmevil
post Sep 15 2008, 05:16 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(BelalangKunyit @ Sep 15 2008, 04:16 PM)
Hi tukang2 expert,

Saya sekarang ni dilema pasai what lcd the best untuk gaming ps3? Pls recommended for me. Saya ada buat beberapa survey sharp aquos the best lcd...betui ka?
if for PS3, then please get an X-series.. either u can get the current one now, or wait a bit for the new gen ones.. u will NOT look back smile.gif
callmevil
post Sep 21 2008, 05:32 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Sep 21 2008, 01:37 AM)
guys....which LCD will you all choose ar?

Samsung 6 series, Sony W series, and Sharp...

all 40" and Full HD version...which one will you guys choose?

btw, is there any shop that i can bring my own Blu Ray disc go, then ask them to put all 3 TV together , showing the same movie, and let me choose properly which one i want?

i not sure can i do that anot >.<
sharp aquous..

Added on September 21, 2008, 5:32 pm
QUOTE(asura_86 @ Sep 21 2008, 04:50 PM)
hi, i'm looking for a 32" LCD panel, need some suggestions from all the gurus here

i went to the electronic store in 1U and i saw a few units that is within my budget (rm2.5k)

sony S Series 32"
LG scarlet 32"
sharp D30 32"
panasonic 32" (can't remember the model number)

I'll be using it for gaming and some light tv session. need some advise
LG scarlet 32

This post has been edited by callmevil: Sep 21 2008, 05:32 PM
callmevil
post Sep 23 2008, 05:37 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Sep 23 2008, 05:14 PM)
i wonder how long would those fans last.
wow wat a good question.. should we diy wd40 it?
callmevil
post Sep 23 2008, 06:54 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ Sep 23 2008, 06:06 PM)
yeah.. how to clean? with 5years warranty!! once opened up for cleaning its voided. lolzzzz.. and of course they tell u its the first case!! who whould tell their customer this kind of case had happen alot rclxub.gif  doh.gif
i just bring back to the shop i got it from and ask them to clean it i guess...
callmevil
post Sep 23 2008, 09:04 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

i prefer fan :s
callmevil
post Sep 24 2008, 04:06 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ Sep 24 2008, 03:57 PM)
i think panny is the best for plasma for now right?? with its 5years warranty giving me so so much confident on its product
yep im with rx.. best bang for buck.. if u want best plasma then nigga please.. KURO !!!!! hahaha check out the elite series..
callmevil
post Sep 24 2008, 04:10 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ Sep 24 2008, 04:09 PM)
KUROsaki ichigo is toooo elite. sorry

Added on September 24, 2008, 4:09 pm

bcoz of the warranty only meh? what about the performance and quality?
lol u said best marr~
callmevil
post Dec 3 2008, 11:09 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(enemyofgod @ Dec 3 2008, 07:39 AM)
Pioneer been the pioneer for Plasma lcd's.
plasma is plasma lah lcd is lcd.. =p

anyone seen the new X-series??

0.0208sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:14 PM