Hi-Fi Anyone experienced with EPOS speaker?, Discussion on Epos speakers

metalmania
post Sep 4 2008, 04:31 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 4 2008, 04:22 PM)
I had a friend who was using an EPOS too.. M12.2 I think. Before he was using an Italian made speakers which I can't remember the name. tongue.gif
Yes.. I agree, the vocals and staging were good. He bought brand new.
He loves vocals and listen to mostly jazz..
Just 2 months down the road, he sold off the EPOS and got himself a 20 year old PROACT speakers which was WAY better in every sense.. and cheaper!. And I agree, the Proact was way better...  biggrin.gif

Again, hifi is very personal but the advise is,if you can, listen the speakers in the price range before making your final decision.
my 2 sens..
jazzy for vocals i think most old highend speakers are masters at this, i mean newer speakers are made from lessons learnt from them, hifi4sale are flooded by these type of speakers suddenly

The m12.2 is said to be the most cun for rock, paired with NAD, but from my observation the m12 lack the bass..sorry bass head here.. shakehead.gif drool.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by metalmania: Sep 4 2008, 04:32 PM
jazzy939
post Sep 4 2008, 05:01 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Very true biggrin.gif
But I personally was terribly impressed with the imaging and depth of the ProAc.. You don't even have to sit in the middle to notice the difference. With the M12.2 you got to position yourself proper.. biggrin.gif

and I agree to that.. quite lacking esp. when compared to my transmission line speakers tongue.gif I am a bass head too! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(metalmania @ Sep 4 2008, 04:31 PM)
jazzy for vocals i think most old highend speakers are masters at this, i mean newer speakers are made from lessons learnt from them, hifi4sale are flooded by these type of speakers suddenly

The m12.2 is said to be the most cun for rock, paired with NAD, but from my observation the m12 lack the bass..sorry bass head here..  shakehead.gif  drool.gif  laugh.gif
junchoon
post Sep 4 2008, 07:32 PM

411 posts

in that case, if u like proac, check this out, supposingly a better diy design to beat the proac:

http://www.troelsgravesen.dk/TJL_2W.htm

cheers,
wps
jazzy939
post Sep 4 2008, 09:13 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Thanks for the link junchoon.
I read it with great interest.. tongue.gif
I believe it can give the ProAc a run for the money.. biggrin.gif

SEAS drivers are well known for their excellent sonic properties, being the OEM for many speaker manufacturers..
Only It is 'affordable' here.. sad.gif

QUOTE(junchoon @ Sep 4 2008, 07:32 PM)
in that case, if u like proac, check this out, supposingly a better diy design to beat the proac:

http://www.troelsgravesen.dk/TJL_2W.htm

cheers,
wps
car_o_scope
post Sep 4 2008, 09:41 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

Hello TS, if you are looking for Epos, I would suggest you to pair them with Creek amplifiers. They shd sound good. The other alternative would be Exposure amplifiers. Just give them an audition. However, things are subjective. Maybe you might not prefer the sound but there is no harm giving it a listening. Hope it helps. icon_rolleyes.gif

To me, Epos makes good speakers but if it is to compare with brands like ProAc, then different story. biggrin.gif
SUSInF.anime
post Sep 4 2008, 10:49 PM

2,695 posts

Can Epos pair with Arcam amp?
How is Creek / Exposure amp sound? Why its good on Epos?
car_o_scope
post Sep 4 2008, 10:58 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(InF.anime @ Sep 4 2008, 10:49 PM)
No idea how it sounds with Arcam. It should sound good with Creek because both companies owned by the same company and they developed the products using the stuffs from both companies.

Well, some people say that Epos debuted in the US using Naim Audio while Exposure's designs were almost similar to Naims. Lots of credits have been given to the compatibility between these companies since. It might only be a 'myth' and that's what people say but I have been using them for 10 yrs now. laugh.gif
maxovista
post Sep 5 2008, 02:47 AM

264 posts

My experience with 12.2, limit to my Marantz SR5200 capabilities! At soft to mid level...the speakers sound perfectly smooth and accurate!

But the 12.2 starts to turn harsh when drive at higher volume!

I guess my marantz cant drive this speaker to the loudness that I desired! I planned to test the Epos with my bigger and better spec TXSR875, but sadly the epos was only available for me for limited time!

Anyway, even though I still have unfinished business with this epos speakers testing, I still put the Epos name high on my list as the speakers are one of the best available around 2-3k budget! If the thing on sale, it would be much better!!!

junchoon
post Sep 5 2008, 09:28 AM

411 posts

jazzy939,

the TJL2W's actual price is not that more expensive compared with M16, if u get the parts from China or Singapore. there is also kit from Europe as well, the shipping cost to Malaysia is about EU160.

tried the pre+power amps on M16, smoother than having RX-V659 bi-amping. still lack the "in-your-face" bass from NS-555. maybe i was playing too soft?? already -50db, should be loud liao. maybe pre+2Xmonoblock?? that would be too much moola for me to handle lah.

hope i don't need to sell the M16 lah.

cheers,
wps
metalmania
post Sep 5 2008, 01:22 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

junchoon 2xmonoblock or biamp should be enough

A little Friday poison laugh.gif The mighty M22i in the middle.

[attachmentid=581889]

This post has been edited by metalmania: Sep 5 2008, 01:26 PM
jazzy939
post Sep 5 2008, 02:44 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

oh really? Will take a note of this. thanx! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(junchoon @ Sep 5 2008, 09:28 AM)
jazzy939,

the TJL2W's actual price is not that more expensive compared with M16, if u get the parts from China or Singapore.  there is also kit from Europe as well, the shipping cost to Malaysia is about EU160.

cheers,
wps
metalmania
post Sep 5 2008, 03:02 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

Might i suggest for those considering Epos speakers to have a go at AE's, i have listen to both and even though they are both UKs ok ok level speakers they dont have the typical brit sound, both are fast speakers.
I'm currently using AE's book shelf or in my case plastic stool speakers, not the best foundation for speakers, but just for the mean time. I think they are almost the same. I would discribe AEs as just enough to enter audiophile level, nothing campared to Rogers, Harbeth, ProAC.

AE and Epos have a better chance against Usher , by the way loads of speakers for sale on hifi4sale today..check it out
digswell
post Sep 5 2008, 03:07 PM

2,484 posts

Woww discussions bout EPOS speaker...Actaully i edy long time not hear EPOS speaker but see from some review M16 is quiet good speaker
my experience on EPOS speaker is from 1992 to 1995 which i got EPOS 11 B4 i sold to my fren with very good price
metalmania
post Sep 5 2008, 03:13 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(junchoon @ Sep 5 2008, 09:28 AM)
jazzy939,

the TJL2W's actual price is not that more expensive compared with M16, if u get the parts from China or Singapore.  there is also kit from Europe as well, the shipping cost to Malaysia is about EU160.

tried the pre+power amps on M16, smoother than having RX-V659 bi-amping.  still lack the "in-your-face" bass from NS-555.  maybe i was playing too soft??  already -50db, should be loud liao.  maybe pre+2Xmonoblock??  that would be too much moola for me to handle lah.

hope i don't need to sell the M16 lah.

cheers,
wps
Junchoon if u want to sell i think its like throwing bait in to a tank of hungry sharks, i saw one for sale and it only took a few days to find a buyer. laugh.gif
junchoon
post Sep 7 2008, 10:00 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(InF.anime @ Sep 4 2008, 10:49 PM)
try Creek Destiny with Epos. current price minimum 7 to 8k.

they did not name it Destiny for no reason.

cheers,
wps

Added on September 7, 2008, 10:12 pm
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 5 2008, 02:44 PM)
oh really? Will take a note of this. thanx! biggrin.gif
please note the "real" cost of diy speaker project is finding a good carpenter to do it for you, some auto audio shop also do them, they are cheaper but workmanship still 50/50 lah. also, this particular TJL2W design specify 25mm MDF board. i could not find in Malaysia. i would have opted for this design if i could find them here. of course can glue two 13mm MDF to approximate 25mm, but i think this is risky. the last quote i have was RM400 to RM500 from carpenter, and about RM200 to RM300 from auto audio shop, both tak ada 25mm MDF board. please note Troels actually use 20mm and 19mm in the test cabinets. both i cannot find as well.

if any of u guys know where to find good carpenter, let me know... smile.gif

cheers,
wps

Added on September 7, 2008, 10:15 pm
QUOTE(metalmania @ Sep 5 2008, 03:13 PM)
Junchoon if u want to sell i think its like throwing bait in to a tank of hungry sharks, i saw one for sale and it only took a few days to find a buyer.  laugh.gif
there is no problem selling, i know that. but please don't expect RM1.7k+ like one of the forummer claim which i believe impossible. smile.gif

cheers,
wps

This post has been edited by junchoon: Sep 7 2008, 10:20 PM
sham73
post Sep 15 2008, 03:26 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(metalmania @ Sep 5 2008, 03:02 PM)
Might i suggest for those considering Epos speakers to have a go at AE's, i have listen to both and even though they are both UKs ok ok level speakers they dont have the typical brit sound, both are fast speakers.
I'm currently using AE's book shelf or in my case plastic stool speakers, not the best foundation for speakers, but just for the mean time. I think they are almost the same. I would discribe AEs as just enough to enter audiophile level, nothing campared to Rogers, Harbeth, ProAC.

AE and Epos have a better chance against Usher , by the way loads of speakers for sale on hifi4sale today..check it out
epos n ae..
i also like both of them, but for me Epos is more powerful when u r listening to rock n blues music.. Epos also very good in vocal..
[attachmentid=593362]
my es14 n ae100...

This post has been edited by sham73: Sep 15 2008, 03:27 PM
lvyk
post Sep 16 2008, 12:18 PM

144 posts

Planning to sell my M5, where can I sell it and @ what price... smile.gif
sham73
post Sep 16 2008, 04:56 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(lvyk @ Sep 16 2008, 12:18 PM)
sell to me.. seriously!
brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
brabusm
post Oct 11 2008, 08:41 PM

44 posts

I have a pair of Epos 12.2 that is in very good condition. Anyone keen? Am letting it go for RM1,200.
htkaki
post Oct 11 2008, 11:22 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(lvyk @ Sep 16 2008, 12:18 PM)

M5 is going for RM1,400 for a new set. Try to sell it via Music and Audio section in the garage sales or you can try hi-fi 4 sale blogspot or The Star's Audiomart section.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0201sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:18 AM