so beter dun flashing loh....
js change it lor....

cloudstrife07
post Oct 3 2008, 04:07 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(digswell @ Oct 3 2008, 12:30 PM)
i will stay here for another 2 years  times laugh.gif

Car for me ..is edy boring. myself last 10 year do play also car and motorbike race . i am former motorbike and car formen . done so much modify for motorbike race for local cup prix  brows.gif  brows.gif  da time work for AH HONG MOTOR . And also work will Serena Rally Club  brows.gif  brows.gif

Added on October 3, 2008, 12:39 pm
Go and read yesterday post ..all the story bout it is there

Added on October 3, 2008, 1:26 pmAother 1 guy flashing bios at windows...after flashing ....bye bye  ohmy.gif  doh.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/806300
that one because he flashed unsuccessful, but then he didn't revert back to old bios.

then after restart, bye bye sweat.gif
ameque
post Oct 3 2008, 04:13 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(dblooi @ Oct 3 2008, 02:47 PM)
Mind to explain why it is very dangerous to flash bios through windows?  shocking.gif
and please give an example of so called 'safe flashing bios method', thank you  notworthy.gif
Btw corrupted bios always can be fixed, if you know the exact way.  wink.gif
many ppl say its safer flashing through DOS method. bro xixo already uploaded links at first page on the 'how to' ..

i read here n there (XS, rebel, or just google) about flashing bios, and probability of corrupt by flashing through windows is higher compared to the DOS way.. is it because of the software used?

bro digswell method to fix corrupt bios is if u have another same motherboard / bios .

the other way is to replace chip?

any other ways, bro dblooi? notworthy.gif

dblooi
post Oct 3 2008, 05:22 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(ameque @ Oct 3 2008, 04:13 PM)
many ppl say its safer flashing through DOS method. bro xixo already uploaded links at first page on the 'how to' ..

i read here n there (XS, rebel, or just google) about flashing bios, and probability of corrupt by flashing through windows is higher compared to the DOS way.. is it because of the software used?

bro digswell method to fix corrupt bios is if u have another same motherboard / bios .

any other ways,  bro dblooi?  notworthy.gif
I would say that's depend on user himself.
Some people play mp3/ watch movies, download stuffs, streaming video, surf net, chatting in YM and MSN + run orthos at the same time.
Once orthos fail then they'll complain non- stop. Same thing goes to flash bios.
I don't know which method is safest method, but I'm sure flash bios with floppy disk is definitely the most dangerous way.
As a storage device, Floppy disk is not durable and liable at all.

that's hot flash. Other than that, You can try to use the boot disk method if the boot block hasn't been destroyed.

Lastly, For those who never flash bios before, better do some proper studies before you do so. You can always use google search to clear your doubts.

digswell
post Oct 3 2008, 05:28 PM

2,484 posts

QUOTE(ameque @ Oct 3 2008, 04:13 PM)

any other ways,  bro dblooi?  notworthy.gif
Got a small kit can flashing back the bios without using any mobo .Is very hard to find. Usually mobo company hv this tools kit
cloudstrife07
post Oct 3 2008, 05:36 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

haiz, raining again here.

can't continue my OC project @2.6Ghz sad.gif
-pWs-
post Oct 3 2008, 05:46 PM

8,545 posts

How come? Raining baru nice to oc. laugh.gif

-pWs-
TSxixo_12
post Oct 3 2008, 05:57 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Oct 3 2008, 05:36 PM)
haiz, raining again here.

can't continue my OC project @2.6Ghz sad.gif
shuid said there is kilat guruh laugh.gif tongue.gif
cloudstrife07
post Oct 3 2008, 06:02 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Oct 3 2008, 05:46 PM)
How come? Raining baru nice to oc. laugh.gif

-pWs-
QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Oct 3 2008, 05:57 PM)
shuid said there is kilat guruh laugh.gif  tongue.gif
later got extreme vcore, vdimm on my motherboard baru tau laugh.gif

OC sampai meletup brows.gif
-pWs-
post Oct 3 2008, 06:50 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Oct 3 2008, 06:02 PM)
later got extreme vcore, vdimm on my motherboard baru tau laugh.gif

OC sampai meletup brows.gif
Meletup bagus.
No worry la bro. laugh.gif

-pWs-
TSxixo_12
post Oct 3 2008, 07:09 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(dblooi @ Oct 3 2008, 05:22 PM)
Some people play mp3/ watch movies, download stuffs, streaming video, surf net,  chatting in YM and MSN + run orthos at the same time.
Once orthos fail then they'll complain non- stop.  Same thing goes to flash bios.
I don't know which method is safest method, but I'm sure flash bios with floppy disk is definitely the most dangerous way.
that's hot flash. Other than that, You can try to use the boot disk method if the boot block hasn't been destroyed.

Lastly, For those who never flash bios before, better do some proper studies before you do so. You can always use google search to clear your doubts.
QUOTE(digswell @ Oct 3 2008, 05:28 PM)
Got a small kit can flashing back the bios without using any mobo  .Is very hard to find. Usually  mobo company hv this tools kit
IMO, both have pro n cons, as dblooi said, floppy is not durable and liable at all.. old stuff rite.. then through window, sumtimes ppl forgot to make sure their system stable enuff to flash, it will lead to crash at the half way.. n of coz this will cos a big problem, depend on urself, i prefer to flash at windows only, coz faster n no need other hardware to attach, what i need onli software.. n my advice dun flash when ur system in overclock mode.. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Oct 3 2008, 06:50 PM)
Meletup bagus.
No worry la bro.  laugh.gif

-pWs-
every day spamming tongue.gif laugh.gif, i remember when i oc at hostel (when at college, malacca) at level 3, open the sliding door n start oc.. the temp.. so cold.. laugh.gif but not in lightning..only raining wub.gif

This post has been edited by xixo_12: Oct 3 2008, 07:12 PM
digswell
post Oct 3 2008, 07:27 PM

2,484 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Oct 3 2008, 05:57 PM)
shuid said there is kilat guruh laugh.gif  tongue.gif
Malaysia is the 3rd country higher kilat guruh in the world

Added on October 3, 2008, 7:33 pm
QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Oct 3 2008, 07:09 PM)
IMO, both have pro n cons, as dblooi said, floppy is not durable and liable at all.. old stuff rite.. then through window, sumtimes ppl forgot to make sure their system stable enuff to flash, it will lead to crash at the half way.. n of coz this will cos a big problem, depend on urself, i prefer to flash at windows only, coz faster n no need other hardware to attach, what i need onli software.. n my advice dun flash when ur system in overclock mode.. thumbup.gif
every day spamming tongue.gif  laugh.gif, i remember when i oc at hostel (when at college, malacca) at level 3, open the sliding door n start oc.. the temp.. so cold.. laugh.gif but not in lightning..only raining wub.gif
the most important thing is hv to disable cmos antivirus...some of mobo do hv a antivirus option at cmos . if flash the bios at cmos , the antivirus will detect it or no allow the bios to flash. So wat will happen if flash the bios though windows when cmos antivirus is enable

This post has been edited by digswell: Oct 3 2008, 07:35 PM
-pWs-
post Oct 3 2008, 07:34 PM

8,545 posts

Yup. Disable all unnessary software.
Then you are good to flash in Windows.

And make sure all is default setting to ensure that your com wont hang or BSOD when you flash. laugh.giflaugh.gif

-pWs-
ah_khoo
post Oct 3 2008, 10:27 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(dblooi @ Oct 3 2008, 05:22 PM)
Some people play mp3/ watch movies, download stuffs, streaming video, surf net,  chatting in YM and MSN + run orthos at the same time.
Once orthos fail then they'll complain non- stop.  Same thing goes to flash bios.

gotta agree w/ d prime thingy bro... prime tends to fail easier while web browser is active. do that when primin phenoms one will get extra bonus too... BSOD... laugh.gif tongue.gif

while for d bios flashin thingy, as u said, it really depend on what user himself is more comfortable w/. flashin in windows is not dangerous but it depend on d nature of bios file. there are some bios files can only be flashed by dos flasher. so even system is 100% stable + no other programs causin any problem but one flashes it w/ windows flasher, there will still be a bad flash. to deal w/ this kinda situation, it's either use d primitive way (floppy) or create a bootable pen drive for bios flashin. smile.gif

dun worry bout flashin bios w/ floppy as d flashin will only start after d bios file loaded into ram (or a sumthing like that). while writin d bios file into d chip, dos flasher no longer need to retrieve d bios file from floppy instead it'll be read from d ram. if say while flasher try to load d bios file into ram (before d writin start) but unsuccessful, one can still exit d flasher w/o havin a bad flash. i've did that several times so i'm quite sure of that. wink.gif

mebe i'm too reluctant to learn how to create bootable pen drive that's why i always use d old skool method... (sign of bein old as old ppls are stubborn... laugh.gif )
digswell
post Oct 3 2008, 10:38 PM

2,484 posts

how to create bootable pen drive . bro see the post #2
ah_khoo
post Oct 3 2008, 10:47 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(digswell @ Oct 3 2008, 10:38 PM)
how to create bootable pen drive . bro see the post #2
am aware of that bro... i have only one pen drive & too bad it has been kidnapped by my gf ledi. nevertheless, gud guide there... thumbup.gif

it's hard to wait for d bonus... 1 month & 3 days more... hopefully there'll be positive feedback bout dfi 790fxb, if not i think i'll just go for cheaper + decent option in biostar. asus 790fx is wayyyy too expensive... sweat.gif
digswell
post Oct 3 2008, 11:14 PM

2,484 posts

for me depend on how budget i can get next year . my ta770 (1st rig) will build to HTPC . then i will get another mobo + x4 phenom

This post has been edited by digswell: Oct 3 2008, 11:15 PM
cloudstrife07
post Oct 3 2008, 11:27 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Oct 3 2008, 06:50 PM)
Meletup bagus.
No worry la bro.  laugh.gif

-pWs-
QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Oct 3 2008, 07:09 PM)

every day spamming tongue.gif  laugh.gif, i remember when i oc at hostel (when at college, malacca) at level 3, open the sliding door n start oc.. the temp.. so cold.. laugh.gif but not in lightning..only raining wub.gif
lol.if the motherboard got sound nevermind. later on, my RAMs, hard disk, lcd monitor etc all oso got sound.

then after that got nice, sweet smell of PCB burning. laugh.gif

anyway, as an update, my fren told me his PC couldn't be boot into windows vista (the M3A78 Pro one.).. i tried everything like resetting the CMOS, bios default mode all oso cannot. when accessing the harddisk it'll say "insert proper boot device and press any key to continue". used windows xp cd to see if the hard disk fail or not, but the partition is still there. is this the normal symptom of corrupted windows vista or what? rclxub.gif

haiz, phenom tricore project have to do next time la like this sad.gif
ah_khoo
post Oct 3 2008, 11:38 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Oct 3 2008, 11:27 PM)
lol.if the motherboard got sound nevermind. later on, my RAMs, hard disk, lcd monitor etc all oso got sound.

then after that got nice, sweet smell of PCB burning. laugh.gif

anyway, as an update, my fren told me his PC couldn't be boot into windows vista (the M3A78 Pro one.).. i tried everything like resetting the CMOS, bios default mode all oso cannot. when accessing the harddisk it'll say "insert proper boot device and press any key to continue". used windows xp cd to see if the hard disk fail or not, but the partition is still there. is this the normal symptom of corrupted windows vista or what? rclxub.gif

haiz, phenom tricore project have to do next time la like this sad.gif
it's d @#$% (i forgot what it's called) table thingy in bios, need to enable it it bios. smile.gif

edited:

put ACPI XSDT Table = Enable, it's under power management page (not so sure how AMI bios arrange it thou) wink.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Oct 3 2008, 11:47 PM
cloudstrife07
post Oct 3 2008, 11:51 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Oct 3 2008, 11:38 PM)
it's d @#$% (i forgot what it's called) table thingy in bios, need to enable it it bios.  smile.gif

edited:

put ACPI XSDT Table = Enable, it's under power management page (not so sure how AMI bios arrange it thou)  wink.gif
will try it later when i got my hands on the pc again.

anyway, what is that for?i don't remember enabling or disabling anything at power management page in bios sweat.gif

65 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:29 PM