it's a 89w chip bro... & usually 1MB L2 chips from AMD are hotter... wink.gif
ah_khoo
post Sep 27 2008, 09:46 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(digswell @ Sep 27 2008, 09:44 PM)
Making me wait n wait n wait....doh.gif still no exit yet in this AM2 clan  wacko.gif

Got anyone here using TA770 bundle with any phenom proc. i wan to see the result .
bro, 9850/9950 did quite well on ya board. try to look for forum member named gotvoltage in rebels haven, iirc he did 3.5GHz w/ his 9950. impressive for a 770 board... wink.gif

edited:

my bad bro, d thread is in xs...

here u go... http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=195614

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Sep 27 2008, 09:48 PM
ah_khoo
post Sep 28 2008, 03:24 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(shawn-mode @ Sep 28 2008, 02:52 PM)
Buying and trying AMD. Any recommendation from the Clan?
Looking for quad core and thinking to get Phenom BE.
I need it for Crisis gaming.
a 9850/9950 w/ a sb750 board is sufficient enough. 3.2GHz is almost a guarantee for that combo... smile.gif

tired of oc, played a bit w/ underclock, not too shabby w/ 50W only... can be an EE chip... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Sep 28 2008, 03:36 PM
ah_khoo
post Sep 28 2008, 03:47 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(shawn-mode @ Sep 28 2008, 03:41 PM)
Thanks mate. Any recommendation for cooler and motherboard?
Going to pair it with 4850 1GB. Hope its good enough.
Why do you recommend tri-core? Quad should be better.
I dont think tri-core justify the money spent.

Sorry, my last OC and desktop was Barton 2500+.
Been hanging around notebook way too long.
that depends on how much moolah u can splash on ya new toys... smile.gif

for budget u can go w/ biostar 790gx3, cost u RM460 in bulk. but if ur not comfortable w/ biostar, msi 790gx is up to d par (at least for me). wink.gif

deep cool killer whale of sunbeam core contact freezer are those which get my vote, both cost slightly below RM200... biggrin.gif
ah_khoo
post Sep 28 2008, 04:02 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Sep 28 2008, 03:53 PM)
Now running PC8500 ram...
but now phenom clocks it at default JDEC timing of 800mhz
How can I clock it to 1066mhz? Please help... sad.gif
what board ur usin mate? smile.gif

QUOTE(shawn-mode @ Sep 28 2008, 04:01 PM)
Thinking to slap in
Killer Whale (170), Biostar 790GX3 (500), 9950 BE (605), PC Power & Cooling S61EPS 610W (460),
and Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2 PC2-8500 1066MHz 2GB Kit (200).
Its should be good enough for me to get 3.5Ghz?
3.4~3.5GHz is possible for benchin purpose w/ vcore > 1.45v, but i won't run that for 24/7... sweat.gif

i'm more comfortable w/ 3.2~3.3GHz for 24/7 on < 1.4v (depend on batch). wink.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Sep 28 2008, 04:05 PM
ah_khoo
post Sep 28 2008, 04:08 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Sep 28 2008, 04:03 PM)
I thought Phenom is already Native DDR2 1066 Support right?
yup, but most boards don't like that if u read... smile.gif
ah_khoo
post Sep 28 2008, 07:42 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Sep 28 2008, 04:36 PM)
Still running Biostar TF560 now sweat.gif
there's no ddr1066 for timing mode option in bios? blink.gif

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 28 2008, 06:30 PM)
Because Quad can't OC that much.

And Phenom 9k over 3.2Ghz almost definitely needs water. The tri-cores don't.
B.E chips on SB750 board don't need WC... tongue.gif
ah_khoo
post Sep 28 2008, 07:59 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 28 2008, 07:48 PM)
Only the lucky 9850s do that. 9950s can do it more consistently, but it's hot.
In a general case the 8750 gives you more breathing space while still delivering awesome GAMING experiences. Even if most games use 2 threads, the third is capable of handling Windows processes, so it is all good.
no doubt bout d heat as 9850/9950 chips are 125w & 140w, while 8750 (which basically a 9750 w/ one core fused off) are 95w. smile.gif

but d problem w/ 8750 is d price, it costs as much as a 9650 (actually slightly higher). i would rather sacrifice some MHz for one extra core, this is d reason why i bought a 9550 b4 instead of gettin a toliman... wink.gif
ah_khoo
post Sep 28 2008, 08:38 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 28 2008, 08:07 PM)
No, but I'm in the consideration for one, along with Deneb indecision.

If the Deneb signifies the era of easy 3.5-4Ghz OCing for AMD, straight grab.

@ah_khoo
Generally the 9550s are the worst Phenom bins, which probably means they aren't that consistent on OCing, *especially* when it comes to HTT OCing, which is bad on the 65nm Phenoms.

The Black Edition for the 8750 gives its worth. It should essentially guarantee you an easy 3Ghz X3 (don't kill me if it doesn't, but I'm fairly confident), which in most cases, should be faster than a 2.2Ghz X4. (Not when vs your 2.8Ghz OC though  laugh.gif )
since 9550 doesn't come with unlocked multi so basically overclockin a 9550 mean overclockin d htt... smile.gif

when u can do nothing but to raise d htt, luck does play an important role. i've saw 9750 doin 3.5GHz which has d same steppin as my 9550 (ex to be exact), but d max htt i managed was 280 only... i can't blame it on luck (since i already had d same steppin like d god like 9750), so i got myself to blame (lousy oc skill). blush.gif

i believe d reason why amd clockers prefer agena (especially b.e chips) is becoz d price of tolimans not attractive enough. sad.gif
ah_khoo
post Sep 28 2008, 10:51 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Sep 28 2008, 09:39 PM)
Should be Nvidia GTX 280. smile.gif
Why dun go for Intel Quad then. brows.gif

-pWs-
this is so sign0006.gif... tongue.gif

QUOTE(shawn-mode @ Sep 28 2008, 09:48 PM)
GTX 280 mate. Naa, just a normal 325i SE.
I think he needs a quad core as well.
He just bought a car and wedding coming soon.
So he temporarily taxed out at the moment. Heehee.

BMW owner is more poor than normal people most of the time.
RM50 fuel consumption on a daily basis is a killer, luckily AB give me 3 years free maintenance.

I'm planning for 4850 or 4870 1GB GS for crisis and hope can get some easy clock bump from the BE.
Intel parts are a bit overpriced for premium boards and would prefer getting a mid range board, latest quad core
and crossfire ready radeons in case I need quick gpu upgrade.

Wont be planning such high OC and I more towards gaming and torrent as I use my notebook for work and browsing.
3.3Ghz clock for quad core should be sufficient for me. I need something that is stable for 24/7 abuse.

Added on September 28, 2008, 9:52 pm

Should balance out the competition. My notebook already using Intel.
Lets give AMD some chance eh? Later if AMD dies we wont have this healthy competition.
I was a Barton user before, so I hope the Phenom BE could impress me.
to be honest mate, if performance come 1st, amd is outta d equation, but.... what amd can offer is slightly lower cost (vs q6600) + lotsa fun of tweakin (look, i didn't say tweakin intel quaddy is not as fun since i never, but amd quaddy is d most headache chip i ever played with). smile.gif

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Sep 28 2008, 09:54 PM)
then DFI FTW!
yup, but given d budget given, dfi is outta d picture bro, thou i would recommend that too if there's no budget constraint. nod.gif

QUOTE(shawn-mode @ Sep 28 2008, 09:56 PM)
Which model is nice? I'm looking for 550 budget for board. Not more than that.
i believe biostar gx3 is d best fit here. if u spend any amount more, seriously u should consider investin ya $$ on blue camp instead for slightly better performance (negligible for me). wink.gif

QUOTE(shawn-mode @ Sep 28 2008, 10:03 PM)
What available for SB700 board? I'm looking at lowyat price list and cant find any.
If needed may top up to 650 then, but I will never spend 1000 for a board whereby my processor is only 600.

@PWS, maybe you have too high of an expectation mate.  laugh.gif
Buying a 2.7Ghz and getting 3.3 is good enough for me.
there's no point goin for sb700 boards as most of 'em are 780g based, which for me not meant for moderate oc. there was a 770 chipset board by asrock (cf ready @ 8x each) posted by bro david b4 but it's nowhere to be seen even here (sgp). so it's either put ya bet on biostar 790gx3 or spend a 'lil more (not a 'lil actually tongue.gif ) on dfi 790fx. d choice is yas to make. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Sep 28 2008, 10:24 PM)
asus ya? wondering nowadays how they perform in oc tongue.gif
really well bro... d best am2+ oc board up to date as mentioned. d only drawback is d price (& d availability ofcos).. sad.gif

but built quality (power phase) wise, they're d best (so far). flex.gif

QUOTE(shawn-mode @ Sep 28 2008, 10:25 PM)
Dont care about sexy or not as my tj09 doesn't have side windows.
To lazy to send it for modding. Only worry it will be cramp if i push in 2 sets of 4870 later on.
Any other board that you guys can recommend. Biostar is good?
Where can I buy the DFI?
biostar is ok (d bios was a 'lil buggy back then but biostar are fast in updatin their bios > check out rebels haven), but given its price tag, one can't really complain much. nod.gif
ah_khoo
post Sep 28 2008, 10:59 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Sep 28 2008, 10:51 PM)
asus always good in appearance laugh.gif  nod.gif
give 'em some credits bro, they did come out w/ a great board in M3A79-T Deluxe... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Sep 28 2008, 10:39 PM)
Yes. There is.
I would need set it manually to DDR1066 and ram divider myself. Very weird setting in TF560 shakehead.gif
AMD sub-standard phenom... cool.gif for poor people like me who have budget constraint
yup, u do need to set it manually as bios writer won't put ddr1006 as default ram divider value (not everyone can afford ddr1066). nothing wrong w/ that. biggrin.gif

nah... if u own a 8750 it isn't really cheap bro... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Sep 28 2008, 11:08 PM
ah_khoo
post Sep 28 2008, 11:17 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Sep 28 2008, 11:02 PM)
My changgih manggih also from family support d whistling.gif
Btw i still eager to know how the 45nm X2 Phenom does..
Guys,IF IF IF Deneb compete the Nehalem Bloomfield,100% its better than the Penryn right?
there's no 100% for hardware in beatin it's counterpart, for sure u win some, u'll lost some... smile.gif

if denebs can go near penryns (not beatin) while costin less, i would consider it a success ledi. bein supportive is one thing, but we live in a real world so let just stick our feet on d ground w/o expectin too much from denebs. not that i'm bashin amd, but it'll take 'em sometimes to catch up w/ intel. & i'm sure it's not w/ denebs. i'm just bein realistic. wink.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Sep 28 2008, 11:18 PM
ah_khoo
post Sep 28 2008, 11:52 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Sep 28 2008, 11:32 PM)
When I set it to DDR1066. It will only run at 200mhz...  very weird doh.gif
Do I have to tweak the ram divider or something in bios? sweat.gif
try to ask around in rebels haven mate, i'm sure polygon or others can help on this issue... smile.gif

QUOTE(sarahlah @ Sep 28 2008, 11:41 PM)
the asus m3a79-t deluxe is rm800 including postage to malaysia..

biostar gx3 is rm460 in garage sale but stock not yet arrive..

dfi 790fxb-m2rsh is rm630 in garage sale..

there u go.. maybe u can decide this 3 board shawn-mode
wah bro, ur really doin ya homework... rm800 aint too steep for a premium asus board considerin postage is included. should be near d price tag of dfi upcomin 790ft ut board... mite not too friendly to d pocket thou... tongue.gif
ah_khoo
post Sep 29 2008, 12:14 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(sarahlah @ Sep 29 2008, 12:09 AM)
yeah 800 is not to steep but again the warranty got some prob.. although i didnt experience any fried mobo yet.. laugh.gif

dfi sb750 got ut board ? argh.. i tot dont have ut coz someone in xs said there wont be any ut for sb750.. if like this, i cannot upgrade my mobo cry.gif
d only concern is DOA, boards usually won't die easily unless strike by lightin or bad flash. smile.gif

really? didn't read that but it could be true thou... since they're so many experts in xs. it would be a big let down for die hard amd + dfi fans... hmm.gif
ah_khoo
post Sep 29 2008, 12:22 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Sep 29 2008, 12:16 AM)
DFI + Intel then wink.gif rclxm9.gif

Ops...bro xixo gonna angry again. laugh.gificon_rolleyes.gif

-pWs-
u just can't stop teasin us, can u bro? tongue.gif

QUOTE(digswell @ Sep 29 2008, 12:19 AM)
DFI become famous becoz of AMD
wrong bro, dfi became famous becoz of d great Oscar Wu... wink.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Sep 29 2008, 12:26 AM
ah_khoo
post Sep 29 2008, 07:57 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(dblooi @ Sep 29 2008, 12:33 AM)
Looks like nobody here recognise the great man behind DFI other than ah khoo..
that just indicate one thing bro... i'm d senior citizen in this thread... sweat.gif

QUOTE(shawn-mode @ Sep 29 2008, 12:37 AM)
This one should be nice right?
Gigabyte MA790GX-DS4  A790GX AM2+ PCI-E D2-SL 655
Selling at Cycom for 655.

Added on September 29, 2008, 12:37 am

Can always have a beer with methumbup.gif
d board has issues that make it no better than biostar 790gx (in fact worse imo), for that kinda price i would rather go dfi 790fx or stick w/ biostar. no doubt d built quality is there but if u dont have a gud bios in a board, what other quality u have are as gud as nothing... wink.gif

if only ur in sgp mate, i'll welcome those free beers w/ open arms... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Sep 29 2008, 07:58 AM
ah_khoo
post Sep 29 2008, 10:48 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Sep 29 2008, 10:31 AM)
Not me meh?  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

-pWs-
wahh... if ur old then one of my legs already stepped into coffin lor... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Sep 29 2008, 10:49 AM
ah_khoo
post Sep 29 2008, 09:40 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(shawn-mode @ Sep 29 2008, 09:29 PM)
Haha. Well I maybe coming there to browse for some parts.
I need to meet my ex boss as well there.
Beer is not problem mate, care to bring some girls as well?  brows.gif
Your Intel supporter already.  shakehead.gif

I seen to may issue with 9950 140W that really requires a good thermal solution and good board.
Judging on the biostar features, I actually doubt it will do good with 9950.
Really hope the 45NM will come out very soon. I can wait a little longer.
I dont think the B3 is a good processor especially with the TDP output.
i gotta disappoint u w/ d girl thingy mate, i'm a one lady man. don't have much frens in sgp as well, even i've been here for > 4 years... laugh.gif

45nm chips won't be here until feb 09, it's still a long way to go... at least for me... tongue.gif

dun worry bout d heat thingy, even ta770 can handle b.e well enuf, so i'm pretty confident that gx3 will have no problem runnin an b.e chip. wink.gif

all u need to do is add some chipset coolers on top of d mosfets. in sgp, d one i used b4 cost me a mere $5 only... nod.gif
ah_khoo
post Sep 30 2008, 09:04 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(shawn-mode @ Sep 29 2008, 10:05 PM)
Haha. Then I have to call my Singapore lalamui  sweat.gif
I'm going there to look for 1K PSU as I believe it can last me a long way.
Do add me in MSN and we can do some window shopping and beer session.
Most probably go for DFI or Asus 790GX.
wow... 1k psu gonna last for at least another 3 years for u mate... gud choice if u gonna load it w/ lotsa power hunger stuffs, if not it'll be overkill sittin in ya rig. smile.gif

one vote for dfi 790fx, cost around d same as those premium 790gx board. but if u really want a decent 790gx board, u should consider msi. omg, i can't believe i'm recommendin a msi board... laugh.gif

but to be fair, atleast it's d better than gigabyte & asus (for 790gx chipset) from what i read. they really done well w/ d mostfet coolin as well. wink.gif

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Sep 29 2008, 10:12 PM)
Haha..same same la..I also old already  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Huh? How you know?  rolleyes.gif

-pWs-
bro, 4 years of gap is big lah... ur still a xiao di di (little brother)... tongue.gif

QUOTE(digswell @ Sep 29 2008, 11:02 PM)
hey u guy..i am the older here
u serious bro??? blink.gif

QUOTE(imsmiko @ Sep 30 2008, 12:15 AM)
Hi boys. How are you doing? Miss me?  wub.gif

Still looking for my board. Cant seem to find it here.  cry.gif
All is bought edi except processor and board.  doh.gif
yup, it's been a while since i saw ya post mate. hows life? get a dfi 790fx & be our lab mice lah... brows.gif

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Sep 30 2008, 12:29 AM)
9950 BE Darn cheap now RM 605 from rockrock doh.gif
Get TA790GX A2+ lah..Lowyat has one.Or find on forum i found one..

aiya bro pWs stop teasing us.I will make sure AMD revenge to u whistling.gif
given d way amd price their quaddies now, imo it's d best time for one to experience amd quad core oc. i'm sure u'll get lotsa fun (& pain)... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Sep 30 2008, 12:40 AM)
Dun la. I also hope Deneb doin well also.
Miss the day w AMD. smile.gif

-pWs-
not until d day amd folds better than intel... tongue.gif

QUOTE(baby26 @ Sep 30 2008, 06:51 AM)
This is OC on a 9850 BE, 3.1Ghz@1.42 vcore ram 4-4-4-10. Temps are a bit high when Prime stable for 3 hrs but idles at 55 C. The DFI board is actually pretty good for tweaking. I'm new at this and in the hand of experts like ah khoo it'll b better.
bro, i'm no expert leh... nice to see u postin here... 3.1GHz @ 1.42v prime stable on a sb600 consider better than everage ledi... flex.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Sep 30 2008, 09:11 AM
ah_khoo
post Sep 30 2008, 09:18 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Sep 30 2008, 09:09 AM)
I wish to have a new PSU also.
My rig hunger for power. sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Any recommendation?
sweat.gif  sweat.gif
4 years = 48 months only ma...small gap only  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Ya...he is the oldest here. Our ko ko  whistling.gif  whistling.gif

-pWs-
swap ya chip + board w/ my 690g & 3500+ solve ya problem bro... tongue.gif

ur d expert so i don't think u need recommendation from us (at least me), all u need is d moolah... ur bonus comin rite? brows.gif

48 months is not a small gap bro, try to court a lady who's 4 years elder than u, then u'll know it aint a small gap... laugh.gif

i believe bro digswell is bout my age only lah... he's so mysterious... laugh.gif

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0320sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:08 PM